Jack and Jill

Jack and Jill Image
Metascore
23

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 290 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Jack and Jill is a comedy focusing on Jack Sadelstein, a successful advertising executive in Los Angeles with a beautiful wife and kids, who dreads one event each year: the Thanksgiving visit of his identical twin sister Jill. Jill's neediness and passive-aggressiveness is maddening to Jack,Jack and Jill is a comedy focusing on Jack Sadelstein, a successful advertising executive in Los Angeles with a beautiful wife and kids, who dreads one event each year: the Thanksgiving visit of his identical twin sister Jill. Jill's neediness and passive-aggressiveness is maddening to Jack, turning his normally tranquil life upside down. Katie Holmes plays Erin, Jack's wife. (Sony Pictures)
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 26
  2. Negative: 17 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Nov 10, 2011
    63
    What's more genuinely wacky is what a kick the movie can sometimes be, completely in spite of its big, flat stunt.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Nov 10, 2011
    50
    Though the Jill problem is too insurmountable to ignore, almost everything else in this comedy succeeds.
  3. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Nov 10, 2011
    40
    Jack and Jill is a barrage of fart jokes and fat jokes and mean jokes that sincerely thinks it deserves to end with a hug. It doesn't deserve awwwws - and it doesn't deserve your money.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Nov 10, 2011
    30
    In the wake of "Bridesmaids," Sandler's lipsticked tomfoolery - and inability to share the screen with genuinely funny women - feels particularly regressive and stale. Both movies have diarrhea gags, but only one feels defined by such humor.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Nov 10, 2011
    25
    The unapologetic laziness and ineptitude of Jack's impersonation, which is played for cheap laughs, is just as lazy as Sandler's performance as the real Jill. You don't buy it for a minute.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Nov 12, 2011
    16
    What makes Jack And Jill worse than the average Sandler vehicle is Jill, who's been conceived as little more than a dude in drag, hold the jokes.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Nov 10, 2011
    0
    A total bust, a stupefyingly unfunny and shamelessly lazy farce packed with cringe-worthy jokes and overt product placement.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 95
  2. Negative: 67 out of 95
  1. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    I think that it very interesting film about brother and sister. Every Critic, who wrote something wrong about this film is very stuped!I think that it very interesting film about brother and sister. Every Critic, who wrote something wrong about this film is very stuped! Because this film has got meaning in contrast Mission Impaseble: Ghost Protocol! Expand
  2. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    It was a pretty funny movie i felt like i was gonna' laugh so loud people wouldn't hear the movie. Al Pacino's performance was GREAT, AdamIt was a pretty funny movie i felt like i was gonna' laugh so loud people wouldn't hear the movie. Al Pacino's performance was GREAT, Adam Sandler's performance was SPECTACULAR and the whole thing just went goo goo! i felt like a laugh machine. Expand
  3. Mar 7, 2012
    4
    I think Adam Sandler should easily be gentle and try to avoid any mistakes in a kids movie. I like him in Bedtime Stories, but Zookeeper andI think Adam Sandler should easily be gentle and try to avoid any mistakes in a kids movie. I like him in Bedtime Stories, but Zookeeper and Jack and Jill were the biggest disappointments of his career (except Just Go With It) I think I want the old Happy Gilmore back and all of his characters in past films. For some reason, I'm feeling a little downsided for Sandler and 2011 wasn't a great year for him 3 of the 4 films from him were one of the worst Bucky Larson, Zookeeper, and Jack and Jill. He deserves a Razzie award because not only if the critics doesn't care about his movies anymore or just wasn't feeling the energy from the fans and families everywhere, maybe somewhere down the road he could be making a comeback trail. But Jack and Jill should win Worst Picture. Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2015
    1
    Everything in this movie sucked! It is NOT FUNNY AT ALL!! Adam Sandler's wourst film. What is Al Pacino doing here? This movie is a movie youEverything in this movie sucked! It is NOT FUNNY AT ALL!! Adam Sandler's wourst film. What is Al Pacino doing here? This movie is a movie you should avoid at all costs. Have sence of humour or not. Watch Toy Story instead. The story and plot sucked by the way. Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2011
    0
    Overall Movie: 0 Acting: 0 Storyline: 0. Adam Sandler now has more misses than hits. Great films like Happy Gilmore and Dont mess with theOverall Movie: 0 Acting: 0 Storyline: 0. Adam Sandler now has more misses than hits. Great films like Happy Gilmore and Dont mess with the Zohan will be forgotten altogether if he does not pull his finger out. Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2016
    0
    I have no idea why I'm writing this review. I mean, the movie came out 5 years ago, why am I wasting my time?

    Jack and Jill is the latest
    I have no idea why I'm writing this review. I mean, the movie came out 5 years ago, why am I wasting my time?

    Jack and Jill is the latest master work from critically praised comedian Adam Sandler. The movie was praised for it's amazing story, dialogue and characters. It's considered one of the best movies of all time!

    I'M JUST KIDDING THIS MOVIE IS HORRIBLE!! Terrible story, dialogue and characters. EVERYTHING about this movie is absolute trash! WHY AM I WRITING THIS REVIEW??
    Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2011
    0
    Adam Sandler still acts? could've fooled me after watching his latest abortion of a movie. face it sandler, you had it good with BillyAdam Sandler still acts? could've fooled me after watching his latest abortion of a movie. face it sandler, you had it good with Billy Madison, Waterboy and Little Nicky, but your last few movies (especially anything with Kevin James) have been complete and utter failures Expand

See all 95 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 24 Roles These Actors Would Rather Forget

    24 Roles These Actors Would Rather Forget Image
    Published: April 25, 2016
    Even good actors have a few duds on their resumes. We look at 24 highly forgettable roles from some of Hollywood's biggest stars.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.