King Kong

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1347 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Monserratthenice
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    Please!. Dont hate this movie for being so good!, dont be afraid !, it wont win best picture at Oscars, but some yes!!, maybe 4 for technical, but for me its the best of the year!.
  2. MarkosT.
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    Few words... Great and Fantastic !
  3. SaboCatchKong
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    Critics and me are agree, this movie is one of the best of 2005, the ride is unforgettable in the Skull island, kong ( andy serkis ), excelent again like Gollum in LOTR, Naomi good enough in her role ! , Excelent movie, only recommended for real movie lovers.
  4. AdalR.
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    Hey!, que traen tantos amargados!, una pelicula como esta no merece menos de 6, es buenisisma mejor que la original en todos sus aspectos, presume de buena hasta en el guión, aunque con ciertas y aparentes fallas, resultan innecesarias mas explicaciones obvias ?. Le quedó de lujo al Director Peter. OK, aunque algunos envidiosos ya le temen, excelente pelicula, muy Hey!, que traen tantos amargados!, una pelicula como esta no merece menos de 6, es buenisisma mejor que la original en todos sus aspectos, presume de buena hasta en el guión, aunque con ciertas y aparentes fallas, resultan innecesarias mas explicaciones obvias ?. Le quedó de lujo al Director Peter. OK, aunque algunos envidiosos ya le temen, excelente pelicula, muy recomendable amigos. Expand
  5. SlyK.
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    Stunning and Spectacular ! is the movie. Fool of criteria those who hate it. Poor of them , is only fantasy and a big ape !, Dont be so serious , just relax and anjoy an amazing world of creativity that this incredible director Jackson is able to do for everyone. Got it ?. The movie is simply brilliant and made with intelligence.
  6. Sam
    Feb 21, 2006
    10
    For all the people bickering about Adrian Brody being miscast, think about this. What is Jack Driscoll's job? Is it finding mummies, saving the world, destroying our enemies? No, it's simply being a script writer, and he's perfect as that. Now for the rest of the movie, in one short sentence, there are movies, and then there is the epic that is King Kong.
  7. JoziC.
    Mar 31, 2006
    10
    One of the best movies from Jackson. I liked the dinosaurs fighting King Kong. [***SPOILERS***] I like how Kong discarded the girls who were not Anne. I especially enjoyed the ending - I cried.
  8. TimH.
    Mar 5, 2006
    9
    This is a great movie, no question. The special effects are almost always convincing (save for a corny looking brotosaurus stampede), and it has a deep emotional wieght. Also, the soundtrack is very well done, and it gets stuck in your head. However, it's just TOO FRICKING LONG.... It jumps around from subject to subject, sometimes with no rhyme or reason. This and some of the This is a great movie, no question. The special effects are almost always convincing (save for a corny looking brotosaurus stampede), and it has a deep emotional wieght. Also, the soundtrack is very well done, and it gets stuck in your head. However, it's just TOO FRICKING LONG.... It jumps around from subject to subject, sometimes with no rhyme or reason. This and some of the cornier special effects dock a point from the rating. Overall, King Kong is a slightly flawed gem. Go see it. (And fans of the original, keep your eyes peeled for homages in the costumes, props, music, ect.) Expand
  9. Andrew
    Apr 1, 2006
    10
    Was it not Oscar Wilde that said "talent borrows, genius steals". This film is pure genius, but the humour is the defining edge. Pure tongue in cheek!
  10. DWP102589
    Apr 1, 2006
    10
    Peter Jackson is quite the perfectionist wit his movies, and King Kong is no exception to this.
  11. ChristineT.
    May 22, 2006
    10
    Awesome movie! I love the love story coz it felt deep. Also, I'm a romantic at heart.
  12. LeeC.
    May 5, 2006
    8
    Extremely Great Movie.
  13. MattO
    Jan 28, 2007
    10
    I hate to give it a 100% score, but to score it anything less would be wrong. What Peter Jackson was able to do with the Lord of the Rings books, he was able to do with an undisputed movie classic. Bringing to light the beauty, wonder, power, and the "Beast" or the story do to a more modern interpretation, Jackson truly captured the true story of what King Kong was about. This beast of I hate to give it a 100% score, but to score it anything less would be wrong. What Peter Jackson was able to do with the Lord of the Rings books, he was able to do with an undisputed movie classic. Bringing to light the beauty, wonder, power, and the "Beast" or the story do to a more modern interpretation, Jackson truly captured the true story of what King Kong was about. This beast of brute strength that has seen only conflict and turmoil is able to be "handled" by Watts character who provides him the meaning of being loved or wanted. And in the same concept Kong was able to provide Namoni's character with something she always wanted but never have, love, a love that would always be there, and die for her. And that is what the original film tried to show, the story how a power, savage force can be swooned by love and beauty. And that is what Peter Jackson was able to do better then what the original could. Great movie for couple to do see. Expand
  14. DanB.
    Feb 11, 2007
    8
    Film's too long by far. But if the end gets you, it'll get you good (though I could've written the last line better ).
  15. GregA.
    Aug 12, 2007
    9
    Just watched this on DVD last night and thought it was fantastic - only wished I had seen it on the big screen. Previous to that I was a bit wary of this film due to the length of it, but I was wrong, I didn't feel it was drawn out at all - you may question the slow bits with Naomi and Kong but without it the purpose to the movie would be lost. It is a couple years old now, but if Just watched this on DVD last night and thought it was fantastic - only wished I had seen it on the big screen. Previous to that I was a bit wary of this film due to the length of it, but I was wrong, I didn't feel it was drawn out at all - you may question the slow bits with Naomi and Kong but without it the purpose to the movie would be lost. It is a couple years old now, but if you haven't seen it and want to see some great special effects coupled with a solid storyline I highly recommend it. Expand
  16. JayH.
    Jun 14, 2009
    8
    I lives up to all the hype. This is one hugely entertaining film. Naomi Watts is great and the rest of the cast is fine as well. The special effects are some of the best I have ever seen. It hardly seemed three hours plus because the film was immensely engrossing. Peter Jackson did a great job. The sets, sound and editing are all first rate. The period detail of 1933 is fantastic. This is I lives up to all the hype. This is one hugely entertaining film. Naomi Watts is great and the rest of the cast is fine as well. The special effects are some of the best I have ever seen. It hardly seemed three hours plus because the film was immensely engrossing. Peter Jackson did a great job. The sets, sound and editing are all first rate. The period detail of 1933 is fantastic. This is brilliant film making and has everything a great movie should have. Expand
  17. Jacobp.
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    The best monster movie since 1933.
  18. PaulB.
    Dec 13, 2005
    10
    Best Movie I have ever seen Period.....and Bob P youv'e got to be kidding me its only a Movie Duhh.
  19. JohnsonR.
    Dec 13, 2005
    10
    Amazing and awesome! all i can say is that this is the greatest movie ever made.
  20. DavidEZ
    Dec 13, 2005
    10
    Monumental.
  21. Kharagh
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    WoW ! An incredible movie experience!
  22. SpanxMcB
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    This movie was amazing! It sweeps you away.
  23. IkeE.
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    Peter Jackson is the best Director ever! This movie is amazing, excellent effects and a great story.
  24. JesseM.
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    This movie was amazing. The best movie of the YEAR. The first hour was a draaagggggg though. After that it's awesome. It was easily worth the money.
  25. Tonydannie
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    This Film was amazing! I prepared myself and watched the original 1930's version before The midnight premiere on Dec 13. As I watched this old Black and White Film, With it's jerky special effects, I began to Love it. Although The Film used Stop Motion animation I was amazed not at the effects But the skill they had to resort to at the time to create a sweeping action adventure This Film was amazing! I prepared myself and watched the original 1930's version before The midnight premiere on Dec 13. As I watched this old Black and White Film, With it's jerky special effects, I began to Love it. Although The Film used Stop Motion animation I was amazed not at the effects But the skill they had to resort to at the time to create a sweeping action adventure film. Now over 70 years later. Peter Jackson Uses Computer Technology to bring His retelling of this Classic movie to life. And It works!!! Kong Has a Personality (Andy Serkis actually who not only acts out Kongs Movements, He is also our heroes cook) And much more freedom then the old 1930's Kong. Peter Jackson Once agan delivered an Incredible film.And the reason why this film works for me is that he (Jackson) brought with him the same,if not more, Passion he had when he made the Now famous Lord Of the Rings Trilogy. Here is a man that when you hear him talk about the film he cant help but mention how much he loved the 1930's original. And He remains Loyal to the Original. 3 times loyal actually those who have seen both the original and Jacksons version would know what I mean when i say Three times! And I do not mean the length of the film. People complained It was to long (my wife for example) I say It was not long enough. just a bit longer!! But I loved this film. And I love the Original more due to Jackson's omages to it through out his version. This Film was a great Ride. Now stop reading my ramblings and go see this flick!! Expand
  26. SeanL.
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    I feel obligated to post a comment because of one particularly dumb review. In his/her review, "Fantasy" writes: The brutality of the natives, which appeared racist, is not suitable for young children or preteens. Well it's a good thing it appeared racist because that's what King Kong is about: racism! It has long been considered an allegory for the degradation of blacks, so if I feel obligated to post a comment because of one particularly dumb review. In his/her review, "Fantasy" writes: The brutality of the natives, which appeared racist, is not suitable for young children or preteens. Well it's a good thing it appeared racist because that's what King Kong is about: racism! It has long been considered an allegory for the degradation of blacks, so if it came off as racist to you, then Peter Jackson did a good job. I can't say I empathize with the preteens and children either; the movie is rated PG-13 for "frightening adventure violence and some disturbing images." Expand
  27. MozzM.
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    Absolutely Stunning Filmmaking. The Film will be the classic Kong of the 21st Century, not only does it pay homage to the original, it gives it a heart, it illuminates it, and stands proudly next to it as one of the best movies of all time.
  28. ShaneC
    Dec 15, 2005
    9
    Aventurous, magical, romantic, if just a trifle overdone - a masterpiece of modern cinema nonetheless.
  29. Adam
    Dec 15, 2005
    9
    Movie magic. It's long and overstuffed, sure, but it swept me along with it as no other CG action movie ever has. Every shot has emotion or sinew or both, in spades. The stampeding brontosaurs were neat, then ridiculous, then pure slapstick genius (made me kind of queasy though).
  30. CoreyR.
    Dec 15, 2005
    9
    Yes, it's too long. Yes, the segue between the 2nd and 3rd acts is too abrupt. But what Jackson accomplishes is nothing short of magical; he gives a special effect the death scene most actors would kill for, and pulls it off with a grace and dignity that no actor could pull off. There is no denying it, Jackson is a genius filmmaker.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Devin Gordon
    90
    A surprisingly tender, even heartbreaking, film. Like the original, it's a tragic tale of beauty and the beast.
  2. What a movie! This is how the medium seduced us originally.
  3. One of the wonders of the holiday season.