Kinsey

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 85
  2. Negative: 19 out of 85

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 13, 2011
    7
    This movie seeks to explain the roots of American 20th century prudence towards sexuality, also showing how this kind of (non-)education lead to the emotional and physical suffering of many. Kinsey includes topics such as feminism, homosexuality, and problems of scientific research. Kinsey seeks to liberate sexuality, but also shows that social constraints regarding sex (ranging fromThis movie seeks to explain the roots of American 20th century prudence towards sexuality, also showing how this kind of (non-)education lead to the emotional and physical suffering of many. Kinsey includes topics such as feminism, homosexuality, and problems of scientific research. Kinsey seeks to liberate sexuality, but also shows that social constraints regarding sex (ranging from adultery to zoophilia) do have the purpose of preventing that someone gets hurt. Eventually the film compares marriage to a happy tree. The tree is not free due to being rooted, but having roots is a nice thing in itself for we humans strive to overcome nihilism with love. Expand
  2. ArmandoS.
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    One of my favorite movies of the year. Liam Neeson is excellent. The movie shows an innovator who was ahead of his time and eventualy brought down because of it. The director shows Kinsey's flaws- his obsessive work habits and his ultimate inability to understrand the full implications of his research. He tried to separate sex from love and commitment-to study it in a scientific One of my favorite movies of the year. Liam Neeson is excellent. The movie shows an innovator who was ahead of his time and eventualy brought down because of it. The director shows Kinsey's flaws- his obsessive work habits and his ultimate inability to understrand the full implications of his research. He tried to separate sex from love and commitment-to study it in a scientific manner without the emotional baggage. His work was useful in helping to dispel a lot of the ignorance that people had regarding sexual unions-even if some if his methodology was flawed. You have to remember, no one before him had tried to study sex in such a thorough manner-so he had to strart from scratch and devise his own methods. Expand
  3. FrankO.
    Jan 25, 2006
    9
    Better than I expected, like the use of color and blk/white...great sequence learning their interview process...Neeson and Linney were very good. Peter Sarsgaard is underrated actor; plot kept moving, Bill Condon did great job just as he did with Gods and Monsters - another good flick you should see.
  4. MikeG
    Dec 4, 2004
    8
    This is a very good movie, and I was interested in the story the whole way through. It's not deserving of the Oscar hype it's already getting (with the possible exception of Lithgow's scene stealing performance as Kinsey's father), but it manages to take what could have been a vulgar or crass movie and makes it a well done historical treatment.
  5. RP
    Jan 27, 2005
    10
    One of my top 10 of 2004. Surprised Neeson wasn't even nominated for Oscar. Important commentary of social mores 50 years ago.
  6. RogerR.
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    Easily my best film of 2004. Incredibly well-acted and not dependent on schmaltz to fuel its plot. It will find its audience despite ludicrous snubs by Oscar.
  7. MarcK.
    Jan 5, 2005
    7
    I liked this picture more than I thought I would, as most of the people I know who saw this film didn't care for it very much. I'll agree that this is Neeson's best performance...by far, IMHO. However, I fail to see all the acclaim given to Linney, or anyone else, who were fine in their roles, but nothing special. Along with "Footloose", is Lithgow now being typecast as the I liked this picture more than I thought I would, as most of the people I know who saw this film didn't care for it very much. I'll agree that this is Neeson's best performance...by far, IMHO. However, I fail to see all the acclaim given to Linney, or anyone else, who were fine in their roles, but nothing special. Along with "Footloose", is Lithgow now being typecast as the "inflexible, pious Dad"? The sexual talk in the film was startlingly frank and explicit, which I could see being a turnoff to many. Were Kinsey's associates really having those kinds of discussions in the 50's? I wonder. Expand
  8. janak
    May 30, 2005
    10
    I found this movie just great. It is very exciting and adventurous although there is no guns, violence, car crashes, police sirens etc: it is an adventure of the soul. great.
  9. ThomasA.
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    After 6 viewings, I'm still discovering wonderful nuances.
  10. vdawg
    Aug 9, 2005
    9
    Convincing indeed.
  11. TonyS.
    Feb 4, 2006
    10
    Moving, complex, educational, and fully satisfying. Neeson and Linney head up as good a cast as you can get. Compelling both as a tribute to the modern scientific spirit and as a critique of pre-modern moralistic rigidity.
  12. BuzzC.
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    Don't let your fear of biopics keep you from seeing this film. The performances of Neeson and Linney are mindblowing. As an editor for reality television, I am constantly looking for the tricks filmmakers use to manipulate an audience emotionally. For this reason, I very rarely get emotional watching a film. I bawled like a baby for the last 10 minutes, and was moved a number of Don't let your fear of biopics keep you from seeing this film. The performances of Neeson and Linney are mindblowing. As an editor for reality television, I am constantly looking for the tricks filmmakers use to manipulate an audience emotionally. For this reason, I very rarely get emotional watching a film. I bawled like a baby for the last 10 minutes, and was moved a number of times over. But by the same token, I laughed out loud a number of times as well, as human sexuality - scientifically speaking - is really quite funny. This film tells the fantastic story of an incredibly complicated man and does so passionately without being at all preachy. If you've ever felt like an oddball - sexually or otherwise - you will walk out of the theater with a new perspective on the world. And its kinda fun to wonder what the octogenarian that sat next to you gets off on. Expand
  13. losangeles
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    This movie gave you a hard-on. Don't lie, I saw you! Come on, admit it America.
  14. AnonymousMC
    Nov 27, 2004
    10
    Great performances (Neeson, Linney, and the continually underrated Sarsgaard) in a literate, intelligent, and adult film. A nice change of pace.
  15. JeffreyL.
    Dec 23, 2004
    10
    Was pioneering sex researcher Alfred Kinsey a degenerate who led America into a spiral of moral decay? Or a courageous trailblazer whose work liberated millions from the tyranny of ignorance, superstition, and religious intolerance? No big surprise perhaps that writer-director Bill Condon (Gods and Monsters) opts more for the latter, but this extraordinary biopic also deserves kudos for Was pioneering sex researcher Alfred Kinsey a degenerate who led America into a spiral of moral decay? Or a courageous trailblazer whose work liberated millions from the tyranny of ignorance, superstition, and religious intolerance? No big surprise perhaps that writer-director Bill Condon (Gods and Monsters) opts more for the latter, but this extraordinary biopic also deserves kudos for portraying Kinsey's flaws as well as his virtues, and for showing the genuine heartache that can come when the human, emotional element of sexuality is ignored. In the title role, Liam Neeson does his finest work to date (arguably even better than Schindler's List), while the ever-amazing Laura Linney is astonishing as his beloved wife, long-suffering but not above some extramarital sexual exploration of her own. A beautifully constructed piece of filmmaking, with indelible supporting work from the likes of Peter Sarsgaard, John Lithgow, Oliver Platt, and (in an unforgettable cameo) Lynn Redgrave. One of the year's best. Expand
  16. Tony
    Oct 11, 2005
    7
    Structurally sound and extremely well acted, Kinsey is a reminder of both how things change and how they remain essentially the same.
  17. MikeW.
    Jan 15, 2005
    10
    Best movie I have ever seen. Liam Neeson is now my favorite actor.
  18. BillD.
    Jan 19, 2005
    9
    Best movie I've seen from 2004. Recreates the era with empathy. Extremely well made, great acting and great heart.
  19. JosephK.
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    A wonderful work of art that is also politically important.
  20. [Anonymous]
    Jan 9, 2005
    9
    One of the best films of the year. honest, entertaining, funny, and doesn't compromise the truth to paint a prettier picture.
  21. EricS
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    Liam Neeson gives the best performance of the year in one of the most mature biopics ever.
  22. Johan
    Jun 4, 2005
    10
    Excellent movie. Especially Laura Lindey is remarkable as Kinsey's spouse. Captivating as well as entertaining.
  23. JohnC.
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    Stay through the credits. Funny, fascinating, infuriating.
  24. Mathew
    Jul 11, 2005
    9
    A wonderful nuanced biopic of an important, colorful, and controversial figure in mid-century America (what a naive time that was!). Neeson, Linney and the supporting cast are superb. As with most biopics, small scenes are often meant to cover substantial territory. For the most part this film succeeds better than most in highlighting many facets of a long event-filled life. It's A wonderful nuanced biopic of an important, colorful, and controversial figure in mid-century America (what a naive time that was!). Neeson, Linney and the supporting cast are superb. As with most biopics, small scenes are often meant to cover substantial territory. For the most part this film succeeds better than most in highlighting many facets of a long event-filled life. It's only failing might be that it seriously underplays the significantly less than scientific nature of some of the 'sex research' his institute team undertakes and the tendency to overstate the exceptions to the 'norm'. The thornier question that this film fails to pursue, really is not about how sexually unaware America was fifty/sixty years ago, but how one man's unique perspective and eccentricities can shape supposedly 'objective' research Expand
  25. AbbyL
    Jul 3, 2007
    9
    Very complex and interesting view.
  26. PatG.
    Nov 13, 2004
    8
    This movie is very interesting. (But be prepared for some graphic sexual stuff and language.) The performances are excellent and thought-provoking, as is the script. I do recommend it.
  27. ppo
    Nov 27, 2004
    10
    I have seen this movie twice. It is one great movie, very touching at the end. It is about a man and a passion that came to him from left field. I think Condon has done an outstanding job, and the cast is flawless. Neeson, Linney, O'Donnell, and mainly, Sarsgaard are all top-notch. THe Redgrave cameo might be too short for an oscar nod, but it sure is breathtaking in its simplicity I have seen this movie twice. It is one great movie, very touching at the end. It is about a man and a passion that came to him from left field. I think Condon has done an outstanding job, and the cast is flawless. Neeson, Linney, O'Donnell, and mainly, Sarsgaard are all top-notch. THe Redgrave cameo might be too short for an oscar nod, but it sure is breathtaking in its simplicity and its effect. Congrats to all. Expand
  28. EdK.
    Dec 9, 2004
    10
    Wonderful performances. a wonderful adult film.
  29. DanH.
    Jan 11, 2005
    8
    A fantastic character study, further enriched by the most fascinating subject matter - human sexuality. Neeson and Linney are tremendous, and John Lithgow character is simply dispicable!
  30. DavidL.
    Jan 15, 2005
    10
    This is a superb film from a filmmaker/writer that only seems to get better. Great perfomances by Neeson and Linney, worthy of Oscar consideration. With "Gods and Monsters" and "Kinsey" Condon shows that he, like no other director, brings early 20th century existence vibrantly to life. Wow!
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Apart from some unexaggerated notations about American puritanism in the 1940s and '50s, this is more a work of exploration than a thesis, and Condon mainly avoids sensationalism.
  2. One of the year's most satisfying films.
  3. It's a new Neeson as Dr. Alfred Kinsey, all spiky-haired and harried, and he's enormously appealing in the role.