Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 14, 2005
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1384 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
988
Mixed:
153
Negative:
243
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
SeanK.Dec 15, 2005
This was the most entertaining and heart stopping film I can remember seeing since Jurassic Park. It made me feel like a kid all over again. It made me laugh, jump out of my seat, squirm in fear, and even tear up. It's a great technical This was the most entertaining and heart stopping film I can remember seeing since Jurassic Park. It made me feel like a kid all over again. It made me laugh, jump out of my seat, squirm in fear, and even tear up. It's a great technical achievement as well as a great personal achievement for Jackson. In other words it confirms that Jackson is the best big budget filmmaker working Hollywood. I cant wait to see what he does next. This is definitely one of the best films of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SteveN.Dec 15, 2005
Well. I will say the CG was very good. After that the movie has nothing left except large PLOT HOLES. WARNING: THIN STORY LINE REVEALED NEXT! We spend the first hour or so watching Jack Black swindle everyone and no one is smart enough to Well. I will say the CG was very good. After that the movie has nothing left except large PLOT HOLES. WARNING: THIN STORY LINE REVEALED NEXT! We spend the first hour or so watching Jack Black swindle everyone and no one is smart enough to catch on. Then they finally take a small boat from New York supposedly heading to Singapore! They demonstrate how small the boat is by making Adrien's character stay in one of the cages. Plothole #1. Finally they arrive at (Numb)Skull Island and must navigate through the rocks. The boat is seriously damaged and is taking on water. Plothole #2. Jack Black and his crew sneak off the boat and encounter the natives. The natives speak what sounds like Latin. The natives then begin killing some of the crew for no apparent reason. The captain who said he was leaving them to rot shows up to save them for no apparent reason. Plothole #3. Crew frees the boat from the rocks and instantly is back out to sea. Apparently no longer damaged. Plothole #4. One native is able to pole vault through all of the rocks and capture Naomi. Plothole #5. Not only are the natives fluent in Latin they are also certified brick masons as they were able to build the Great Wall of Skull island without being eaten by all of the monsters. Plothole #6. After feeding Naomi to Kong all of the natives magically disappear. Plothole #7. Captain gives Adrien and Jack 24 hours to get the girl and get back. Brontosaurus and Raptor chase scene involving Jack Black and Adrien Brody and a dozen crew who do not know the correct way to run between the legs of Brontosaurus' while being chased by velociraptors over a cliff that is crumbling. Plotholes #8-12. Loving Kong plays with Naomi then has his feelings hurt and lets her go. Butthole#1. Three T-Rex vs. Kong. Large dinosaurs with vicious teeth that do not puncture monkey flesh. Plothole #13. Two T-Rex swinging from fabulously strong vines hanging upside down and they are still trying to eat Naomi! Plothole #14. Kong shakes crew off of tree over ledge. All minor characters do not know the proper way to fall and die on impact. Jack Black and Adrein Brody and two other crew men ride tree most of the way down to battle giant spiders and tube worms. 25 minutes of shooting spiders off Adrien Brody with a machine gun without hitting him. Captain butt-munch swoops in and saves the day agian. Plotholes #15-20. Kong retreats across the island. Adrien manages to catch up with him in 2 minutes. Plothole #21. Killer bats leave Adrien alone and attack Kong. Plothole #22. Adrien and Naomi escape by hang gliding from a killer bat. Plothole #23. Adrien and Naomi are able to make it all the way back across the island without incident in 30 seconds. Plothole #24. Kong is "captured" by the crew using rocks and rope. He is then given 2 bottles of chloroform with no affect. Plotholes #25-26. Jack Black is able to throw one bottle of chloroform exactly right and knock Kong out. Plothole #27. Story skips to NY as they somehow manage to get a Monkey bigger than their boat back! Plothole #28. I left at this point. If you want to watch a mind numbing piece of garbage listen to the critics and waste your money on this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShanaH.Dec 15, 2005
Sounds obvious, but this film is ALL about Kong. It really only comes into its own once he's on screen. And then you're literally in the palm of his hand. If you haven't seen yet, my one recommendation would be - bring Sounds obvious, but this film is ALL about Kong. It really only comes into its own once he's on screen. And then you're literally in the palm of his hand. If you haven't seen yet, my one recommendation would be - bring kleenex! Jack Black - can you get any more one-dimensional? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrookeB.Dec 15, 2005
An amazing ride!! Colossal, frightening, and romantic - all in one. A must-see on a big screen. Well done, Peter Jackson, well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamieP.Dec 15, 2005
Peter Jackson is a brilliant filmmaker. This film may drag a little in the beginning according to the MTV low attention span people but it also stakes an investment in the characters. And I'm all for "that's your opinion" and I Peter Jackson is a brilliant filmmaker. This film may drag a little in the beginning according to the MTV low attention span people but it also stakes an investment in the characters. And I'm all for "that's your opinion" and I could understand not thinking this film is brilliant but if you give this movie under 6 you are an idiot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayDec 15, 2005
Amazing movie, suspended belief is required for 99% of movies and it seems some reviewers here haven't quite grasped that concept yet. The first hour is long, but the rest of the movie is well worth the wait and long running time. Kong Amazing movie, suspended belief is required for 99% of movies and it seems some reviewers here haven't quite grasped that concept yet. The first hour is long, but the rest of the movie is well worth the wait and long running time. Kong is amazing and the movie as a whole is inspiring and amazingly well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AdrianL.Dec 16, 2005
Are you people mad? This is one of the most boring movies of all time. $200M was spend on GCI as for the acting Wooden Indians would have been better. There is no chemistry and other than King Kong and Jurassic Park there is very little Are you people mad? This is one of the most boring movies of all time. $200M was spend on GCI as for the acting Wooden Indians would have been better. There is no chemistry and other than King Kong and Jurassic Park there is very little else. Not worthy of your time or money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GlennP.Dec 16, 2005
This movie was like an endurance test. It was like Jackson was asking the audience "Just how long will you put up with this movie?"... The first hour of this film could have and should have been condensed into 20 minutes. The last 15 minutes This movie was like an endurance test. It was like Jackson was asking the audience "Just how long will you put up with this movie?"... The first hour of this film could have and should have been condensed into 20 minutes. The last 15 minutes of the film are absolutely breathtaking filmmaking, but by the time I got there I was so pissed off I couldn't enjoy it. This movie sucked. and it will suck at the box office too. I'm willing to wager that some of the reviewers listed MUST have been paid off by General Electric, owner of Universal Pictures. I can't describe how disappointed I was in this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TaylorS.Dec 16, 2005
I saw this and my friends were amazed. I thought it was good, but something was missing. I couldn't put my finger on it, until reading other reviews. The movie was out of propotion: the ship scene was way too long, and not enough time I saw this and my friends were amazed. I thought it was good, but something was missing. I couldn't put my finger on it, until reading other reviews. The movie was out of propotion: the ship scene was way too long, and not enough time was spent in the end at New York. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ConradS.Dec 16, 2005
Ignore all the criticism, Peter Jackson might just walk away with another couple of Oscars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielT.Dec 17, 2005
Ignore the po-faces who use words like "excessive", "indulgent" and "clunky", do these people even like movies? King Kong is a spectacular mega-event movie that should not be missed on the big screen. With over three hours of thrills, Ignore the po-faces who use words like "excessive", "indulgent" and "clunky", do these people even like movies? King Kong is a spectacular mega-event movie that should not be missed on the big screen. With over three hours of thrills, action, comedy and compassion, it's the perfect antidote to the banality of modern cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BudS.Dec 17, 2005
The original King Kong is the motion picture equivalent of the cotton gin: a groundbreaking, technical marvel in its time that's now an obsolete relic. With that in mind, I wasn't excited about a remake, but this exceeded my The original King Kong is the motion picture equivalent of the cotton gin: a groundbreaking, technical marvel in its time that's now an obsolete relic. With that in mind, I wasn't excited about a remake, but this exceeded my expectations. Frank O. is right, the first act is slow, "Jurassic Park" is a unimaginative knock-off of Kong...but I think this new Kong is really uneven. The second act just pounds you senseless with overkill (let's have one...no two...no three...no FOUR dinosaurs!...and before that a STAMPEDE!...) The third act, when Kong gets loose, that's the best part. The action is more impressive, there's some very graceful filmmaking (particularly the quiet moments and the way they're interrupted), and the look of 1930's New York during December is GORGEOUS. (Naomi Watts has also never looked better.) Jackson also does a good job of recreating the memorable climax - justifiably the most famous part of the original Kong. Jackson even achieves more emotion and some deep pathos in this remake. The movie's still hokey in a lot of spots and I'm no fan of cheese. In fact, the movie's final line is taken straight from the original, and half the theater groaned when they heard it. Not a great picture, but the third act saved it for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PeterJ.Dec 17, 2005
Am I missing something? Seriously, am I seeing the same movie that every critic seems to think is incredible and breathtaking? All I saw was a movie on par with the likes of Mortal Kombat and The Mummy Returns, chock full of blurry lifeless Am I missing something? Seriously, am I seeing the same movie that every critic seems to think is incredible and breathtaking? All I saw was a movie on par with the likes of Mortal Kombat and The Mummy Returns, chock full of blurry lifeless CGI action and an ape with all the emotional weight of one of those goofy invisible alien dogs from Alone in the Dark. Well, at least all the countless licensed video games, toys and "Xtra Hefty" Grab Trash Bags will help to ensure that we'll be seeing another 31 hour long, bloated, self serious "epic" from Jackson in the near future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnK.Dec 17, 2005
Before rating this movie, I tried something that Metacritic voters usually don't try...I saw the movie. [Ed: Hey now...] It was great, honestly, and if you can't take the length, skip it; while you're at it, skip The Godfather Before rating this movie, I tried something that Metacritic voters usually don't try...I saw the movie. [Ed: Hey now...] It was great, honestly, and if you can't take the length, skip it; while you're at it, skip The Godfather and The Aviator and every other great movie that bulldozed past 2 hours. This is an action classic. The CGI was fantastic, the script was great (besides a few missteps early on). Bad reviewers, have fun being a niche and a trendster. Everyone thinks you're smart because you can't have a good time. Enjoy the self importance. We'll be over here on the rollercoaster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LolaA.Dec 17, 2005
CGI special effects were awesome and thus the 2 points. As for the rest of this movie, it was the pits. Way toooooo looong and boring. I fell asleep during the first 70 minutes. They should be selling NO DOZE at the concession stand. And CGI special effects were awesome and thus the 2 points. As for the rest of this movie, it was the pits. Way toooooo looong and boring. I fell asleep during the first 70 minutes. They should be selling NO DOZE at the concession stand. And when the action started with a remake of Jurassic Park you had to laugh. It was reminiscent of the old Star Trek in which you knew who was going to die by the different color uniforms they wore. Well here, the marginal characters were ALPO for the big bad monsters. Ooooooooooh I was so scared. NOT. And the last hour was Peter Jackson playing with old New York of 1933. Great job Peter. Let me know when your horrendous actors even act. As for Jack Black and Adrian Brody they were simply awful. I loved Naomi on top of the Empire State in high heels in the middle of winter without a coat. Such realism? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NancyG.Dec 18, 2005
Very bad! Sentence this one to Cinema Jail with no parole! You'd get more emotion out of playing Halo for 3 hours.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PartyPooperDec 18, 2005
This was one my most anticipated movies of the year. When the original was made back in 1933 during the depression audiences flocked to it in mass. It was the "Star Wars" of that generation and rightly so. The genius and creativity back then This was one my most anticipated movies of the year. When the original was made back in 1933 during the depression audiences flocked to it in mass. It was the "Star Wars" of that generation and rightly so. The genius and creativity back then was fantastic. For the special effects in 1933 they used an eighteeen inch puppet as KONG. Turn the clock forward seventy-two years and enter Peter Jackson as he decided to make a remake of a remake. That remake in '76 was absolutely laughable. Remember the Empire State Building replaced by the World Trade Center? Peter Jackson is known for his genius with CGI special effects. So what does Peter do? He throws them at the audience ad nauseam but forgets there are other components to a motion picture. He starts by assembling a cast only their mothers could love. Jack Black and Adrian Brody are miscast. He then spends an hour with a slow drawn out introduction dedicated to the GREAT DEPRESSION. In the original no one made any mention of the Depression, but now Jackson decided we had to see it. We didn't learn much but were subjected to this boring stuff for no apparent reason. Yes, Hooverville in Central Park was captured briliantly. And Peter's point is that he had no point. Then we finally arrive at Skull Island or should I say Jurrassic Park. The monsters including the CGI KONG are thrown at us as if Jackson is asking can I top this? By now nothing makes much sense at all. The ruthless natives are there one minute, and poof, they're gone. Where did they go? Well, for that answer we just don't know? After the illogical second act with KONG magically whiffed away to NY on a small damaged boat unventfully, the last act shows us CIRCA NY in 1933. We watch as KONG destroys NYC before taking his swan song exit on cue. And after three hours with absolutely no meaningful dialogue htere's Naomi in a sheer dress with high heels without a coat in the dead of a winter. Oh yes, she's standing atop a two by four circular platform as Adrian Brody joins her. Of course because little else made any sense, the cold and the wind are no problem to Peter Jackson as this dreadful excuse for a movie comes to an end. Now I wish there was some suspense but there can't be. Why? Bbecause it is a remake of a remake and we know the story. I'm sorry but this version is so poor that it would be torture to ever watch it again. That's how bad it is. To enjoy this flick you need to suspend all logic or perhaps had a lobtomy? Avoid at all costs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MackP.Dec 18, 2005
In a bit of silly characterization, the natives on Skull Island were rolling their eyes as if they were possesed by some overwhelming irrationality. And I can understand. I was rolling my eyes as well. Peter Jackson is indulgent and, In a bit of silly characterization, the natives on Skull Island were rolling their eyes as if they were possesed by some overwhelming irrationality. And I can understand. I was rolling my eyes as well. Peter Jackson is indulgent and, frankly, boring. The whole Skull Island action sequences were excruciating to watch. They added nothing to the story. Don't go to see this film. Rent it, maybe. Do not support an indulgent and wasteful and bad story teller like Peter Jackson. The best element of the film, its only redeeming quality, is the interaction between Naomi Watts' character and the ape. The critics are crazy and irresponsible to give this film high marks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MCDBDec 19, 2005
This film is is just great. The effects are incredible, the acting great. Serkis was brilliant as a gorrila and Black balanced funny and serious perfectly. However I do think it is racist. The view of "The native" dates back to the time of This film is is just great. The effects are incredible, the acting great. Serkis was brilliant as a gorrila and Black balanced funny and serious perfectly. However I do think it is racist. The view of "The native" dates back to the time of the book Robinson Crusoe, the idea was that if you were not Christian, you were some horrible cannableistic savage. However I do think it is possible that it was less a race thing, just the idea that this was a world still in the past, and it could be more era-bashing as opposed to racism. Apart from that, great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GalegraS.Dec 19, 2005
Wow, why remake a classic and destroy it with bad acting, worse dialogue and a dragging pointless plot. So what if there was alot of cool effects? Pretty much anyone can do that now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NetraceDec 19, 2005
Great flick. I was riveted the entire time. I am able to do something called suspension of disbelief, so I didn't have the problem that most of the folks giving low ratings had. Thank you Mr. Jackson. And on a side note. I am not a Great flick. I was riveted the entire time. I am able to do something called suspension of disbelief, so I didn't have the problem that most of the folks giving low ratings had. Thank you Mr. Jackson. And on a side note. I am not a racist, nor did I notice any racist undertones. I would have to agree with the other poster that mentioned something to the effect that if you can see racism where it is not, then you are a racist. An ape is an ape. How often have you seen a white ape? Mr. Jackson could have changed it to a white ape and then made it King Abominable Snowman instead of King Kong. That would have made everything better right? You people crack me up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SuperseanDec 19, 2005
I ended up lauughing the whole time. This movie was so incredibly ridiculous, and then took itself seriously. It reminded me of doom, only doom didn't take it's self seriously. And the last line of the movie was sooooo lame. And I ended up lauughing the whole time. This movie was so incredibly ridiculous, and then took itself seriously. It reminded me of doom, only doom didn't take it's self seriously. And the last line of the movie was sooooo lame. And nothing made any sense. And the dinosaur fight was like WWE, hahahha this movie is hysterical it's so insanely ridiculous. See it once so you can laugh at it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
StephenF.Dec 19, 2005
He grabbed a bird and held onto it as he fell! hahahahah. No way. What a piece of junk. "beautiful" that was hilarious! The guy swung from a vine with a machine gun. hahahaha.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TedH.Dec 19, 2005
That was it? That is the flick that so many critics went bananas for? This is honestly nothing more than a rehashed Jurassic Park presentation, overlong with all of the director's leering shots of... Well... Nothing much at all. Entire That was it? That is the flick that so many critics went bananas for? This is honestly nothing more than a rehashed Jurassic Park presentation, overlong with all of the director's leering shots of... Well... Nothing much at all. Entire sub-plots are lost, the effects in many areas look unfinished, and the dialogue... Goodness, the dialogue. Stick with the original. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RichardADec 19, 2005
Too long. Intelligent use of visual effects. Mostly stupid characters and very shallow story. Questions: How was Kong transferred from Skull Island to New York? (This could have been an interesting part of the story.) Why wasn't The Ape Too long. Intelligent use of visual effects. Mostly stupid characters and very shallow story. Questions: How was Kong transferred from Skull Island to New York? (This could have been an interesting part of the story.) Why wasn't The Ape caged instead of being just chained? Why is the New York mayor so stupid to allow the show? How did Jack knew where Ann and Kong were sleeping? Why is Ann so stupid (or was she just crazy in love)? Mwahaha... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenG.Dec 19, 2005
Okay, if you think that this movie is unrealistic, why did you go see it? You already know what it is about! If you look past the fact that it is unrealistic and the fact that it is too long, you'll see that the acting is awesome and Okay, if you think that this movie is unrealistic, why did you go see it? You already know what it is about! If you look past the fact that it is unrealistic and the fact that it is too long, you'll see that the acting is awesome and the effects rock! I loved this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NotfamousDaveDec 21, 2005
I made the mistake of taking a date on the first Friday this movie came out. Boy was that a bad idea. An hour into it, the poor woman (3rd date) was looking over at me like I was nuts. Fortunately, by the time we got to the ridiculous I made the mistake of taking a date on the first Friday this movie came out. Boy was that a bad idea. An hour into it, the poor woman (3rd date) was looking over at me like I was nuts. Fortunately, by the time we got to the ridiculous brontasaurus stampede and the humongous cockroaches the movie transcended bad and became all-out camp, a total joke. We couldn't stop muttering and laughing for the remaining couple hours. We made the most of it, but this is one of the worst movies of all time, I think. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BennyB.Dec 21, 2005
A great movie that is perhaps a bit too drawn out. All the Skull Island sections are strong, the build-up sections in NY are good, but the NY sections with Kong at the end are a bit weak at times and felt drawn out. 3/4 of an hour could have A great movie that is perhaps a bit too drawn out. All the Skull Island sections are strong, the build-up sections in NY are good, but the NY sections with Kong at the end are a bit weak at times and felt drawn out. 3/4 of an hour could have been shaved off this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RaulJ.Dec 21, 2005
Old fashioned blockbuster entertainment. Yes, it may be a bit over-done in certain ways, but this does not hurt the movie. I do sypathize with those who say there are too many effects and too little heart. I would revise that to say over the Old fashioned blockbuster entertainment. Yes, it may be a bit over-done in certain ways, but this does not hurt the movie. I do sypathize with those who say there are too many effects and too little heart. I would revise that to say over the top effects and marginal character development. Overall, very good entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
StevenS.Dec 20, 2005
Well, let's get this right out of the way first thing. Peter Jackson is one of the most untalented, overrated directors around. You'd think that after hits like The Terminal, War of the Worlds, and the upcoming Munich he'd Well, let's get this right out of the way first thing. Peter Jackson is one of the most untalented, overrated directors around. You'd think that after hits like The Terminal, War of the Worlds, and the upcoming Munich he'd have learned that to try and rip off other, more superior directors just doesn't work. That 200- million he was given to make this movie could have really made an incredible work of art had it fallen into the hands of a more visionary, talented director... just saying. My advice: stay far away from the smell of rotten bananas and gorilla butt that's wafting out of the thater right now and rent some real works of art, like Jurassic Park, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, or ET. Or wait and go see Munich when it comes to theaters... that's gonna be an awesome one! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful