User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 106 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 106
  2. Negative: 13 out of 106

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 21, 2011
    3
    Johnny English is back and unfortunately not for the better. I found the the original surprisingly funny therefore its a great shame the sequel is a massive disappointment. Since the first film English has been dismissed from MI7 after a disastrous mission in Mozambique but is brought back to MI7 to prevent a group of international assassins from killing the Chinese Premier and causing global chaos. The original was far from the funniest film ever made but provided some genuine LOL moments. Sadly, Reborn rarely has you break into laughter or for that even crack a smile! Don't get me wrong there are some, very few, infact they are few and far between funny bits but it fails to sparkle and fizzels out to be a dreadfully dull movie. The fact is the film tries to be funny and provide funny moments but its just an epic fail, simple as that. For any fans of the original trust me when I say stick to that because Johnny English Reborn isn't a patch on its predeccesor and even that wasn't the funniest of films, tells you everything you need to know. As a fellow reviewer said; painfully unfunny, and that sums this film up to a tee! Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2011
    0
    Worst comedy ever. Stupid jokes, people falling... Really pathetic evon for Johnny English standard. There are so many better comedies out there that its a pitty to watch this one
  3. Oct 21, 2011
    1
    Johnny English Reborn - Skip-it - New This Week - Unless you are a die-hard Mr. Bean fan (which is a whole other issue) you will think this Rowan Atkinson spy comedy is painfully unfunny.
  4. Nov 7, 2011
    4
    There's laugh out loud moment and also the corny ones. Funny, how this movie works. The movie itself undeniably awful. Not Rowan Atkinson fan? You should forget it.
  5. Mar 12, 2012
    2
    An absolute horrific film that fails on every single one of its ambitions and thats not very much to begin with. English is a unfunny horribly acted directed and written. Im agonizing while righting a review on this film because I already lost an hour and a half of my life watching it so I wont go into full deatail of it's awfullness
  6. Nov 5, 2011
    4
    I am a massive fan of the first film but disliked this one. It is more in the vein of Daniel Craig's Bonds rather than the old Bonds, (which is what the first film was based on, since it came out in 2003). As such it has to include a lot more complicated elements, which means there is more time devoted to plot twists and ergo serious moments, rather than a simple story which leaves a lot of room for comedy (as the first one did). In addition, the comedy seems quite lazy and I did not find it very funny. The is mostly due to the fact that in this film Johnny English is actually good at combat, so it means there's not much room for the type of physical comedy Atkinson is great at. Expand
  7. Dec 12, 2011
    3
    I enjoyed the first movie. It was just the way I imagined Rowan Atkinson as a "spy'.
    The sequel is a mistake, though. 3 or 5 laughable moments just aren't enough. It's the same thing all over again. I just didn't buy it. Just as I wish I hadn't bought those damn tickets for "Johnny English Reborn". It just wasn't worth it.
  8. Mar 1, 2012
    4
    Jhonny english reborn is a good film but not that good it was a huge dissapoint compared to the first one which was full of comedy. This one however was not I found it had good moments and bad moments and every now and then it had boring moments. If you expect this to be as good as the first one or better ,which I did, then u r most likely to be dissapointed.
  9. Mar 8, 2014
    4
    Perhaps slightly better than its predecessor, this sequel still remains mostly dull. It tries to be an intense spy movie, but all we're getting is a silly, tired spy comedy.
  10. Feb 8, 2013
    0
    A disappointing sequel to Johnny English, the plot and the jokes are weak. The movie is so bland and is trying to be serious from time to time, sometimes too serious so it ends up getting awkward. The jokes in this movie aren't funny at all they are just cheap and stupid. The same goes for the new characters in this sequel, they are not humorous just boring and serious. This movie should never have been made. Expand
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Oct 26, 2011
    38
    "English Reborn" isn't terrible and is certainly seriously harmless.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Singer
    Oct 21, 2011
    20
    An incredible physical comedian, Rowan Atkinson would seemingly do anything for a laugh except one crucial thing: hold out for a better script. This sequel to 2003's Johnny English has a few inspired gags, but most of the material is on the level of English getting kicked repeatedly in his thunderballs.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Oct 21, 2011
    38
    For anyone expecting the second coming of Clouseau, Johnny English Reborn is a karmic catastrophe.