Columbia Pictures | Release Date: April 11, 2001
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 116 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
69
Mixed:
15
Negative:
32
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
lth5015Jun 30, 2012
You won't like this movie if you take it too seriously. Just sit back, enjoy the movie and it might just surprise you. It's a nice mixture of dumb comedy, a cute plot with a few twists.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
dijavantewowOct 15, 2010
I consistently record this on my DVR when it comes on TBS or something. It's too funny and stupid not to watch. David Spade is an idiot in it, but I laugh the whole way through. Friends and I still quote this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
fjcastroDec 13, 2010
This is one of my favorite movies. It is so implausible and so so funny. There are some truly side splitting laughs in this movie. Joe gets the totally hot chick, Christopher Walken is classic as a former hit man in Witness Protection. IThis is one of my favorite movies. It is so implausible and so so funny. There are some truly side splitting laughs in this movie. Joe gets the totally hot chick, Christopher Walken is classic as a former hit man in Witness Protection. I love you Joe Dirt! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
jAbMaNMar 24, 2011
This movie is hilarious and how is it not funny. The critics are always picking on the comedy movies with David Spade and the other comedians of the SNL circuit.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
4
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
Exceedingly boring and relentlessly cliched, Joe Dirt may deliver one or two brief laughs along the way, but it's not enough to break up the lag.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
HarrySep 20, 2008
I love this movie, david spade actually turned out a great movie without Chris Farley by his side * rest in peace *.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JacksonG.Jan 4, 2007
This is a comedy... you don't need to be able to identify with someone if you're laughing at them (actually, it's better off if you don't identify with them). So, Ebert, you're a dumbass. My brother and I have been This is a comedy... you don't need to be able to identify with someone if you're laughing at them (actually, it's better off if you don't identify with them). So, Ebert, you're a dumbass. My brother and I have been left quoting this movie 5 years later... and people still know what we're referring to. That shows this movie's true genius: One liners w/ a real punch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricCJul 6, 2007
The critics are idiots that was the best movie in the world!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobBJan 5, 2008
The critics need to pull their heads from their bums. Spade and Sandler are not trying to dumb down anyone they are making movies that make people laugh. This movie is escapist. You see it to laugh and have a good time. Enjoy watching a down The critics need to pull their heads from their bums. Spade and Sandler are not trying to dumb down anyone they are making movies that make people laugh. This movie is escapist. You see it to laugh and have a good time. Enjoy watching a down and out nice guy getting dumped on. I love this movie because it is simple and funny. If one wants to watch socially relevant "FILMS" why would they see a movie titled Joe Dirt? This is a great comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BenApr 20, 2008
I loved Joe Dirt, amongst its really cheasy acting are real messages...thats the real beaty, amazing, fun, and silly. Truly a feel good movie that begs to be seen by the family.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BigK.Dec 20, 2005
This film is well worth watching. Spade's acting and timing are genius in this film. Like others here, I liked the film so much after renting it in a fit of boredom that I bought it. Well worth it, in fact, I might watch it again This film is well worth watching. Spade's acting and timing are genius in this film. Like others here, I liked the film so much after renting it in a fit of boredom that I bought it. Well worth it, in fact, I might watch it again tonight... Now one of my fav's. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenA.Oct 28, 2005
It was awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TheoB.Feb 6, 2006
Poorly done but highly entertaining! If you liked Tommy Boy you'll love Joe Dirt. Hot Chicks, Kid Rock, and one-liners... who could ask for much more?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChotaC.Jun 28, 2006
a fabulous comedy though slapstick and crude yet strikes a cord ....i put it in the same league as 'robinhood-men in tights'...lmao....and 'burning saddles' dotn leave neither of them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RodG.Feb 20, 2007
26 reviews for a score of 20. This movie is funny. It seems that the critics once again prove they are out of touch with the common man. Either that or they are all someone's ex-girlfriend. I've met very few women that like these 26 reviews for a score of 20. This movie is funny. It seems that the critics once again prove they are out of touch with the common man. Either that or they are all someone's ex-girlfriend. I've met very few women that like these kinds of movies. It must be a guy thing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JessicaW.Oct 14, 2008
I think these guys said it all, rolling laughter comes out in every scene. I don*t agree with the very few women like these movies, probably because I*m a woman!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ToniW.Dec 6, 2009
Very Funny!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnS.Sep 17, 2001
This movie was horrible. I can't believe Adam Sandler produced this movie. This was the worst movie a Saturday Night Live star has ever made. It was ever worse than "Stuart Saves His Family" and "It's Pat."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SamNov 23, 2005
Does Joe Dirt have a few laughs? Sure. Does it have a few moments that are so lame and pathetic that they just make me want to commit suicide? No, there are thousands. It's not a very good movie, and like the dreadful Napoleon Dynamite, Does Joe Dirt have a few laughs? Sure. Does it have a few moments that are so lame and pathetic that they just make me want to commit suicide? No, there are thousands. It's not a very good movie, and like the dreadful Napoleon Dynamite, it's an overated by viewers travesty. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewBDec 24, 2009
This is a hilarious movie, honestly these critics need to calm down and realize that this movie doesn't try to be a masterpiece it tries to be funny. and it does that perfectly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TheQuietGamerMar 20, 2011
I thought this movie was going to be stupid, but I thought it was hilarious, the goofy story and character really are surprisingly enjoyable, if your into this kind of humor like I am this is a movie you'll like.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SteinekenOct 18, 2013
I would give it a 9/10, i laughed big time. Absurd crazy fun! People say its a dump movie and it is. That is what it is for, laughing about dump things just to disconnect from serious crazy life we all live everyday.
Strongly recommend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ocreJul 30, 2015
So the first time i watched it, i honestly was having a hard time. I really didnt see how this move could come together, i thought they totally destroyed Joe Dirt. But, this is a movie you just have to let happen. It finally does comeSo the first time i watched it, i honestly was having a hard time. I really didnt see how this move could come together, i thought they totally destroyed Joe Dirt. But, this is a movie you just have to let happen. It finally does come together! When it does, it is pretty darn good. Think, how could you make a joe dirt 2, this is almost an impossible task all by itself. But, then on the tiny budget (music videos cost more to make), this is the entire deck stacked against them,

But in the end, they do pull it off. They actually dont destroy Joe dirt at all. I am not sure that reviewers get the film at all, it is actually really good. I watched it again, but was able to lighten up. The original movie was such a rare gem, the second doesnt stand much of a chance. Yet, i believe they really pulled it off here. The budget and editing are major constraints but the movie is very creative. I enjoyed it a lot. Its kind of like an acid trip, just let it happen and then you will figure it out later. Joe Dirt was a movie made for its fans
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
TheDude-Jul 18, 2015
Joe dirt is easily one of happy Madison's worst pictures not one joke in Joe dirt works it is just awful moronic gags that will please the biggest of dumbasses but not if you have a brain.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OsagewasRobbedFeb 9, 2016
This movie is pure genius. "You're going to stand there, owning a fireworks stand and tell me you don't have no whistling bungholes, no spleen splitters, whisker biscuits, honky lighters, hoosker-dos, hoosker-dont's, cherry bombs, nipsyThis movie is pure genius. "You're going to stand there, owning a fireworks stand and tell me you don't have no whistling bungholes, no spleen splitters, whisker biscuits, honky lighters, hoosker-dos, hoosker-dont's, cherry bombs, nipsy daisers (with or without the scooter stick) or one single whistling kitty chaser?" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews