Jersey Girl Image
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: An honest, heartfelt and often amusing story about the man who wanted it all but got all that he needed. (Miramax Films)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 35
  2. Negative: 9 out of 35
  1. 88
    Liv Tyler is a very particular talent who has sometimes been misused by directors more in love with her beauty than with her appropriateness for their story. Here she is perfectly cast.
  2. 70
    Though Smith loses many of his past efforts' familiar trappings--Jay and Silent Bob are now confined to the production-company logo--Jersey Girl plays to Smith's strengths like no film since "Clerks."
  3. The biggest problem with Jersey Girl may not be exactly its fault; what is up there on the screen is cute and funny and heartfelt, even if it is unflinchingly formulaic.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    50
    A bland slab of sentimental hokum that proves even the most smart-alecky of indie auteurs can turn warm and fuzzy on occasion.
  5. 50
    A lackluster melodrama with only a few inspired moments.
  6. Smith used to make movies to make fun of movies like Jersey Girl; now he's just another guy working the assembly line, which won't make you a sell-out if no one buys it.
  7. The nadir of the movie -- or cheesy zenith -- is Ollie's sodden soliloquy, delivered in the presence of his baby, in which he laments the loss of her mother and his wife. All that's missing are the strains of Ravel's "Pavane For a Dead Princess."

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 6 out of 35
  1. TarasE.
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Simply great.
  2. JanetteF.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    A movie with a heart.
  3. ChadH.
    Mar 28, 2004
    9
    This is a movie that I, as a Kevin Smith fan, was able to take my wife to see. We both cried at times and I did not feel the sentiment to be coerced. I wonder if some of the reviewers have spouses and children, because this movie stands to make you ask yourselves difficult, but (sadly) real questions about the hearts longevity outlasting that of your loved ones' bodies. Fine acting all around. Very emotional and sometimes funny, much like life. Collapse
  4. AlexN.
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    I would start off by saying that while I have seen a large portion of Smith's body of work, I am in no way a "fan" of any of his prior View Askew films. I find his self-referential and often scatological humor to be trite, obscene, and pointless. That said, he has skill in working actors to give performances in tune to the environment of the work. This piece may not be similar to Smith's earlier, less family-oriented work, but it is important to remember that Spielberg made both "Amistad" AND "E.T.: The Extra-Terrestrial." A director has no responsibility to his earlier work, and Smith's "Jersey Girl" stands alone just fine as a dramatic piece about family, love, life, losses, and how adults cope with the world around them. This is not, as so many people claim, a family film, but rather a film about family. It is intended for adult audiences - adult in both senses of the word - people who search only for Smith's juvenile humor will be sorely disappointed with this film. This is a film for parents, for mature viewers looking for an easy watch, for people who want a film that has something to say, but also remembers its primary role as entertainment. Sure, it isn't Doctor Zhivago, but at least it isn't Mallrats. It is moving, thoughtful, entertaining, and even if it is a little too sweet, that's better than the alternative. Worth the rental for you and your girlfriend, wife, partner, etc. Expand
  5. MitchA.
    Dec 3, 2007
    9
    This film may be soppy and extremely sentimental, but do they always have to be bad points. Not the usual Kevin Smith film, but for what it lacks in dick jokes and snootchie bootchies it makes up for in heart.Very funny!! Expand
  6. PetroM
    Dec 25, 2005
    6
    I really dont understand why critics where so harsh about this movie. It s a sweet, relaxing and family type of a movie, that never even pretended to be a runner for an Oscar. Fairly enjoyed it. cheers. Expand
  7. Kevin
    Sep 19, 2008
    4
    While "Jersey Girl" certainly doesn't break any new ground, it is heartfelt and overwhelmingly cute. In the lighter, humorous moments, the film succeeds wonderfully, but everything falls apart in the sappy scenes. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. All Films Considered: Director Kevin Smith

    All Films Considered: Director Kevin Smith Image
    Published: February 26, 2010
    From "Clerks" to "Cop Out," Kevin Smith has bounced from success to failure. We examine the ups and downs in the career of one of indie film's most legendary directors.