Paramount Pictures | Release Date: January 17, 2014
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 208 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
92
Mixed:
89
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
BikerjamesJan 21, 2014
Chris Pine is the latest to play Jack Ryan, following Harrison Ford, Alec Baldwin, and Ben Affleck. This latest version is made in the more modern style of the Bourne and Mission Impossible movies with a lot of action and noise. Most of theChris Pine is the latest to play Jack Ryan, following Harrison Ford, Alec Baldwin, and Ben Affleck. This latest version is made in the more modern style of the Bourne and Mission Impossible movies with a lot of action and noise. Most of the movie is completely ludicrous, as are most movies in this genre, but it is well made and acted. I was hoping before the movie even began that it wouldn't have the dreaded countdown timer at the end of the movie, but of course they had to throw that in as it seems to be a requirement in all these spy movies. The scene on the airplane where everyone is trying to figure out where the bad guy is and where he's going to strike next is really ridiculous how they figure it all out in about 3 minutes so you really have to suspend all belief when watching a film like this. Still, it's never boring! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
Bruce722Jan 18, 2014
One of the best films I've seen in a while. Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit is possibly the best spy thriller I've ever seen. Some reasons for this are the amazing cast, led by Chris Pine, who should really get more credit for his talent. The plotOne of the best films I've seen in a while. Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit is possibly the best spy thriller I've ever seen. Some reasons for this are the amazing cast, led by Chris Pine, who should really get more credit for his talent. The plot was well developed and interested and the dialogue had a great combination of realism mixed with some thrown in humor that lightened an otherwise very dark and intense movie. Intense would be the word of choice, too, because this is definitely an edge-of-your-seat thriller from fairly early on. I couldn't give it top marks mainly because of the way the earlier part of the film is structured. It feels a bit cut-and-paste and doesn't develop the characters as well as it could've. The movie flies by so it easily could've been 15 minutes longer in order to better develop these things. Nonetheless, it's a great movie and worth the price of entry. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
StevieB212Jan 19, 2014
Well made, excitingly paced action, spy pic. All of the lead actors were exactly what was needed: Chris Pine, soft on the eyes, action hero, an average Joe in for more than he bargained for, but a soldier first and foremost; KeiraWell made, excitingly paced action, spy pic. All of the lead actors were exactly what was needed: Chris Pine, soft on the eyes, action hero, an average Joe in for more than he bargained for, but a soldier first and foremost; Keira Knightley, the pretty innocent who tags along, and then is up to the tasks at hand; Kevin Costner, the old mentor and Kenneth Branagh, who gets special mention for playing a Russian flawlessly. The plot was not complicated, easy to understand, but exciting even with its simplicity. And the plot was thoughtful in our contemporary times: full of technology and ideas of economic terrorism. The films was pleasant in its setting: lavish apartments and office buildings, high tech screens, exteriors in Moscow. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
7
rvalletJan 21, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I went in with very low expectations and was extremely pleasantly surprised. Kenneth Brannagh delivers a very solid spy movie. Chris Pine fits the part, doesn't overact and is very well supported by Kevin Costner, Kenneth Brannagh and Keira Knightly. Beautiful cinematography. I loved the shot of the reflection of the TV screen on the wall showing the burning Twin Towers. What a great way to set the tone for a game of shadows. Also, the sequence in the movie theater almost makes the movie feel old school, which contrasts well with all the slick technology. Very entertaining. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryJan 21, 2014
The Bourne series reboots back to the creation of the secret agent, as a brainy analyst recruited by the CIA. When he happens upon a scheme to collapse our economy, he's sent to Moscow to stop it. Needless to say, chases and violentThe Bourne series reboots back to the creation of the secret agent, as a brainy analyst recruited by the CIA. When he happens upon a scheme to collapse our economy, he's sent to Moscow to stop it. Needless to say, chases and violent encounters ensue. Chris Pine has moved into the lead and he's an assured, solid action hero. Even though the plot has no surprises, director Kenneth Branagh (who also plays the bad guy) has crafted a taut little mission. Unfortunately, the blurry camerawork obscures much of the action. The attractive Russian locations (inside and out) are a bonus and the movie's momentum makes it entertaining. NOTE: Ballet legend Mikhail Baryshnikov has a cameo. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerJun 13, 2014
Maybe it won't blow you away like the Bourne and Bond series has, but Jack Ryan proves to be worth a watch. With a smartly written plot, well shot action, and excellent cast, there's a lot to enjoy here. The plot might not always be the mostMaybe it won't blow you away like the Bourne and Bond series has, but Jack Ryan proves to be worth a watch. With a smartly written plot, well shot action, and excellent cast, there's a lot to enjoy here. The plot might not always be the most original thing in the world, but is still enjoyable. I have to say as someone who hasn't liked Chris Pine in the past, I really enjoyed him here. He's not playing some pretty boy d-bag like I would expect him to, but rather a likable and not arrogant character. Costner and Knightley are also fantastic, with Knightley in particular proving noteworthy. Her character isn't just another pretty face. With such an excellent batch of characters I found it hard to not enjoy the movie. It may not be as noteworthy or original as some other similar movies in the genre, but it's still worth a look. My total score is a 7.5/10=Good. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
David_HJan 27, 2014
Very good action-filled movie from start to finish. After the mixture of actors that have portrayed Jack Ryan and particularly mediocre showings from Ben Affleck and Alec Baldwin, this young Chris Pine is a breath of fresh air. Chris reallyVery good action-filled movie from start to finish. After the mixture of actors that have portrayed Jack Ryan and particularly mediocre showings from Ben Affleck and Alec Baldwin, this young Chris Pine is a breath of fresh air. Chris really brings a youth and intensity to the character. The only fault I can list is Keira Knightley's character as Ryan's love interest; her reaction to the revelation of what Ryan really does for a living lacks in some believability... Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
HucksterJan 21, 2014
Cliched and largely unoriginal story but highly engaging and very gripping during the denouement. A really likeable film with touches of Mission Impossible in a modern hi-tech scenario. Could have done with less camera movement.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
RTFORDFeb 3, 2014
Chris Pine is maturing and his acting shows it. With a mediocre rating from Metacritic, my wife and I almost waited to rent the disc but relented and went to see it on 'senior discount day' and we were pleasantly surprised. The movie has justChris Pine is maturing and his acting shows it. With a mediocre rating from Metacritic, my wife and I almost waited to rent the disc but relented and went to see it on 'senior discount day' and we were pleasantly surprised. The movie has just the right amount of action and is intelligently done. The cinematography is not first rate in places but overall it was a very enjoyable flick. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
AlexanderLuthorAug 1, 2014
It certainly wasn't The Hunt for Red October but this was a fairly action packed and enjoyable popcorn movie. Don't expect Oscar performances but not bad overall.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysJun 22, 2014
Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit. Implausible? Yes. Fun? Totally. The plot may be spotty, but that I knew going in. The real surprise is how this one surpasses the usual action movie fare by having actual good performances by Pine, Knightley,Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit. Implausible? Yes. Fun? Totally. The plot may be spotty, but that I knew going in. The real surprise is how this one surpasses the usual action movie fare by having actual good performances by Pine, Knightley, Costner, and Branagh. Additionally, the movie sports a tight, concise script and screenplay that I must admit is well written. Third, it is admirable how the movie tries to avoid the mistake of pervasive action and actually tries to give its characters some depth and perspective. You don't see movies like this everyday. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
rebaAug 13, 2014
Some have said the movie opens slowly, but I liked the fact that they took time to show us WHY a person might become a covert agent and how that transition FEELS when a person is confronted with danger or killing for the first time. ISome have said the movie opens slowly, but I liked the fact that they took time to show us WHY a person might become a covert agent and how that transition FEELS when a person is confronted with danger or killing for the first time. I thought it fleshed Jack Ryan out more than most spy films. Later it got more typical in the action stages. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oblique15Nov 16, 2014
This is an underrated movie. It kept my interest the whole time. It`s a fun action movie.I liked it all the way to the end. People are giving it a low rating, cause they want to compare it with Bourne.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
foxgroveJan 28, 2014
Jack Ryan is a slick and very professionally mounted action movie in which the unfolding is more entertaining than the denouement. Two sequences in particular are nail bitingly tense and they elevate the film to a higher plane than most otherJack Ryan is a slick and very professionally mounted action movie in which the unfolding is more entertaining than the denouement. Two sequences in particular are nail bitingly tense and they elevate the film to a higher plane than most other movies of this genre type. It also helps that the acting is above average. Chris Pine, Kiera Knightley, Kenneth Brannagh and Kevin Costner all offer up excellent characterisations and it's good to see Knightley out of costume (period costume, that is) for a change. Brannagh, complete with foreign accent, offers up a villain to compete with the best and his directorial style keeps everything fast and furious. He seems to be relishing the change of pace with this film and his previous one, 'Thor', which was an equally action packed and even more ambitious project. In any event both are a long way from the literate and stately Shakespeare movies that have been his signature directorial achievements up to now.
Only the final chase sequence lets things down as the story becomes more improbable and frenetic. It's all tosh, of course, but for most of its 105 minutes one is quite happy to invest time with it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bradtheman123Jun 12, 2014
Seeing the commercial is what really got me to see this movie. While watching I thought that the fighting, action, suspense, was all on point. But when trying to think about the story it just didn't make a lot of sense. Like I couldn't thinkSeeing the commercial is what really got me to see this movie. While watching I thought that the fighting, action, suspense, was all on point. But when trying to think about the story it just didn't make a lot of sense. Like I couldn't think of what the movie was trying to portray. Up until I got out of the movie theater it started to make sense......But that was after looking at my phone to check on a website what it was about and then I was able to process how it made sense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BrianMcCriticJun 14, 2014
Nothing super special but still a really fun action film. Chris Pine made a fantastic Jack Ryan and Kevin Costner and Keira Knightley give strong supporting performances. Overall the script isn't amazing, but as far as recent action filmsNothing super special but still a really fun action film. Chris Pine made a fantastic Jack Ryan and Kevin Costner and Keira Knightley give strong supporting performances. Overall the script isn't amazing, but as far as recent action films go this is pretty good. B Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheApplegnomeJul 11, 2014
Not as entertaining as the expectations, but still watchable.

The opening scene is slow and boring, and the SFX could have been better. There are also almost no unique things that makes this movie special in comparison to other movies, but
Not as entertaining as the expectations, but still watchable.

The opening scene is slow and boring, and the SFX could have been better. There are also almost no unique things that makes this movie special in comparison to other movies, but in the end is Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit great. The reason why is because the actors are great, and that the ending and the story is good. There are also a good amount of action that keeps me entertained.

A film with many deficiencies, but watchable.

Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit gets a 7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MGConroyJun 14, 2014
It's not art, but it got me through two hours on a treadmill, something not many movies can do. That warrants at least a seven. One question: why is Baryshnikov uncredited? Is he in some sort of Sex and the City Purgatory?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
talisencrwSep 23, 2014
I really don't understand the lack of love for this movie--I think because it's a prequel (and not written by Clancy himself), part of the suspense is gone because everyone knows Ryan's not going to die. It was well-cast, and Branagh's great,I really don't understand the lack of love for this movie--I think because it's a prequel (and not written by Clancy himself), part of the suspense is gone because everyone knows Ryan's not going to die. It was well-cast, and Branagh's great, both in directing it and as the villain. In fact, as much as I enjoy his adaptations of Shakespeare's works, I certainly respect his other good vs. evil films: Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, Dead Again, Thor and now this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MKSauceLOLFeb 3, 2014
Even though it's not saying much, It's the best film of January 2014.
Cons-Nothing new, Not so good pacing except when it comes to action, some acting is not good, The cinematography is not first rate in place Pros- Most of the acting is
Even though it's not saying much, It's the best film of January 2014.
Cons-Nothing new, Not so good pacing except when it comes to action, some acting is not good, The cinematography is not first rate in place Pros- Most of the acting is believable, Great action scenes, pretty much everything else Recommendation-everyone
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MagicManRAWJun 30, 2014
Pretty good for a spy movie. I like how they rebooted this character. Fun story. Think of it as Jack Ryan Begins. The Kevin Costner character was pretty darn good. Too much Keira for my taste, but I can live with it. Jack is a differentPretty good for a spy movie. I like how they rebooted this character. Fun story. Think of it as Jack Ryan Begins. The Kevin Costner character was pretty darn good. Too much Keira for my taste, but I can live with it. Jack is a different kind of a character (spy) and should have been rebooted. Sadly, the public is not going to go see this in mass. Very entertaining Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lukechristianscJun 27, 2014
Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit is an amazing movie based on best selling book by a award winning author of war (Tom Clancy). it was not like the book what so ever for some fans of Clancy they might be pissed off because it was not written byJack Ryan: Shadow Recruit is an amazing movie based on best selling book by a award winning author of war (Tom Clancy). it was not like the book what so ever for some fans of Clancy they might be pissed off because it was not written by Clancy himself which was retarted because the concept of the movie was sort of supposes to be about the actually about Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan series and not Adam Cozad and David Koepp's Version of Jack Ryan. Grade A- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Viper8787Apr 21, 2014
Another average action movie. Jack Ryan has some memorable action scenes with average acting and average dialogue. I did really enjoy the plot however if they were able to execute it better it would have been a great movie but they didn't soAnother average action movie. Jack Ryan has some memorable action scenes with average acting and average dialogue. I did really enjoy the plot however if they were able to execute it better it would have been a great movie but they didn't so it just turned out AVERAGE. It will be cool to see some more Jack Ryan movie in the future and see how good those will be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JosMi1Jun 13, 2014
Lo único bueno fue el final. Una película muy clicheada. Las actuaciones flojas, el desarrollo estuvo bien pero no alcanzo el punto donde debio llegar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RoraEstJul 5, 2014
The idea of the plot was great but not too rich to show us more. I love Chris Pine's character so much. I think it seems like Edge of Tomorrow, for me the main actor and actress, Keira Knightley, were amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Epik_NinnjaMay 23, 2015
It's certainly a pretty generic agent action movie but it's still well done. I enjoyed the action, suspense, and acting and the movie's plot was formed pretty well, too. I'd definitely recommend you at least rent this movie if you're a fan ofIt's certainly a pretty generic agent action movie but it's still well done. I enjoyed the action, suspense, and acting and the movie's plot was formed pretty well, too. I'd definitely recommend you at least rent this movie if you're a fan of Skyfall or other such movies. It isn't outstanding but it is entertaining and worth watching at least once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Judge_ReddJan 5, 2016
This is just a solid action movie. The acting is there. The production is there. The story is passable, and really, this movie has opened me up to the whole Jack Ryan series. There are a couple blemishes, but it is your typical actionThis is just a solid action movie. The acting is there. The production is there. The story is passable, and really, this movie has opened me up to the whole Jack Ryan series. There are a couple blemishes, but it is your typical action movie, you will be entertained. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews