Paramount Pictures | Release Date: December 21, 2012
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 385 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
218
Mixed:
112
Negative:
55
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
7
Tss5078Nov 2, 2013
Jack Reacher was nothing like I expected it to be. The previews made this film look like a comedy, featuring some bad ass cop that doesn't play by the rules. The film itself couldn't be more different from how it was packaged and I thinkJack Reacher was nothing like I expected it to be. The previews made this film look like a comedy, featuring some bad ass cop that doesn't play by the rules. The film itself couldn't be more different from how it was packaged and I think that's why it didn't do as well as it could have at the box office. The character, Jack Reacher, comes from a series of novels and the film is taken directly from one of the books. Strangely enough, they didn't choose the first book written to introduce us to the character, but one written much later. Reacher has spent his whole life in the military and retired as a military police detective. He had enough of not really helping those who deserved help and went off the grid. Now, Reacher only shows up when someone is in need of his help and in this film, that person is a former suspect of his. Reacher knows the man is guilty, but doesn't think he'd do this horrible crime on his own and he goes to investigate. The film was fast-paced and had an interesting story to tell, but they don't let us figure anything out! Jack Reacher has all the answers and tells us everything we need to know and how he figured it out way before we did. I get it, he's some kind of police savant, but it really is frustrating. I love a good mystery and the allure is in figuring it out on my own, but this film never gave me the chance. Tom Cruise stars and fans of the book series were mortified by the choice of producers to have him star as Reacher. I don't care much for Cruise either, but the fans protest had to do with the book describing him as a 6'7 powerhouse. Well who would they rather have had play Jack Reacher, The Rock? This was a major, high budget film, and it needed a big name. Cruise actually does a decent job and was very believable, as was the story, but the one major drawback for me was just how little was left to the imagination. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MarcDoyleDec 24, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I haven't laughed so hard in an action flick in a long while. My midnight show crowd was fairly raucous with the laughs, and there were plenty of oohs/aahs during the driving/fighting sequences, so I'm guessing this is more of a target demo film than one for the critics, who seem pretty evenly divided. It has a hard-edged pulpy feel to it - and it keeps you thinking throughout. The opening sequence is particularly brutal - it's understandable why the studio cancelled the premiere in light of the recent school shootings. Tom Cruise does an effective job in the lead (I have no frame of reference with the source material, incidentally, so the complaints over his casting are lost on me). Rosamund Pike is excellent - she needs to be in more films that require some range instead of doing the next Wrath of the Titans sequel. And Robert Duvall - it's great to see him make an appearance, even in a small role. The end left me with slightly mixed feelings, but on the whole, I enjoyed the thrill ride. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellDec 23, 2012
"Jack Reacher" is awesome, much better than the overrated "Looper" that came out earlier this year. This action movie might not pile up a ton of action, but the action it does have is believable and exciting. Tom Cruise does yet another"Jack Reacher" is awesome, much better than the overrated "Looper" that came out earlier this year. This action movie might not pile up a ton of action, but the action it does have is believable and exciting. Tom Cruise does yet another excellent performance. Its not the most thought-provoking mystery movie i've seen, but it is epic. Expand
8 of 17 users found this helpful89
All this user's reviews
7
StevenFJan 23, 2013
There is a very quiet opening sequence that sets up the pace for this movie, its fast, smart, and enjoyable from start to a predictable yet entertaining finish.
Jack Reacher is brought to the big screen in a small way, in the form of Tom
There is a very quiet opening sequence that sets up the pace for this movie, its fast, smart, and enjoyable from start to a predictable yet entertaining finish.
Jack Reacher is brought to the big screen in a small way, in the form of Tom Cruise, who doesn't exactly fit the description of the monstrous Reacher of the comics, but he certainly brings his own attitude and his own cards to the table to leave behind a very convincing role as the mysterious investigator.
Jack reacher didnt fall into the action hero book to film trap of an all out explosion frenzied movie, it tries to to form a story as its backbone which turn introduces an array of characters, all with a relevant connection to the sniper events at the start of the film.
The cinematography in Reacher is excellent, it really was surprising to see so much focus on individual shots for a so-called popcorn movie. From the landscaping shots of the sniper scenes to the close cam car chases, it feels more intense, especially since the particular chase scene had no score or background music at all, and it simply worked.
Cruise does bring difference to a role that many would have seen as another Ethan Hawke, but Cruise manages to draw the line in his movies where he knows what the difference needs to be, Cruise's Reacher is calm, he's isolated, motivated, but more importantly, not afraid to seek justice by any means necessary, and this was portrayed on screen.
Rosamund Pike makes a starring role as counsellor Heen Rodin, and daughter to District Attorney Alex Rodin (Richard Jenkins), there is also a minor appearance from Robert Duvall.
While the turn of events and climax of the film are predictable, it still has a smart finish with guns glitz an glamour.
The films dialogue was very good indeed and the humorous moments in the film did show that care needed to be taken not to take the film too seriously. The close combat at work here is excellent, bizarre and sometimes horrific (using one mans head to knockout another man, while they are both lying on the floor) but again it fits well with mystery and intrigue surrounding Jack Reacher.
Fun, sophisticated, well scripted, and a convincing story, the Jack Reacher film is worth the trip.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Bruce722May 11, 2013
Jack Reacher was a surprisingly fantastic film. I went in thinking, thanks to some slightly misleading trailers, that this was going to be a high octane action movie with a bunch of gun fights, car chases, and explosions but littleJack Reacher was a surprisingly fantastic film. I went in thinking, thanks to some slightly misleading trailers, that this was going to be a high octane action movie with a bunch of gun fights, car chases, and explosions but little development and quality. I was completely wrong. While there were a few gun fights, one car chase, and an explosion of sorts, it was done in a completely different manner and was more of an action thriller. Tom Cruise did a great job in his typical role. The rest of the supporting cast was solid enough and the cameo by Robert Duvall was awesome. The plot developed really well and made it more of a "thinking movie" than I anticipated. That being said, the turns in the plot kept the film from becoming stagnant or boring and the action sequences felt real and authentic. I wasn't a huge fan of some of the cinematic elements and there were some flaws in one of the plot twists but nothing that really hurt the movie-watching experience. All-in-all, I'd say this was a great movie that most people would very much enjoy watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Jan 14, 2016
Christopher McQuarrie's Jack Reacher is that rare blend of hard-hitting action and smooth-talking dialogue that makes for an entertaining film.

Watch this movie here
Christopher McQuarrie's Jack Reacher is that rare blend of hard-hitting action and smooth-talking dialogue that makes for an entertaining film.

Watch this movie here http://www.watchfree.to/watch-10a065-Jack-Reacher-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
quincytheodoreMar 16, 2015
Donning another persona of a vigilante CSI, Jack Reacher, Tom Cruise
makes a performance that is bordering on overly fictional, but at the
same time charismatically intriguing. Jack Reacher is an action thriller, mixing crime
Donning another persona of a vigilante CSI, Jack Reacher, Tom Cruise
makes a performance that is bordering on overly fictional, but at the
same time charismatically intriguing. Jack Reacher is an action
thriller, mixing crime investigation, punch exchanges and some suave
driving sequences. In heart, it's heavily focused on a particular case,
especially at the first half, people expecting Mission Impossible might
not appreciate the intricacy. Action is quite good, more of a realistic
scuffle than immense CG scenes, its crude feel has a unique appeal.

The story begins with a retired lone sniper, James Barr, who is
allegedly fired on five random persons on broad daylight. When he's
captured he asks for Jack Reacher, a former Army Military Police Major
who once caught him in his previous spree. Jack is originally unwilling
to delve into the case, but ultimately sticks around for the truth, or
the dame. Tom Cruise is a good fit for the character, he has a calm and
confident air about him, despite probably not as big as Jack Reacher
should be. In some scenes he appears as an imposing figure without
relying on his size, a somewhat serendipitous result of the casting.

Helen Rodin (Rosamund Pike) plays the damsel, barely sketching on the
clich├ęd role but just not quiet. She's a self-proclaimed pacifist and a
lawyer in defense of James Barr. Her role is adequately strong,
although somewhat too over the top when she's surprised, and she
practically is, most of the time. Warner Herzog (Zec) is grizzly
daunting, he really sold the character from a dark place who has
sacrifice more things that people are willing to save his life. Robert
Duvall as Cash appears somewhat late in the movie, but he steals the
attention with a brassy witty senior role, it's a shame he didn't get
more screen time as the interactions between him and Tom are
entertaining.

Dialogue is cleverly made and delivered, plenty of details but not
veering off from mainstream audience. The action has some good moments,
more importantly they are well structured to give increased tension as
the story progresses. One particular scene from the driving is
unpredictably original, although honestly could be too comedic. Camera
angles that accompanied the action are accommodatingly focused, often
providing clear perspectives so audience can appreciate the action even
in faster pace.

Slick performances, good amount of humor and smart plot make Jack
Reacher a refreshing crime cinema.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oblique15Nov 2, 2013
I thought it was good, but it is not as fast as I thought it would be. The character is more than some fighter, so the movie has some detective work.Hes pretty bad ass but the movie has more to it than action, some times a bit slower than II thought it was good, but it is not as fast as I thought it would be. The character is more than some fighter, so the movie has some detective work.Hes pretty bad ass but the movie has more to it than action, some times a bit slower than I expected from this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BradySmithJul 14, 2015
I feel bad for overwriting my very first review on this site, but I needed to raise my score. This is a very satisfying and well made old school action thriller. Tom Cruise is great (as always), and it's directed with good attention toI feel bad for overwriting my very first review on this site, but I needed to raise my score. This is a very satisfying and well made old school action thriller. Tom Cruise is great (as always), and it's directed with good attention to detail. The action is exhilarating and unusually well staged. Plot wise it's nothing revolutionary but it's still written well enough to remain engaging. Sure, there are ways in which it could have been better. It's not going to rewrite cinema as we know it, but it's definitely fun, and it's a lot less generic than you'd probably expect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dharmaApr 9, 2013
As he gets older, Cruise attempts to broaden his movie 'franchises' that is more age appropriate so to speak. Hence, Jack Reacher, a more cerebral, procedural 'action' franchise. People expecting the next Mission Impossible will beAs he gets older, Cruise attempts to broaden his movie 'franchises' that is more age appropriate so to speak. Hence, Jack Reacher, a more cerebral, procedural 'action' franchise. People expecting the next Mission Impossible will be disappointed. Reacher is an action man all right, as written by author Lee Child, but essentially he is an ex cop. So there's mystery, investgations and conspiracies galore. Cruise may be shorter than how the character was written in the novels, but he is always a good actor, and this is a role that somewhat suits him. Not bad and worth a look. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Forrestgump1Jun 4, 2013
"Jack Reacher is a smart, action packed and intelligent thriller that is a truly entertaining film to watch from start to finish. Tom Cruise is suburb in the titular role. Begging the question if Jack Reacher is one of the best action movies"Jack Reacher is a smart, action packed and intelligent thriller that is a truly entertaining film to watch from start to finish. Tom Cruise is suburb in the titular role. Begging the question if Jack Reacher is one of the best action movies of 2012 A- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BarneyOnMTOct 9, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: I expected run off the mill action movie, and what I got was certainly a mix of that, but also a far more sophisticated and surprisingly clever crime-film. Firstly it's full of detail, and that comes across not only in eachWHAT I LIKED: I expected run off the mill action movie, and what I got was certainly a mix of that, but also a far more sophisticated and surprisingly clever crime-film. Firstly it's full of detail, and that comes across not only in each brilliant fight/action sequence, but also in the characterisation and writing where Jack Reacher is pegged extremely well by Christopher McQuarrie and Tom Cruise. Second though, there's a true 90's vibe; thanks to constant stylistic choices and another awesome score from Joe Kraemer. In the end, this is well above what I thought it would be.
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Whatever genre these things fall into; you always have to be in the right mood. It may be one of the best of the bunch, but why are these plots always so goddamn complex? I get it's part of the appeal, but I just find it takes me out of some moments.
VERDICT: Watch this with an analytical head and you'll be surprised at how clever it is. Want to watch and engage? You'll have a ball, but you'll be confused as hell...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mrmonsterMay 22, 2013
A thrilling, intense vigilante thriller. With all the action of a superhero movie, and a really good mystery that will keep you on the edge of your seat, it is no doubt a movie that should be among the best of 2012.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
theofficeDec 24, 2012
This is a superb thriller and one of my favorite films this year. Story and characters are both very compelling and it was great to see how Reacher unraveled the mystery. I don't get the negative responses and suspect most probably have to doThis is a superb thriller and one of my favorite films this year. Story and characters are both very compelling and it was great to see how Reacher unraveled the mystery. I don't get the negative responses and suspect most probably have to do with a personal dislike of Tom Cruise or that the movie was not exactly like the books. Regardless, I loved the pacing and thought the action was great and all very realistic. Reacher is also an extremely interesting character to learn about... very intelligent, sarcastic and witty, mysterious, and strong. He's analogous to James Bond and Cruise does a fantastic job here. I very highly recommend this movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
NotoriousFraudJan 25, 2015
Tom Cruise takes the titular character created by Lee Child and brings him to the screen in an excellent way. 'Jack Reacher' is a smart action thriller that I highly recommend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Dimitris01Nov 11, 2013
It starts promisingly but overall it's an action/thriller with a simple plot that needed more development and mediocre fights. However the hero is memorable because he doesn't follow the rules and Amy Smart is super cute.
argonautis.eu
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jamessMay 8, 2013
Tom Cruise is Tom-Cruise-In-Action-Movie-mode. Whether he's playing Jack Reacher, or Ethan Hunt, or the Knight guy from that Cameron Diaz movie...he's varying degrees of Tom Cruise. I can accept that. What I appreciated most is the '70sTom Cruise is Tom-Cruise-In-Action-Movie-mode. Whether he's playing Jack Reacher, or Ethan Hunt, or the Knight guy from that Cameron Diaz movie...he's varying degrees of Tom Cruise. I can accept that. What I appreciated most is the '70s feeling I got watching this, sp. the car chase and shootout scenes. McQuarrie must be a fan of The Seven Ups, and others of the type. And with Caleb Deschanel lensing the action, it looks damn good. (Notice how the cinematography in films like Skyfall and Mission Impossible:GP are handled by current masters like Roger Deakins and Robert Elswit...?) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OzyDec 21, 2014
I must admit - i wasn't all that sold on the idea that Cruise was some mysterious kick ass army veteran. , And although the first fight seen is good it still doesn't give that kick ass flare we see from the mission impossible movies. CruiseI must admit - i wasn't all that sold on the idea that Cruise was some mysterious kick ass army veteran. , And although the first fight seen is good it still doesn't give that kick ass flare we see from the mission impossible movies. Cruise sounded more like a well behaved family man rather than that of a rogue dark angel. However, all that aside the movie is actually really good. I enjoyed the story, the villains and especially the chase scene. by the end everything seems to come together well - i was satisfied for a Saturday afternoon on the couch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Mazmorrero47Jan 4, 2013
The only thing worthy in Jack Reacher is watching Tom Cruise being a badass. Other than that is just another decent popcorn movie that will keep you entertained enough a Saturday afternoon in which you have nothing better to do. The plot isThe only thing worthy in Jack Reacher is watching Tom Cruise being a badass. Other than that is just another decent popcorn movie that will keep you entertained enough a Saturday afternoon in which you have nothing better to do. The plot is mainly exposition-driven and it becomes so convoluted at some point that you won't mind understanding the stakes in it, which aren't very interesting anyway. Rosamund Pike and Robert Duvall are enjoyable to watch, Jai Courtney has a lot of potential as an action star (we'll confirm that in A Good Day To Die Hard) and Werner Herzog is just a one-dimensional Russian stereotype. But well, the flaws don't really matter, Jack Reacher achieves its goal and Cruise reminds us why he is one of the greatest action stars of all time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
wisertimeApr 7, 2014
I expected to hate this movie. I was forced to watch it at a family gathering. Actually was decent. This review must be longer though. Not my typical genre, but enjoyed the plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
pesho_oneNov 26, 2014
Good old-school action movie. It has intriguing plot which develops nicely without loosing grip or momentum. The action scenes are not unrealistic, they are typical for 90s action movie with no unnecessary special effects. The mainGood old-school action movie. It has intriguing plot which develops nicely without loosing grip or momentum. The action scenes are not unrealistic, they are typical for 90s action movie with no unnecessary special effects. The main protagonist is a tough guy who knows what he is doing but is also not too happy to do it. It will remind you for the early Willis/Stallone/Gibson type of action movies. There might be some weak moments or cliches, but don't let this discourage you to see it. If it wasn't for the occasional too brutal scene (which could be done tastefully instead), I'd be giving it 8. Overall I am happy I watched it - entertaining throughout. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lenny68Jan 2, 2013
Much better than I had expected. forget the naysayers; this is two hours of good if not great cinema. I am not a huge fan of Cruise the celebrity, but Cruise the actor almost always delivers the goods and this is no exception
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
7
FullmetalJul 27, 2013
Jack Reacher was a quirky movie with a good deal of action that made it a hidden gem. There were moments where the writing seemed to drag a bit, but otherwise it was an enjoyable movie. There are few Tom Cruise movies that aren't entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bradtheman123Mar 2, 2013
When you are watching this movie you will feel the energy and excitement Tom Cruise has always been one of my favorites. I think this is the one of the best movies of 2012 if not the BEST movie. Great movie and a bit humorous not all actionWhen you are watching this movie you will feel the energy and excitement Tom Cruise has always been one of my favorites. I think this is the one of the best movies of 2012 if not the BEST movie. Great movie and a bit humorous not all action BUT the action is crazy good. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BenardenDec 27, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Decided to see " Jack Reacher", having read all ( seventeen? ) of Lee Childs " Jack Reacher" books. What a great movie!
Tense & gritty & taught & " Noirish" & fast paced.

Tom Cruise channels the " Jack Reacher" essence, as written by Lee Child, distilling the detection, the intellect, the minutae of " what doesn't fit in an air tight case." Cruise also portrays a guy tough enough to be gentle. Reacher: Does Sandy work here?
Store clerk: What are you, a cop? I'm going to need to see some ID.
Reacher: Go get Sandy.
Store Clerk: Well I need to see something.
Reacher: How about the inside of an ambulance?

Great pacing, editing and camera work, in dark, gritty locations.
Moves with the momentum of Indiana Jones.
Werner Herzog and Robert Duval deliver great performances, In short, The film delivers the goods. You will be pleasantly surprised.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
JohnnyCJan 8, 2013
Do you want to see an entertaining popcorn movie? This one is for you. Writer-Director Mcquarrie won an Oscar for his "The Usual Suspects" screenplay, and does a great job here. Cruise's character is the type of hero that always seems to beDo you want to see an entertaining popcorn movie? This one is for you. Writer-Director Mcquarrie won an Oscar for his "The Usual Suspects" screenplay, and does a great job here. Cruise's character is the type of hero that always seems to be one step ahead of the bad guys, and can handle anything thrown his way. What's wrong with that? The audience, my daughter, and myself thoroughly enjoyed this film. I've never read any of the 17 Jack Reacher books, and maybe that is where the complaints are coming from. There have been books turned into movies that pissed me off because they were not true to the source, but the author didn't have a problem with this adaptation, and I don't think you will either. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
LynetteJan 14, 2013
I think Tom Cruise really played the part of this Character Jack Reacher extremely intelligently and well performed. This move is very heart pounding and get you off the edge of your own seat in the theater. I love the action and every fightI think Tom Cruise really played the part of this Character Jack Reacher extremely intelligently and well performed. This move is very heart pounding and get you off the edge of your own seat in the theater. I love the action and every fight scene of Jack Reacher played by Tom Cruise. To me the movie never leaves you guessing and very well written for such as well played cast. I can not wait until they make another movie with Tom as Jack Reacher, because something tells me this saga isn't over just yet. Love this movie, because I seen it two times and can not wait until it arrives on DVD. Collapse
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
santiagodracoDec 21, 2012
Jack Reacher is a pop-corn thriller, nothing more nothing less nor does it propose to be other than what it is. You don't go to see this movie anticipating another Mission Impossible sized blockbuster. This is what the critics don't seem toJack Reacher is a pop-corn thriller, nothing more nothing less nor does it propose to be other than what it is. You don't go to see this movie anticipating another Mission Impossible sized blockbuster. This is what the critics don't seem to understand.

How does it deliver on it's promise to entertain? Very well. JR is a brisk entertaining adventure with a stoic and smartly played lead by Tom Cruse. He delivers what he promised, kick butt fun.

In my opinion the writing is smart. The bad guys have good dialog (while we are left feeling somewhat unsatisfied on the back-story, but this is the fault of the writers not the movie) but still feel the villians are to be feared, both for their ferocity and intelligence.

Jack Reacher is pure fun pop-corn entertainment and is highly recommended as such.
Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
TomHugDec 31, 2012
OK so Tom Cruise isn't 6'5". He is Reacher. I went into this with very low expectations due to the middling reviews this movie has been getting.

This movie characterizes Reacher very closely to the book, and it's well done. The plot
OK so Tom Cruise isn't 6'5". He is Reacher. I went into this with very low expectations due to the middling reviews this movie has been getting.

This movie characterizes Reacher very closely to the book, and it's well done. The plot follows the book, pretty much, to the best of my recollections.

If you expect to walk in and find "Ethan Hunt" as Reacher, you'll be disappointed. If you read the Reacher on Lee Child's pages, who is a bit grim and one-dimensional (except for that enigmatic deep well that motivates him), then I find that this movie succeeds on all levels.

Oh and Werner Herzog is deliciously slimy as a villain. Bonus.

Rosamund Pike is the hot damsel in distress. Another bonus.

See this movie!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
crazyspacemanDec 22, 2012
Whether the critics are Cruise-hating, or comparing this to giants in the cop/robber genre, they are not giving this film the credit it deserves. Its a 2 hour, thinking man's procedural. Well written, well directed, and extremelyWhether the critics are Cruise-hating, or comparing this to giants in the cop/robber genre, they are not giving this film the credit it deserves. Its a 2 hour, thinking man's procedural. Well written, well directed, and extremely well-paced. Its entertaining, with the requisite one-liners, fights (which unlike Nolan's Batman, are extremely easy to follow and enjoy), and great characters.

Of course McQuarrie delivers a few twists, as much as the source material will allow, but that's not really the point. You know who the bad guy is, you know who the good guy is, and you enjoy seeing them converge in a hail of bullets and fist fights is entertaining.

Where the film really stands out, is that this type of character hasn't really existed in this genre. He's not a cowboy, thrill-seeker, or invincible hero. He's a guy who likes anonymity, quiet, and ultimately justice - by any means necessary. He doesn't answer to a police captain or superior (thank god), he's funded by his pention and lives meagerly by preference (refreshing) so he can't be bought. He's simply a war vet who is fed up with the stench of bureaucracy.

I truly hope audiences give this a look, because I can say without question that Reacher is going to get better with each adventure, as his character is complex and timely where we all wish someone could just punch the loudmouth at the bar, skip the jurisdictions, and shoot the bad guys to avoid lawyers letting them go free.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
7
phillytomDec 25, 2012
Entertaining. If you do not tie the Tom Cruise character to the Jack Reacher character in the novels, its fine. As always with his movies, Tom Cruise gives the ladies "Cruise Candy" and the guys enough action to keep us from rating theEntertaining. If you do not tie the Tom Cruise character to the Jack Reacher character in the novels, its fine. As always with his movies, Tom Cruise gives the ladies "Cruise Candy" and the guys enough action to keep us from rating the movie a "chick flick". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SteamcausedthisJul 20, 2013
Didn't get the chance to watch this in theaters but it was definitely a good Saturday night movie to watch on the couch with a few friends, probably not the movie to boast about in your collection.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Mr-Liberal-LDSFeb 2, 2013
It was what it was, formulaic entertainment for the masses. You will definitely find yourself engaged in this one on the edge of your seat with sweaty palms...but it was simultaneously just ridiculous at times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
chibistevoJul 7, 2013
In some respects, it's easy to see why Jack Reacher was never going to be a darling for the critics. Where in the Crime genre, you expect great success to only come from a riveting script, cajoled and simmered for years before anyone evenIn some respects, it's easy to see why Jack Reacher was never going to be a darling for the critics. Where in the Crime genre, you expect great success to only come from a riveting script, cajoled and simmered for years before anyone even thinks about directing it.

What you must remember, then, is that Lee Child knocks one of these books out every year. If anything, the story he provides is just a standard crime thriller. Such prolific output is usually fit for straight-to-TV drama series', so it's a surprise that Jack Reacher not only received the treatment it deserved, but also provides perhaps the most entertaining crime-thriller since The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.

Tom Cruise, hate him or love him, and forgetting the height issue, is definitely Reacher. Part of my respect for the film comes from solely how well he pulled the character off. As for the plot, it's standard Lee Child fare. You're provided with the general story, not so much a whodunnit as a whodiddit with them. There's red herrings, viewpoints from both the good and bad guys, and it is all paced at the same break neck speed as the novels.

My only gripe is that the reveals are all quite predictable and unexciting, which again, comes back to Child's original work. Although he can write great material and characters, the mystery side to his novels has, even after all these years, been rather amateurish. But what's important here is that everyone involved in the film makes it completely believable, right until the final scene, which, is hardly Bourne, but still a great finale.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BlitzWing00Apr 26, 2013
The movie was interesting and entertaining. Tom Cruise as an actor does a decent job in the movie. I really liked the fact that you can actually figure out most things his character figures out in the movie if you were paying close attentionThe movie was interesting and entertaining. Tom Cruise as an actor does a decent job in the movie. I really liked the fact that you can actually figure out most things his character figures out in the movie if you were paying close attention and were as analytical as he was. The movie did not hide clues and suddenly reveal them to give the character an unrealistic 'superpower' level of deduction. There were a few scenes that could have been better executed and were 'action' movie cliche, but for the most part it was pretty realistic most of the time in terms of technical things like firearms. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jessof89Dec 21, 2012
Tom cruise is like marmite you either love him or hate him, usually i tend to go for the latter. However i found this film to be very true to the book which i respect, it had action, suspense and a bit of romance between the two main leadsTom cruise is like marmite you either love him or hate him, usually i tend to go for the latter. However i found this film to be very true to the book which i respect, it had action, suspense and a bit of romance between the two main leads "Cruise, Rosamund pike". If you're looking for a thrill ride then i recommend you go and see this despite what the critics say this is definitely a crowd pleaser. Expand
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
9
MeltedFab5Dec 24, 2012
For putting this character up on screen for the first time I thought they pulled this off well. Few missteps but an overall well made movie that does the character justice while satisfying where it should. Good time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
clasher101Jan 9, 2013
The more you think about it the more ridiculous it gets, so don't and take it at face value and have a fun at the theaters. This is crime thriller lite, it entertains while your watching but it instantly vaporizes as soon as you get your buttThe more you think about it the more ridiculous it gets, so don't and take it at face value and have a fun at the theaters. This is crime thriller lite, it entertains while your watching but it instantly vaporizes as soon as you get your butt off the cinema seat. This is all Cruise, which is a good thing he's one of the few actors left who never seems to just phone it in. With him I'd like to see Reacher ride off to a sequel though a much much tighter script would greatly be appreciated. The main villain is stock the leading lady could have been more fleshed out because Ms.Pike (god bless those knockers) isn't all that interesting which is too bad. Other than that if they decide to make another Reacher film i'm all for it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DanieldiabolicoJun 4, 2014
I don't know why this movie didn't get a higher score. I absolutely loved it. I didn't see it till it was on dvd. And I had no interest in watching it but I sat down and watched a scene that totally hooked me. The acting in this is great. TomI don't know why this movie didn't get a higher score. I absolutely loved it. I didn't see it till it was on dvd. And I had no interest in watching it but I sat down and watched a scene that totally hooked me. The acting in this is great. Tom Cruise delivers like usual. Their is a lot of great action sequences. But also a great story. If you are thinking about watching it. I would totally recommend it. And if it turns out you liked it. You can get excited for the sequel. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JackalApr 19, 2013
Having read the books, I have always thought of Jack reacher as the "Real Jason Bourne". A great film and adaption from one shot the book. I loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mehkiFeb 1, 2013
This movie deserves a higher rating. If you like action flicks with invincible heroes, you like this movie. A fun action adventure and Tom Cruise once again proves he's the hardest working man in show biz.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BeatzMay 3, 2013
Honestly. as movies get worse and worse I have become more lenient This movie was well done. Don't expect an action pact thriller though. I loved the small anti government messages and the bad taste towards cops! love to see a movie thatHonestly. as movies get worse and worse I have become more lenient This movie was well done. Don't expect an action pact thriller though. I loved the small anti government messages and the bad taste towards cops! love to see a movie that reaches out to the non brain washed citizen. the bad reviews are from washed up retards just wanting shock value. End the Feds! peace! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
DanKageakaTKApr 23, 2013
tom cruise does a good job in this action/suspense? movie. i wish the story was a little better and thought out. also his back story is never really brought to its fullest i thought. with that said i did find enjoyment out of it and wouldtom cruise does a good job in this action/suspense? movie. i wish the story was a little better and thought out. also his back story is never really brought to its fullest i thought. with that said i did find enjoyment out of it and would recommend a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GNR135Jan 3, 2013
Tom Cruise at his... maybe 2nd or 3rd best. This movie is a probably see for every action lover. Now I can type forever but I just typed 2 long reviews on Skyfall and the video game 007 Legends.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
kdhPLS4709Jun 15, 2014
Great flick and Tom Cruise nails Jack Reacher other than being 6'5". I like the thought of someone like him out there. A free man. The old man villain will give you chills if you just pay attention to his dialogue. There is a depth to thisGreat flick and Tom Cruise nails Jack Reacher other than being 6'5". I like the thought of someone like him out there. A free man. The old man villain will give you chills if you just pay attention to his dialogue. There is a depth to this movie that most will miss! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
waveriderDec 22, 2012
While I thought the movie could have used a couple more action scenes the plot made up for any lack. The few fight scenes were, however, extremely well done. It's a great crime whodunnit and cruise keeps the tension and suspense goingWhile I thought the movie could have used a couple more action scenes the plot made up for any lack. The few fight scenes were, however, extremely well done. It's a great crime whodunnit and cruise keeps the tension and suspense going throughout. Duvall has a short part but helps make the film. Whenever there is great disparity in critic reviews (0-83). (Note that the WSJ gave the 0) my radar goes up. A scene where Reacher explains why he lives off the grid away from our programmed work/sleep routine effectively lifts the veil on those Wall St Nazis who've literally enslaved us all and I believe that is what pissed off their media whores. Show them that you see through their smokescreen and go enjoy the film - and think about the deeper message -it's an interesting one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
sam1829Dec 26, 2012
Jack Reacher took the best things of Bond, Bourne, & Die Hard and crammed it into one movie, and did it pretty well. An excellent performance by Tom Cruise, as well as everyone else involved. One thing however, I wouldn't have released thisJack Reacher took the best things of Bond, Bourne, & Die Hard and crammed it into one movie, and did it pretty well. An excellent performance by Tom Cruise, as well as everyone else involved. One thing however, I wouldn't have released this film this time of year. It's really more of a summer flick in my opinion. Maybe they will do that for the next Reacher film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
wrightjeffMay 31, 2013
No, there is nothing new with Jack Reacher in terms of contributing to the genre. However, if you like the genre then this is a more than passable example. This is well worth the time invested in watching if the expectations going in aren'tNo, there is nothing new with Jack Reacher in terms of contributing to the genre. However, if you like the genre then this is a more than passable example. This is well worth the time invested in watching if the expectations going in aren't set too high. In fact, you may come away hoping for more from Cruise's Reacher. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TharisJan 7, 2014
Though I did not read the book that this title is based upon, and cannot therefore make speculation as to how well it holds true to the source material, I will say that this is a well put together film that doesn't ask it's audience to doThough I did not read the book that this title is based upon, and cannot therefore make speculation as to how well it holds true to the source material, I will say that this is a well put together film that doesn't ask it's audience to do anything more than sit back and wait for the narrative to be unraveled. Though it teases a few twists, the plot is pretty easily predictable. The charm that this film has, is not in being a psychological rollercoaster in the same league as Michael Douglas' "The Game" nor is it in being an over the top action movie in the same vein as Bruce Willis' "Die Hard", but rather being a coalescence of the two.

Tom Cruise (love him or hate him) does what Tom Cruise does best, he allows himself to partially melt away from the screen and allows the character to come out and be somewhat believable. Now, though Cruise's acting ability is no where near the likes of the Masterful Gary Oldman, or Daniel Day-Lewis, he does a good job of getting out of the way of his character enough that you believe him. Though some people will disagree with me on the grounds that his range of characters are all loosely the same, I would argue that it would be smart of an actor to accept roles that he knows he can knock out of the park so to speak. And if the argument continued there is only one thing I would have to say, "Interview with a Vampire" and at that point we'd be concluded.

Rosamund Pike is excellent in this film, she also brings a level of legitimacy to some of her roles that are in movies that have no business having any such thing ('Doom' I'm looking at you). Given the circumstances she is faced with the natural reaction of anyone in that situation would be one of terror, though she still allows the character to shine through as a strong female (given it is within her arena as a lawyer). Don't get me wrong, her role won't be winning any points for the flick from someone who is putting it up to the Bechdel test. This does not diminish how well she played the role, from strong confident lawyer to "deer in the headlights" terrified civilian. There are moments where she switches gears so rapidly that you can't help but believe that she is petrified beyond all reason. An excellent performance by an actress who deserves more of the good and fulfilling kinds of roles someone of her caliber desires.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NicolasCageMar 4, 2014
Jack Reacher is a very smart thriller that keeps you on the edge of your seat. Tom cruise sells the character Jack Reacher even though the title character is 6ft 5, blonde hair and a lean 220 muscular body.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
gregor-eDec 26, 2012
Huge casting blunder to expect Tom Cruise to play Jack Reacher. He doesn't even begin to portray the brooding, damaged, taut-steel machismo of the the character. Instead we wind up with a middle-aged Top Gun playing tough guy. It falls soHuge casting blunder to expect Tom Cruise to play Jack Reacher. He doesn't even begin to portray the brooding, damaged, taut-steel machismo of the the character. Instead we wind up with a middle-aged Top Gun playing tough guy. It falls so short of the character presented in Lee Child's fiction that I found it difficult to get into the movie, constantly finding myself thinking "no way Jack Reacher would come across like that". I guess that's the curse of having heard Dick Hill narrating the audiobook to compare against. Aside from that, the movie is good for whiling away a couple of hours. It grabs your attention and keeps it. I hope we see more of Lee Child's books on the screen. Preferably with a different lead. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
samantha86Dec 22, 2012
This was a great film. Tom as a main actor was excellent - he really assumed the role he had to play in a way that made me feel like I understood Jack Reacher as a character and person well. The secondary main actor (character Helen) was goodThis was a great film. Tom as a main actor was excellent - he really assumed the role he had to play in a way that made me feel like I understood Jack Reacher as a character and person well. The secondary main actor (character Helen) was good too - she played the role very well. The story line was just the right amount of action, mystery and a pinch of romance (very slight). The way the plot rolled out was great in that it left you wondering what was really going on at every moment - who the bad guys were, who was involved and who wasn't, what really happened and what didn't and so on. Excellent film - very much worth seeing in the theatre!!! Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
braderjayDec 25, 2012
Jack Richer for me is simple, violence, real army martial skil especially as a Military Police. Humor scripts, pure action without any sexual intercourse(maybe u guys hate it! but I prefer this kind of genre as action movie really no need anyJack Richer for me is simple, violence, real army martial skil especially as a Military Police. Humor scripts, pure action without any sexual intercourse(maybe u guys hate it! but I prefer this kind of genre as action movie really no need any sex thingy included). Jack Richer showing that Tom Cruise really still king of the action figure besides Dennis Craig in James Bond latest franchise. I really recommended friends n colleagues to watch Jack Richer. Even I heard some of the novel fans doubt Tom Cruise as he identified not as the real character in the novel but I believed he really scored there. No doubts about it! I really looking forward to buy this blu-ray movie as well. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
Uneed2ElevateDec 26, 2012
It's official. Hollywood critics have it in for Tom Cruise. How else can we explain Jack Reacher's aggregate low scores? This is not Oscar worthy stuff. But as far as movie entertainment goes, JR was a very satisfying action thriller. InIt's official. Hollywood critics have it in for Tom Cruise. How else can we explain Jack Reacher's aggregate low scores? This is not Oscar worthy stuff. But as far as movie entertainment goes, JR was a very satisfying action thriller. In fact, I enjoyed it much more than the latest James Bond flick (Skyfall) which has garnered across the board positive reviews. Say what you will about Cruise (and his controversial views / behavior ) but let's at least be fair! Writer-Director Christopher McQuarrie has made a very entertaining movie. This is the best Tom Cruise flick I've seen in years... Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
Barnsley1508Dec 28, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very intelligently thought out thriller with an exciting plot. cruise depicts his character well in what has been a very successful and true adaptation of the novel. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
BradismymanDec 30, 2012
Enjoyed the movie very much. It was on the long side and I never looked at my watch. Cruise did a great job and it had a nice twist. The movie is what it is !, if your looking for a good thriller then you should enjoy it. The other thing IEnjoyed the movie very much. It was on the long side and I never looked at my watch. Cruise did a great job and it had a nice twist. The movie is what it is !, if your looking for a good thriller then you should enjoy it. The other thing I really enjoyed was that the violence wasn't over the top. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
macgeek61Jan 3, 2013
The movie was going along pretty good until they had to throw in the gratutious cleavage throughout the whole second half. Her wide eyed constant disbelief look / Alex from SVU voice threw me off too.
I can't picture Tom Cruise as a menacing
The movie was going along pretty good until they had to throw in the gratutious cleavage throughout the whole second half. Her wide eyed constant disbelief look / Alex from SVU voice threw me off too.
I can't picture Tom Cruise as a menacing tough guy. Sorry, it just didn't work for me.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Bearman64Jan 22, 2013
I thought Jack Reacher was one of Tom Cruises best films. He was actually believable and cool for a change. The last movie I enjoyed liked this from him was Risky Business. It was the first time in a long time I thought it would be coolI thought Jack Reacher was one of Tom Cruises best films. He was actually believable and cool for a change. The last movie I enjoyed liked this from him was Risky Business. It was the first time in a long time I thought it would be cool to be him. I thought he did a great job of becoming the character and making him believable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jersteMay 31, 2013
This is the best movie ever made!,

After watching it i wanted to watch it again. While watching them investigating and unraveling the mystery there is a atmosphere the deeper they go that something bad happen and the characters show the
This is the best movie ever made!,

After watching it i wanted to watch it again.
While watching them investigating and unraveling the mystery there is a atmosphere the deeper they go that something bad happen and the characters show the sense of urgency usually just when its too late.
The way they have added a bit of humor too, fits in so well and is hilarious, but maintains a serious movie feel. The gun scenes have a call of duty similarity and being a fan it was exciting to watch.
All the characters are amazing, after this movie and oblivion i forgive Tom for going a bit crazy in the past.

Its not a movie its a adventure, a mystery that makes you feel the climax coming and does not disappoint. Blue ray version recommended.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MastReasonSep 25, 2013
This is a movie that if you got it you liked it, if you didn't get it you didn't like it. The source material came through really strong with the dramatic tension of the book brought to life in a way that is rare for adaptations to do.This is a movie that if you got it you liked it, if you didn't get it you didn't like it. The source material came through really strong with the dramatic tension of the book brought to life in a way that is rare for adaptations to do. Casting was spot on, it was nice to see Tom Cruise take an a colder character than his usual more emotional roles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews