Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 11, 1993
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 624 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
577
Mixed:
35
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
CooterPatooterFeb 21, 2012
As a wide-eyed 13 yr old boy gripping the theater armrests with white knuckles, I remember this film rewiring my brain as I watched it. I walked out a changed person, never to view movies the same way again. The good ones... the trulyAs a wide-eyed 13 yr old boy gripping the theater armrests with white knuckles, I remember this film rewiring my brain as I watched it. I walked out a changed person, never to view movies the same way again. The good ones... the truly special ones... aren't just something to watch. They transport you to another world. They take you away and cleanse you of the drudgery of reality. They nestle into your memory and never leave. Jurassic Park was the first film to affect me in this way and I'll never forget that feeling. Much obliged, Mr. Spielberg! Expand
16 of 16 users found this helpful160
All this user's reviews
9
wesker2012Jun 1, 2012
Everytime I hear low rumbling of thunder off in the distance....I think of a t-rex outside my house because of this movie.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
With a great cast, wonderful story, and unforgettably stunning soundtrack, "Jurassic Park" does not disappoint. Truly brilliant filmmaking here.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Aug 25, 2015
Steven Spielberg's "Jurassic Park" is a simply astonishing masterpiece, with an excellent cast, plot, and moreover visuals that exceeds any other of its era.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
BradySmithSep 19, 2013
Jurassic Park holds up surprisingly well to this day. It may not be the deepest or best written movie ever made, but it's one of the most thrilling. Spielberg is a master of creating tension and incredible set-pieces. Most of the visualJurassic Park holds up surprisingly well to this day. It may not be the deepest or best written movie ever made, but it's one of the most thrilling. Spielberg is a master of creating tension and incredible set-pieces. Most of the visual effects are still adequate, which is incredible for a movie made in 1993. If a visual effects film holds up like that after 20 years there's a good chance it may never be completely antiquated. The script can be somewhat clunky at times however. It's not a bad script, just somewhat lacking when compared to something like The Truman Show or Inception. It's still more than functional for a monster movie, and the main characters are thankfully likeable if somewhat needing of more complex characterization. It's not perfect, but it's an extremely memorable and sometimes exhilarating action film that has deservedly gone down as a benchmark in movie history. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JoyceC.Oct 6, 2007
It makes sense, and I am on Ian Malcolm's side of opinion of the island creation. i am astonished by how amazing the movie was.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarshallM.Nov 25, 2005
Its an amazing science fiction film. one of speilbers most spellbinding works.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RonC.Nov 18, 2007
This is truely my favorite movie of all time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
117dilushamcJun 18, 2013
most inspirational and exciting movie in my childhood.One of the most iconic movies of all time.A flawless masterpiece of a very rare kind.The real life looking dinosaurs are the greatest triumph for Spielberg in his long impressive filmingmost inspirational and exciting movie in my childhood.One of the most iconic movies of all time.A flawless masterpiece of a very rare kind.The real life looking dinosaurs are the greatest triumph for Spielberg in his long impressive filming career.One of the most memorable movies of all time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
KivaAug 17, 2013
Jurassic Park is an epic adventure fantasy film. It has everything that the audience wants action, suspense,some humor and a little violence as there are dinosaurs. The dinosaurs are really amazing as the technology was not that developedJurassic Park is an epic adventure fantasy film. It has everything that the audience wants action, suspense,some humor and a little violence as there are dinosaurs. The dinosaurs are really amazing as the technology was not that developed when Jurassic Park came out. The actors are really good, especially the two kids and it has a lot of suspense. I thought it wouldn't have so much blood and violence as I thought it was a PG movie, but I don't have these kind of problems. Jurassic park is epic and haters gonna hate. I was hesitating at first because I don't like dinosaurs and stuff but Jurassic Park amazed me and it is a classic one. A must-watch. Best film with dinosaurs for sure! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MudgeeNov 24, 2014
To this day, still remains one of my favourite movies of all time. That's saying something considering I usually regard movies poorly. It has everything and more, with the inclusions of dinosaurs. How in all honesty can one beat that? ThisTo this day, still remains one of my favourite movies of all time. That's saying something considering I usually regard movies poorly. It has everything and more, with the inclusions of dinosaurs. How in all honesty can one beat that? This was epic on the grandest of scales when it launched in 1993, and still amazes me to this day. Storyline is beautiful, all roles are excellently portrayed and for it's time, a true marvel that should still be respected today. 10/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
heathermJan 14, 2015
Watching this movie for the first time as an adult, I was completely amazed by how good it was--I always assumed it must be overhyped, but it completely deserves its reputation as a classic. The pacing is perfect, with a long, slow-burnWatching this movie for the first time as an adult, I was completely amazed by how good it was--I always assumed it must be overhyped, but it completely deserves its reputation as a classic. The pacing is perfect, with a long, slow-burn lead-up to the scary dinosaur scenes we all know are coming. The special effects hold up amazingly well more than 20 years later--they manage to avoid the kitschy funniness of most outdated effects. This is a wonderfully enjoyable movie that I'll definitely be watching again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MrMovieBuffJul 18, 2015
Even after 20-something years, Steven Spielberg's 'Jurassic Park' is still an incredible blockbuster, filled with gorgeous visual effects that still hold up today.

The movie focuses on a park that was created by John Hammond (Richard
Even after 20-something years, Steven Spielberg's 'Jurassic Park' is still an incredible blockbuster, filled with gorgeous visual effects that still hold up today.

The movie focuses on a park that was created by John Hammond (Richard Attenborough), who, as author Michael Cricheton described as a "dark Walt Disney" and three experts, played by Sam Neil, Laura Dern and Jeff Goldblum respectively explore the park, and then run into some consequences.

The movie mostly focuses on Sam Neil's character, Alan, saving John Hammond's grandson and granddaughter from the gigantic T-Rex throughout the entire movie.

What this movie is very good at is suspense and Spielberg uses it effectively. One scene that stands out the most is when the characters are in the cars and the grandson, Tim, hears thudding from a distance. He looks at the glasses of water on the dashboard and sees them shaking, and we get a close-up shot of this as it happens for a while. This is obviously a sign that a dinosaur is approaching and Spielberg is good at putting the audience on edge.

I guess the movie's only flaw would be the way the human characters are used throughout the film. The dinosaurs are the main stars here, and by "dinosaurs" I mean the special effects, which still look terrific. The human characters are there to make the dinosaurs look even scarier to the audience by looking up in awe and/or fear and screaming to the top of their lungs. Spielberg doesn't use many surprises to show us the dinosaurs as we see them early and throughout the duration of the film, so to keep them looking scary, make the human characters look even smaller and make them scream, this is not a gimmick, but it's a tiny flaw.

Other than this, you get great looking dinosaurs, great suspense and a great time at the movies filled with some neat action and some touching moments. 'Jurassic Park' is a joy to behold.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
PabloBird22Aug 15, 2016
Let's tell something, this movie was something beautiful and nostalgic from my childhood, when i was a baby, i love dinosaurs, and this movie was something that i wont forget :'D
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
gm101May 26, 2011
One of the best movies ever made, and a movie that has a special place in my heart. Honestly, I believe this movie should've won best picture at the Oscars, not Schindler's List.
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
10
TENCATIJADec 27, 2010
A definite thrill ride and an experience of a lifetime. This movie might not have gotten all of the praise that Jaws got but it was this movie, alongside with the original Star Wars movies, that really created a whole new world for CGIA definite thrill ride and an experience of a lifetime. This movie might not have gotten all of the praise that Jaws got but it was this movie, alongside with the original Star Wars movies, that really created a whole new world for CGI characters and helped define the skill that a movie crew can possess. My favorite movie of all time and the one movie that will never get old. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
csw12Sep 2, 2012
A classic in itself. No movie made of dinosaurs has been more mesmerizing and dazzling. The score is sensational. It is one of those movies that transcends not only its genre but for all movies.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
lukaminaMay 24, 2015
Brilliant! I loved it! The cgi-especially for 1993-was fantastic! AbslolutelyBrilliant! I loved it! The cgi-especially for 1993-was fantastic! Abslolutely brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
AnttiMar 24, 2008
Very generic action film with novelty effects. watchable once, but mostly boring.
1 of 13 users found this helpful
0
EricJJan 1, 2008
The most overrated movie of all time.
1 of 42 users found this helpful
10
snowheaven98Jul 31, 2011
this is a boss like movie cuz it diosours and panads!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
hoops2448Sep 20, 2011
The main problem I had with jurassic park is that it doesn't live up to the incredibly high calibre of the cast and crew. Actors like sam neill and samuel l jackson are stuck in a simplistic action film with not much going for it. Don't getThe main problem I had with jurassic park is that it doesn't live up to the incredibly high calibre of the cast and crew. Actors like sam neill and samuel l jackson are stuck in a simplistic action film with not much going for it. Don't get me wrong, steven spielberg brings his directing flair elevating this above your average monster film but the sub par script doesn't allow for character development with wayne knights character being a laughably stupid character. For that matter its nice to see that spielberg sticks to the convention that all characters in a monster movie are remarkably dumb. Overall the movie can provide long moments of tension and some great set pieces but not much else. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
Kylenine1Mar 20, 2014
( ALL ENTERTAINMENT)
Here's the thing about the first Jurassic Park film. It's a very slow pace movie. Once the movie gets going then it's good. But for awhile it drags. The effects are extremely well done. The storyline is amazing.
( ALL ENTERTAINMENT)
Here's the thing about the first Jurassic Park film. It's a very slow pace movie. Once the movie gets going then it's good. But for awhile it drags. The effects are extremely well done. The storyline is amazing. Everything was on key including the cinematography. I have to give it a score of 4 out of 10 though because the beginning is extremely slow. But other than that, it was amazing.

By: Bailey (A Film Critic/Entertainment journal writer)
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
shwanziApr 23, 2013
You can read my review/retrospective of the recent 3D re-release of "Jurassic Park" here http://geektasticfilmreviews.blogspot.com/2013/04/jurassic-park-3d.html
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
vikesh2206Jun 12, 2015
The masterpiece Jurassic Park is a terrifying yet entertaining venture into the world of dinosaurs without ignoring the complexities of its characters and creatures alike.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ZawMineMay 11, 2015
Jurassic Park is a masterpiece. It is an achievement. One of the greatest achievements in cinema history. Jurassic Park is one of the best family film out there. You can enjoy this movie any time. I love this movie so much.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
MadMaxFuryRoadJun 22, 2015
Definitely a bit overrated, but still watchable. The movie was boring and slow but finally caught up to all the hype. It's worth watching if you just want to see crazy dinosaurs killing humans in gruesome ways.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
9
[Anonymous]Sep 11, 2005
I have a special bond with his movie. Jurassic park was the first movie i ever saw in a Theater, and what a way to start off! Good CGI, but the characters have Hollywood entertainment flowing through them, adding energy to what would've I have a special bond with his movie. Jurassic park was the first movie i ever saw in a Theater, and what a way to start off! Good CGI, but the characters have Hollywood entertainment flowing through them, adding energy to what would've been a by-the-numbers flick. Good editing, too. The sequels aren't outright bad, kinda like ID4 with dinos, but they don't have the solid structure of this one. The Lost World is open for anyone who can't get enough dino, and thought the original didn't give em enough. Jurassic Park Three is Lost world Lite, but still entertaining, with even better CGI and a certain dumb charm. Hope the fourth shows a return to form. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyH.Oct 20, 2007
A LEGENDARY movie, shame about the sequels. That's all that needs to be said really. It may not seem original, but wholly, it clearly is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZeeM.May 19, 2007
Amazing Movie!! It's great how they made the Dino's, extremely realistic. Incredibly thrilling!
0 of 0 users found this helpful