Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: On his way to the store to buy wood glue, Jeff looks for signs from the universe to determine his path. However, a series of comedic and unexpected events leads him to cross paths with his family in the strangest of locations and circumstances. Jeff just may find the meaning of his life...and if he's lucky, pick up the wood glue as well. (Paramount Vantage) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Mar 15, 2012
    91
    It's an ending that may alienate some viewers, but will jolt others out of their comfort zones and into an appreciation of genuinely brave storytelling.
  2. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Mar 15, 2012
    75
    Nothing in this quiet, quirky comedy from the brothers Duplass comes close to Jeff's inspired, bong-fueled deconstruction of "Signs," but it gives us a good idea of where this guy is coming from.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Mar 16, 2012
    75
    A high-wire act that could crash if the actors were out of sync, but under this big top, the never-better Segel keeps everyone aloft.
  4. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Mar 16, 2012
    65
    At what point do we stop applauding the Duplass brothers for their gumption and stick-to-itiveness and admit that, maybe, their storytelling just isn't so hot? Or that their characters sometimes seem more like groovy-cute constructs than believable people?
  5. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    May 12, 2012
    60
    Cool cast, hip directors, but a movie that's less than the sum of both. Like its title character, Jeff is gentle, warm but a little forgettable.
  6. Reviewed by: James Adams
    Mar 16, 2012
    50
    This little movie – it's only 83 minutes – seems so determined to if not avoid, then only caress the tropes of slacker films that it commits the worst sin for a comedy: It's boring.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Mar 13, 2012
    20
    As is, this semi-improvised feature comes off as a willfully vague exercise that, like its dimwit protagonist, presumes that profundity and enlightenment will emerge from the morass eventually. Er, maybe - or maybe not. Kinda like "Signs;" only much, much worse.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    Jeff is a sweet, thoughtful movie about people grappling with the mean of life -- of their lives specifically. The topic is heavy but the movie is light, and it's quite easy to enjoy watching really good actors (like Susan Sarandon) work their craft of being ordinary people. It's sweet, but it won't make you gag. And I have a strong gag reflex. Enjoy! Collapse
  2. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    A very nice movie with a nice ensemble of actors. In a very fast techno fused age, it was nice to see someone step back and craft a movie that puts a character like Jeff, into the mix in this funny flick that has heart. I felt the picture had a little bit of something for everyone. Ed Helms reins himself in a bit to play a character that plays well opposite Jason Segel. Susan Sarandon does a great job as well playing the mother of the two polar opposite sons. I enjoyed it very much. A first rate work. Expand
  3. Mar 24, 2012
    9
    An absolutely precious film about how each of us, individually, make our way through our lives, especially after realizing, as adults, just how finite our time is. Dealing with fears, loss, expectations, love, etc is at the root of every character in this film, each going through their own perspective. This film is perfectly cast with the best performances I've seen out of these actors in a long time. It is, perhaps, Jason Segel's best acting ever. Though short, easily predictable and full of strange camera shots, nothing takes away the pure sweetness of the story. Expand
  4. Mar 16, 2012
    7
    A touching independent film, Jason Segel and Ed Helms drive this movie's story on fate and destiny. Jason Segel plays as Jeff, a man who doesn't do much with his life but believes that everything and everyone in the world is connected. As he begins to unravel what he believes is his own destiny he finds that what he does influences not only him but his mother and brother as well. The film is one of the more charming ones that has come out this year, reminding me of works by Jason Reitman who happened to also be a co-producer. While the audience may not be enthralled by the overall lack of comedy found in most of Segel's other movies, "Jeff, Who Lives at Home" has its quirks here and there that make it a fun heartwarming movie to watch and play along with. Expand
  5. Sep 23, 2012
    7
    Really enjoyed watching this, it's a film that brings on a sense of warmth from watching.
    The only downside I can think of is how slow going
    it is, would definitely recommend a watch if you're having a slow day. Expand
  6. Jul 12, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nice Little movie, nothing Special tho. i like segel and helms. if you getting into this movie its good. the end is a bit arbitrarily Expand
  7. Jan 4, 2013
    4
    This movie means well with the message it is putting forth, but unfortunately never rings true. I enjoy Helms and Segel both as actors but here they are given characters that have little to no nuance. Add to that the fact that the story is very contrived and you have a film that id very hard to connect with. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall Film Festival Roundup: Reviews from Venice, Telluride, and TIFF

    Fall Film Festival Roundup: Reviews from Venice, Telluride, and TIFF Image
    Published: September 20, 2011
    With the 2011 installments of the three major fall film festivals now complete, we sample the reaction from professional critics and film bloggers to the movies generating the most buzz at the three festivals, including new works by Alexander Payne, Whit Stillman, Roman Polanski, David Cronenberg, Steve McQueen, and Madonna.