Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 141 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 35
  2. Negative: 6 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Aug 15, 2013
    80
    Entertaining and smart, with a great, career 2.0 performance from Ashton Kutcher.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Aug 13, 2013
    63
    It’s superficial, but that plays into the hands of the film’s star, Ashton Kutcher.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Mar 18, 2013
    60
    The filmmakers do fall into the trap of overly sentimentalizing a widely beloved public figure who represents an enormous cultural significance. At the same time, however, they keep the movie frequently engaging.
  4. Reviewed by: Kyle Ryan
    Aug 14, 2013
    50
    For (nearly) every yin of Ashton Kutcher’s Steve Jobs flashing a moment of brilliance, there’s a yang of someone saying he’s changed or is his own worst enemy. The unwritten, but understood, full title of Joshua Michael Stern’s film is "Jobs: Brilliant Asshole."
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Aug 15, 2013
    50
    One thing it doesn't do is offer a revealing look at the mercurial entrepreneur. The movie that bears his name settles on a blandly superficial treatment of a deeply complex man.
  6. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Aug 21, 2013
    40
    It fails to rise above the inherent limitations of the traditional Hollywood biopic and it's about as insanely great as a Mac "low cost" LC model – which was, to be fair, pretty cool.
  7. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Aug 12, 2013
    0
    Steered by a lead actor and director, Joshua Michael Stern, who are both way out of their respective leagues, Jobs is excruciating, failing to entertain and all but pissing on its subject's grave.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 38
  2. Negative: 9 out of 38
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Ashton kutcher did an amazing performance. The movie itself could be better directed. Yet it is still inspiring and amazing. Kutcher by far did the best performance of his career and showed that he has a great potential. Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2013
    8
    Great movie but once again another rushed ending. Kutcher did a very great job and this movie makes me sort of want to buy a mac or and iphone(NOT) but in all great movie you wont be disappointed. Expand
  3. Jan 3, 2014
    7
    This movie is nothing like The Social Network. I'm not saying that as a bad point or as a good point. I'm just starting my review with a common mistake. The Social Network was about two friends and how a big corporation ruined their friendship. Jobs is about the big corporation, not the people involved with it. Ashton Kutcher was a decent actor in this movie. When it was announced that he was going to be play Steve Jobs, everybody lost their But he's actually alright, nothing special, but not a bad performance. Pretty much everyone is nothing special. Ashton Kutcher is the only actor who I can name off the top of my head, who was in Jobs. Besides JK Simmons who has such a memorable face that I will always recognise him. You may think that the story of the movie was already prepared, but the writers had to pick some events in Steve Job's life which were interesting. They did not do it too well. I would have preferred to have seen more about the later life of Steve Jobs, than him sitting in an office shouting at people. The writers obviously noticed how good Ashton Kutcher looked as old Steve Jobs and decided to give him as little screen time as possible. Also it was not made clear what year's things were taking place in. I'm not an expert on Steve Jobs so I have no idea what year he was born in (probably in the 50's), after watching the movie about his company. I still don't know. One of the things I did like was the soundtrack. There was some of The Beatles some of The Rolling Stones (I think) and it really gave the movie a vintage feel. I'm guessing that's when a lot of it took place because I had no idea what year it was most of the time. To be honest Jobs did not teach me much about Steve Jobs at all. I can't remember what college he went to (even though it's in the second scene). I can't remember the name of his wife. Or whether she was even his wife?

    As an autobiographical movie Jobs is not good and focuses more on which people he shouted at than what products he made. But watching people getting shouted at is funny. As a movie overall Jobs is good and for the most part enjoyable.
    Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2013
    5
    "Jobs" was ambitious but it never really felt like a big budget biopic about Steve Jobs and, ultimately, felt like a made-for-TV story about the Apple guru. I wasn't sold on Kutcher's performance and only saw him as Ashton the entire movie and not Steve. Additionally, I felt they handled Jobs' growth as a person poorly as the movie jumped from point to point and any character development needed for the next scene was just conveniently there when the story arrived. However, I really enjoyed Josh Gad as Wozniak, the soundtrack was great and I admire that they didn't sugarcoat the reality that Jobs had a reputation of being kind of a big meanie-head. In the end, "Jobs" was a passable biopic about the man who created a company where people will wait in line for days to get a phone that is really no different from the previous one they waited in line for. Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2013
    5
    It ain't no "Social Network", it's a movie that lingers in some aspects. For starters I'll say that the acting is pretty good, especially Ashton Kutcher. I don't know how he did it, but he off Steve Jobs pretty good. But the big problem with this movie is that source material used is a bit of a mess. They exaggerate some factual source material, yet at the same time they don't show enough of other source material. Overall, it's a heart-less version of "The Social Network". Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies. Expand
  6. Jan 11, 2014
    4
    Jobs is a boring straightforward biopic that shows Steve Jobs at his highs and lows without any insight into anything. While these are real people, the characters themselves are underdeveloped. The script is lousy and cliché, and the director seemed to be making a TV movie at best. Expand
  7. Oct 2, 2013
    0
    Boring movie, complete waste of my time. I wish there was more to it not just a history lesson that pretty much anyone knows or can read up on. Save your money and go see something else. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews

Trailers