Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Oct 21, 2011
    20
    It must be said that everyone - including Dominic West and Rosamund Pike -- works awfully hard to entertain us. But that just makes it all the more depressing when joke after joke falls painfully flat. Stay home and introduce your kids to Mr. Bean, instead.
  2. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Oct 19, 2011
    30
    Atkinson's fans are likely to rejoice as the comedian twists his face and body to and fro, but the rest of us will not be recruited.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Oct 26, 2011
    38
    "English Reborn" isn't terrible and is certainly seriously harmless.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Oct 21, 2011
    38
    For anyone expecting the second coming of Clouseau, Johnny English Reborn is a karmic catastrophe.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Oct 20, 2011
    38
    After a fast, funny start, the new sequel, Johnny English Reborn, proves to be more of the same.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Singer
    Oct 21, 2011
    20
    An incredible physical comedian, Rowan Atkinson would seemingly do anything for a laugh except one crucial thing: hold out for a better script. This sequel to 2003's Johnny English has a few inspired gags, but most of the material is on the level of English getting kicked repeatedly in his thunderballs.
  7. Reviewed by: Sean OConnell
    Oct 20, 2011
    38
    I spent most of Johnny English wondering whom the filmmakers were targeting. While childish and silly, it's far too violent for young kids.
  8. Reviewed by: Rob Humanick
    Oct 20, 2011
    38
    As ticklish as one might find the idea of an equivalent Mr. Bean character occupying the driver's seat of a James Bond parody, it's likely that even a competent manifestation of such a scenario would pale in comparison to what Mike Myers and Jay Roach pulled off with apparent ease in their Austin Powers films.
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 37
  2. Negative: 6 out of 37
  1. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    Johnny English Reborn is a love it or hate it movie. Some people won't like the humor, some people will. Personally, I almost couldn't stop laughing. Johnny English and Johnny English Reborn are one of my favorite movies of all-time. Yes the jokes are predictable but that's what makes them so funny in my opinion. I rate this movie a 9/10 because the first movie was better, especially the interaction between Johnny English and Bough made it so great. This movie is a bit more over-the-top and sadly Bough is missing here. Still a 9/10 is a good score and this is a must see movie for all Johnny English fans. Full Review »
  2. Oct 21, 2011
    3
    Johnny English is back and unfortunately not for the better. I found the the original surprisingly funny therefore its a great shame the sequel is a massive disappointment. Since the first film English has been dismissed from MI7 after a disastrous mission in Mozambique but is brought back to MI7 to prevent a group of international assassins from killing the Chinese Premier and causing global chaos. The original was far from the funniest film ever made but provided some genuine LOL moments. Sadly, Reborn rarely has you break into laughter or for that even crack a smile! Don't get me wrong there are some, very few, infact they are few and far between funny bits but it fails to sparkle and fizzels out to be a dreadfully dull movie. The fact is the film tries to be funny and provide funny moments but its just an epic fail, simple as that. For any fans of the original trust me when I say stick to that because Johnny English Reborn isn't a patch on its predeccesor and even that wasn't the funniest of films, tells you everything you need to know. As a fellow reviewer said; painfully unfunny, and that sums this film up to a tee! Full Review »
  3. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    This is the funniest movie I have ever seen! It is original with its skits and everything, and there is one point in the movie that I think I will remember for all of my life. Please watch this movie, its so original. Full Review »