User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 186 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 186

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2013
    1
    A forced narrative does not do this movie any favors. As a narrative film, it is incredibly weak. As a series of sketches and stunts, it's even weaker. It's a series of setups and no punchlines. Every scene is cut short with no real endings or continuity. If you saw the trailer, you've seen everything remotely funny in this movie, and you can enjoy those stunts and sketches without having them ruined by a terrible film. Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Bad Grandpa is certainly one of the funniest and most outrageous comedies of the year. Whether it's Irv going to a strip club and almost getting punched out by a male stripper, passing his grandson off as a girl so they can crash a kiddie beauty contest, or trying to transport and dispose of his late wife's body, Bad Grandpa offers plenty of situations where the hidden cameras capture the varied and hilarious responses of onlookers. There are times when it seems several of these surprised viewers must be plants, and you do find yourself questioning the legitimacy of some of these "candid" moments. Still, it's funny as hell. The range of reactions (when you're not wondering who's a plant and what bit was probably scripted) range from the amused to the utterly horrified. It's amazing how much craziness people will put up with until they've finally had enough. The movie's biggest surprise is how sweet it can be at times. You come to legitimately care about Irv and Billy and are invested in how their journey together turns out and if they can work out their relationship. There's a set-piece in a biker bar near the end that's surprisingly touching (albeit in-between set-ups and pay-offs to different gags). Knoxville and Niccol have great chemistry together; the movie simply wouldn't work if they didn't. Niccol is a real find. He seems like a real kid rather than a "movie kid." With his hangdog countenance and deadpan manner, Niccol comes across like a little Walter Matthau. The Jackass gang strike again with the giddily gonzo Bad Grandpa, featuring Johnny Knoxville's Irv Zisman at his most gloriously inappropriate. Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    Absolutely Hilarious, a must watch! Typical Jackass hilarity always gets to everyone at least once, Some gags aren't as good as the others, but some of them tear your sides apart, recommended to anyone who loves crude humour
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    7
    Probably the most outrageous comedy of the year. Watching Johnny Knoxville as Irving Zisman pranking various strangers is side-splittingly hilarious at times. A few skits fall short and I'm not entirely sure that all of the people being pranked weren't in on the joke, but for the most part it is a very hilarious movie.

    Surprisingly the story in this film is actually a little touching.
    Jackson Nicoll is very talented and I can't wait to see more from this promising young actor. Some of the funniest scenes in the movie are when he is pranking people on his own. Johnny Knoxville nails it as Irving, adding a raunchier side to the flick and some of the more outrageous stunts.

    Some of its skits do fall short, and sadly the best ones are spoiled in the trailer, but overall it is a very funny and surprisingly touching movie. So if you're looking for a good comedy to check out "Bad Grandpa" is easy to recommend. So buy a ticket, sit back, and prepare to laugh.
    Expand
  5. Oct 25, 2013
    7
    The gags and the movie overall was very funny, but my only complaint is that the pace of the movie was too slow. They tried to squeeze a plot in there, but to me it just didn't really fit. They should just stick with the gags when it comes to Jackass movie.
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    2
    though the premise seemed interesting, and the trailer is hilarious, I have to say bad grandpa is one of the worst films I've watched in my whole life. As a Jackass film, it's less funny than it's predecesors and the "story" is completely pointless; as a regular comedy, it's to vulgar and crude. This means bad grandpa stands awkwardly in the middle, with the kind of gags that will make you roll your eyes in shame, and none of the daredevil carisma that the jackass cast usually have. Giving it a 2 since the premise is interesting, and some of the sketches are pretty funny. Expand
  7. Oct 28, 2013
    9
    One of the funniest films I've seen for a while, definitely recommend for teenagers but adults would most likely find it stupid, the movie wasn't the same as any of the other Jackass movies, but this isn't a Jackass movie, although there weren't many dangerous pranks there were still a lot of hilarious moments from the team that is Knoxville and Nicoll.
  8. Oct 29, 2013
    7
    A movie does not necessarily always need to contain cinematic value to be considered good, and that is what critics seemingly fail to understand every time. This one, though immature at times (for all the better), is uproariously funny. Even though Bad Grandpa is far from Oscar material, it is fun to sit through and watch for a good laugh in the hustle of everyday life.
  9. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    Probably one of the best comedy of 2013, most of pranks in this movie are super funny and well acted! Also to my surprise Bad Grandpa has main plot, well written dialog and not one boring scene! This is a must see
  10. Nov 23, 2013
    2
    A horrible attempt at a candid comedy. Its slapstick humor and taboo behavior was the cause of, every movie-goer's worst nightmare, forced chuckles. It is so awful, you cannot look away. Unfortunately, one of the only movies I could not sit through.
  11. Jan 4, 2014
    3
    I really wanted to like this, but the trailer gives away the entire film. Literally. All the gags with none of the artificial storyline taking his grandson to North Carolina to his deadbeat dad. The scenes are cut short and unlike Jackass, you don't really get that many reaction shots from unsuspecting accomplices. There are some, but not enough. It all leaves you with unfulfilled as the there are few new unseen surprises (Irving in the male strip club was pretty good, although repulsive). Expand
  12. Jan 11, 2014
    3
    Funny but i don't know why they needed to add a story. I feel like it was a waste and kind of ruined the funniness of the skits. I spent most of the movie cringing not from how funny or uncomfortably funny it was but because the story was so terrible.
  13. Jan 17, 2014
    0
    Bad Grand Pa one of the most disgusting movie I seen as well as disturbing, It feels like a very long youtube prank video just made into a movie mixed with Hidden cameras. If you like seeing an old man act disgusting like suck a fake fish with a **** actuated to it then by all means this is the movie for you even though it is Johnny Knoxville dress old the pranks they do are so upsetting it was just stuff we did not need to see. Even though they say it is hidden cameras on the prank scenes some parts still look scripted. Overall you'll see balls dicks poop and more in this Disgusting film most critics called a good but if you know what Comedy truly means then you will understand this review truly a 0 out of 10 Expand
  14. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    If you're a Jackass fan you'll have some idea what to expect. Johnny Knoxville disguises himself as 86-year-old Irving Zisman and takes a road trip with his 8-year-old grandson (Jackson Nicholl, who's already an amazingly confident and gifted comic presence). They play out the simple narrative in real places with real people getting involved and reacting to the outrageous things that Zisman does. The laffs are plentiful, as long as you're amused by gross bodily functions, genital humor and irreverent situations. Despite the craziness, Knoxville's talent as an actor adds realism and emotion to this expedition in crazy excess. Think Jackass meets Candid Camera. Expand
  15. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    This movie was hilarious and so funny! I recommend going to see this movie. There is a catch though. Before you see the movie so you won't be lost, you should learn what jackass is and what they're about. You should also get to know who Johnny Knoxville is. By knowing what jackass is and what they are about it'll make the movie a lot more funny for you. This is the first thing jackass has had come out for a long time. Anyway the movie was great. They did an amazing job with the costumes! Ultimately the best part about this movie is that it's not scripted and there is real reactions from people. If I were you if go see this movie. Expand
  16. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    I really really really enjoyed watching this movie. It's nice to see Johnny Knoxville not get punched, rammed, stabbed, or seriously injured for once. The story didn't feel out of place or unnecessary, and the actors were great to watch. Billy was hilarious, Johnny Knoxville was hilarious, and the gags were hilarious. Viewing in a group setting just added to the experience. It's Jackass with a Borat spin--great genuine comedy that's a must-see. Expand
  17. Oct 31, 2013
    8
    This movie made me laugh. I'd give the movie a fair 6/10 at least, even if all the people's reactions were staged. If they were real like I'm assuming they were, then I give it an 8
  18. LBC
    Oct 31, 2013
    5
    I would have given this movie a better score, but many of Bad Grandpa's best moments are revealed in the trailers. Its a shame too because this movie really does have a lot to offer. The grandfather grandson dynamic works well, but I knew what was coming before I even sat down.
  19. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    Jackass with a storyline. 99% of this movie is pranks. The only problem with my viewing of it was that they spoiled all the best parts in the commercials- which is a horrible way to advertise a movie. Either way, it's Jackass, it's Knoxville, it's Dickhouse- it was a must see to me. As the opening credits zoomed by, the opening of the movie will leave you ready to laugh throughout. I loved this movie- the outrageous stuff that these guys do. I don't want to spoil anything more than the commercials already have, but if you like Jackass, go see it- you will not think of it as a waste of money. Expand
  20. Nov 6, 2013
    8
    Truly one of the most laugh out loud comedies of the year. Although it is not as smart as This Is The End humor wise, I found myself laughing through out the film. I never expected it to be smarter than This Is The End which in my opinion is one of funniest comedies this year, but I found it funnier than end of the world buddy film. I would definitely want to see this as soon as possible but I can understand if you would think this not a theater experience. Expand
  21. Nov 9, 2013
    7
    the movie is good ill say that lol bad grandpa aims at being a grotesque blue humor style comedy and it pulls it off well; there will be tons of scenes in this movie that will have you laughing out loud! youre not forcing yourself to laugh like other comedy movies these days and youre actually laughing cause you find the movie scenes comical; bad grandpa succeeds in what it tries to do, which is to get the audience to laugh; the old man and the kid make a good duo also and their chemistry on screen makes the film all the better; both characters stand out in their own different ways, and they both pull off interesting scenes in their own ways! there is actually a little bit of a story in here too and its a nice little bonus to this movie!

    overall good movie! i enjoyed it! if you take this movie for the grotesque style that it is, and appreciate this movie in all style and approach, then you got one of the top comedy movies of this year!

    what is keeping me from giving this movie a 10 is just that i wasnt rolling around on the ground laughing my ass off! sure this movie made me laugh out loud, but ive laughed harder before lol
    Expand
  22. Nov 10, 2013
    5
    I laughed hard at the very end... then a little bit in the middle... but other than that not much and neither did the other people in the theatre. I love the Jackass movies but this one fell short.
  23. Nov 10, 2013
    8
    I've been an avid fan of Jackass since I saw CKY2K at far to young of an age. I've been hooked since, and was beyond sad after they finished the second movie. At the time, Iwas under the influence that would be the end of it. Luckily, we got Jackass 3, which was more than I could ever hope for. After three I pretty much knew it was over.

    Surprisingly just a few months ago, I heard
    about Bad Grandpa. The premise seemed decent, and the trailer was very funny. I have to accept that Johnny Knoxville can't pull pranks on random people anymore, as he is definitely too recognizable. In an interview on the bonus features for Jackass 3.5, he says after the first season of the show he had problems with people recognizing him without the old man makeup. So even though I would rather have a Jackass 4, this isn't it, and I can't compare it to the others. It isn't that kind of movie.

    Bad Grandpa is more like Borat and Bruno than any Jackass movie. Sure, there have been some similar Jackass skits in the passed, especially the "Bad Grandpa" skit from Jackass Number Two, but this movie has a story. It's apparent the story is only there to get you from one skit to the next, but that works. Most people aren't there to watch the story, they want to see people's reactions to an old man getting his penis stuck in a vending machine. In the realm of actors wearing disguises and pranking random people, this isn't the best or the worst. It definitely isn't as funny as Borat, but I would put it around the same scale as Bruno, maybe slightly higher. It's very genuinely funny, and some of the funniest parts are actually from the staged parts of the movie. Johnny Knoxville does a great job as a creepy 86-year-old man, and Jackson Nicoll did so much better than I thought possible. Also, in comparison to all other comedies we have had this year, it's definitely on my top three. I recommend it to anyone who liked Borat or Jackass.
    Expand
  24. Nov 14, 2013
    6
    Knoxville's "films" are always the same. What saves this one is that there is somewhat of a loose story line to all of the hidden camera practical jokes. There were some very good and unexpected laughs which I can say allowed me to watch the entire flick. However once is enough.
  25. Nov 20, 2013
    5
    Bad Grandpa has some undeniably funny moments. However after the plot is presented in the start of the movie, the movie begins forgetting about it. This makes the movie feel incomplete, as if it hasn't accomplished what it set out to do. The bond that the movie tries to develop between Bad Grandpa and his grandson (Billy) starts off slowly, very slowly. This is because numerous scenes during the first half of the movie are following the tales of the individual characters, not the duo. This makes the second half of the movie, where they begin to bond at a much greater level, appear rushed and unrealistic. Even with the leniency that people give comedy movie plots, Bad Grandpa's feels mediocre at best, appearing rushed and distracted from its purpose. The comedy in this movie is also a bit dodgy. This movie has moments, but it goes too far with individual comedy acts. It's like the writers went "well we can't think of anything else funny, so we'll shove this one joke down the audience's throats for 15 minutes." It's a shame because a lot of these jokes are really funny at first, but after the first few times, it makes the movie seem desperate for one more laugh. Unfortunately, a lot of scenes in the movie aren't funny at all, and excessively immature. These moments make you frown as you shy away from the screen, as they're way more disturbing than they are funny. These scenes also go on for way too long. Bad Grandpa is a film that starts really slowly, with the jokes feeling very forced, but manages to recover quite well, picking up the pieces to form a film that contains several meaningful laughs, as well as being able to witness the bond that Grandpa and Billy share. Expand
  26. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    The funniest movie of 2013. Although it's not really a jackass movie, it satisfies my hunger for the series. Johnny Knoxville and the child that plays his grandson are great. Go see it!!
  27. Nov 28, 2013
    8
    As far as Jacka** movies go, it's funny, satirical and outrageous! I really loved how they blended in the real-life pranks with a story. That's something new and fresh that I really got hooked into. Now the ending is not that big of a surprise, but other than that, this is one documentary style good ole jacka** movie. I give it a B+!
  28. Dec 2, 2013
    5
    Went to see it with some friends, the movie is fun on some moments but it feels like you're watching a long benidorm bastards marathon and it gets quite boring on some times.
  29. Dec 5, 2013
    6
    Good film but does not reach the Jackass movies. Although the are only middle class but the humor was biting and evil.
    Knoxville's' partners (the little boy) doing a good job and brings everything across well that you can only take it seriously.

    Quite amusing film with good humor but few hitting straight.
  30. Dec 5, 2013
    4
    Jackass Presents this movie but it's not Jackass. I think they tried to sell the "Grandpa is gonna take care of you" angle way too hard. We all know that's not his real Grandpa so don't keep on trying to pretend it is. There's a couple laughs and a couple crude scenes that made me crack smile but overall this movie is a waste of time.
  31. PHJ
    Dec 16, 2013
    8
    What to say about a Jackass production, but in Bad Grandpa what you see isn't stupidity under stupidity, the movies tryes to have a history with the grandpa and the grandson, witch is nice, but I don't know, they aren't really the best in histories, just in stupidies, but there is a history, a diferencial comparing with the oder Jackass.

    In the point of comedy the movie makes it very
    good, I really recomend, if you are in a bad day and want to laugh a lot, that's it, in the terms of comedy the movie deserves a 9.0, but mixed with a very boring history I goes with 7.0, a nice movie but nothing more than that. Expand
  32. Dec 19, 2013
    6
    I wanted to like this movie but I barely laughed. I got a few chuckles but the one thing that ruined the movie to me was the addition of story. I love the Jackass movies as they are just random and are funny thought the whole film. Bad grandpa focused more on sex jokes than gags and pranks which I just didn't laugh at that much. It was kind of hard to believe that those we're real reactions because of the story aspect they put in. Expand
  33. Jan 6, 2014
    7
    Though there really isn't anything new from Jonny Knoxville in Bad Grandpa, it has some very funny moments that don't rely on people getting hurt. Knoxville provides his style of comedy while giving us a story that wasn't there in Jackass.
  34. Jan 16, 2014
    8
    While considerably toned down when compared to other “Jackass” properties, it doesn’t stop this film from being incredibly funny and, shockingly, tender at times, as well. Sure, much of the movie is predictable and you know where they are going most of the time with their hidden camera pranks but it’s still all in good fun and adding those pranks to an actual story made for a nice “Borat”-style feel. Expand
  35. Jan 18, 2014
    0
    Another proof that most of critic writers are whores.Who ever like this movie should get medical help.Movie is good for mentally disabled people and utter garbage.
  36. Feb 2, 2014
    3
    Watching the movie, all of the gags seemed forced and not real. The ideas was great.. but badly executed.
    I had a few laughs, but overall the movie was a failure
  37. Feb 5, 2014
    8
    Bad Grandpa is a very funny comedy that is basically a bunch of skits rolled into one film and most of the skits really work. There are a few that don't but overall this film had me laughing a lot. A-
  38. Feb 8, 2014
    6
    Bad Grandpa is the fan-favorite skit from the show Jackass, where Johnny Knoxville pretends to be an old man to see how much shenanigans he can pull off, stretched into an hour and a half film. There were certainly some hilarious scenes but unfortunately they tried to turn it into a somewhat serious movie. I don't mean the content was serious, I simply mean that they actually tried to give the film a real plot and story arc and at times it seemed as though that interrupted the humor. About half of the skits are funny and a few are legitimately hilarious but the rest is mainly filler in order to connect the timeline. That was where the movie failed, in my opinion. If you're a Jackass fan, like myself, you won't mind and you'll still enjoy it to an extent. If you're not, then the humor probably isn't for you anyways. Expand
  39. Feb 13, 2014
    8
    First off, Yes it actually does have a plot but that does not take away from the funniness of it one bit. Many times through out I laughed so hard that I couldn't breathe. I'd definitely recommend it, Especially if you love the Jackass show and films.
  40. Mar 7, 2014
    8
    to all the asswholes who said this is not related to jackass movies guess what your wrong . jhonny knoxville back again in mtv's jackass i think it is the new jackass and it is funny expect the dirty pranks . but who cares its jackass . but i did find it funny
  41. Mar 12, 2014
    6
    This film has its funny moments and others that are not funny at all, went into this with high hopes because I have enjoyed the jackass films but this fell short for me. I still think people should watch this at least once
  42. May 16, 2014
    6
    I have watched all the previous 'Jack-ass' movies. I did not love them due to some of the disgusting stuff in it though enjoyed watching those because the movie purpose was very clear and they given everything they possibly could want to give.

    This new Jackass movie was slightly different and refreshing to its original theme concept. More like it was similar to Canadian TV show 'Just
    for Laugh: Gags'. Pranking around the street with strangers. There were no written script, everything was captured as it happened in hidden cameras placed in various places. Appreciable for all these tricks, but the movie has been just good because it won't bring in us the wide laughs rather a little smile occasionally. Expand
  43. May 24, 2014
    7
    It feels a little overlong, but the movie provides several very funny moments the keep it going. Some of it seemed fake while other parts genuinely seemed real.
  44. May 25, 2014
    7
    Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa is not like all the other installments in the Jackass franchise this time around it actually has a story with characters and not just people doing pranks/jokes on people. That being said it still does have the felling a jackass movie same old laughs with Johnny Knoxville doing crazy stunts. It may not be the movie that all fans of Jackass wanted but i thought it turned out better then when i first heard about it. Making a whole movie about one skit from the previous Jackass films who would have thought it would have turned out this good.

    Irving Zisman (Knoxville) Wife has just died so now he wants to go out and have a good time and hit on women but while at her funeral Irving's daughter shows up and makes a scene and tells him she is going to prison and he now has to take care of his grandson. Irving not wanting to take care of the kid tries to pawn him off on his low life father Chuck(Greg Harris). Chuck says he will take the kid but Irving has to drive him down to North Carolina and now we have our movie. The plot is nothing special and thats how its supposed to be the movie takes you prank by prank showing you the reactions of the people whether you believe they don't know is up to you. For me it seemed like a couple of the skits people knew something was going on and it didn't feel real like others.

    Overall I give it a 7.0 the movie had me laughing a lot and on one skit i noticed that my cheeks hurt after i was done laughing. I do have to say though I wish they didn't show the last skit in the trailer because that was a great part of the film and it wasn't as funny because i had already seen it. I even said that when i watched the trailer just like in The Worlds End they show you the fence skit in the trailer and it just wasn't as funny as it should have been.
    Expand
  45. Jun 7, 2014
    9
    Without a doubt one of the funnest movies of 2013 and reassures us that Paramount Pictures can still produces quality films. Bad Grandpa, story wise is nothing to write home about, however it will leave you in fits on laughter. They have done a really good job with getting the reactions of so called "randoms", which makes the movie all the funnier! The pranks are golden! Very recommendable.
  46. Jul 27, 2014
    6
    Moving in another direction for their fourth film, the producers of Jackass decided to focus on a single character from the franchise, Johnny Knoxville's Irving Zisman. The film has everything you've come to expect from the series, as Knoxville plays a Grandfather, on vacation with his Grandson. Knoxville does his usual schtick, crashing into to things, saying outrageous things to strangers, and of course showing off his giant rubber testicles. As with most of the Jackass stuff, it's outrageous and hilarious for the first half hour, but quickly gets old. Maybe I'm just too old to appreciate Jackass anymore, but when I start out watching one of their films, I love it, and by the end, I'm just waiting for it to be over with. Knoxville is impressive, and while he's done films on his own, I think he was giving a message to the rest of the group in this film. The message being, if you guys don't want to do this anymore, I can make it work with anyone, even a 10 year old kid. Hopefully the message gets through and we'll get some more Jackass films. I really do love the simplistic comedic genius of the films, but it's repetitive nature makes anything more than an episode of the show wear on me. Maybe it's just not made for someone in my age group anymore, but regardless of age, Jackass has always been good for a few laughs and Bad Grandpa is no exception. Expand
  47. Oct 6, 2014
    2
    Bad Grandpa features an unusually thin and weak narrative of an already-seen-before story. There are funny moments but most revolving around raunchy themes.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Oct 28, 2013
    75
    There’s a restless inventiveness to many of the gags that are matched only by the outrageousness of their surroundings.
  2. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Oct 25, 2013
    70
    For all the fecal matter flying around, and all the dick jokes, Bad Grandpa turns out to be an act of redemption: It’s the anti-Borat. And for all its flaws, it might just be the most heartwarming movie of the year.
  3. Reviewed by: Odie Henderson
    Oct 25, 2013
    75
    In the few moments where he's left to prank people on his own, Bad Grandpa doesn't treat him like the clichéd potty mouthed kid out for shock value. Instead, he uses his childlike innocence to make the adults more uncomfortable than his grandpa's raunchier shenanigans ever could.