Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 180 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Jack Ryan appears to be just another New York executive to his friends and loved ones, but his enlistment into the CIA secretly goes back years. He was brought in as a brainy Ph.D. who crunches global data – but when Ryan ferrets out a meticulously planned scheme to collapse the U.S. economyJack Ryan appears to be just another New York executive to his friends and loved ones, but his enlistment into the CIA secretly goes back years. He was brought in as a brainy Ph.D. who crunches global data – but when Ryan ferrets out a meticulously planned scheme to collapse the U.S. economy and spark global chaos, he becomes the only man with the skills to stop it. Now, he’s gone fully operational, thrust into a world of mounting suspicion, deception and deadly force. Caught between his tight-lipped handler Harper, his in-the-dark fiancée Cathy and a brilliant Russian oligarch, Jack must confront a new reality where no one can seem to be trusted, yet the fate of millions rests on his finding the truth. With the urgency of a lit fuse, he’s in a race to stay one step ahead of everyone around him. [Paramount Pictures] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Stephen Whitty
    Jan 16, 2014
    83
    Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit though, gets the international-espionage ingredients almost exactly right.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Jan 16, 2014
    75
    Even with its thrifty set pieces and smaller ambitions, this attempt to reboot the series based on Tom Clancy characters does the most important thing right: It almost always feels like a Jack Ryan movie.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jan 16, 2014
    70
    A reboot of an A-level spy series seems too pretty-good to be true. Shadow Recruit occupies this weekend’s movie screens as familiarly and reassuringly as a Walther PPK fits in the hand of James Bond.
  4. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jan 15, 2014
    63
    The film is slow in getting started and once it's underway it's only intermittently involving. It's also occasionally far-fetched.
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jan 16, 2014
    60
    Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit is a well-made movie, well-acted (Costner and Branagh seem to be having an especially good time) and a pleasant diversion. They’ll probably make several more. But it doesn’t exactly put the “thrill” in action thriller.
  6. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Jan 16, 2014
    50
    There is no shaking the feeling that Branagh and his cast are a kind of an espionage film B team, capable of mild diversion but nothing more.
  7. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jan 22, 2014
    20
    Branagh might as well have opened a can and dumped it on a plate, the ridges of a factory-line production still perfectly hatched on a gelatinous cylinder of crud.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 65
  2. Negative: 9 out of 65
  1. Jan 19, 2014
    9
    Well made, excitingly paced action, spy pic. All of the lead actors were exactly what was needed: Chris Pine, soft on the eyes, action hero,Well made, excitingly paced action, spy pic. All of the lead actors were exactly what was needed: Chris Pine, soft on the eyes, action hero, an average Joe in for more than he bargained for, but a soldier first and foremost; Keira Knightley, the pretty innocent who tags along, and then is up to the tasks at hand; Kevin Costner, the old mentor and Kenneth Branagh, who gets special mention for playing a Russian flawlessly. The plot was not complicated, easy to understand, but exciting even with its simplicity. And the plot was thoughtful in our contemporary times: full of technology and ideas of economic terrorism. The films was pleasant in its setting: lavish apartments and office buildings, high tech screens, exteriors in Moscow. Expand
  2. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    Even though it's not saying much, It's the best film of January 2014.
    Cons-Nothing new, Not so good pacing except when it comes to action,
    Even though it's not saying much, It's the best film of January 2014.
    Cons-Nothing new, Not so good pacing except when it comes to action, some acting is not good, The cinematography is not first rate in place Pros- Most of the acting is believable, Great action scenes, pretty much everything else Recommendation-everyone
    Expand
  3. Jul 5, 2014
    7
    The idea of the plot was great but not too rich to show us more. I love Chris Pine's character so much. I think it seems like Edge ofThe idea of the plot was great but not too rich to show us more. I love Chris Pine's character so much. I think it seems like Edge of Tomorrow, for me the main actor and actress, Keira Knightley, were amazing. Expand
  4. May 16, 2014
    6
    Honestly, the film feels too short and a bit underwhelming. Personally, I'll welcome any revival/reboot of a long dormant series. But JackHonestly, the film feels too short and a bit underwhelming. Personally, I'll welcome any revival/reboot of a long dormant series. But Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit brings nothing new to the table that we haven't seen before, in terms of action and plot. It's a nice hour and 45 minute diversion and somewhat involving, but it takes a while for the supense to pay off. The film's finale is somewhat worth the wait, but still could've been better. The film is just too slow, even for me, and the action and plot isn't unique enough to distinguish itself from many other films out there. Cast and acting was fine. I have no complaints with the acting, because the actors did the best they could with what they were given. However, some events are a bit unbelievable: like Jack being able to take down his much larger and likely sronger assassin disguised as his bodyguard, Jack being the only one capable to save the day, and Jack being able to do all he does in the film even though only becoming "operational" a few hours before. Guess he's just lucky. If this film didn't have the Jack Ryan title, it might've been more heavily criticized.

    For longtime Jack Ryan fans, this must make you happy. The film updates the "Cold-War hero" with a story of economic terrorism and geo-politics. It is nice: just not two original or "new". I do hope there will be sequels though, because why not? Also, may Jack Ryan's creator, Tom Clancy, rest in peace

    If you liked this review, please read my other ones on a wide variety of movies and TV shows. I work hard on them, and to me it's more fun than a hobby. :-)
    Expand
  5. May 26, 2014
    5
    jack ryan is pretty much a averge thriller that can keep you entrained to watch but its nowhere being good .. I kinda felt like it was a dulljack ryan is pretty much a averge thriller that can keep you entrained to watch but its nowhere being good .. I kinda felt like it was a dull movie in some parts. Expand
  6. Jan 24, 2014
    4
    This film can be summarized in one word: average. It such a shame to say so as well, it was promoted as an action film that could beThis film can be summarized in one word: average. It such a shame to say so as well, it was promoted as an action film that could be entertaining whilst maintaining some level of intelligence. Unfortunately, it focuses so much on being intelligent that it becomes quite dull, lacking any real action or emotion. By the time the film reaches its climax, you aren't that intrigued, and you really just don't care about it, which is disappointing, because with its story, it should have been a lot more tense. See it if you're a die hard fan of the other Jack Ryan films, other than that, i can't really recommend this to anyone. Expand
  7. Mar 2, 2014
    0
    This movie did nothing for **** **** ****This movie did nothing for **** **** **** assgngjgjfjsjskoeorofkfkfkfkkffkfkfkgiyiyughthfndmcmckcpfodlddkdkdjrjfjfjfjfjfjfjdnxnssnnddnxjdjfjdjdjdjdjdjfjf Expand

See all 65 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs)

    2014 Movie Preview: 50 Noteworthy Films (and 10 Potential Bombs) Image
    Published: January 14, 2014
    We preview dozens of the year's most anticipated films, including the latest from Wes Anderson, Christopher Nolan, Paul Thomas Anderson, David Fincher, Bennett Miller, Lars von Trier, Terrence Malick, Richard Linklater, David Cronenberg, and more. Plus, find out which films we picked as the year's likeliest box office bombs.