User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1166 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HS
    Oct 15, 2009
    6
    I don't think that the movie is so bad... you can sit there and just let everything go. but by no means is it the most brilliant show ever. and yes the script can get a little annoying!! however Genny T there is no need to call people who don't like it uneducated... i have a brilliant education and the movie only scored a 6 for me so.
  2. Nov 27, 2011
    6
    Seriously overrated. I think overall that it was an ok film but I wasnt really into it as much as others may have been. The acting was fine and Ellen Page was a good lead but it was just so stupid to me.
  3. May 20, 2012
    6
    Started well but ran out of steam about half way through. Page is excellent throughout but I expected more from the Bateman/Garmer couple and it did feel a little like an MTV show.
  4. Oct 30, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. hmm this movie is probably only interesting to young-older teens. not funny at all! I could see that they tried to be funny but it was more of like a goofy/silly type thing that immature ppl would find funny. the only part i found interesting was the drama between the adopting couple. other than that... eh. I HATE the sarcasm in the movie. I was like HELLO theres a 16 year old girl thats pregnant! does anybody care? its like they make it seem "OK"! the parents didnt seem to be too worried or shocked and the girl seemed like she could care less. If i was her parent i'd be PISSED at the fact that my daughter was having sex at that age knowing the consequences. these parents seem just as irresponsible as their kid. This is NOT the message that we should be sending to teens. and i actually believe the only smart thing this girl did was give the baby up for adoption. that comment the doc said when she was giving the ulrasound saying the teen mother shouldnt raise her baby cause she'd be in a poisonous environment was actually something i'd agree with. plus teens dont know how great it is to have their freedom until they r responsible for the life of a child. Expand
  5. Anna
    Mar 18, 2008
    5
    It's fine. Just not great.
  6. JackB
    Apr 1, 2008
    5
    I agree with a lot of the lower scored voters who say that it was alright...but not great. It had the occasional moments of humor but nothing that i would class as "laugh out loud." There#s a modern and decent plot which isn't overdone, but I'm not sure why its got a lot of the accolades that it appears to have. I felt occasionally it seemed like a made for tv movie and at the I agree with a lot of the lower scored voters who say that it was alright...but not great. It had the occasional moments of humor but nothing that i would class as "laugh out loud." There#s a modern and decent plot which isn't overdone, but I'm not sure why its got a lot of the accolades that it appears to have. I felt occasionally it seemed like a made for tv movie and at the end of it i was a little bemused that id paid £5 to watch. If i had to give a recommendation in a sentence i would say that its alright to rent out if you have nothing else to do one Saturday night, a nice movie to watch with the girlfriend perhaps. Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2011
    5
    Honestly, it wasn't really funny, or really clever, or really anything. It was just a movie to watch, it didn't entice me or connect me to the characters; it was just O.K., nothing more. I can see the effort and the great acting, but the story just was not interesting to me.
  8. KevinH.
    Jan 5, 2008
    6
    This morning i woke up early and went to The Savages matinee showing at my local art house theater with a random assortment of 20 anywheres age people, mostly older, and loved it. Then at 7 i went to the multiplex to see Juno at a packed house filled with recently pubescent kids with their dates that watched the film as they struggled in an attempt to touch each other. I was expecting to This morning i woke up early and went to The Savages matinee showing at my local art house theater with a random assortment of 20 anywheres age people, mostly older, and loved it. Then at 7 i went to the multiplex to see Juno at a packed house filled with recently pubescent kids with their dates that watched the film as they struggled in an attempt to touch each other. I was expecting to love the film but was filled with the cognitive dissonance of paying ten dollars for a film that i was constantly battling with. A film that you like will suck you in so that your mental chatter stops leaving you to ponder what is going to happen next if you ponder anything other than the immediate sensations of what the actors are saying at the moment. During the first 15-30 minutes of the film as the masses around me laughed at the punchlines that i interpreted were supposed to be funny and i sat with a blank stare i felt as alien as David Bowie's Spider's from Mars. Thus began a hour and a half long inward debate of why i didn't think this movie was funny. What i found amusing was that the parts i laughed at were the parts that correlated with a relative silence throughout the crowd. People laughed at the set design and general visuals. I thought man, Wes Anderson did a way better job at that and their just trying to mimic him. People laughed at the rapid fire dialogue of ellen page's character and i appreciated that what she was basically saying was funny but comedy, at least in modern day form just doesn't work at that speed. What the character Juno says is in theory funny but compare when Juno talks and when Bateman or Cera's characters talk. Comedy comes from some basis in reality and no one but maybe a genius talks with the amount of elucidation that Juno does off the cuff. The script is good in theory but there is too much there, if they slowed it down and unpacked some of Juno's dialogue the film would be much funnier. Either Reitman, Cody, or Page have no since of comic timing. Also i should add i like to think that i wanted to like this movie, why else would i pay ten dollars to go see it. But the movie just tries so hard to be cool. And Cody's script seems to be trying so hard to prove that she's isn't just a dumb stripper. It makes me think "we know you can write, just tone it down a notch." But maybe seeing the savages earlier threw me off since the two movies take such a different approach to a "tragedy" and turn it into humor. To couple drama with comedy is a difficult thing to do and i just believe the savages pulled it off much better than juno. Come to think of it, knocked up pulled it off a lot better also. But this genius of knocked up is it's extemperaneous feel whereas Juno feels scripted throughout. Expand
  9. AnonymousMC
    Jan 6, 2008
    5
    wasnt wonderful but not horrible. completely overhyped
  10. AnS.
    Feb 4, 2008
    5
    It's a diverting enough film that many will enjoy but it also feels like a cynical attempt at making a by-the-numbers independent film. It's incredibly derivative, as if the creators went through a check-list of quirkiness from recent successful independent US films. Ticking all the boxes isn't good enough. Do something different, possibly even making a terrible film in the It's a diverting enough film that many will enjoy but it also feels like a cynical attempt at making a by-the-numbers independent film. It's incredibly derivative, as if the creators went through a check-list of quirkiness from recent successful independent US films. Ticking all the boxes isn't good enough. Do something different, possibly even making a terrible film in the process, but at least try. The most unforgivable thing by far is the gratuitous product placement. It starts with a five-minute long Sunny Delight ad and referernces to this most sugar+water+artificial flavouring of drinks persist throughout the first half of the film. Tic Tac must have shelled out a substantial sum of money too - could this be one of the most unforgivable pieces of dialogue ever committed to celluloid: "Well you know, because they're your fave - and I figured you could never have enough of your favorite one calorie breath mints." Why don't they just let the Tic Tac marketing team write all the dialogue?!? At this point you get to thinking (if you haven't already) that this quip fits in with all the other supposedly witty nuggets that pour out of little Juno's mouth... like so many rotten teeth. Perhaps she should keep off the Sunny Delight and Tic Tacs? Collapse
  11. AnS.
    Feb 4, 2008
    5
    It's a diverting enough film that many will enjoy but it also feels like a cynical attempt at making a by-the-numbers independent film. It's incredibly derivative, as if the creators went through a check-list of quirkiness from recent successful independent US films. Ticking all the boxes isn't good enough. Do something different, possibly even making a terrible film in the It's a diverting enough film that many will enjoy but it also feels like a cynical attempt at making a by-the-numbers independent film. It's incredibly derivative, as if the creators went through a check-list of quirkiness from recent successful independent US films. Ticking all the boxes isn't good enough. Do something different, possibly even making a terrible film in the process, but at least try. The most unforgivable thing by far is the gratuitous product placement. It starts with a five-minute long Sunny Delight ad and referernces to this most sugar+water+artificial flavouring of drinks persist throughout the first half of the film. Tic Tac must have shelled out a substantial sum of money too - could this be one of the most unforgivable pieces of dialogue ever committed to celluloid: "Well you know, because they're your fave - and I figured you could never have enough of your favorite one calorie breath mints." Why don't they just let the Tic Tac marketing team write all the dialogue?!? At this point you get to thinking (if you haven't already) that this quip fits in with all the other supposedly witty nuggets that pour out of little Juno's mouth... like so many rotten teeth. Perhaps she should keep off the Sunny Delight and Tic Tacs? Expand
  12. MelancholicAlchoholic
    Feb 7, 2008
    6
    As a movie it's good, it's sympathetic, the performances are good, but the underlying message is so goody two shoes, and so in line with the present day neocon culture of the War On Terror (Thou shalt not commit Abortion in Film Unless it leads to mental Breakdown) that I want to give this a 6. Now that the selfcensorship on somewhat positively portrayed abortion has stretched As a movie it's good, it's sympathetic, the performances are good, but the underlying message is so goody two shoes, and so in line with the present day neocon culture of the War On Terror (Thou shalt not commit Abortion in Film Unless it leads to mental Breakdown) that I want to give this a 6. Now that the selfcensorship on somewhat positively portrayed abortion has stretched it's vile claws to indie productions as well, we must fear that even a Hillary presidency will lead to an abortion ban in less than 3 years. I've seen over 2500 films and only in one a pregnant woman had an abortion: Holly Hunter in "Things You Can Tell Just by Looking at Her". And yes, this was of the "You-think-you-can-have-an-abortion-just-like- that-but-you'll-be-sorry-in-the-end" - type. The REAL refreshing, daring and new thing to do would be of course, telling the sensitive, yet funny and touching story of the struggle of a 14 year old getting pregnant and her hilarious but yet heartgripping search for an abortion clinic willing to perform a 20 week abortion. This search could take Ulyssesic(?) dimensions, with sardonical comments by said 14 year old on parents school church clinics doctors and Jehova Witnesses ... But yeah, guess which country would be TOO conservative for that .... I mean, if you can make light of the psychologically damaging experience of giving your kid away to total strangers, why not about the less psychologically damaging experience of abortion? Expand
  13. jonathans.
    Apr 15, 2008
    6
    Oh, and this film really isn;t one of those films taht requires you to "have an education", or however one of the reviewers tried to put it in order to say people who didn't like this movie were just stupid. The dialogue wasn't really that witty, and the fact that middle schoolers understood it all means it's really not that smart as some ignorant defenders are trying toOh, and this film really isn;t one of those films taht requires you to "have an education", or however one of the reviewers tried to put it in order to say people who didn't like this movie were just stupid. The dialogue wasn't really that witty, and the fact that middle schoolers understood it all means it's really not that smart as some ignorant defenders are trying to claim. But to another reviewer: of course plenty of teenagers are actually this quickly-witted. Do you only hang out with stupid high schoolers? But if you want a classic comedy that still holds up today which REALLY requires you to be alert because of the rapid-fire humor, please turn your attention to Aiplane!, the greatest classic spoof of our time (which also opened the gates for all spoofs following it.) Expand
  14. DeborahL.
    Apr 26, 2008
    6
    Fey, clever wes andersen wannabe unhelpful b.s. with an agenda. no father is that enlightened and no pregnant teen so plucky. another pregnancy flick with an anti schmersortion agenda
  15. TF
    May 3, 2008
    6
    WAY overwritten. The dialog is very unnatural and tries too hard to be clever. It's more obnoxious than funny at times. The cast makes it better though and the movie is worth watching because of Page, Batemen, and Cera. Not as solid as Thank You For Not Smoking. Definitely not as good as No Country or There Will Be Blood.
  16. SethF.
    Jan 28, 2009
    4
    I thought the script was overflowing with pretentious verbage that no 16, 17, or 18 year old spits out of their mouth. The acting was very good and the concept was quirky. I enjoyed the calm and crush aspect Juno herself gained over the Husband, but all in all I kept being overwhelmed with the vocabulary and how unauthentic it seemed. Not something I would tell my daughter to watch for I thought the script was overflowing with pretentious verbage that no 16, 17, or 18 year old spits out of their mouth. The acting was very good and the concept was quirky. I enjoyed the calm and crush aspect Juno herself gained over the Husband, but all in all I kept being overwhelmed with the vocabulary and how unauthentic it seemed. Not something I would tell my daughter to watch for means of entertainment but certainly not because of the not-so-popular theme of teen pregnancy. Ya right. Expand
  17. Bill
    Jan 24, 2008
    6
    Over-rated movie. Script paces like a long commercial ad for justifying guiltless, irresponsible and promiscuous sexual ploys. Shamefully, Diablo Cody and Ellen Page will go down in the filmmaking history as model promotors of teen sex and teen unwed mothers.
  18. Jan
    Jan 25, 2008
    5
    At long last, we can applaud to seeing under-age lasses being laid and not having to face ill-consequences nor responsibilities. Just dispose the baby, and the teen and her rapist will have a very happy ending thereafter. Wow, sexual promiscuity for teens, and for male nincompoop weirdos, too, can be so cool. Too bad, Roman Polanski did rape a minor in the wrong era... as most of the At long last, we can applaud to seeing under-age lasses being laid and not having to face ill-consequences nor responsibilities. Just dispose the baby, and the teen and her rapist will have a very happy ending thereafter. Wow, sexual promiscuity for teens, and for male nincompoop weirdos, too, can be so cool. Too bad, Roman Polanski did rape a minor in the wrong era... as most of the American folks today would have considered Polanski's sexual activity pretty entertaining and adventurous. Expand
  19. anyanka
    Jan 5, 2008
    4
    So disappointing. To the reviewer who said of Juno's inconsistent dialogue - "some people are just that smart" - uh, smart enough to tell a person they know very well is infertile and whose dream in life is to have a baby "you're lucky that you don't have to go through this" ingenuously, after you've supposedly done all this research? I don't think so. Ellen Page So disappointing. To the reviewer who said of Juno's inconsistent dialogue - "some people are just that smart" - uh, smart enough to tell a person they know very well is infertile and whose dream in life is to have a baby "you're lucky that you don't have to go through this" ingenuously, after you've supposedly done all this research? I don't think so. Ellen Page did a good job trying to smooth over her character's tonal inconsistencies, but that's a testament to her acting abilities, not the script. The 4 rating is because I want to encourage the development of movies with a female lead character, though of course, it revolves around the one thing people know women are "made to do" - have babies and fall in love with men. The actors are all great -- the scene where Jennifer Garner puts her hands on Juno's belly will move anyone -- but gimme a break, dude. If you want to see a great "quirky fable" movie, see "Waitress." Expand
  20. BenB
    Jan 6, 2008
    6
    I went into this movie expecting to love it, but I was sorely disappointed. It's not a BAD movie per se, but the writer simply can't pull this off in the vein of "Little Miss Sunshine". At the beginning the dialogue seems very contrived, and strives for funny hipness without achieving either. By the end, when the writer realizes that she is not good enough for the "make every I went into this movie expecting to love it, but I was sorely disappointed. It's not a BAD movie per se, but the writer simply can't pull this off in the vein of "Little Miss Sunshine". At the beginning the dialogue seems very contrived, and strives for funny hipness without achieving either. By the end, when the writer realizes that she is not good enough for the "make every line funny, cute and quotable!" shtick and settles down into more convential script is the movie watchable, and even slightly endearing. Unfortunately, sitting through this movie also includes sitting through the worst soundtrack ever concieved by man. What were they thinking!? Expand
  21. WebsterB
    Jan 8, 2008
    6
    Some of the worst dialogue I've heard since the god-awful "Death Proof" earlier this year but Michael Cera never misses a beat and Garner is wonderful. Good ending and as for Ellen Page, the character is too much like Page in real life. I don't consider that acting.
  22. JonB.
    Mar 16, 2008
    4
    I watched this movie with high expectations, I kept hearing great things about it. The bottom line was that it was boring as shit. The acting wasn't bad but the story was just so stupid. The whole movie all that happens is the main character Juno gets pregnant from her best friend, and she just talks in slang the whole movie to try to be funny. It was just stupid, don't believe I watched this movie with high expectations, I kept hearing great things about it. The bottom line was that it was boring as shit. The acting wasn't bad but the story was just so stupid. The whole movie all that happens is the main character Juno gets pregnant from her best friend, and she just talks in slang the whole movie to try to be funny. It was just stupid, don't believe the hype. The dude from Superbad is barely in the movie, and his character is really boring. The movie was really slow and just a waste of time pretty much. Expand
  23. SteveO
    Jun 1, 2008
    4
    So I saw this movie because of the hype... and... to my surprise... it just wasn't very good.
  24. NancyOrjala
    Dec 17, 2007
    6
    Juno is s cleverly written string of wisecracks by a suburban teenager. Yes, the supporting characters are well-written, but this movie is not the gift one expects.
  25. EricY.
    Jan 13, 2008
    6
    Overrated. We expected so much more from this film. It was a decent movie. My girlfriend and I were not bored, but we expected to be blown away by a great film. We weren't. I found the main character, Juno, to be quite annoying. I didn't think that what she had to say was "witty" or "wise" as others have claimed. I thought it was also supposed to be a comedy, but I didn't Overrated. We expected so much more from this film. It was a decent movie. My girlfriend and I were not bored, but we expected to be blown away by a great film. We weren't. I found the main character, Juno, to be quite annoying. I didn't think that what she had to say was "witty" or "wise" as others have claimed. I thought it was also supposed to be a comedy, but I didn't find myself laughing at much in the movie. It's just O.K. in my opinion. Expand
  26. DavidG
    Jan 15, 2008
    6
    Disappointed -- a nice small little movie, but a bit surprising that it is getting so much positive attention from critics (and adoration from the youngins). I have 4 teen nieces and nephews who RAVE about this film, but to me it was yet another overstylized self-consciously "hip" oversell. Some of the performances were great but the screenplay is incredibly overrated. I shudder to think Disappointed -- a nice small little movie, but a bit surprising that it is getting so much positive attention from critics (and adoration from the youngins). I have 4 teen nieces and nephews who RAVE about this film, but to me it was yet another overstylized self-consciously "hip" oversell. Some of the performances were great but the screenplay is incredibly overrated. I shudder to think what this film's success will bring to the box office... more pseudo-witty dialogue to come.... Expand
  27. PatrickTM
    Jan 20, 2008
    5
    I'm a writer, from Minnesota. And yes, I cam into this movie looking for ANY excuse to crucify the nauseatingly ubiquitous Diablo Cody and her INEXPLICABLE ascent. This movie gave me all of the fodder I needed. Predictably contrived, totally flippant, and unusually disingenuous for a comedy this movie is VASTLY inferior to its (male?) counterpart, Knocked Up. Where Knocked Up I'm a writer, from Minnesota. And yes, I cam into this movie looking for ANY excuse to crucify the nauseatingly ubiquitous Diablo Cody and her INEXPLICABLE ascent. This movie gave me all of the fodder I needed. Predictably contrived, totally flippant, and unusually disingenuous for a comedy this movie is VASTLY inferior to its (male?) counterpart, Knocked Up. Where Knocked Up excelled at unflinching, unremittingly painful pull-free punches towards the establishment subjects in Hollywood comedies this film came across as overly-calculated, wantonly premeditated, and lethargically peudo-precious. Down with Diablo Cody and down with this movie. Sensible, informed cineastes unite! Juno haters unite! Expand
  28. Will
    Jan 5, 2008
    5
    Juno and her friend, who may seem quirky, over-witty, and "hip" to many, would be downright sleazy in real life. I am a senior in high school and know the type of trashy, non-conformists that try so hard to not conform with the life around them that they conform to something much more conforming. Does that make sense? It is immaturity at its worst. Every time Juno opened her clever mouth Juno and her friend, who may seem quirky, over-witty, and "hip" to many, would be downright sleazy in real life. I am a senior in high school and know the type of trashy, non-conformists that try so hard to not conform with the life around them that they conform to something much more conforming. Does that make sense? It is immaturity at its worst. Every time Juno opened her clever mouth I just wanted to shove paper towels down her throat so she would shut up. This movie may be inspiring for indie wannabes whose generation has simply missed the boat, but for the rest of us that don't act like they were born in the wrong decade, it is perceived as trashy and irritating. I have to give it a five only because I have to appreciate the acting by Michael Cera (who I think may be in danger of being type cast for the rest of his life), Jennifer Garner, and J.K. Simmons who showed he has much more range as an actor than I thought he did. These characters were fun to watch throughout. Unfortunately Ellen Page (Juno) was always in the screen with them. Expand
  29. LukeV.
    Jan 7, 2008
    5
    There was a total of 3 believable characters in this film. Juno MacGruff was not one of them. The dialog seems very forced and awkward. If it weren't for the constant embarrassment I felt every time Juno opened her mouth, I could probably find this film more enjoyable.
  30. MichaelE.
    Feb 12, 2008
    5
    A hipster anti-hipster movie, difficult to enjoy without at least a bit of self-loathing. It would have been good enough as a sitcom, but seeing Bateman and Cera makes me long for the glory days of "Arrested Development."
  31. SimonV
    Feb 18, 2008
    6
    Nowhere near as clever as it thinks it is, yet still an enjoyable film with some good acting. there were moments in the dialogue that were just designed to show off how much diablo cody, the screenwriter, thinks she knows about music, and those few momnts made me feel a tad bit ill, as well as the mostly moldy peaches soundtrack, but these things pass.
  32. JonathanS.
    Apr 15, 2008
    6
    This is a film that if you have seen real (spiritually) indie films, and/or Knocked Up, you've seen this film plenty of times before. The people who don't generally see non-mainstream films are the ones who thought Juno was cute, clever, quirky, etc. It was well made, but everything just TRIED too hard. From the soundtrack of the generic "quirky" indie music, to the This is a film that if you have seen real (spiritually) indie films, and/or Knocked Up, you've seen this film plenty of times before. The people who don't generally see non-mainstream films are the ones who thought Juno was cute, clever, quirky, etc. It was well made, but everything just TRIED too hard. From the soundtrack of the generic "quirky" indie music, to the oh-I'm-so-witty-and-hip dialogue, to the hamburger phone. It just tries too hard! Everything but the performances and direction felt forced. All the scenes, the retorts, the quirky situations-- they were all too calculated, attempting too much to be indie-stylized. The real reason this was nominated for its awards was because it was the only light movie out that people liked enough, and everything else out was much more serious. Honestly, if it weren't for the fact that the Academy needs a non-R rated movie in its Best Picture category, this would not have been nominated. For the truly best indie film of the year, Once is undeniable, though Lars and the Real Girl and Before the Devil Knows You're Dead are excellent choices also. Expand
  33. JayM.
    Apr 15, 2008
    4
    Apocryphal update of Bachelor Mother (1939) and scores of others films dealing with pregnancy. Reitman and the insufferable Cody team up for an ersatz indie approach that makes one long for a truly decent comedy. Where have you gone Albert Brooks, a nation turns its lonely eyes to you...
  34. Loren.
    May 12, 2008
    6
    I agree that the language used in the movie was at times very obnoxious. I don't know of any teenager that talks like that. However once you learn to move passed that you realize that the acting is simply spectacular. The movie was cleaverly filmed but the script was nothing to write home about. Overall I would recommend to watch the movie once, if only to see how wonderful the actors are.
  35. JDbug
    May 21, 2008
    4
    This movie felt contrived, as though Wes Anderson and Jon Heder were forced to spawn some mutant offspring, then force fed it quirky lines, and pasted over any flaws with hip music. I heard the hype, i gagged on it!
  36. FilmFan
    Dec 10, 2007
    6
    wildly overrated. sure it's amusing, but it's not in the same league as Lil Miss Sunshine or Sideways. It is too smug and too many characters share the same wise-mouth dialog, both 16 year-old girls, the drug store clerk, both parents... not until bateman and Garner come along do we get characters who aren't wise-mouth. the yuppie couple are flat caricatures. She wants a wildly overrated. sure it's amusing, but it's not in the same league as Lil Miss Sunshine or Sideways. It is too smug and too many characters share the same wise-mouth dialog, both 16 year-old girls, the drug store clerk, both parents... not until bateman and Garner come along do we get characters who aren't wise-mouth. the yuppie couple are flat caricatures. She wants a baby, period. He's afraid to lose his youth, period. every scene with them makes that point. Ellen Page is superb, as are the actors who play her parents. Ultimately, when the emotional payoff was supposed to land at the end i felt it missed. Juno's relationship with her boyfriend character was not sufficiently developed for me to care. Expand
  37. Chris
    Dec 12, 2007
    6
    Juno isn't bad, just grossly overrated. The entire first half of the film is ludicrous -- hot-screenwriter-of-the-moment Diablo Cody virtually screaming to the audience, "Look, Hollywood, I can write glib hyper-witticisms as well as anybody!" Sitcom-y and self-conscious screenwriting at its absolute worst. The movie actually improved quite a bit in the second half when it got a Juno isn't bad, just grossly overrated. The entire first half of the film is ludicrous -- hot-screenwriter-of-the-moment Diablo Cody virtually screaming to the audience, "Look, Hollywood, I can write glib hyper-witticisms as well as anybody!" Sitcom-y and self-conscious screenwriting at its absolute worst. The movie actually improved quite a bit in the second half when it got a little more serious and earnest, and the screenplay finally turns down the relentless "snappy" one-liners a bit. I couldn't stand the smarmy, too-cool-for-the-room Juno character throughout, but there are some good supporting bits by the likes of Jason Bateman, Jennifer Garner and Michael Cera that redeem the film somewhat. As usual, the 'burbs are portrayed as a spiritual no-man's-land where all your dreams go to die, and the entire film is soundtracked to the likes of hipster bands like Belle and Sebastian. Talk about right out of Indie Moviemaking 101. What IS interesting is that the film takes a pro-life stance. This is a viewpoint you're not going to see much coming out of Hollywood, so once again I can't completely dismiss the film. But the movie also asks you to believe that this kid's gonna have the baby, give it up for adoption, and simply move on with her life without ever even wondering about the little tyke, who resides in the same zip code. You've got to be kidding me. Juno is this year's "Crash" or "Little Miss Sunshine," i.e. the fraudulent indie film. Why do the critics always fall for these films? Expand
  38. HeatherC.
    Dec 21, 2007
    6
    Finally, real acting. I hate the movies that it seems so fake with the dialouge. But this one i could see myself actually ACTING like that and other people acting like that. some funny parts and if it were any longer it would have been worse. only problem, that sappy predictable middle.
  39. AndrewF.
    Dec 27, 2007
    6
    Great acting, interesting characters, but the script bites off more than it can chew. The quirky dialogue is cute, but can be annoying and off-putting at times. I can understand why critics love it, but I felt too distanced at times to really make a connection. Worthwhile, but not anywhere near perfect.
  40. MattA.
    Jan 21, 2008
    5
    So overrated. Better than last year's "cute little comedy" that got oscar buzz (that would be the mess known as "Little Miss Sunshine"), but not by much. Michael Cera and Juno's father needed more to do as they were the most interesting characters. Ellen Page was okay in the title role, but the script by Diablo Cody isn't nearly as smart as everyone thinks it is.
  41. GinoM.
    May 18, 2008
    4
    Obviously planned or forced; artificial; strained.
  42. thewiseking
    Sep 27, 2008
    6
    Way too self aware and intentionally indy to have any real emotional impact. Its cleverness gets in the way and its soundtrack is enough to make any cinephile scream " Enough with the goddamned quirky pop soundtracks already! Bring back original theme music!"
  43. RachelL.
    Dec 22, 2007
    6
    Although a witty, pithy film which reflects the disenchantment of contemporary youth, the script overreaches. The dialogue is too constructed, and the protagonist's plight too hard to connect with. Still, good acting all around, and Michael Cera warms my heart.
  44. DanH
    Dec 28, 2007
    6
    I don't believe that a small town teenage girl who is dumb enough to get pregnant would know so much about artsy horror films and early punk/rock genre. I feel the wrtiers/director/etc where more concerned about showing how hip and artsy they are, than creating a believible character.
  45. JimK.
    Dec 31, 2007
    5
    Nothing to make you think after leaving. Largely a Christian message in a heathen package, i.e., adoption not abortion, don't be alone with a man or he'll get the wrong idea. Marriage is the perfect family unit, etc. Mostly boring with a bright spot here and there. Juno (Ellen Page) is likable, her dad is okay and her step mother has a few good lines. Character development on Nothing to make you think after leaving. Largely a Christian message in a heathen package, i.e., adoption not abortion, don't be alone with a man or he'll get the wrong idea. Marriage is the perfect family unit, etc. Mostly boring with a bright spot here and there. Juno (Ellen Page) is likable, her dad is okay and her step mother has a few good lines. Character development on the others is minimal, inconsitent, and largely one dimensional. If you are between 13 and 20 you will likely love the movie. For everyone else, wait for the DVD. Expand
  46. Aug 22, 2010
    6
    I like this film and think ellen page gives a fantastic performance. The main problem however is apparent in the opening credits, the indie feel overwhelms you after a while and never really stops. Nevertheless i'd still recommend a viewing even if just to see Ellen Pages fantastic performance and the very creative way the film goes about it's plot. It's not a bad film by any means, it's aI like this film and think ellen page gives a fantastic performance. The main problem however is apparent in the opening credits, the indie feel overwhelms you after a while and never really stops. Nevertheless i'd still recommend a viewing even if just to see Ellen Pages fantastic performance and the very creative way the film goes about it's plot. It's not a bad film by any means, it's a really good one covered in the stench of hipster Expand
  47. Apr 4, 2011
    6
    The movie was almost solid. It could've been better if the didn't **** up the dialogue by putting some of the worst things that I've ever heard in it. And Ellen Page was only good. Goddamn academy. And why is it that she only gets to be clever? **** you academy. This should've never been awarded best original screenplay.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. A blithe charmer balanced somewhere between a life-should-be-so-neat fairy tale and a life's-a-real-bitch tragicomedy, leaves political debate at the ticket counter and focuses solely on what it's like for Juno MacGuff to be Juno MacGuff.
  2. It’s the writer, Diablo Cody, and the director, Jason Reitman, who have screws loose. Or maybe they’re just desperate to make their film a chick "Rushmore" or "Garden State."
  3. 88
    There's a special kick that comes in finding a new star. So step up, Ellen Page, and take your bows.