User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 873 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 873
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JordanS
    Apr 17, 2010
    9
    Hit girl freaking owns!
  2. BarrettB
    May 28, 2010
    9
    Great movie... serious, funny, great dialogue in parts. The story was a new spin on the superhero theme not to mention great action. Well done.
  3. BaltazarH.
    Apr 18, 2010
    9
    Very enjoyable and original.
  4. MarkL.
    Apr 18, 2010
    9
    Very entertaining and very funny! Highly recommended.
  5. TimK.
    Apr 19, 2010
    9
    While Dave isn't the most engaging character Hit-Girl and Big-Daddy really steal the show. The plot suffices for a comic book movie. Considering that its a comic book movie, it's a pretty good one. Plenty of action and simple dialogue that makes for a fun movie. The action scenes are awesome. Honestly they are some of the most entertaining action scenes I've ever seen. The While Dave isn't the most engaging character Hit-Girl and Big-Daddy really steal the show. The plot suffices for a comic book movie. Considering that its a comic book movie, it's a pretty good one. Plenty of action and simple dialogue that makes for a fun movie. The action scenes are awesome. Honestly they are some of the most entertaining action scenes I've ever seen. The bits of slow-motion thrown in was interesting. I appreciated the style. I'll leave the morally reprehensible stuff to the people who still think that children have innocence. Expand
  6. ReyneR
    Apr 25, 2010
    9
    I thought Kick-Ass was far better than what I had expected from seeing the previews. I enjoyed the action packed, edge of your seat suspense. Great ending too!
  7. JustinB
    Apr 27, 2010
    9
    Excellent movie. Was laughing throughout. Definitely recommended.
  8. AntwianF.
    May 17, 2010
    9
    A grown folks comic hero type of movie. i saw the defendor with woody harrelson which is also in the same realm but kick ass does it better!!
  9. BaldurK.
    May 25, 2010
    9
    It was funny as hell! Deserves better than a meta of 66! Really, hell of a better score it should have!
  10. AlanG.
    May 29, 2010
    9
    This movie was FREAKIN' AWESOME!!!!!!! Nuff' Said.
  11. Raf
    May 3, 2010
    9
    Actually saw this movie by accident. Loved every minute of it. If you liked Kill Bill, you'll probably like this. Definitely not for everyone.
  12. JamesS.
    Jun 15, 2010
    9
    I dont know what Jorge A. is on about, his comment isn't even coherent, this movie is far better than a 2. It was an entertaining take on the superhero genre, 9/10.
  13. Johnny
    Jun 17, 2010
    9
    People who said that this movie was appalling didn't even bother to give it a chance. They say that it wasn't even bold or artistic, but that's because they were too busy complaining about the violence. It IS rated "R"! So don't go insulting it because you get light-headed at the sight of blood. They were bold with the character choices. They were artistic in their People who said that this movie was appalling didn't even bother to give it a chance. They say that it wasn't even bold or artistic, but that's because they were too busy complaining about the violence. It IS rated "R"! So don't go insulting it because you get light-headed at the sight of blood. They were bold with the character choices. They were artistic in their storytelling. And they were funny as hell with the dialogue! Expand
  14. joeblow
    Jun 3, 2010
    9
    Id give it a 10 but nothing is perfect. Great film. Loved it. What else can i say? Go see it. Its awesome.
  15. JoradT
    Apr 16, 2010
    9
    I really dunno what some of the low scoring critics are smoking. This is a FANTASTIC movie. I very much enjoyed it. What I like about it is the fact that it can almost related to. I'm sure quite a lot of people have at some stage wanted to be a superhero and this demonstrates that really well. Apart from that it's hilarious and excessive. The film never really takes itself too I really dunno what some of the low scoring critics are smoking. This is a FANTASTIC movie. I very much enjoyed it. What I like about it is the fact that it can almost related to. I'm sure quite a lot of people have at some stage wanted to be a superhero and this demonstrates that really well. Apart from that it's hilarious and excessive. The film never really takes itself too seriously. If it does something, it does that to the MAX. Definitely a must see. I'll be waiting anxiously for the DVD. Expand
  16. FredD.
    Apr 16, 2010
    9
    This is not the godfather, but it's hard not to thoroughly enjoy this movie which oozes fun and brilliant one liners. Had the audience laughing and clapping all the way through, brilliant fun
  17. IanM
    Apr 16, 2010
    9
    Seriously fun movie to watch. The violence was definitely over the top, and that made it even better. Would watch again.
  18. JoshE
    Apr 17, 2010
    9
    Absolutely not for children. Not for adults who can't turn on their fantasy/not reality brain. For people who want to have fun watching an amazing little girl shoot, stab, slice, and wisecrack though a lot of bad guys. "Kick-Ass" is a very dark, very funny, look at what "real-life" super heroes might be like. Hit-Girl may not be the main character of the movie, but she's the Absolutely not for children. Not for adults who can't turn on their fantasy/not reality brain. For people who want to have fun watching an amazing little girl shoot, stab, slice, and wisecrack though a lot of bad guys. "Kick-Ass" is a very dark, very funny, look at what "real-life" super heroes might be like. Hit-Girl may not be the main character of the movie, but she's the main thing you'll be talking about when you leave. Add the rest of the characters to Hit Girl, the story, and the production quality, and you've got a movie like you've never seen. Awesome! Expand
  19. KylerC.
    Apr 17, 2010
    9
    Awesome. Everything that is great about superhero movies all bundled up into a nice little package.
  20. DrewF
    Apr 18, 2010
    9
    Kick-Ass was truly great.
  21. SteveR.
    Apr 18, 2010
    9
    Just about the most fun I've had in a movie theatre for ages. Took me well into the next morning to come off the adrenalin rush.
  22. CarlosS
    Apr 18, 2010
    9
    Amazing fight scenes with the sometimes awkward time in between. Had a good time watching this as did others that were watching.
  23. CatS
    Apr 29, 2010
    9
    Everyone keeps talking about how hitgirl doesn't show any emotion, but that is not true. The scene where Big Daddy and Kick-ass are tied to chairs and hitgirl is running around with the night-vision goggles on (those of you who have seen this know what happens here) is one of the most heartbreaking scenes I have seen in a movie in a long time -- especially a comic-book movie. And, Everyone keeps talking about how hitgirl doesn't show any emotion, but that is not true. The scene where Big Daddy and Kick-ass are tied to chairs and hitgirl is running around with the night-vision goggles on (those of you who have seen this know what happens here) is one of the most heartbreaking scenes I have seen in a movie in a long time -- especially a comic-book movie. And, those of you who think this is so out of the realm of decency (or that it is something new) to dress little girls up as school girls and also have them be killers need to take in some decent anime. Japan has been doing this type of stuff for years (both anime and live-action) and they seem to be surviving as a country. So chill out, bad reviewers -- this movie is highly entertaining and far above the level of most of the dreck that gets released. Also, we tend to get all on about the innocence of children, but children can be hugely cruel to one another. Ever think that maybe hitgirl just puts the id in kid? Expand
  24. Aug 11, 2010
    9
    Funny, bloody, and even strangely powerful in places, 'Kick Ass' is fun entertainment of the highest order. You'll have a blast if you leave political correctness at the door.
  25. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    Kick Ass is actually a great movie. Many will love it, since it might be "the goriest superhero movie" I can understand that the whole base of it, is stupid, but refreshingly entertaining
  26. Aug 28, 2010
    9
    An imaginative reboot of the superhero story with some cool visuals. I hate superhero stories at this point but this ranks in the top four of all time on my list, behind The Dark Knight, Iron Man and Spiderman 2, although this may be better than S2. Chloe Moretz is a very cool young actress.
  27. Aug 21, 2010
    9
    wow this movie was just awsome . it was a unexpected suprise . i really didnt think it was gona be that good .i original wanted to see it because it had the guy who played Mclovin in super bad in it . i thought it would be funny with him as a super hero .after seeing it though i quikly relised that the star of the show was not him or even kick ass him self . it was the little girl mindywow this movie was just awsome . it was a unexpected suprise . i really didnt think it was gona be that good .i original wanted to see it because it had the guy who played Mclovin in super bad in it . i thought it would be funny with him as a super hero .after seeing it though i quikly relised that the star of the show was not him or even kick ass him self . it was the little girl mindy AKA Hit Girl . i mean i hate kids and despise them but this was one kid i liked her acting. her lines where even better and her action was fantasticaly enjoyable to wach . the plotof this film was really enjoyable as well . it pretty much asks the question what if super heroes where real in are world what would they be like . the film feels original and is well acted by all except nicholas cage who is spotty at best . seems like cage was only in this for the money and pretty much just phoned his performance in . all in all the this movie will probubly be the best movie of the year . i really dont think i'll see any thing better then this . Expand
  28. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    I can't quite agree with most of the tut-tutting critics. I admit that several things in the film made me raise an eyebrow, and it did make me think, because I've never seen stuff like an 11-year old girl swearing like a truck driver and killing people in brutally violent ways in a film. Ultimately I think the ones crying "for shame!" are over-reacting just a tad. The film does puts itsI can't quite agree with most of the tut-tutting critics. I admit that several things in the film made me raise an eyebrow, and it did make me think, because I've never seen stuff like an 11-year old girl swearing like a truck driver and killing people in brutally violent ways in a film. Ultimately I think the ones crying "for shame!" are over-reacting just a tad. The film does puts its toes to the line, but for me it doesn't quite cross it. And let's face it, it's a funny, clever idea, extremely well executed. It doesn't make the mistake of many such films by diving into the action immediately before we've gotten to know the characters. People are oblivious to the fact that it makes it more exciting if we care about what happens to them, if it's not just frenetic mindless action. Vaughn takes his time and his pacing is impeccable, just the right amount of build-up to the climactic scenes, and he deftly makes these scenes emotional as well as exciting. The cast is pretty much great, with the possible exception of Mark Strong, who is not quite loathesome enough to be the arch-villain. Every critic and every "user", however, has agreed on one thing: this film contains a star in the making. Chloe Grace Moretz is astoundingly assured and inspired at 11 years old. Never seen a child actor this compelling EVER, not Anna Paquin, not Natalie Portman, not Jodie Foster. She steals every scene she's in and steals the movie. See it just for her. Also, great music. Expand
  29. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    Extremely clever take on the superhero genre. The movie is very fast-paced, and will you keep you entertained during the entire run time. Features some of the most incredible action scenes you'll see in any movie this year. Despite the young age of the actors in the film, this is definitely not a kids movie. The film depicts a much more realistic take on vigilante justice while remainingExtremely clever take on the superhero genre. The movie is very fast-paced, and will you keep you entertained during the entire run time. Features some of the most incredible action scenes you'll see in any movie this year. Despite the young age of the actors in the film, this is definitely not a kids movie. The film depicts a much more realistic take on vigilante justice while remaining fun and exciting throughout. Expand
  30. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    I must first say that it is a really well made film with some excellent stunt work. I thought the music chosen for the score was really great as well. Excellent performances from all of the leading cast, Aaron Johnson as Dave Lizewski/Kick-Ass, Nicolas Cage as Damon Macready/Big Daddy is excellent, Chloe Moretz as Mindy Macready/Hit-Girl (also superb), Mark Strong as Frank D
  31. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    This movie was great on so many levels. Not only was the story intriguing and exciting. The acting was great. The character development was fantastic. The use of comic pages to tell the story gave you a real feeling of fantasy in reality. Some other great things about the movie were the fight chreoography which was much better than one would expect for a movie like this. The amazingThis movie was great on so many levels. Not only was the story intriguing and exciting. The acting was great. The character development was fantastic. The use of comic pages to tell the story gave you a real feeling of fantasy in reality. Some other great things about the movie were the fight chreoography which was much better than one would expect for a movie like this. The amazing musical score and soundtrack. As well as a bunch of very comedic scenes. This movie hits you with all the tools and If could remake it I wouldn't change a thing. Would highly recommend this movie to anyone. Expand
  32. Oct 4, 2010
    9
    Hugely entertaining, thanks mainly to the ass-kicking character 'Hit Girl', played by Chloe Moretz. This is Quentin Tarantino meets the superhero genre and is funny, gory and action-packed! Controversial? Definitely. Best film of the year so far? Maybe.
  33. Dec 16, 2010
    9
    Aptly titled Kick-Ass is an excellent comic book adaptation that proves that there is no stagnation in a superhero genre whatsoever. Based on Mark Millar's violent tale Kick-Ass is directed by Matthew Vaughn, the filmmaker who happens to have a real knack for both action movies (Layer Cake) and teen fantasies (Stardust). It's more than evident in Kick-Ass and although the film has someAptly titled Kick-Ass is an excellent comic book adaptation that proves that there is no stagnation in a superhero genre whatsoever. Based on Mark Millar's violent tale Kick-Ass is directed by Matthew Vaughn, the filmmaker who happens to have a real knack for both action movies (Layer Cake) and teen fantasies (Stardust). It's more than evident in Kick-Ass and although the film has some problems with selecting the proper tone: it verges between campy comedy, dramatic piece and action spectacle, this is a gripping ride from start to finish.Vaughn's direction is nothing less than clever and kinetic. By employing video game techniques inspired by Shoot 'Em Up and Crank movies, Vaughn really excels at showing highly-stylized bloody violence on screen. As for the script, the main concept of an ordinary teenager who chooses to become a superhero is downright effective evoking loads of laughs and our sympathy. Aaron Johnson's cool, unrestrained performance also helps a great deal.The film revitalizes the genre by undermining its rules. The characters involved have no special powers, most of them, no necessary backstory and no turning point that resulted in them becoming superheroes, much like in Watchmen. Despite this, the movie establishes its own pantheon of heroes and the director knows that there's nothing more fascinating than the battle between good and evil shown in a vivid, exciting fashion.What's controversial about the film is the extensive use of pitch-black humor including the character of 11-year-old Mindy McReady aka Hit-Girl who has been trained from the early years to become a killing machine by her loving father aka Big Daddy. The whole subplot may be immoral for some who don't understand this kind of cinema, yet it's surprisingly plausible due to a tongue-in-cheek writing and acting talents of Chloe Moretz and Nicolas Cage who are as subversive in their respective parts as you can get. Last but not least, the artist formerly known as McLovin' channels a wannabe villain named Red Mist. You may be actually surprised by how smart he is in his plotting.Overall, Kick-Ass is a refreshingly funny and wickedly entertaining spectacle that warrants the whole franchise of masked teenagers to come. 9/10 (A-) Expand
  34. Mar 7, 2011
    9
    This was one of my most anticipated movie of 2010, and it delivered on almost every front, it's about an average comic book nerd who decides to become a super hero, and because it's real life he gets his ass kicked, it's a great movie with humor and action, the reason it's so appealing is because it's real life, the only flaw is at the end is that it gets unrealistic, which hurts theThis was one of my most anticipated movie of 2010, and it delivered on almost every front, it's about an average comic book nerd who decides to become a super hero, and because it's real life he gets his ass kicked, it's a great movie with humor and action, the reason it's so appealing is because it's real life, the only flaw is at the end is that it gets unrealistic, which hurts the movie, but this is still one I can highly recommend. Expand
  35. Jul 20, 2012
    9
    It's unfair to say that films that are this inappropriate are highlighted as 'not for children'. Well, duh, of course not, but just because this film is violent and full of profanity, does that make it any less better than other films that are considered more appropriate? This is pure entertainment and the jokes were never few and far between - it felt funny, fresh and original. Yeah, so,It's unfair to say that films that are this inappropriate are highlighted as 'not for children'. Well, duh, of course not, but just because this film is violent and full of profanity, does that make it any less better than other films that are considered more appropriate? This is pure entertainment and the jokes were never few and far between - it felt funny, fresh and original. Yeah, so, the beginning had little fire-power to it, but that didn't matter. The songs rocked and there were some extremely colourful characters - Strong certainly had a field day playing Frank D'Amico. On that note, it was brilliant to see some well-known and likeable actors playing them, although it's the first time that I've seen Cage excel at his acting! The costumes were certainly colourful too - especially Christopher, who could not look better in that epic Red Mist outfit! Action-packed, beautifully paced, side-splitting tear-inducing falling-off-sofa humoured solid gold entertainment, and, despite what the critics think (Average review score of 66? Please, show yourself to the door this instant), this film really knows how to Kick-Ass! Expand
  36. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    Word of advice, don't follow the trailer on this one, because Kick-Ass is further away than the dumbed down superhero comedy that the trailer indicated.
    The film is narrated by Dave Lizewski (Aaron Johnson) who often seriously thinks about being a superhero, not necessarily one with superhuman abilities or with mountains of cash, but one who is a genuine citizen in a cheap spandex suit
    Word of advice, don't follow the trailer on this one, because Kick-Ass is further away than the dumbed down superhero comedy that the trailer indicated.
    The film is narrated by Dave Lizewski (Aaron Johnson) who often seriously thinks about being a superhero, not necessarily one with superhuman abilities or with mountains of cash, but one who is a genuine citizen in a cheap spandex suit trying to right the wrongs of the city, so he does exactly that.
    The story the takes an interesting turn as there are already superheroes present in New York, in the form of Big Daddy (Nicolas Cage) and Hit-Girl (Chloë Moretz). They are quite the dynamic duo as they are already skilled in the art of fighting and, well, being heroic.
    There is no hero without the villain of course, and Mark Strong puts in a strong performance as gang boss Frank D'Amico, who is attempting to dispose the heroes, with the accompaniment of his son, Chris (Christopher Mintz-Plasse).
    This was quite a risky and fragile road to take in turning this comic book into a film, it makes no attempt in hiding its promotion of unadulterated violence and all out crude and profanity laced dialogue, yet it still turns out to be one of the best and very different comedies of its time.
    Hit-Girl is obviously the talk of the film, controversy surrounds Moretz's roll as an 11 year old swearing, stabbing and killing machine, but films need to take risks like this in order to evolve and adapt to other genres, because there is no doubt that this film doesn't hold back in using shock and awe tactics to create a stellar film, one which, with the type of movie you see, the writers know will not please everyone.
    Johnson is quite likeable in his role as Kick-Ass, he explains everything in a pop-cultured yet realistic manner that cannot be ignored, it all fits together with the comedic but grounded tone of the film.
    There is of course plenty of action with some impressive sequences, one involving Hit-Girl taking down a small army of men along to 'Bad Reputation' by Joan Jett, quite brilliant. Nicolas Cage does an excellent turn as Big Daddy, playing a very different role to what we are used to, but its Moretz and Johnson who steal the show as the young heroes, forever unpredictable and of course full of teenage kicks.
    Quite a different sort of superhero and comedy film, but naturally one which will not be funny to everyone.
    Expand
  37. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    Kick-Ass is one of the best "superhero" movies ever. I put quotes around the word "superhero" because it is not your traditional superhero film. The entire concept behind it is very unique and refreshing, the characters are not archetypal at all, the acting is good enough, and the style is very in-your-face. Granted, that in-your-face, overly graphic and profane style will certainly rubKick-Ass is one of the best "superhero" movies ever. I put quotes around the word "superhero" because it is not your traditional superhero film. The entire concept behind it is very unique and refreshing, the characters are not archetypal at all, the acting is good enough, and the style is very in-your-face. Granted, that in-your-face, overly graphic and profane style will certainly rub many people the wrong way. This is not a film for everyone. The only weak element of the film, and it's also part of its strength, is the ridiculousness of certain scenes and action sequences. I can't know it for that because the fact that it doesn't take itself too seriously is also part of its appeal but there are times when aggravation occurs. Overall, this is a great movie that, while everyone won't enjoy, those that do will certainly love it. Expand
  38. May 6, 2012
    9
    Kick-Ass is an amazing film, however, you can't get upset by people dying. If you do, you will be crying throughout the entire film. A little girl swearing can't offend you either.

    An awesome film, would highly recommend
  39. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    It's crude and vulgar, the idea is unoriginal, but never, ever, has a superhero movie been as hilarious as this one. The jokes used in this movie are incredibly funny, and the title gives you a sense of how good this movie will be.
  40. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    So good! A great film. Unlike anything I've ever seen before. This comic book movie is wonderfully directed by Matthew Vaughn who can do no wrong. Chloe Moretz as Mindy/Hit Girl is unforgettable. Classic film!
  41. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    This is a highly entertaining film and right up my alley as I love a good superhero movie, but its almost a parody of them and more realistic also. Taylor-Johnson shines as Kick-Ass but it's Moretz who I feel steals the show as young Hit Girl. It's probably more violent than you would think but also has a nice little dash of Comedy also, blending a few genres together in a way that reallyThis is a highly entertaining film and right up my alley as I love a good superhero movie, but its almost a parody of them and more realistic also. Taylor-Johnson shines as Kick-Ass but it's Moretz who I feel steals the show as young Hit Girl. It's probably more violent than you would think but also has a nice little dash of Comedy also, blending a few genres together in a way that really works. Overall a very enjoyable film and I can not wait for the sequel! Expand
  42. Jul 8, 2013
    9
    Hilarious and graphic, Kick-Ass is a solid tribute to a graphic novel/comic loved by many. Hope they don't screw up with the sequel coming later this summer.
  43. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    this movie was so breath taking... and I little bit cringe worthy when I first saw it but if you watch it for the second and third time it just gets better and better! Even better with friends! I thought the costumes were amazing, they really outlined the characters. The acting wasn't bad but I thought hit-girl absolutely stole the whole show, as of my final note I think this is one ofthis movie was so breath taking... and I little bit cringe worthy when I first saw it but if you watch it for the second and third time it just gets better and better! Even better with friends! I thought the costumes were amazing, they really outlined the characters. The acting wasn't bad but I thought hit-girl absolutely stole the whole show, as of my final note I think this is one of Nicholas Cage's greatest roles despite all the he has come out with in the past. I cannot wait for Jim Carrey in the new movie, I hope it gets even better reviews than this one got. Expand
  44. Nov 11, 2014
    9
    Such a great super hero film brought to life with tons of action and amazing combat scenes. Each moment you watch will make you feel different emotions such as excitement, shock and sadness.
  45. RichardK
    Apr 16, 2010
    8
    Switch off your brain for a while and just enjoy what is a great film.
  46. Ders
    Apr 22, 2010
    8
    Aaron Johnson shows some serious promise in his role as the awkward, identity-seeking Lizewski, but it's Chloe Moretz and Nicholas Cage who really steal the show. Cage's overly dry portrayal of a sociopathic father is on par with his performance in Bad Lieutenant, and Chloe Moretz demands attention as the psychopathic Hit Girl, ripping through bad guys like a hot knife through Aaron Johnson shows some serious promise in his role as the awkward, identity-seeking Lizewski, but it's Chloe Moretz and Nicholas Cage who really steal the show. Cage's overly dry portrayal of a sociopathic father is on par with his performance in Bad Lieutenant, and Chloe Moretz demands attention as the psychopathic Hit Girl, ripping through bad guys like a hot knife through butter. Ultra violent, humorous, and just enough dramatic emotional moments make this comedy-meets-Dark Knight super hero flick a real keeper. On top of competent work of the actors, the film has some seriously awesome cinematography; perfect use of wide-angle and diminished shots make the film look and feel like a comic book from the very opening scene. Add a great soundtrack, well-paced editing, and a decent script and what you get is an all around well-made film. Vaughn really makes up for Stardust while on the helms Kick-Ass, and I look forward to seeing his future films. ***I have not read the comics (I will now!) so I cannot comment on how true this movie sticks to its source material. But if the movie is half as good as the comic series, then I'm in store for a pleasant surprise. Expand
  47. BrianN.
    Apr 17, 2010
    8
    It was as violent and funny as I expected it to be. While they disappointed me a little by the alteration from the comic, I know why it was done. Just as I had hoped, Hit-Girl stole the show. Moretz played one mean, cute, little girl. She definitely brought Kill Bill to my mind on more than one occasion. A must-see, especially if you haven't already read the comics.
  48. PeterN
    Apr 21, 2010
    8
    I wasn't a fan of the fighting/violence but the interesting characters kept the movie fun for me
  49. MartinJ.
    May 24, 2010
    8
    What can I say, well this is one pretty awesome film, especially when Dave try's to become a super hero and in doing so actually gets a sort of super power! Messed up nerves meaning he can take a beating like no other. With some loveable characters and although they're far fetched they don't feel completely out of this world, hit girl is just class absolutely class and big What can I say, well this is one pretty awesome film, especially when Dave try's to become a super hero and in doing so actually gets a sort of super power! Messed up nerves meaning he can take a beating like no other. With some loveable characters and although they're far fetched they don't feel completely out of this world, hit girl is just class absolutely class and big daddy is good psycho. Watch it and enjoy. Expand
  50. alano.
    Jun 17, 2010
    8
    Reading the comic made me think about the idea of being a superhero like Dave did in the movie too. The adaption just made my ideas expand to see that it could be possible.
  51. DarrenM>
    Apr 16, 2010
    8
    Fantastically fun movie... but one that is for a specific audience. The action scenes are great, but the real gem is how the main character and his arch-nemesis are the sorriest excuses for costumed heroes/villains ever seen on screen. The movie is a parody of the genre, but one that is done with care and respect.
  52. NickK.
    Apr 18, 2010
    8
    Wish it could have had a more interesting plot and back story, but everything else was great and over the top as a comic movie should be!
  53. JaredM.
    Apr 19, 2010
    8
    The movie gets dull when focused on Dave, but the action of Hit-Girl and Big-Daddy make this movie awesome.
  54. Sandman
    May 19, 2010
    8
    It's satire. Brilliantly done. Ignore the norks to whom this cynical pastiche of the superhero genre drew only petted lips and spiteful reviews. Entertaining, casually uproarious, with a couple of LOL moments that you can't help but relate to others with cackling glee. Petulant film students who seek Bergman in every Farrelly will of course peer down their idle noses. Let them It's satire. Brilliantly done. Ignore the norks to whom this cynical pastiche of the superhero genre drew only petted lips and spiteful reviews. Entertaining, casually uproarious, with a couple of LOL moments that you can't help but relate to others with cackling glee. Petulant film students who seek Bergman in every Farrelly will of course peer down their idle noses. Let them bump their gums in fruitless, pointless critique. This is a refreshing gem and well worth the watch. Expand
  55. HughM.
    Jun 15, 2010
    8
    Not a great movie, but certainly good. Nice acting, smoothly developed, enough thrills balanced with development. A genuinly good movie.
  56. AlbertS.
    Apr 16, 2010
    8
    Corney, funny, violent, great all around movie. The music track was perfect in setting the scene. Superb violence, yet not insanely over the top. A fun film to watch with friends.
  57. EvinC
    Apr 16, 2010
    8
    Wasn't quite what i expected and it took itself way too seriously. But it was still a pretty awesome flick that one could own. Chloe Moretz is my new hero and Nic Cage has a great little comeback.
  58. Elij.
    Apr 25, 2010
    8
    Great movie, it was really fun to watch. I dont usually say that about most films either. I hated both transformers and the second and third Pirates of the Caribbean movies. It was good quality film making and was very well done, but to compare comic book/graphic novels i was shocked that this out scored watchmen. I thought watchmen was well executed as well and deserved to get in the Great movie, it was really fun to watch. I dont usually say that about most films either. I hated both transformers and the second and third Pirates of the Caribbean movies. It was good quality film making and was very well done, but to compare comic book/graphic novels i was shocked that this out scored watchmen. I thought watchmen was well executed as well and deserved to get in the sixties or even the seventies. Expand
  59. JoeS
    Apr 26, 2010
    8
    A great movie that narrowly avoids the pitfalls that so many movies like it manage to get stuck in, you'll leave this movie with an odd feeling that you really like it but you're not sure why. It will slowly dawn on you over the next 24 hours until finally you just want to see it again. The main character feels like a kid that really does just want to do some good in a world of A great movie that narrowly avoids the pitfalls that so many movies like it manage to get stuck in, you'll leave this movie with an odd feeling that you really like it but you're not sure why. It will slowly dawn on you over the next 24 hours until finally you just want to see it again. The main character feels like a kid that really does just want to do some good in a world of onlookers, and the supporting characters, while coming dangerously close to the ends-justifies-the-means good guys that you ultimately dislike, they pull out just in time to make you feel satisfied with the ending. After all was said and done, I couldn't wait to see the sequel when the main character manages to get a little more professional training in. Expand
  60. Aug 14, 2010
    8
    Movie was awesome. A few great moments; Cage burning up for example. Hit Girl definitely stole the show though, she was too good. Her acting was solid.
  61. Sep 11, 2010
    8
    Ok, let me start out by saying this was obviously a cult movie, but, according to the 270+ positive ratings for Metacritic, and the four- star ratings by the magazines that saw this movie. That being said, this is pretty fake at most action parts, which downed my happiness on how good the movie was to that first point. Now, that being said, this is a very good cult movie, even better thanOk, let me start out by saying this was obviously a cult movie, but, according to the 270+ positive ratings for Metacritic, and the four- star ratings by the magazines that saw this movie. That being said, this is pretty fake at most action parts, which downed my happiness on how good the movie was to that first point. Now, that being said, this is a very good cult movie, even better than From Paris With Love, and that movie was **** sweet. This is a movie that is for sure, one of the movies in my top 20. Expand
  62. Dec 10, 2010
    8
    'Kick-Ass' is a seriously bloody, action-packed, fun-loving, imaginative, and above all, ridiculously hilarious piece of work. The levels of outrageousness and the action sequences are the film's most hooking elements.
  63. Oct 12, 2010
    8
    Kick Ass, what a great film it consists of 4 Superish Heroes, Kick Ass, Red Mist, Hit Girl and Big Daddy.

    Now they're all geeks or weirdo's but their lovable and there are some stand out funny parts by far Hit Girl is the funniest and hardest hitting young girl going and the whole film brings a smile to my face while watching. If you want a simple pseudo-comic hero film then this is up
    Kick Ass, what a great film it consists of 4 Superish Heroes, Kick Ass, Red Mist, Hit Girl and Big Daddy.

    Now they're all geeks or weirdo's but their lovable and there are some stand out funny parts by far Hit Girl is the funniest and hardest hitting young girl going and the whole film brings a smile to my face while watching.

    If you want a simple pseudo-comic hero film then this is up your street! If you just want a good action film then this is brilliant, well worth a watch.
    Expand
  64. Mar 18, 2013
    8
    Kick-Ass is a very funny, very violent and very original super hero flick. The action sequences are exceptionally well directed; exciting, grotesque and laugh-out-loud funny all at the same time. This is a great film, stuffed full of memorable moments and characters.
  65. May 31, 2011
    8
    Being based on the comic book of the same name, the movie "Kick-Ass" respects the traditions of the comic book superhero genre by consciously getting inspiration from Spiderman and Batman. However, it transcends simple imitation by far. The production of the movie is awesome. Above all mentionable is the film's magnificent use of music. First off, in terms of the script, the movie does aBeing based on the comic book of the same name, the movie "Kick-Ass" respects the traditions of the comic book superhero genre by consciously getting inspiration from Spiderman and Batman. However, it transcends simple imitation by far. The production of the movie is awesome. Above all mentionable is the film's magnificent use of music. First off, in terms of the script, the movie does a wonderful job in criticizing the perceived lack of responsibility to people passing and watching a crime happen without doing anything against it. If many people start helping in bad situations that are not too dangerous, and if children are already being raised to intervene, everyone could contribute to a more secure society. This would also lessen the chance of getting mugged at some point in your life. On the other hand morally controversial, is the glorification of the revenge murdering committed by two of the protagonists who are less than more on the side of the righteous heroes. Even a woman that was not a threat but tried to flee was stabbed to death. Revenge killing is not a necessary evil for a good cause (as would be a killing in self defense). Therefore, they are hardly any different than some villain who kills for power. Rather than portraying the revenge in a neutral way or actually suggesting that revenge is morally bad, the cinematic glorification of it makes the movie less likable. Nevertheless, "Kick-Ass" is totally worth watching. Expand
  66. May 7, 2011
    8
    Entertaining deconstruction of the superhero trope. If you're easily offended by profanity, gratuitous violence, and the thought of children not being good and perfect little angels, don't watch this film (or go outside). Otherwise, be sure to give this one a try.
  67. May 9, 2012
    8
    Kick-Ass is without question the best of the recent trend of postmodern superhero films. It's not mercilessly bleak like Watchmen, not depraved like Super and it's certainly not for kids like Sky High. A lot of the film's quality hinges on a truly great cast. Aaron Johnson makes a great loveable loser Dave Lizewski who decides to become the titular, wet-suited hero, Mark Strong addsKick-Ass is without question the best of the recent trend of postmodern superhero films. It's not mercilessly bleak like Watchmen, not depraved like Super and it's certainly not for kids like Sky High. A lot of the film's quality hinges on a truly great cast. Aaron Johnson makes a great loveable loser Dave Lizewski who decides to become the titular, wet-suited hero, Mark Strong adds another great despicable villain, the powerful gangster Frank D'Amico to his repertoire and Christopher Mintz-Plasse is great as always playing Frank's lonely son and (disturbingly willing) heir to the D'Amico criminal empire, who masquerades as a new hero Red Mist to contact Kick-Ass under the pretence of friendship. The real highlights of the film are the dream pairing of a moustachioed Nicholas Cage doing his best Adam West impression and a hilariously filthy-mouthed Chloe Grace Moretz playing the vengeful father/daughter hero team of Big Daddy and Hit Girl. Let's be honest, Mr Cage has had some stinkers in his career, but when he gets it right, he really gets it right - he has the opportunity to show his undeniable talent for both comedy and pathos here, and the character arc of Damon and Mindy Macready is certainly the most rewarding and entertaining of the whole film. There are a few instances where the story runs out of steam, and Matthew Vaughn's Brit-dominated cast of villains do occasionally slip out of their American tough-guy accents, but a wealth of affectionate digs at comic book lore, Jane Goldman's delightfully sweary script, some gloriously violent action and Matthew Vaughn's accomplished direction more than make up for it. Kick-Ass is an immensely enjoyable viewing experience, that will please comic fans, comedy fans and fans of terrifying murderous tweens alike. I just hope the inevitable sequel doesn't lose any of its charm, inventiveness and especially its sense of fun. Expand
  68. Jun 16, 2011
    8
    Finally something new. Kick-Ass is meant for everybody! Whether you're young or old, you will enjoy this movie. The actors did a really good job and the question whether being a super-hero in our today's society would be any good is answered.
  69. Jul 27, 2011
    8
    In my opinion, this movie was much better than I expected it to be. The story is pretty interesting, along with the action throughout the whole movie. This movie is a good movie that I think everyone would enjoy.
  70. Sep 21, 2011
    8
    Now, what "Kick Ass" presents to us is the new era of superheroes; it screws the old, classical heroes like "Batman", "Spiderman", and "Superman", and delivers addictive violence and superheroes that actually have a normal story with a normal goal. The movie is stunning and powerful. However, it is Chloe Moretz, the girl who was Hit Girl, that bloodied up the screen for the cravingNow, what "Kick Ass" presents to us is the new era of superheroes; it screws the old, classical heroes like "Batman", "Spiderman", and "Superman", and delivers addictive violence and superheroes that actually have a normal story with a normal goal. The movie is stunning and powerful. However, it is Chloe Moretz, the girl who was Hit Girl, that bloodied up the screen for the craving audience. This film certainly DOES kick ass! Expand
  71. Sep 14, 2011
    8
    The 21st century has seen a revival in the superhero genre of films, and few are as unique and as brilliant as Kick-Ass. Created in the writing rooms of Marvel, the transition to cinema has been almost entirely successful, and has catapulted this excellent comic into the mainstream. An outstanding aspect of the film is the casting, in particular bringing all of our attention toThe 21st century has seen a revival in the superhero genre of films, and few are as unique and as brilliant as Kick-Ass. Created in the writing rooms of Marvel, the transition to cinema has been almost entirely successful, and has catapulted this excellent comic into the mainstream. An outstanding aspect of the film is the casting, in particular bringing all of our attention to Chloë Moretz in the controversial role of Hit Girl. Others performed admirably too; Cage turned in a decent performance; Aaron Johnson played the eponymous role well; and comedy was provided from all angles in the form of Dave Lizewski's buddies, Marty and Todd. The real brilliance of the film though is routed in the realistic nature of the setting and characters, with the plot showing fantastic uniqueness. Kick-Ass has succeeded in being a great film, good fun to watch and yet at the same time making the audience feel emotionally invested in the characters. The action sequences are worth a special mention, in particular those involving the character Hit Girl, because of the way in which they are shot. Matthew Vaughn has pulled out all the stops in creating visually stunning fight sequences, and coupled with a well chosen soundtrack, he has created some of the best action sequences in recent times. None of this compromises the emotional integrity of the film, and for that the film creators deserve great credit given how gory the comic was. A great film, a kick-ass film. Expand
  72. Dec 30, 2011
    8
    Kick- Ass offers an unforgettable performance from Chloe Moretz, gore, action and humor and the whole movie just bathes in profanity I give this movie 86%.
  73. Aug 24, 2014
    8
    This movie was not what I expected it to be. It was better, bloodier, a little less funny, and definitely more stylish than I could have hoped for.

    This is not a comedy. This is not your traditional superhero movie. There are no superpowers, no spider-senses, no cryptonite or radiation poisoning. There is just one guy who asks himself: Why hasn't anyone tried to be a superhero
    This movie was not what I expected it to be. It was better, bloodier, a little less funny, and definitely more stylish than I could have hoped for.

    This is not a comedy. This is not your traditional superhero movie. There are no superpowers, no spider-senses, no cryptonite or radiation poisoning.

    There is just one guy who asks himself: Why hasn't anyone tried to be a superhero before?

    Meet Kick-Ass. Or, Ass-Kick, as some people are so fond of calling him... He may be a total loser, but at least he's trying. Playing a gay BFF to a girl he likes because he is too afraid to tell her the truth, and trying to be the one to help people when no one else does, he'll soon notice that there is a reason why people don't simply put on a costume and run into the night to save the world from evil; the evil fights back, hard. Sometimes harder than you can take.

    Then there's Big Daddy (Nicholas Cage, who really made an impression in this role as a slightly crazed "copy" of a Batman) and Hit Girl (so young, so talented, so **** up if you come to think of it). Those two are driven by a hate for a gangster Frank D'Amico. They are a step closer to a real superhero act, although they have chosen the bloody bath to get to their goal.

    I liked the style of this movie, the casting was good, the acting was brilliant, and the camera work gave the film such a distinctive way to tell the story that... I don't really know how to describe it, other than 'damn good'.

    There's a lot of blood. In a way it is tasteful and very real. People get beaten up. People die. The tricks are not inhuman. This movie is so sad and painfully real it hurts.

    See it if you haven't already.
    Expand
  74. Dec 18, 2013
    8
    Within the genre, this is quite spectacular, lots of fun, and more emotionally engaging than any fun superhero movie has the right to be. If you're in doubts about what superhero movie to see next, take me recommendation. And no, it's NOT for kids.
  75. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    It's crude and violent, but it's great. How many comic book movies can you think of that offers you ridiculously hilarious content and a compelling story and action at the same time?
  76. Aug 24, 2012
    8
    Matthew Vaughn produces a great film here with a very young cast. Obviously Vaughn has been involved in many British films and I feel as if they (as well as his upbringing in the UK) have greatly influenced the way he portrays comedic moments within an action film. All-in-all, this was a very enjoyable film which I would happily watch again and again.
  77. Jul 29, 2012
    8
    Kick-Ass
    Superficially viewed,
  78. Sep 10, 2013
    8
    If you had ever wondered why the superheroes never lost their patience against the bad guys and did not resort to killing them, watch this movie and maybe you'll be put off the idea forever. The only thing that sets this movie apart from other superhero movies is the shocking level of violence perpetrated by a kid. The title character is just there for laughs and to get his ass handed toIf you had ever wondered why the superheroes never lost their patience against the bad guys and did not resort to killing them, watch this movie and maybe you'll be put off the idea forever. The only thing that sets this movie apart from other superhero movies is the shocking level of violence perpetrated by a kid. The title character is just there for laughs and to get his ass handed to him on more than one occasion. The movie shines because of Hit-Girl and her daddy Big Daddy, who violently kill criminals to keep them off the streets. But BD has a secret vendetta that he pursues ruthlessly. I liked the movie only because it showed a different version of the superhero concept, and that was refreshing. Just watch the movie by turning a blind eye to the blood and gore, if you can. The cutting of body parts and killings are presented in a humorous way yet very graphic, so be advised. Expand
  79. Jul 14, 2013
    8
    A very vulgar and bloody film, but I really liked it. A very cool story in the era of the superhero movie in which it is pretty much a spoof. Overall this is a very fun film. A-
  80. May 7, 2013
    8
    This movie is a great way to know what it would be like if superheros were real.The story is great,the action's good and it is also fuuny.I can't wait for the sequel!
  81. Jun 10, 2013
    8
    Finally a funny full of action movie which will make you think about it all the time. Chloe is Fu**ng great. The best actress for that role and I'm really looking forward for the sequel. Hope it's great like this one. A great action film
  82. Dec 13, 2013
    8
    Kick-Ass is a delightful combination of action and comedy. It is funny, entertaining, and really doesn't hold back with the violence. The action scenes are relatively original too.
  83. Sep 21, 2013
    8
    Very satisfying pulpy superhero action flick, with a great cast and a great premise. It basically is satirical to the whole drama, and it works. Kick-Ass is also intelligent, knowing when to make the next joke, the next kill, etc. The way it moves from scene to scene is actually a lot better than one might expect from a movie of this nature.
  84. Dec 2, 2013
    8
    A strong and brazen hero flick that actually is more ground breaking than some superhero movies previously seen. Matthew Vaughn directs this film wonderfully.
  85. Oct 26, 2014
    8
    Sure the movie is cliché but, he's still enjoyable.Great performances by Chloe Grace Moretz and Nicolas Cage and great fight scenes are probably the best elements of the movie.
  86. mikec
    Apr 22, 2010
    7
    I wanted to like this film much more than I actually did. The whole thing just seemed a little awkward and never really hit full stride.
  87. AbhinavR.
    Apr 16, 2010
    7
    A blend of shockingly awesome violence and a semi-interesting premise, Kick-Ass is great fun.
  88. DerekW.
    Apr 18, 2010
    7
    This is an enjoyable film. As expected, Chloe Moretz steals the show with her foul mouth and extreme violence. I really enjoyed Aaron Johnson's character for the first half of the film, too--after that, his character ceases to develop and the film feels lost. There are some great moments in this film, and it had me laughing on a mostly-regular basis, but the dialogue could have been This is an enjoyable film. As expected, Chloe Moretz steals the show with her foul mouth and extreme violence. I really enjoyed Aaron Johnson's character for the first half of the film, too--after that, his character ceases to develop and the film feels lost. There are some great moments in this film, and it had me laughing on a mostly-regular basis, but the dialogue could have been much better and the soundtrack was terrible. (The one exception is the scene that introduces Hit-Girl--the bright pop music juxtaposes the violent action sequence, to hilarious results.) If you're a fan of the genre and not turned off by strong language and violence, this is a movie worth seeing. Unnecessary sub-plots (boy-seeks-girl) and bad soundtrack aside, this movie entertains most of the time. Expand
  89. Oct 12, 2010
    7
    A fun, overly stylized film, but absolutely did not live up to the fanboy hype. Aaron Johnson was cute and charming, and I enjoyed most of the story, but it ultimately did not leave that much of an impression on me.
  90. Dec 21, 2010
    7
    Dave is a loser with a nerdy comicy brain. No one knew him at his school and his friends are just a bunch of losers. One day he saw a guy being beat up by a bunch of thugs and decided to jump in a help with his superhero costume. The video was captured and became an internet phenomenon. Everyone tried to figure out who was this guy and named his Kick-Ass. Kick-Ass became a pop icon just inDave is a loser with a nerdy comicy brain. No one knew him at his school and his friends are just a bunch of losers. One day he saw a guy being beat up by a bunch of thugs and decided to jump in a help with his superhero costume. The video was captured and became an internet phenomenon. Everyone tried to figure out who was this guy and named his Kick-Ass. Kick-Ass became a pop icon just in days. After hearing about Kick-Ass, hitmen Big Daddy & Hit Girl decided to go after him to join him with their group. Going through lots of violence and profanity, Kick-Ass finally got that these two don't kid around. They kill mercilessly, they enjoy taking lives, and they cuss like a bunch of New Yorkers. Kick-Ass is a refreshingly new film that adds to the comic-action-films genre. Kudos to strong performances from crazyass Nicolas Cage and the fouled-mouth Chloe Moretz.
    OscarBuzz: Long shots for Best Visual Effect
    Expand
  91. Feb 2, 2011
    7
    It could of been an extremely bland, predictable, coming-of-age attempt that so many comic book pictures are; but it turns out to be anything but. It took interesting source material and turned it into a violent, raunchy, profane, disturbing, hilarious piece of film that, honestly, will not entertain those with a weak stomach. With some fantastic performances, great direction, and anIt could of been an extremely bland, predictable, coming-of-age attempt that so many comic book pictures are; but it turns out to be anything but. It took interesting source material and turned it into a violent, raunchy, profane, disturbing, hilarious piece of film that, honestly, will not entertain those with a weak stomach. With some fantastic performances, great direction, and an original story line (not to mention an honest representation of the teenage population), "Kick-Ass" soars to new heights. Chloe Moretz personally steals the show with her portrayal of "Hit-Girl", in part due to her strong language use that could only be used by a crime-fighting little girl. To disagree with some reviewers, it's disturbing and raunchy qualities saved it from lapsing into mediocrity. It succeeds where other comic-book adaptations couldn't: for that, it deserves significant recognition. Expand
  92. Jan 11, 2011
    7
    When you were child, have you ever wanted to be a superhero? I thought all the kids who were born in 80s and up ever thought about that, at least once. Thiz movie was very confident since the beginning, they advertise it rapidly and the posters were very intriguing too. It is about Dave (Aaron Johnson), unpopular and nerdy boy at school who wants to be a superhero even without super power.When you were child, have you ever wanted to be a superhero? I thought all the kids who were born in 80s and up ever thought about that, at least once. Thiz movie was very confident since the beginning, they advertise it rapidly and the posters were very intriguing too. It is about Dave (Aaron Johnson), unpopular and nerdy boy at school who wants to be a superhero even without super power. He tried to save the world with alter-ego named kick-ass, on the contrary he got his ass kicked. Meanwhile, Big Daddy (Nicolas Cage) and her eleven-year-old daughter named Hit-Girl (Chloë Grace Moretz) who has been the real superheroes were fighting the crime againts drug dealer mob, Frank D Amico (Mark strong). Frank attempted to put his son, Chris (Christopher Mintz-Plasse) as undercover superhero named Red Mist, his intentions was to trap Kick-Ass. Mark Strong once again succesfully brought an interesting villain character. Recently, He had been bad guy for ROCKNROLLA (2008), THE YOUNG VICTORIA (2009), SHERLOCK HOLMES (2009), ROBIN HOOD (2010) and upcoming GREEN LANTERN (2011) and previously many more. He could deliver different bad guy characters with his aura and I admired him for that. I officially gave him Bad Guy of The Year award (if I could). Other casts, Johnson was standard and Cage performance was just what we needed. It is Chloë Grace Moretz who surprised us with believeable and easy-going performance. Outside of her Hit-Girl fight scene which was awesome (we knew probably substituted by stunt double) but she was also good in drama. The Director is Matthew Vaughn who directed STARDUST (2004) and respectable LAYER CAKE (2007). Actually on thiz movie, the conversation was rude (considered it as family movie) and the fight scene was bloody brutal, but we have to admit the story was original and effectively hilarious. The movie was brave enough to challenge the mainstream and it worked well in some moments. In my point of view, when we dare enough to laugh on ourself for our own stupidity or feebleness, that is the time we showed the big heart of us.

    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  93. Aug 12, 2011
    7
    Kick-Ass is, for sure, a fine homage to super heroes. Besides entering on a cliche universe, however peculiar, from the characters (special abilities, graphic violence, good humor, and really versus evilness), the film brings a curious narrative which accosts the contrast between existentialism and the consequences of being a 'demigod'. The production, inspired in the graphic novel by JohnKick-Ass is, for sure, a fine homage to super heroes. Besides entering on a cliche universe, however peculiar, from the characters (special abilities, graphic violence, good humor, and really versus evilness), the film brings a curious narrative which accosts the contrast between existentialism and the consequences of being a 'demigod'. The production, inspired in the graphic novel by John Romita Jr. and Mark Millar, is really well directed by the Britain and the debutant Matthew Vaughn. Apart from the cool balconies of metalanguage and creativity in conducting cameras, Vaughn brings a clever script that prints a breathtaking pace balancing drama, action (with inventive scenes and quality) and comedy in good measure. Telling more details about the heroes in "Kick-Ass" would be such a immorality. The amazing true story about the 'alter egos' work as well as the stories of famous 'vigilantes' on crime. Kick it Hit-Girl! Expand
  94. Feb 25, 2011
    7
    This is one of the most enjoyable superhero movies of the last few years, with a decent storyline that is true to the original comic style. The killing scenes are quite impressive, but the story of Big Daddy and Hit Girl became a little too sappy to compliment the remainder of the film.
  95. Apr 28, 2011
    7
    There's no doubting it, this movie is pretty funny. It kept me laughing for a while, but after a short time it does seem to get quite boring.
  96. Aug 28, 2013
    7
    Having myself, dad & sister read the book, It was one of those rare instances where we "all" couldn't wait to go see a comic book movie, For what probably is one of comics most strongest indie projects to come along in quite some time, and the fact the principle storyline only tends to sway apart in each different form of media, Kick-Ass magically works well on film, to an extent whereHaving myself, dad & sister read the book, It was one of those rare instances where we "all" couldn't wait to go see a comic book movie, For what probably is one of comics most strongest indie projects to come along in quite some time, and the fact the principle storyline only tends to sway apart in each different form of media, Kick-Ass magically works well on film, to an extent where this comic needed to be made into a film.

    The choice of actor's were fantastic, Aaron Johnson has slowly built up a solid career and actually delivers my favourite interpretation of Dave Lizewski, where Nicholas Cage and Chloe Grace Moretz deliver a truly cartoonish, macabre performance of serious vigilante's "Big Daddy & Hit Girl". Christopher "McLovin" Plasse is awkwardly charming and funny and Mark Strong delivers a superb Crime Mogul.

    Overall, it's a fantastic looking movie, it's vibrant, colourful and extremely well choreographed, Without doubt you can see why the controversy is there, and true if I thought this movie was incredible I would have a lot more to say, But ultimately it really is a pop corn flick, the film is very self-aware and thank god because if this kind of stuff takes itself to seriously I feel it would surely fail.

    Final Verdict: Have an open mind and try to see the funny side, in a time where the internet exists and more and more we become desensitized to violence in pretty much every form of media. Kick-Ass has a welcome place among it bigger budget counterparts. 7.5
    Expand
  97. Aug 20, 2013
    7
    Its crass, parodying styled humor may appeal to some more than others, but its relentless action scenes, and its embracing of normality performing the extraordinary storyline is just clever enough to make this film work.
  98. May 25, 2014
    7
    Directer Matthew Vaughn brings was the great super hero movie Kick-Ass a movie based in real life with real people no they don't have superpowers but that doesn't stop them. Now at the time i didn't really know anything about Vaughn he had only done two movies (Stardust,Layer Cake) though i haven't seen those movies maybe i should take to time to watch them because both this and his X-Men:Directer Matthew Vaughn brings was the great super hero movie Kick-Ass a movie based in real life with real people no they don't have superpowers but that doesn't stop them. Now at the time i didn't really know anything about Vaughn he had only done two movies (Stardust,Layer Cake) though i haven't seen those movies maybe i should take to time to watch them because both this and his X-Men: First Class film are great.

    The film follows Aaron Johnson (Kick-Ass) a normal kid that wants to became a superhero and fight crime because haven't we all thought about doing that. Now when he first starts out he is bad he gets his ass kicked a couple times but soon he finds his grove and starts to kick some ass himself well with the help of metal all over the inside of his body yeah that's why he can take such a beating.

    Now soon we go find out that their are other people out there that want to be super hero and they get together Christopher Mintz-Plasse as Red Mist a nerdy rich kid that has a bunch of money that helps him have cool stuff. Nicolas Cage as Big Daddy was great he did good and it was the most fun iv'e had watching him in a movie since Face/Off. Chloe Moretz plays Hit-Girl the daughter of Big Daddy and really she stole the movie as soon as you see her kick some ass. Seriously seeing her take out like 50 guys easily was just too epic. Now Mark Strong plays the villainous organized crime dick in the movie and he does a pretty good job nothing really special but we don't need that.

    Overall i give it a 7.5 a great movie id recommend it to anyone it's the best mix of comedy and action just a blast to watch. Now i can't wait till Kick-Ass 2 the trailers on that of been amazing so i have high hopes for it.
    Expand
  99. Dec 12, 2013
    7
    A twist on the old 'high school geek turned superhero', with Christopher Mintz-Plasse, killer fighting and a few laughs for good measure. Doesn't muck around with drama and makes for an entertaining watch.
  100. Dec 17, 2013
    7
    This film has fantastic fight scenes, great characters and cinematography. This film has quite a few funny scenes, but some jokes in this film aren't funny...but just plain cruel.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. A clever movie premise based on an obscure comic book has been turned into, okay we’ll say it, a fanboy’s kick-ass wet dream of a movie that could be a surprise Spring smash.
  2. 100
    A ridiculously entertaining, perfectly paced, ultra-violent cinematic rush that kicks the places other movies struggle to reach.
  3. Reviewed by: John Defore
    80
    Its balancing act between innocence and gore perfectly matches the expectations of genre fans, who should embrace the movie.