Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Feb 9, 2011
    83
    If this is what it sounds like when a new millennium goes pop, I'll take it.
  2. 80
    This sensationally engineered promo film makes Justin Bieber look like a true force of nature.
  3. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Feb 10, 2011
    75
    On stage variously with Boyz II Men, Jaden Smith, Miley Cyrus, and Ludacris, Bieber carries himself like a squeaky-clean homeboy with an angelic voice. On him, swagger looks sweet.
  4. 70
    It generally succeeds, too, thanks to a visually energetic approach by director Jon Chu that keeps all the obligatory backstage/onstage bits moving fluidly.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew Barker
    Feb 9, 2011
    70
    As much a legitimate documentary as it is a 3D concert film and teen girl squeal-delivery device, the film possesses surprising moments of candor on the toil of teenage superstardom.
  6. Reviewed by: David Malitz
    Feb 11, 2011
    63
    It's a fluffy, mildly inspiring, celebration of the hero leading up to his big moment.
  7. Reviewed by: James Adams
    Feb 11, 2011
    63
    Equal parts biopic, concert film and pep rally, the movie's 105 minutes do a good job of conveying the pleasures of pop, courtesy of the very real talents of Justin Bieber.
  8. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Feb 10, 2011
    63
    The movie usefully, carefully, and cogently argues that Bieber is more than his hair. He is his hoodies. He is his pop-hooks. He is his many handlers.
  9. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Feb 10, 2011
    60
    Bieber's world - at least as edited for mass consumption - is a refreshingly wholesome universe, where a young superstar is good-natured and grateful, says grace before every meal, and spends all his free time on the tour bus tweeting. He also likes to hug, a lot.
  10. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Feb 10, 2011
    60
    Everyone involved in "Never Say Never" is working overtime to prove that he is, as one of them puts it, "just a regular kid who had a dream," while everything about the movie screams the opposite.
  11. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Feb 9, 2011
    60
    The film is a really entertaining look at the Bieber phenomenon; the music in Never Say Never is great and Bieber proves himself to be the real thing as a musician and performer.
  12. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Feb 9, 2011
    60
    Chu does his best to humanize his subject, showing him surrounded by devoted friends and family, and wringing much drama from an on-the-road vocal-cord strain.
  13. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Feb 24, 2011
    50
    It's definitely not hard to understand what the little girls see in Bieber, and this film delivers the goods. This one's for the fans, not the movie buffs.
  14. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Feb 11, 2011
    50
    What we do see is mom, dad, Braun, Usher, vocal coach Mama Jan Smith and the burgeoning Team Bieber claiming they only want the best for the boy as he goes through a punishing 84-date concert tour. Group hug.
  15. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Feb 10, 2011
    50
    Never works as a gum-snapper concert movie and does provide a glimpse into instant stardom in the Twitter generation.
  16. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Feb 10, 2011
    50
    It's a disappointment to see the teen pop star hop in a tour bus. This is a boy who should be traveling across rainbows on the back of a unicorn.
  17. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Feb 10, 2011
    50
    Strictly as a piece of filmmaking, Never Say Never is a bit of a mess.
  18. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Feb 9, 2011
    50
    3D or not, the film about the mop-topped Canadian - who turns 17 March 1 - doesn't let us get very close to "the talent."
  19. Reviewed by: Simon Crook
    Feb 18, 2011
    40
    Squeaky clean fun for the youngsters in the family. Everyone else hide.
  20. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Feb 11, 2011
    38
    The film slowly builds up to Justin's first appearance at Madison Square Garden, where his show sold out in 22 minutes.
  21. Reviewed by: Genevieve Koski
    Feb 10, 2011
    33
    The film's premise-that Bieber achieved his superstardom through years of hard work overcoming towering obstacles-is so ludicrously flawed that everything built upon it borders on self-parody.
  22. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Feb 8, 2011
    20
    It is draggily paced and lacks felicity of form; the 3-D is a rip-off and the songs are pap, save a snippet of Etta James singing "At Last" while Bieber's glossy fringe sways in slow-motion.
User Score
1.6

Overwhelming dislike- based on 432 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 142
  1. Feb 11, 2011
    1
    I have a question for the makers of this movie: "Why?" Why would people go to see this movie? I took my young niece to go see this movie for her birthday and she enjoyed it mildly from what I understand. But bored me and the other older people in the theater. I suppose this is where our society is, that we have to make a "documentary" (and I use that term loosely), about an overly sub par musician.

    After seeing this movie I lost all hope in humanity. I lost all hope in God as I continually asked myself "why would God put me through this torture? I always thought I was a good person." So I will use this to ask anyone who wants to see this movie. Why?
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 11, 2011
    0
    You would need topay me to sit through this again. There's no point to this movie, in fact it was probably made so that Justin Bieber and his people could make more money. Full Review »
  3. Feb 15, 2011
    2
    Worst then i thought..i dont know why they creating such a nosence kind of movies.west of my time.i suggest you to do not see this movie or u would weste your money and time, Full Review »