Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.6

Overwhelming dislike- based on 431 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: "Justin Bieber: Never Say Never" is the inspiring true story and rare inside look at the rise of Justin from street performer in the small town of Stratford, Ontario to internet phenomenon to global super star culminating with a dream sold out show at the famed Madison Square Garden in 3-D. (Paramount Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Feb 9, 2011
    83
    If this is what it sounds like when a new millennium goes pop, I'll take it.
  2. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Feb 10, 2011
    75
    On stage variously with Boyz II Men, Jaden Smith, Miley Cyrus, and Ludacris, Bieber carries himself like a squeaky-clean homeboy with an angelic voice. On him, swagger looks sweet.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew Barker
    Feb 9, 2011
    70
    As much a legitimate documentary as it is a 3D concert film and teen girl squeal-delivery device, the film possesses surprising moments of candor on the toil of teenage superstardom.
  4. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Feb 9, 2011
    60
    Chu does his best to humanize his subject, showing him surrounded by devoted friends and family, and wringing much drama from an on-the-road vocal-cord strain.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Feb 11, 2011
    50
    What we do see is mom, dad, Braun, Usher, vocal coach Mama Jan Smith and the burgeoning Team Bieber claiming they only want the best for the boy as he goes through a punishing 84-date concert tour. Group hug.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Feb 10, 2011
    50
    It's a disappointment to see the teen pop star hop in a tour bus. This is a boy who should be traveling across rainbows on the back of a unicorn.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Feb 8, 2011
    20
    It is draggily paced and lacks felicity of form; the 3-D is a rip-off and the songs are pap, save a snippet of Etta James singing "At Last" while Bieber's glossy fringe sways in slow-motion.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 142
  1. Feb 21, 2011
    10
    Enjoyed watching this movie with the whole family. I am suprised at the very low rating. We thought it was very interesting to see how far this kid has come in the last couple years. He sold out Madison Gardens in 22 minutes. Expand
  2. Feb 11, 2011
    8
    I went with my 12 yr old daughter, her friend & mom to see "Never Say Never" premier. We did enjoy the movie. It not only showed Justin's rise to stardom but his mother's sacrfices she made to make sure, as a single young mother, he was brought up with values and respect. His grandparents were normal, very much like my daughters, in the respect they kept him grounded. He had to clean his room before he could go out with his friends-didn't matter that he was JUSTIN BEIBER. His grandfather brought me to tears, talking of letting them go, Justin & his mom, to Atlanta to do recordings & start his singing career. I did wonder what Justin's father's intentions really were, never around in any pictures while he was growing up past a few months old...all the credit should go to his mom, grandparents & his crew who loves & adores him. I do wish it would have stayed with him in it's entirety of his songs but his journey thus far was portrayed very nicely. Loved the hair wisp & the part about texting.
    I would buy tickets to see him in concert if he came with in 75 miles..went to the Miley/Jonas Brothers concert & we loved that one too.
    YOU GO JUSTIN!!!
    Expand
  3. Dec 3, 2013
    3
    look, if youre a fan of justin bieber, then fine, my 8 year old sister loves justin bieber, and she doesnt even like the movie. i already knew that this movie was nothing less than a documentary. so i treated this movie like a documentary, and the movie even does a poor job at doing that. there are some times where the movie talks about justin bieber's life, you know, like a GOOD DOCUMENTARY but those times are thrown out the window because in the majority of the movie, justin bieber spends all his free time on the tour bus tweeting. He also likes to hug...... a lot. So, the movie MIGHT be squeaky clean fun for devoted fans of justin bieber. Everyone else hide and dont look back. Expand
  4. Aug 5, 2012
    0
    Wow, is this even a movie ? A female friend of mine, not gf..she's an adult to be precise..took me to the theatre by force. I took a jacket to sleep there, as it gets pretty cold. I couldn't even do that due to utter useless chants and shouting from young girls. Even my friend was a bit ashamed. Why ? Just why ?? How the heck the critics kept it over 50 ! Aren't they human beings ?! Expand
  5. May 6, 2013
    0
    This movie is GODAWFUL. And it is terrifying to actually know people LIKE this movie. Apparently some people still need to work out Justin Bieber. Because nearly everyone who rated positive might have been his fans trying hard to actually give a good review without watching it, worse, it's 3-D. Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2011
    0
    What a horrible idea for a movie. This kid hasn't had a hard life. He doesn't need a movie about him. The only reason it exists is for retarded teenage girls to waste money on. He has no talent and will be forgotten in a few years. Idiots like this ruin the music industry with their talentless garbage. Expand
  7. Feb 20, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film was really a peace of utter garbage. To everyone: PLEASE don't go and see this s**t. The facts for the movie: Critics all around the world have been payed off that is why it is still on a 52% average. Metacritic user score at the moment 1.3 but I doubt it will increase more like decrease. Finally IMDB user score 1.1 HAHAHAHA. Where I live in Hungary there a soap opera which is so bad that every time I see it I puke my TV. And even that has a 2.6 average on IMDB :D Expand

See all 142 User Reviews