Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Joyful Noise is a funny and inspirational story of music, hope, love and renewal. The small town of Pacashau, Georgia, has fallen on hard times, but the people are counting on the Divinity Church Choir to lift their spirits by winning the National Joyful Noise Competition. The choir has always known how to sing in harmony, but the discord between its two leading ladies now threatens to tear them apart. Their newly appointed director, Vi Rose Hill, stubbornly wants to stick with their tried-and-true traditional style, while the fiery G.G. Sparrow thinks tried-and-true translates to tired-and-old. Shaking things up even more is the arrival of G.G.'s rebellious grandson, Randy. Randy has an ear for music, but he also has an eye for Vi Rose's beautiful and talented daughter, Olivia, and the sparks between the two teenagers are causing even more friction between G.G. and Vi Rose. If these two strong-willed women can put aside their differences for the good of the people in their town, they--and their choir--may make the most joyful noise of all. (Warner Bros. Pictures)


    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 31
  2. Negative: 6 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Jan 12, 2012
    75
    Joyful Noise certainly has its demographics covered.
  2. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Jan 12, 2012
    63
    Though one wishes Graff's eye were as developed as his keen ear, he elicits rafter-raising musical performances from Latifah, Palmer, and Jordan that are irresistible fun.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jan 12, 2012
    60
    A well-intentioned, pleasant-enough picture that shoots off in too many directions to ever ignite.
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jan 11, 2012
    50
    A cheerful, not-quite-off-color crowd-pleaser that rarely breaks formula, it's the big screen equivalent of a sloppy smooch from your over-affectionate aunt over the holidays.
  5. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jan 12, 2012
    50
    Hot gospel singing and earnest family squabbles are all that distinguish Joyful Noise.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Jan 12, 2012
    40
    A lower echelon of musical comedy hell (or heaven, if you love the hoariest musical comedy clich├ęs).

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    A really incredible film, this new work of Todd Graff (BandSlam) is great, I love Joyful Noise, with a really normal trama, you can pass a really good time. Expand
  2. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    Pure joy. How many movies can move us spiritually anymore -- and really make our hearts be lifted? The story was relevant (especially for my 14 year old son, who questions God, as the young man did in the film). I had heard that this got mixed to negative reviews in Hollywood....It's hard to believe, given the beauty and talent here. This is one that Mom's should take the time to share with their kids. We have put four children through faith based parochial education, and yet in just over an hour, they got a stronger message from Queen Latifa, Dolly and an AMAZING group of performers. Amen to that! Expand
  3. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    I like this movie, my 12-year-old son and 17-year-old daughter. Gospel and contemporary popular music, it appeals to all ages. The film is interesting, not too heavy, but delivered a healthy good news. Dolly has been a long time, I like, I almost forgot how much fun she can. Hope for the whole family can take away the noise from the joy of the message. Who knows the Queen Latifia can sing so wonderful? This is an all-star cast of talented young people, a witty twist, a great, from start to finish optimism.
    You can watch her momomesh.com

    I want to see the movie people can use a good laugh for the suggestions!
    Collapse
  4. Jan 20, 2012
    8
    The singing in this film is what makes it good. The story is fun but some points could use some work. Loved the interaction between Queen Latifah and Dolly Parton, especially during the fight scene in the restaurant. Expand
  5. Jan 14, 2012
    7
    I thought the movie was quite entertaining, and elevated by fine performances from Queen Latifah, Dolly Parton, and Jeremy Jordan. Can't remember the last time I walked out of the movie theater grinnig from ear to ear. http://luhathoughts.blogspot.com/2012/01/joyful-joyful-i-adore-thee.html Expand
  6. Jan 15, 2012
    6
    This movie was okay enough but it kind of slow moving and some of the plot elements seemed to be disjointed. I thought the language was kind of crude and the sexual innuendos were out of place given the overall subject matter. Expand
  7. Jan 16, 2012
    3
    I know that many like Latifah and Dolly...I definitely do. However, this movie was either poorly written or sponsored by a church membership drive. It is more cliche than anything I've seen from Disney. A 3 minute song that simply says "fix me Jesus" is nauseating. Dolly's corny remembrancewith Kris made me roll my eyes. The voices in the movie sing wonderfully. However, the camp and cornball littered with an obvious plug for churches made even the heartwarming moments Gravol-ready. The voices keep this movie from being rated a 1. Wait for late night TV for this one folks. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews

Trailers