Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 14, 2005
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1356 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
969
Mixed:
146
Negative:
241
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
DavidS.Dec 29, 2005
This is what movies used to be like - true spectacles, events, escape. Now that studios will throw millions t anyone with a joke that appeals to a 13 year old (sounds vaguely like the venture capitalists in the dot-com era, frankly), This is what movies used to be like - true spectacles, events, escape. Now that studios will throw millions t anyone with a joke that appeals to a 13 year old (sounds vaguely like the venture capitalists in the dot-com era, frankly), it's a pleasure to go to a film that puts to shame the theaters in which it's showing. I am sympathetic to concerns that the film is too long, but have to counterpoint that Jackson expertly interrupts scenes that seem to be going too long. The death scene between Naomi Watts and Kong is worth the price of admission. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeF.Dec 29, 2005
How some complain about the 3 hour length is a mystery. This is a throwback to the great movie experiences of Hollywood's Golden Era, but with special effects and characters you care about. Sit, watch, enjoy!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CalebD.Dec 30, 2005
This is the best movie ever. Action, suspense, drama, the whole lot. For the people who say its too long, you dont know movies. You were not watching the movie, you were watching your watch. Be in the moment of the movie. You, critics, get This is the best movie ever. Action, suspense, drama, the whole lot. For the people who say its too long, you dont know movies. You were not watching the movie, you were watching your watch. Be in the moment of the movie. You, critics, get in for free, but we have to pay up to $10. I think we got our moneys worth. Once again, best movie ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PopechonR.Dec 30, 2005
Bastante buena, lastima que es PG RATED 13 en E.U. porque ganaria mas dinero y merece ser vista por todos, pero su calidad es genial en todo!, Peter jack, es el mejor filmmaker de la decada!. thats all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GarethRDec 31, 2005
It is Great, see it . . you will love it, i did, it was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonG.Dec 8, 2005
Saw the premiere. AMAZING!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcD.Dec 8, 2005
Wow. I just saw the film at Universal's holiday party, and I'm still a little stunned by it a couple hours later. It's a spectacular film. The first 20-30 minutes drag a little in establishing the story, but once you hit Skull Wow. I just saw the film at Universal's holiday party, and I'm still a little stunned by it a couple hours later. It's a spectacular film. The first 20-30 minutes drag a little in establishing the story, but once you hit Skull Island, the drama grabs you by the throat and doesn't let go until the final frames. Kong is amazing. Not for a second did I pause to think about him as a CGI creation. And if you're at all a fan of Naomi Watts....wow....just see it. The action is intense, it's thick with genuine emotion, and I actually had a tough time not tossing my cookies during the final sequence. Vertigo anyone?? I can't give it a 10 because it's not an original story, but I give Peter Jackson the ultimate respect for doing amazing things with this classic story. It's a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomRJan 11, 2006
This is just great movie making. I loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MonsterJan 11, 2006
Fascinating movie, I want on Dvd yet. My score? 10
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mikej.Jan 12, 2006
It was the best of all time.my full family loved it.we love ya peter jackson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jodiJan 12, 2006
Excellent. incomparable. collasal. entertaining .jaw-dropping.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RubenB.Jan 12, 2006
My favorite since LOTR Return of the King, excelent and fantastic!.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
edwardv.Jan 12, 2006
Es una de las mejores que he visto del genero de accion, suspenso, fantasia, y ademas tiene cierto nivel de drama, buenisima.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcoD.Jan 13, 2006
I cannot believe the amount of negative reviews this movie is getting! Take my advice: go see this movie. I'm quite confident you'll like it. I found it amazing. Too many people are saying stuff like: too long, stupid action I cannot believe the amount of negative reviews this movie is getting! Take my advice: go see this movie. I'm quite confident you'll like it. I found it amazing. Too many people are saying stuff like: too long, stupid action scenes, blah blah blah. I say this: yes, it is long, but it goes by faster than you'd think, mainly because it's such an absorbing experience. The action scenes are amazing and must be seen on the big screen to be appreciated. The special FX are amazing! Go see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BorjhaJan 14, 2006
For my family and me this precious movie is the most amazing and enchanting, I would invite with my money all my friends to see it, because no one should loose the opportunity of enjoy it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrantN.Jan 16, 2006
This is what movies are all about. The romance, the action, the drama, the excitement, its all here and shown excellantly. Peter Jackson is a fantastic filmaker and do not listen to anyone who says this movie is too long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LittleSmurfJan 16, 2006
Long?, holes?, maybe you must see the extended version by P. Jackson, but It would be longer, but I want to see it, cause I have time to enjoy the good Art of 3, 4 or more hours, I love Kong, I love Movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KarryD.Jan 17, 2006
Kong plays perfectly. A+ for realism, even though we're looking at a giant ape, the creature is captivating and believably human. Even the child like darling of Naomi Watts works to the advantage of the cast. Jack Black steals the show, Kong plays perfectly. A+ for realism, even though we're looking at a giant ape, the creature is captivating and believably human. Even the child like darling of Naomi Watts works to the advantage of the cast. Jack Black steals the show, expect for the last line, which although part of the original screenplay seemed contrived and out of place. Someone else should have said it. It is possible to nit-pick the the details to death, but alas, suspension of ones disbelief in not that hard when the lights are down and Kong is on the screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FabrizzioJan 21, 2006
Tottu la vita esperanto a filme como este.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CastleforkingkongJan 21, 2006
An amazing ride, an Spectacular journey, a Stunning adventure, susprises, love, drama...the full package.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SaketR.Mar 18, 2006
A wonderfully made film. The scenes in New York were really splendid and although the jungle fights were a little passe, the emotional quota of the story more than made up for that. Visuals were spectacular and Kong and Darrow swooped home A wonderfully made film. The scenes in New York were really splendid and although the jungle fights were a little passe, the emotional quota of the story more than made up for that. Visuals were spectacular and Kong and Darrow swooped home in an acting triumph. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamM.May 24, 2006
Very nice storyline and CGI interaction better then its original counterpart of old.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SocoFeb 28, 2007
Excellent movie. Very intense and thrilling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
williamj.Dec 11, 2005
WOW!!.....what an asstonishing movie. the best special effects i have ever sceene. and the empire state building was truly amazing. i feel that every person should see this movie immediatley. GREAT, GREAT, GREAT film. peter jackson has done WOW!!.....what an asstonishing movie. the best special effects i have ever sceene. and the empire state building was truly amazing. i feel that every person should see this movie immediatley. GREAT, GREAT, GREAT film. peter jackson has done it yet again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewS.Dec 12, 2005
A completely jaw-dropping, stupendous film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BigG.Dec 13, 2005
To Bob p. When you watch a scifi/fantasy or read one of them book, you aren't suppose to diagnose it for thing that isn't real. It's call suspension of disbelief. It's like Armageddon, if it wasn't for that part To Bob p. When you watch a scifi/fantasy or read one of them book, you aren't suppose to diagnose it for thing that isn't real. It's call suspension of disbelief. It's like Armageddon, if it wasn't for that part where they talk to each other in space, it would have been a movie worth a 8 to 9 rating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeLovesAvrilLavigneDec 14, 2005
Spectacular - everyone clapped at the end of the movie - and you NEVER get that in Australia. Absolutely brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChrisT.Dec 14, 2005
There's a really great two-hour movie in there somewhere.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WongitDec 14, 2005
Simply astonishing. this movie is amazing. great visual effects great everyhting, i was dazzled by this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AaronDec 14, 2005
Sensational entertainment. Jackson really outdid himself here. I think it's one of the rare times the remake betters the original film, seriously. Yes, the film does have its flaws. A little trimming here and there would have helped Sensational entertainment. Jackson really outdid himself here. I think it's one of the rare times the remake betters the original film, seriously. Yes, the film does have its flaws. A little trimming here and there would have helped immensly, but why quibble when a film is this entertaining. Jackson's love for the original film is quite apparent because of the care he has given his own Kong. Speaking of which, Kong may be the single greatest piece of FX work in film history right now. WETA did an amazing job. Not just with the gorilla, but with all of the FX. There's just one astonishing set piece after another. One complaint that I've been hearing is how slow the first hour is. Not at all. I think that deliberate buildup is cruicial to the film. Maybe some of the scenes on the boat don't quite work, but I like how Jackson slowly builds up the suspense leading to Skull Island. And when they finally do reach the place, the film moves to a whole new level. From that point on, it just rocks. Intense, exciting, and at times quite moving, Jackson's King Kong is the first 'event' film in a long time that acutally lived up. Sure to nominated for Best Picture at the Oscars. NOTE: A few scenes may be too intense for very young children. Basically, if you know what your kid can handle, by all means take them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful