Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: February 14, 2008
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 497 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
318
Mixed:
87
Negative:
92
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
Bruce722Aug 18, 2013
Jumper is a very underrated movie with an interesting plot. The nerd community hates on Hayden Christensen so, with this movie being more in the sci-fi/fantasy genre, it really didn't stand a chance. However, he's a capable actor and theJumper is a very underrated movie with an interesting plot. The nerd community hates on Hayden Christensen so, with this movie being more in the sci-fi/fantasy genre, it really didn't stand a chance. However, he's a capable actor and the support of Samuel Jackson, Rachel Bilson, Jamie Bell, and other cameos gave this movie a solid cast. As I said, the plot was pretty interesting and original as well. The only real problem I had with the film is that it was only 88 minutes, which didn't really give it time to fully develop the concept of "jumping" and the relationship because them and the Paladins, an organization that hunts down jumpers. With more development I think this would've been a great movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
oxanaAug 25, 2014
I went to see the movie expecting a lot from it. Afterwards, I don't really know how exactly to feel. I'm slightly disappointed, but then again, not.

The plot isn't built very steadily, and the end is a bit hurried and cliché. (If they
I went to see the movie expecting a lot from it. Afterwards, I don't really know how exactly to feel. I'm slightly disappointed, but then again, not.

The plot isn't built very steadily, and the end is a bit hurried and cliché. (If they make a sequel, sure, I'll go and watch it. I already know that.)

There is a display of varying emotions on the hero's side, but I didn't really *feel* it. (I'm no fan of Hayden Christensen's, though, so that might have something to do with it...) All in all, what the characters do or say or act on, seems a bit hollow. Big talk, and all that. Maybe a few minutes to the length of the movie would have helped with that, give the events a bit more background.

Why four stars, though... The movie is fast, the idea is cool, the visual/special effects and action are nice to watch; eyes don't make sense of all of it, and that makes it feel a bit more natural and real.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeApr 19, 2014
Jumper is a good sci-fi/action movie.I agreed the acting is not that good and the scenario is bad but the CGI effects are good and there is a good cast (Hayden Christensen,Jamie Bell,Samuel L. Jackson).
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
jelenabiebs31Jan 18, 2016
Decent movie, kept my attention but somehow I felt like it could have been better.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-426-Jumper-online-free
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31Jan 28, 2016
The idea of Jumpers is quite fetching and the action scene were well done, but the ending was a bit of a let down.

Watch it here for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-426-Jumper-online-free
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
NazguleroMay 19, 2011
I think the movie was quite enjoyable. What I sometimes do not understand are the casting choices. There was a chick he picked up in a bar in London, she should have played the main female character. A hundred times more attractive and hotI think the movie was quite enjoyable. What I sometimes do not understand are the casting choices. There was a chick he picked up in a bar in London, she should have played the main female character. A hundred times more attractive and hot than that small ugly chick they finally selected. Special effects were great, I did not feel the need to zap away or take a nap once, and that says a lot ! Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
10
Tss5078Feb 25, 2013
Jumper is the first film from a trilogy of books by Steven Gould, and while I loved this film, most critics panned it. The story centers around a young Davey (Hayden Christensen), who during a life-threatening event, come to realize he hasJumper is the first film from a trilogy of books by Steven Gould, and while I loved this film, most critics panned it. The story centers around a young Davey (Hayden Christensen), who during a life-threatening event, come to realize he has the power to teleport wherever he wants. Unbeknownst to Davey, he is a member of a group of genetically superior humans known as Jumpers, who are currently at war with a religious organization, that believes their power is evil. What starts out as a simple kid having fun and trying to impress, becomes a fight for survival in this amazing action thriller. You can always tell when a story is adapted from a book, rather than an original screenplay, because the story tends to be more thought out. Not to say screenplays are bad, but when a story isn't made simply to be a movie, it tends to be much more focused on the story, where as screenplays have to worry about the story as well as the aesthetics. Nevertheless, Jumper isn't just another shoot 'em story, it's the perfect mix of action and drama with some outstanding performances. I love Hayden Christensen, who I think is made for roles like this, he has this cool demeanor to him, that's more clever than arrogant. Jamie Bell is also terrific as Griffin, a fellow jumper Davey meets along the way, and he provides some much needed comic relief. ...and then there's Samuel L. Jackson. What is there to say about Jackson that hasn't already been said? The man is a legend. This film is interesting, unique, fast-paced, and even funny. I loved every minute of Jumper and if Sci-Fi is your thing, you will too! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
JillDMar 18, 2008
I liked this movie and plan on buying it when it comes out on DVD. Rachel Bilson is great. I like the action and romance. Plus the ending was nice. The story is left open for a second movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EthanD.Apr 8, 2008
I liked this movie. It's a popcorn film, great as an escape. The movie starts out kind of slow, but the story takes off when Rice (Christensen) meets up with a fellow Jumper in Rome. Christenson's acting was very good IMHO; he is I liked this movie. It's a popcorn film, great as an escape. The movie starts out kind of slow, but the story takes off when Rice (Christensen) meets up with a fellow Jumper in Rome. Christenson's acting was very good IMHO; he is believable and convincingly portrays his character's emotions/situation. Hope there's a sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WilliamB.Jun 24, 2008
WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU PEOPLE! Just finished watching this movie and I shake my head, honestly, trying to figure out what people giving Jumper under 5 are talking about. This was a decent movie! To give a sampling of my tastes, Juno 9, No WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU PEOPLE! Just finished watching this movie and I shake my head, honestly, trying to figure out what people giving Jumper under 5 are talking about. This was a decent movie! To give a sampling of my tastes, Juno 9, No country 1, There Will Be...6 (knocked down 2 JUST because of the "are you kidding me?") ending. This was an unpretentious movie with a great premise that, even tho it may have moved well past the original discovery phase, managed to push the limits of the concept. WHO CARES if the action scenes were a little confusing! These are people that have powers that we don't understand fully! Hayden, although still brooding, was under way better direction than the ALWAYS has-been George Lucus. He redeemed himself in this movie as far as I'm concerned, but I'm just a knowledgable movie-goer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LeeK.Feb 16, 2008
Good show. Camera wasn't the best but pretty cool. However, storyline wasn't very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Feb 16, 2008
Its not that bad enjoy the ride.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesB.Feb 22, 2008
Ambition people, this film is probably the most ambitious origin story to a superhero you have never heard of in film history. This is part 1 of a proposed trilogy, and the kind of cahones it takes to create a property with this kind of Ambition people, this film is probably the most ambitious origin story to a superhero you have never heard of in film history. This is part 1 of a proposed trilogy, and the kind of cahones it takes to create a property with this kind of scope is huge. While I don't think it is a perfect 10, I'm giving it one to counteract all the closeminded reviews so far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimK.Jun 11, 2008
In spite of the low reviews, I've found this movie really enjoyable. Instead of an adolescent with super powers saving the world (oh hum), he went out to have some fun. In so doing, he finds out that there are predators higher up on the In spite of the low reviews, I've found this movie really enjoyable. Instead of an adolescent with super powers saving the world (oh hum), he went out to have some fun. In so doing, he finds out that there are predators higher up on the food chain. For me the acting is good when I'm not thinking that he's acting, which never occurred to me in this movie. For me the special effects are good when I'm not thinking it's a special effect. Again, the jumping seemed natural to my way of thinking jumping would be. I wished more information bits were dropped about the war between the paladins and the jumpers, but it got me interested in the sequel! I am looking forward to Jumper 2! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DeadlockJul 15, 2008
It was a show full of an actual interesting concept and lots of eye candy. Could use some story building, but was always fascinating.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanC.Feb 11, 2008
Well, I'm not guarding this film, first of all I don't know what the reviews might even say. I just have my own opinion, I thought this movie rocked, it is so hard core. In 2007, the Fall season brought us many masterpieces, which Well, I'm not guarding this film, first of all I don't know what the reviews might even say. I just have my own opinion, I thought this movie rocked, it is so hard core. In 2007, the Fall season brought us many masterpieces, which gave the Academy a harder way to choose. There was American Gangster, No Country For Old Men, There Will Be Blood, Atonement, and of course AVP 2, just kidding. Anyway, this certainly does go up in comparison with those films. I was fairly shocked with this film. Expecting a smart Doug Liman film. And truly, it was much more than that, it retained to the concept, it was intense, its just so awesome. I loved this movie, definitely up for 2009's Oscars. Definitely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DamonC.Feb 11, 2008
The scenery's are stunningly looked at, and the action is way intense. A fast-paced heavily entertaining film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanDFeb 11, 2008
Total sweetness, I loved it. It couldn't have been better, and especially smarter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DuxaC.Feb 14, 2008
The previews for this movie looked good, I couldnt wait for it to come out. On the release date rolled by metacritic... and seeing 39/100 was very disappointing. I was rather shocked. Then I looked at user comments and 10/10 scores from The previews for this movie looked good, I couldnt wait for it to come out. On the release date rolled by metacritic... and seeing 39/100 was very disappointing. I was rather shocked. Then I looked at user comments and 10/10 scores from users, while critics were giving it 30-40 scores seemed really fishy. So I went and saw the movie anyways. I must say I totally disagree with the critics. The movie was very enjoyable, and the character development was just deep enough to not feel forced. Action is great, and the whole idea is very original. I really enjoyed the movie. The end has a lot of loose ends, so I wouldnt be surprized if there is a sequel. I give it 8/10 and recommend this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisT.Feb 14, 2008
Very much enjoyed the action. I hope there will be a 2nd one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZeeMFeb 15, 2008
What are the Critics talkin' about - No Offense. But seriously, some times I only care about my own opinion and thats what I'm going for. This Movie was absolutely Incredible, Nice Effects and good acting, overall all out great and What are the Critics talkin' about - No Offense. But seriously, some times I only care about my own opinion and thats what I'm going for. This Movie was absolutely Incredible, Nice Effects and good acting, overall all out great and amazing movie. Highly recommend to people who rate movies well... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChipVFeb 15, 2008
I went expecting a terrifically bad movie, and it did not disappoint. I am still haunted by the epic string of poor decisions in writing, casting, and acting in this film. Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimCFeb 23, 2008
Suspensful and good. I really liked it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MadelineLFeb 24, 2008
I really enjoyed this movie. It wasn't the greatest plot, but it was engaging enough. The acting was pretty artificial - except for Jamie Bell. He stole the show completely. I think I would graded the movie at least two points if it I really enjoyed this movie. It wasn't the greatest plot, but it was engaging enough. The acting was pretty artificial - except for Jamie Bell. He stole the show completely. I think I would graded the movie at least two points if it hadn't been for him. His character was fervent and interesting (should have been the lead). And the action was incredible - the fight scenes (Griffin/Roland, and David/Griffin) were incredible. I mean the bus?! Whoa. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AaronMFeb 25, 2008
I actually enjoyed this movie, and it seems fitting to be established as the next Bourne Identity series if given the chance. It definitely felt like its goal was to establish the characters and entertain, and that shows a lot of promise for I actually enjoyed this movie, and it seems fitting to be established as the next Bourne Identity series if given the chance. It definitely felt like its goal was to establish the characters and entertain, and that shows a lot of promise for the future. As a solo flick it will fall short of expectations, but I think in the very end, we'll all be happy it started somewhere. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErnieS.Feb 26, 2008
I loved this movie. I can't wait for the next one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NilayS.Feb 28, 2008
Great fast-paced movie with gorgeous location shots around the world in the style of the Bourne Identity movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RianM.Feb 29, 2008
Try as I may, I just cannot think of anything bad to say about Jumper. Science fiction and action have been rather strange bedfellows in way too many films in the past, but here they fit seamlessly together to form a smart, original, Try as I may, I just cannot think of anything bad to say about Jumper. Science fiction and action have been rather strange bedfellows in way too many films in the past, but here they fit seamlessly together to form a smart, original, intriguing, and overall enjoyable movie-going experience. A superhero movie without any real "heroes" to speak of, Jumper bends multiple genres into a new aesthetically pleasing shape that was as welcome and refreshing to me among the sea of recent sub-par-to-horrible sci-fi action films as a bottle of water surely is to a man lost in the desert. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartyW.Mar 2, 2008
Rachel Bilson si soooo hot in the movie. Hayden Christianson also plays a good role. all the main characters(kids) from Catch That Kid are in the movie which gives it a little twist. Enjoy the movie. It is a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThomasD.Mar 7, 2008
I love this movie, I think it probably helps if you like sci-fi and or fantasy,but I can't wait for the sequel (assuming there will be one) to come out. Looking forward to the DVD release, go see the flick!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FabianK.Jun 19, 2008
A simple and straigh action film, but a fun ride nonethless!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamPJul 5, 2008
I don't know what the critics were thinking. I loved this movie. Very entertaining
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnthonyC.Feb 11, 2008
Supremely amazing, the effects are astounding, it is fun to watch, and thrilling entertainment, resulting the best film of 2008 since There Will Be Blood. Hayden Christensen at his best, with a witty Samuel L. Jackson. This like nothing like Supremely amazing, the effects are astounding, it is fun to watch, and thrilling entertainment, resulting the best film of 2008 since There Will Be Blood. Hayden Christensen at his best, with a witty Samuel L. Jackson. This like nothing like ever before. It is an Oscarwinning success. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Feb 14, 2008
While channel-surfing, David(Hayden Christensen) stumbles across a live feed of flood victims trying to stay dry while river water rushes past them. For a split second, we think the "Jumper" will rescue them. He doesn't. David's While channel-surfing, David(Hayden Christensen) stumbles across a live feed of flood victims trying to stay dry while river water rushes past them. For a split second, we think the "Jumper" will rescue them. He doesn't. David's indifference to human suffering is a thematic motif that "Jumper" should have cultivated. Instead of changing the world, David uses his superpowers to troll for women in English pubs. He'd rather be The Humper than Superman. He also chooses the worst possible time to look up an unrequited love from his high school; when Roland(Samuel L. Jackson), a Paladin, is hot on his trail. Also, there's the mystery as to why David didn't learn about his "jumping" ability at the same tender age like Griffin(Jamie Bell) did. This isn't epileptic fits we're talking about(like Jessie in Marsha Norman's " 'night mother"); this is every Star Trek dweeb's wet dream, the ability to teleport. Nevertheless, "Jumper" is good, shallow fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattEFeb 19, 2008
Not bad character development could use a bit more.....development but otherwise entertaining to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrevorHFeb 21, 2008
This movie was hilarious. I mean I went stoned, but from what I remember, this movie should win an Oscar for best comedy of the year. I love most how it had no ending, it just sort of stopped. I almost pissed myself from how funny that was. This movie was hilarious. I mean I went stoned, but from what I remember, this movie should win an Oscar for best comedy of the year. I love most how it had no ending, it just sort of stopped. I almost pissed myself from how funny that was. I recommend seeing this movie, not just for the horrible plot, but also for the horrific acting, it was a riot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillD.Apr 28, 2008
A light hearted cimic book style movie that while destined to be ingrained into your memory provides an enjoyable shot of action, fantasy & romance in what is essentially a chase movie. Airs a little bit on the short side with character A light hearted cimic book style movie that while destined to be ingrained into your memory provides an enjoyable shot of action, fantasy & romance in what is essentially a chase movie. Airs a little bit on the short side with character development suffering in pursuit special effects eye candy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertJun 11, 2008
Great movie. I'm surprised to see all the negative reviews by the commercial reviewers, but I guess I shouldn't be. They all have their "artistic" views on things which can hamper a realistic view on what people might actually Great movie. I'm surprised to see all the negative reviews by the commercial reviewers, but I guess I shouldn't be. They all have their "artistic" views on things which can hamper a realistic view on what people might actually enjoy watching. I thought Jumper was both entertaining and well written. You should definitely give it a try (and I HATED Hayden's performance in both Star Wars movies). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MortenR.Jun 23, 2008
Loved it! Jumping is similar to Jaunting in "Tiger, Tiger" (which I loved), so this was a prefect fit for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DariusC.Jun 28, 2008
For all the critics and people who say that the movie was awful have you ever directed, acted in, produced, wrote anything that Hollywood or anyone else for that matter would watch? It irritates me when critics get paid to say a movie was For all the critics and people who say that the movie was awful have you ever directed, acted in, produced, wrote anything that Hollywood or anyone else for that matter would watch? It irritates me when critics get paid to say a movie was good or bad when they themselves have never written or directed anything. I ENJOYED THE MOVIE FOR WHAT IT WAS. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
bfoore90Dec 23, 2016
Finally got a chance to watch this film, despite what the reviews may say Jumper is actually quite enjoyable. The story is very simple and to the point, the main character is an ass who uses his super powers to help himself live a life ofFinally got a chance to watch this film, despite what the reviews may say Jumper is actually quite enjoyable. The story is very simple and to the point, the main character is an ass who uses his super powers to help himself live a life of leisure and travel, he then reconnects with the girl he liked as a child, takes her to Rome, discovers there is more people like him and people trying to kill people like him. Without giving too much away, this film ultimately sets out to do what its supposed to do with solid performances from "captain stoneface" Hayden Christensen, Rachel Bilson and Jamie Bell to carry it the rest of the way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TornadoCreatorApr 20, 2016
An interesting sci-fi film with a great premise and particularly inventive use of set pieces with rather decent special effects backing them up. Ultimately this was a fun film that was only really let down by the rather clichéd romanceAn interesting sci-fi film with a great premise and particularly inventive use of set pieces with rather decent special effects backing them up. Ultimately this was a fun film that was only really let down by the rather clichéd romance sub-plot, that while resolved well and used to good effect in the final act, ends up being rather drawn out in the middle of the film and lead to some rather hammy lines. If the concept of exploring the concept of teleportation sounds interesting to you; this is worth a watch, particularly as they attempt to have the ability interacting with physical laws and use it in way the stereotypical super hero film usually doesn't. Ultimately this film was great fun and I'd thoroughly recommend it to sci-fi fans. The special effects are well put together and decent acting from both Samuel Jackson and Jamie Bell make this feel genuinely tense and exciting at times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
wornoutspinesFeb 19, 2015
Jumper is a decent movie, I might be a little bias because I've always liked this movie. The premise alone sounds amazing, the way its set up, how the characters are introduced, the action sequences, and the special effects are simply good.Jumper is a decent movie, I might be a little bias because I've always liked this movie. The premise alone sounds amazing, the way its set up, how the characters are introduced, the action sequences, and the special effects are simply good. The film has elements of a superhero movie but is - more so than actual superhero movies these days - grounded in reality. There are very few futuristic looking gadgets, the locations and the weapons are all realistic, making the Jumpers feel like a secret part of society that could actually exist.

The characters in Jumpers seem like regular people. Millie (Rachel Bilson) acts and reacts like a normal girl whose not a comic book fan or someone who doesn't entertain the idea that teleportation is possibility. Griffin (Jamie Bell) is a bit a dick and David Rice (Hayden Christensen) doesn't even seem to realize what's happening to him, he lives in his bubble and doing his own thing - like most people would in his case.

The film does have its faults and for me there two main problems: The first, I've never read the book but from what I understand in the movie, a Jumper can withstand a large amount of electricity - higher than normal people do. But some of the hits David got in the action sequences should have killed him if he's physically like any human, which seem to be the case and would have been a great weakness to have for the character, a regular guy who can teleport. The second problems is the ending of the film, it's not the best, I could have come up with something better.

Anyway, I liked Jumper when it came out, even though I always knew that there wouldn't be a sequel. It's an entertaining movie and over the years, whenever I watched it back I found those little pop culture references that I hadn't notice before. For example this time around I noticed a Marvel Team up reference that is kind of overused but is still cool.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FilmQueenOct 11, 2015
This science fiction is fun and enjoyable. The concept of Jumper is an interesting idea and it creates good action and good story. I would like to see a sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MasterRileyFeb 15, 2017
Jumper is a really interesting movie with a cool plot and entertaining action sequences. It may not be the best movie of its genre, but I don't think it deserves the bad reviews it has gotten. Definitely give it a watch before you make a fullJumper is a really interesting movie with a cool plot and entertaining action sequences. It may not be the best movie of its genre, but I don't think it deserves the bad reviews it has gotten. Definitely give it a watch before you make a full judgement. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews