Paramount Pictures | Release Date: December 21, 2012
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 385 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
218
Mixed:
112
Negative:
55
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
3
ExKingJan 27, 2014
Jack Reacher is a waste of two hours and 10 minutes, it might look like a standard shooting gallery but it managed to be even worse than that given the fact that the movie is slow, which is a surprise cause these type of movies tends to beJack Reacher is a waste of two hours and 10 minutes, it might look like a standard shooting gallery but it managed to be even worse than that given the fact that the movie is slow, which is a surprise cause these type of movies tends to be fast, plot-less and stupid. this one is slow,plot-less and stupid.
i mean it's not a crime movie, diffidently not an action movie and most importantly it's not an enjoyable movie.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
agagilApr 19, 2013
Just stopped watching after twenty minutes. Nothing seemed even remotely believable and the lawyer and Reacher characters dialogues were outright ridiculous.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
DiosysJan 22, 2013
You may be mystified by the unknown character of Jack Reacher, but this film is completely and utterly unbelievable. Its hard to even suspend our reality to get into the movie because the immersion sucks as we are forced to call this movie onYou may be mystified by the unknown character of Jack Reacher, but this film is completely and utterly unbelievable. Its hard to even suspend our reality to get into the movie because the immersion sucks as we are forced to call this movie on all the holes it has. I could name three or four instances of storyline that does not make sense. Terrible movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
Qgal5kapApr 22, 2013
What a load of rubbish. This flic has the most rubbish dialogue ever. It just feels unnatural and rehearsed.
It makes me wonder if anyone who partook in making this piece of garbage, have ever had a real life conversation. What's up with the
What a load of rubbish. This flic has the most rubbish dialogue ever. It just feels unnatural and rehearsed.
It makes me wonder if anyone who partook in making this piece of garbage, have ever had a real life conversation. What's up with the eyes of that lead actress? Is she constantly on cocaine?
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
SupR_GDec 21, 2012
Not sure why this was rated over 60% on Rotten Tomatoes. This movie is terribly paced, the story is ridiculous and frankly the whole blonde damsel in distress scene was over the top. Some scenes just drag on too long and others feel like theyNot sure why this was rated over 60% on Rotten Tomatoes. This movie is terribly paced, the story is ridiculous and frankly the whole blonde damsel in distress scene was over the top. Some scenes just drag on too long and others feel like they should have been cut out all together. This is one of those movies you watch when it's free on TV and you have nothing else to do. Expand
10 of 18 users found this helpful108
All this user's reviews
0
David_HDec 21, 2012
Please don't waste your money on a ticket to Jack Reacher. I think some of these movie studios could save a lot of trouble, if every year they would just release a movie entitled "Generic Tom Cruise Action Movie". This has to go down as onePlease don't waste your money on a ticket to Jack Reacher. I think some of these movie studios could save a lot of trouble, if every year they would just release a movie entitled "Generic Tom Cruise Action Movie". This has to go down as one of the worst casting errors in film history. The premise is just so silly; Tom Cruise is what about 5' 7"... my grandmother could kick his butt. I don't know if I'm more disappointed with Cruise, the film studio, or Lee Child, the author of the Jack Reacher novels. I guess the only people that might find this movie tolerable are people that don't read books. Lee Child's series of books featuring this character are not exactly Melville, but they are entertaining and one thing you don't forget is his character development. If you know the stories, then you know this is a little bit like casting Cruise to play the life story of Hulk Hogan. You don't have to take my work for it; look up a facebook page called "Tom Cruise is not Jack Reacher". Expand
8 of 16 users found this helpful88
All this user's reviews
1
iamdanDec 28, 2012
Tom Cruise was just a bad choice. The dialoge from the start didn't match the actor who has no depth to acheive the Reach Character. This was just a movie made for a shallow actor's skills and I was hoping for more, but got a lot less.Tom Cruise was just a bad choice. The dialoge from the start didn't match the actor who has no depth to acheive the Reach Character. This was just a movie made for a shallow actor's skills and I was hoping for more, but got a lot less. Fortunately I had a free pass to the movie or I would be really pissed off. Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
0
kbgcriticDec 28, 2012
This is like a bad CSI show with more guns. Boring halting cliched dialog. Every crime film cliche you can imagine. No depth at all with any character. Tom Cruise cannot do Arnold or Clint. Too many other good movies out now to waste yourThis is like a bad CSI show with more guns. Boring halting cliched dialog. Every crime film cliche you can imagine. No depth at all with any character. Tom Cruise cannot do Arnold or Clint. Too many other good movies out now to waste your time and money on this. Stay home and watch Law and Order or CSI. More entertaining. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
DrTonyApr 28, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After the first five minutes, this starts to feel like a bad comic book flic. You'd think with millions dollars budget they could've made something reasonably believable with a coherent plot. As it is, the movie is just idiotic, unrealistic, and badly played. The characters are ridiculous from the "good lawyer" to the oddity of the Russian ex-con villain. No character development whatsoever. Crazy predispositions all throughout. And the whole thing ends with the "bad guys" getting together waiting for Tom Cruze to come and get them, pretty much one by one. Yeah, sure... Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
hotjclarkDec 21, 2012
This was one of the worst movies I have ever seen and it was so bad in fact that I purposefully created an account on this site just so I could talk about how terrible it was. I feel like I threw away two hours of my life and will never getThis was one of the worst movies I have ever seen and it was so bad in fact that I purposefully created an account on this site just so I could talk about how terrible it was. I feel like I threw away two hours of my life and will never get it back. The lead actress was wooden and laughable, as if she were trying to emote with a face-full of Botox. Tom Cruise was standard Tom Cruise. I got so angry by the end at the fact that I had to sit through this pathetic movie that I threw my bottle of water on the floor. Expand
10 of 23 users found this helpful1013
All this user's reviews
2
cmktivDec 23, 2012
The movie started off kind of ambiguous, but as soon as Tom Cruise's character dialogue started, I knew it was going to be bad, and it was.

Jack Reacher is this thin, but unflinchingly arrogant (rightly so) all around badass. Close to
The movie started off kind of ambiguous, but as soon as Tom Cruise's character dialogue started, I knew it was going to be bad, and it was.

Jack Reacher is this thin, but unflinchingly arrogant (rightly so) all around badass. Close to super hero status. Everyone else in the movie has a hard time keeping their wits, but Jack Reacher shows everyone their ignorance, and gets **** done.

Jack Reacher has one mood/tone/persona, and it never changes. The movie presents about every five minutes that it has blown your mind, but it is completely underwhelming, predictable, and cheesy.

The two points I did give the movie were because of Rosamund Pike, who I
Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
1
BartDec 22, 2012
What a joke. Did the people who made this movie even look at the books, let alone read them! A violent mish mash of badly passed scenes full of cliches. Tom Cruise id a midget compared to what the character is supposed to be. Not toWhat a joke. Did the people who made this movie even look at the books, let alone read them! A violent mish mash of badly passed scenes full of cliches. Tom Cruise id a midget compared to what the character is supposed to be. Not to mention WAY to much plastic surgery and botox. Relay violent, and cliched, with no satisfaction to be had. Save yourself the money, and if you must see this, wait for it on cable, which may show up as early as next week considering how terrible it is. Expand
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
0
boatyardtimJan 10, 2013
I just knew not to watch this film,thought i would give it the benefit of doubt ,IT IS TERRIBLE nothing like the book shame on lee childs for selling out,what on earth is Tom cruise thinking he can get away playing the part of a 6.5 footI just knew not to watch this film,thought i would give it the benefit of doubt ,IT IS TERRIBLE nothing like the book shame on lee childs for selling out,what on earth is Tom cruise thinking he can get away playing the part of a 6.5 foot military police man he is a whole foot shorter,nothing like the books,just a ego trip for Cruise S H I T E Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
60bubbaMar 24, 2013
Possibly the worst character casting of any book to film movie. This version destroys the only main character of the book and therefore renders the movie laughable. If you are a Lee Child fan, stay away from this film and retain your originalPossibly the worst character casting of any book to film movie. This version destroys the only main character of the book and therefore renders the movie laughable. If you are a Lee Child fan, stay away from this film and retain your original character. Tom Cruise sucked also. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
3
BryanFurysMomJan 8, 2013
What was Tom Cruise, the big blockbuster movie guy known for trillion dollar franchises like mission impossible doing in this half-baked piss poor movie that just reeks of being rushed for the holiday season? Personally, I would have ratherWhat was Tom Cruise, the big blockbuster movie guy known for trillion dollar franchises like mission impossible doing in this half-baked piss poor movie that just reeks of being rushed for the holiday season? Personally, I would have rather paid to see the Guilt Trip (yeah, its that bad) but my buddies bought my ticket for me.

Basically, some dude picks off a bunch of dudes GTA-style and falls into a coma after name dropping some other mysterious dude who apparently makes people gush, blush, get their panties in a bunch or go berserk or all of the above. No one knows who he is or what he does or where he's from or how he got there but instantly he's a private investigator, an MMA street fighter, a hypnotic with the power of persuasion who can get people to just hand over their cars, information and other stuff for no reason at all. All the ladies want to sleep with him and all the guys want to beat him senseless. Who is he? He's Jack Reach Around...errr...Jack Reacher. But who cares? Action? What action? There's 3 fights in the entire movie....and that's it. The rest of it is all investigative mumbo jumbo and legal crap that makes you wish that CSI (which it clearly got its influence from) never happened. And apparently its totally cool with the cops that Mr. Reacher shoots people, breaks into homes, steals cars and bangs the D.A.'s daughter. Remember, he's got the power of persuasion...awwww yeah.

Honestly this movie sucks. It's not worth seeing at the cinema. You'd do better to wait for it on-demand or netflix or something. It's easily among the most forgettable movies of 2012.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
gambit21xdDec 3, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Jack Reacher is a movie that doesnt deliver its expectations a louzy plot and Tom Cruise preformence is non inspirational and emotionless he was acting as a military profesional and Helen Rodin played by Rosamund Pike i the only thing i liked she played as a defense attorney trying to defend her emplyer James Barr Accused of murdering five people on a parking lot with a sniper rifle and jack was hired to help him the assassin used a parking meter to count his time of being there and used the quarter for his finger print and then they reveal the main adversary The Zen which means prisoner and test random people to join his cause. what i think of this is a plot for an 80's action thriller this didnt belong in this decade if they ever make this movie again improve it and make it a better expiriance for the people because when i went in the theater they were only 6 people there and it was Jan/02/2013 and it was my first mistake of the year i give it a 3 out of 10 Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
ReacherfanDec 8, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Like other reviewers below, I cannot believe Lee Child could give Tom Cruise free rein to play this character and completely trash this movie. Anyone who has read the book will see this movie for the overhyped nonsense it is. No attempt has been made to convey who the real Jack Reacher is; this movie makes him appear as a thug who can shoot and fight better than the other thugs. Perhaps Cruise could have spent some time wasted on slow motion shots panned round the room or the over-dramatic looks on his and his tripey co-star Pike's faces and instead give us the missing information which would have made sense of it all the framed person's sister, more history about the Zec.
What a waste of time.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
randomstupidApr 20, 2014
We only got through 20 minutes of this movie because of how poor it came across.. direction, screenplay, acting all left a lot to be desired. Have never read or heard much about the books so just going from the movie on its own - very poor.We only got through 20 minutes of this movie because of how poor it came across.. direction, screenplay, acting all left a lot to be desired. Have never read or heard much about the books so just going from the movie on its own - very poor. Urgh piano music - oh im meant to feel emotive now because some stupid piano is playing. Not very deep or thought provoking but we only saw 20minutes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
dogboyAug 30, 2013
Worst casting of any movie ever. Lee Child is an absolute douche for allowing Tom Cruise to play the protagonist from his books. Could have made an excellent bunch of movies on his books but casting Cruise in this first movie has killed anyWorst casting of any movie ever. Lee Child is an absolute douche for allowing Tom Cruise to play the protagonist from his books. Could have made an excellent bunch of movies on his books but casting Cruise in this first movie has killed any chance of that happening. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
RealMuthaFFeb 12, 2014
Cheesy dialogues? Cliche characters? Unconvincing slow fight scenes? Predictable plot twists? Outright boring car chase? Wannabe "bad-ass" Tom Cruise? All of that is Jack Reacher, the most generic bull **** movie I've seen in a while, and ICheesy dialogues? Cliche characters? Unconvincing slow fight scenes? Predictable plot twists? Outright boring car chase? Wannabe "bad-ass" Tom Cruise? All of that is Jack Reacher, the most generic bull **** movie I've seen in a while, and I warn you from doing the same. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
DarthSidious63May 10, 2013
This was the worst case of miscasting in order to get a star's name. I read every Jack Reacher novel and this movie was based on the best One Shot. Jack Reacher is over 6 foot tall and Tom Cruise is 5 foot 7. If this movie was made 10 yearsThis was the worst case of miscasting in order to get a star's name. I read every Jack Reacher novel and this movie was based on the best One Shot. Jack Reacher is over 6 foot tall and Tom Cruise is 5 foot 7. If this movie was made 10 years ago Jack Reacher would be played by Arnold Schwarzenegger Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
GatewayJan 9, 2013
This was the worst movie I have ever seen that has been made from a best selling book. I have been so disappointed by the lack of integrity to the book that I created this account on this site just so I could talk about the film. I feel likeThis was the worst movie I have ever seen that has been made from a best selling book. I have been so disappointed by the lack of integrity to the book that I created this account on this site just so I could talk about the film. I feel like I threw away two hours of my life and will not be wasting my money on watching any future Jack Reacher movies. The lead actress was poor. Tom Cruise was a standard foot to short to play this role with huge segments of the book missing and even entire characters missed out of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews