Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: June 23, 2010
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 245 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
127
Mixed:
87
Negative:
31
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
AngeloB.Jun 25, 2010
Tom played a happy go lucky Mission impossible role that just didn't deliver. The most action of the entire movie was based on the trailers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TheQuietGamerMay 11, 2012
Could have been great if it was funnier, had better action, and a better plot, but it ends up being barely passable. It does have some funny moments and that's why it's passable instead of bad, and also the only reason you should even thinkCould have been great if it was funnier, had better action, and a better plot, but it ends up being barely passable. It does have some funny moments and that's why it's passable instead of bad, and also the only reason you should even think of watching this, I personally recommend you skip this and watch something better. The trailers made it look much better than it actually is, all in all it's ok, but doesn't really need to be on your must watch list and if you skip it you wont be missing much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JonnyFendiJan 11, 2011
Yes, Tom Cruise is a knight in shining armor. Yes, Cameron Diaz is still looking fresh in daylight. If you are looking a movie to have fun with, thiz movie is definitely the one. It is a typical Hollywood popcorn movie. The storyline isYes, Tom Cruise is a knight in shining armor. Yes, Cameron Diaz is still looking fresh in daylight. If you are looking a movie to have fun with, thiz movie is definitely the one. It is a typical Hollywood popcorn movie. The storyline is predictable, the sequence is easy-watching, the comedy is corny, the action is absurd and they rely much on charisma of two main Casts, who in thiz case are Cruise and Diaz. Thiz is their second rendevouz. In VANILLA SKY (2001), the atmosphere was gloomy and serious, so people kept thinking how about to put them in another situation. We knew Cruise was an extreme adrenaline junkie in a real life with his motorcycle collection and extreme sports fan. Thiz movie is absolutely the perfect vessel for him to do what he always desires to do, for me thiz will be his trilogy extension of MISSION IMPOSSIBLE (1996-2006). Diaz is charming as always and could merge into any kind of character. The most important thing, she looks like to have fun with her character, for me thiz will be her dwilogy extension of CHARLIE ANGELS (2000-2003). I have to say, even without any addition, The Star-Power of these two main Casts were very powerful. The Director is James Mangold, a talented drama Director (GIRL, INTERRUPTED (1999), IDENTITY (2003), WALK THE LINE (2005), etc.), who tries his luck in action movie like thiz. In the other hand, some people say, movie is for fun. In that case, thiz movie was extremely effective and entertaining. The movie will make you forget how things happen, if you are one of the viewers that emphasizes fun factor as your needs. Well, just buy a ticket, buckle up, and enjoy the ride. At least, thiz one will be one-ride roller coaster fun and that is it!

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
rotkuJan 23, 2012
Intentionally over the top and unrealistic action/rom com movie which is entertaining if you leave your brain behind and enjoy a seemingly invincible Tom Cruise drive, shoot and fight his way through situation after situation with CameronIntentionally over the top and unrealistic action/rom com movie which is entertaining if you leave your brain behind and enjoy a seemingly invincible Tom Cruise drive, shoot and fight his way through situation after situation with Cameron Diaz in tow as the ditzy blonde (with a twist) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MyffubsAug 15, 2011
Knight and Day is a fairly decent action/comedy/romance flick. It nails the action and comedy genres, but it doesn't put heart into its romance, and it suffers for it. It starts out well, breathing life into its characters in what would beKnight and Day is a fairly decent action/comedy/romance flick. It nails the action and comedy genres, but it doesn't put heart into its romance, and it suffers for it. It starts out well, breathing life into its characters in what would be termed as a "meet cute" if it weren't for the violent action sequences that permeate it. The film continues on a lively enough pace and sets up some very excellently choreographed chases and fights, but loses momentum about halfway through. This could be due to any number of causes: poorly-established characters, a plot that functions only to drive one action sequence to the next, or the increasingly implausible attraction between its leads. Well, being that the leads are Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz, it's plausible that they would be attracted to each other, but mostly on a superficial level. The actors are surprisingly good, but have little chemistry in their scenes together. There's a funny-in-its-implausibility scene in which a pouty Diaz wants Cruise, attempting to take cover from gunfire, to, I don't know, kiss her or something. Noticing this, he calmly walks towards her and does. We get the feeling that if either character were a terribly deep thinker, they might say to the other, "I'm sorry. I don't think this is working out." They're simply going through the [e]motions of a typical romance film. Regardless, Knight and Day is rousing in most of its kinetic action scenes, and it's often fairly funny and perfectly pitched, a task that most films of this sort don't quite manage. If only the romance had been handled as capably. As it stands, KaD is an enjoyable but ultimately forgettable popcorn flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
sinadoomDec 21, 2012
Pretty short and has almost no story or anything, but still worth watching. It's so shallow and almost completely opposite of sophisticated and clever, which is good for some because it's simple to follow and easy to watch for everyone. ButPretty short and has almost no story or anything, but still worth watching. It's so shallow and almost completely opposite of sophisticated and clever, which is good for some because it's simple to follow and easy to watch for everyone. But it's so un-serious that it has so very little content. Still, some good scenes throughout. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
geedupJan 16, 2016
I didn't think this was Cruise's worst film, nor his best. I am not a Cruise fan in anyway, but I caught this recently and I found myself mostly engaged from beginning to end. The action was pretty good and the sarcasm/comedy flairs in theI didn't think this was Cruise's worst film, nor his best. I am not a Cruise fan in anyway, but I caught this recently and I found myself mostly engaged from beginning to end. The action was pretty good and the sarcasm/comedy flairs in the movie were well timed as well. Now neither Diaz or Cruise have much of a knack for comedy in my opinion anyway but they worked well together here. A movie to keep in your collection; probably not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysJan 20, 2014
Knight and Day will keep you slightly amused and diverted while watching it, but a couple days after you won't remember a damn thing that happens in the movie. Fair trade.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
eagleeyevikingMar 16, 2017
The on-screen chemistry between stars Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz as well as briskly paced thrills make up for the paper thin plot and equally underdeveloped in director James Mangold's fun, forgettable, sleight, and ultimately, above averageThe on-screen chemistry between stars Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz as well as briskly paced thrills make up for the paper thin plot and equally underdeveloped in director James Mangold's fun, forgettable, sleight, and ultimately, above average summer popcorn flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DallasTxUsaDec 4, 2010
Cruise manages the scenes like an artist with smooth easy strokes that turn into dashing splashes of color. As his opposite Diaz is sunshine on top of dismay. I'm a guy so Diaz takes my breath away. Tom is trying to explain but keeps gettingCruise manages the scenes like an artist with smooth easy strokes that turn into dashing splashes of color. As his opposite Diaz is sunshine on top of dismay. I'm a guy so Diaz takes my breath away. Tom is trying to explain but keeps getting interrupted. After time she begins to get it and the progression is great fun and well timed. As others have pointed out the end feels rushed but after soaking up all that sunshine you feel it should go on much longer. If you enjoy Bond movie's or just about any bang up movie this is great. Ignore the comments about poor execution or poor CGI. The film is at it's best with bullets flying and Diaz. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
Besides being just okay, it has a good charisma of the actors, but with a narrative with more action than brain. Thus it was far away from their potential. If they had invested in the screenplay like invested in special effects, the movieBesides being just okay, it has a good charisma of the actors, but with a narrative with more action than brain. Thus it was far away from their potential. If they had invested in the screenplay like invested in special effects, the movie would have been more inexpensive and way better. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
SimonjoMay 10, 2011
You know what your getting with this film. Lets be honest, action-comedies dwell in the good to very bad range of cinematic quality. Never very good, great or very great, but they serve their purpose and I suppose that's precisely what KnightYou know what your getting with this film. Lets be honest, action-comedies dwell in the good to very bad range of cinematic quality. Never very good, great or very great, but they serve their purpose and I suppose that's precisely what Knight and Day has achieved. Yet you hope for so much more. you hope the comedy will be good and that the action is well staged, and for the most part the film is fun, without being too funny or too thrilling. What I really hope for, though, is that during the film I'm not compelled to look at the person next to me and say, "this is a bit too stupid isn't it?". Thankfully, I rarely say this because, like any guilty pleasure, I watch these sorts of films by my self. At least I always know what I'm going to get. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Nov 13, 2011
"Knight and Day" is a mediocre movie at it's best. The dialogue is either very "Charade"ish or slick talk with feasible words. The stars also may appeal to you or not. Tom cruise and Cameron Diaz may be a sexy couple or just aging veterans"Knight and Day" is a mediocre movie at it's best. The dialogue is either very "Charade"ish or slick talk with feasible words. The stars also may appeal to you or not. Tom cruise and Cameron Diaz may be a sexy couple or just aging veterans having their last screentime. It's a movie where I can't really judge with optimism; it's one of those movies where you decide it. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
5
csw12Mar 30, 2012
Kinght and Day is just you average action movie mixed with some stupid comedy. Again we have two big actors that gives us nothing new. My as well have put nobodys and save some money. Average to say the least.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
JawsLaxerDramaDec 24, 2012
Knight and Day is no great story. The acting is decent at least. At its worst, it is a stick in the mud. At its best, it is just mediocre. Nothing special about it.
Diagnosis: Eh, you can see it, but expect nothing amazing. So-so.
Guilty
Knight and Day is no great story. The acting is decent at least. At its worst, it is a stick in the mud. At its best, it is just mediocre. Nothing special about it.
Diagnosis: Eh, you can see it, but expect nothing amazing. So-so.
Guilty pleasure: It's not an awful movie, but certainly not good.
What you should do: Pass on this movie. You won't miss anything. I promise.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
worleyjamersDec 8, 2012
Overall, a decent summer action/comedy movie. Forgettable in many ways, but the stylized action sequences were really nice, and there were a few humorous moments that I really liked. I'm not a big Tom Cruise or Cameron Diaz fan, but I thoughtOverall, a decent summer action/comedy movie. Forgettable in many ways, but the stylized action sequences were really nice, and there were a few humorous moments that I really liked. I'm not a big Tom Cruise or Cameron Diaz fan, but I thought they worked well together. I really liked the supporting cast though...Peter Sarsgaard, Viola Davis, and Paul Dano. I would have liked to see them with more screen time. Not a great movie, but I enjoyed it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
KundKOct 31, 2010
A bland, uninspired and unfunny attempt at an action-romcom in the vein of "True Lies". Watchable only if one is extremely bored and in a totally undemanding mood. A waste of almost everything.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
Vicki_t2702Aug 28, 2010
As an acting duo, Cameron Diaz and Tom Cruise are effortlessly fantastic, they make an elegant eloping couple but it is the storyline that is what lets this film down. The action is non-stop, with a hint of sexual tension here and there, butAs an acting duo, Cameron Diaz and Tom Cruise are effortlessly fantastic, they make an elegant eloping couple but it is the storyline that is what lets this film down. The action is non-stop, with a hint of sexual tension here and there, but the action is just your standard bullet-in-chest violence, nothing will really make you think "cor, I bet that hurt". The comedy is tongue in cheek, all the best bits were in the trailers and Cruise's patronising tone just really didn't do it for me. This almost out-law couple film never really gives away why it is called 'Knight and Day' either, despite the use of a small knight figure to hold Miller's secret.

So, I ask myself, are Diaz and Cruise just getting too old for this? Cruise's flash of flesh in the beach scenes could not hide the wrinkles that are starting to appear around Diaz's eyes. When it comes down to what the audience want, it's definitely not older generation actors trying to jump around when they clearly aren't made for the action any more. Not saying they've done their time, but there were plenty of younger actors and actresses that could have made this a sexier and must more aesthetically pleasing film. A bit of a downer on the plot was Diaz being constantly drugged because she couldn't 'cope' in the midst of the action. Alas, it felt like half the action was missing because she was passing out! The audience never saw Miller getting out of a violent situation completely, and just goes to show that Diaz never stopped being the damsel in distress since Shrek.

At times the entire film felt a bit of a joke, almost like a mockery of the whole action genre itself, the way Cruise talked sarcastically in spy terms and the unsuitable soundtrack that meant every gunshot and explosion could be predicted. For a 12A, I expected nothing less, but for Cruise's comeback I expected more. I think James Mangold could have made this film a lot darker, particularly concerning Miller's family who we barely see any of. The plot overall is so simple you won't even need to pay attention half the time. There was far too much CGI and green screen noticeable, it was disappointing because a lot of the stunts on the motorbikes were impressive.

If it was this or A-Team, I would have chosen A-Team. Knight and Day is too easy on the eyes and won't get you thinking like Inception, or even Toy Story 3! Just don't bother unless you really have to.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
OscarPicks2010Dec 5, 2010
Just another action flick with a spy and a chick, but what stands out in this is the pair of irresistibly charming Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz. Knight and Day was helped by the cast but too formulaic to be better.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
jasherJul 4, 2011
For me, this is one of those movies that is not good by any means, but I still find generally watchable. Its the kind of movie I will "watch" while doing laundry or making dinner, or if I am just tired and don't feel like using my brain muchFor me, this is one of those movies that is not good by any means, but I still find generally watchable. Its the kind of movie I will "watch" while doing laundry or making dinner, or if I am just tired and don't feel like using my brain much but want to have something on the TV. Cameron Diaz and Tom Cruise play versions of themselves that they've played many times before. They are both nice-looking and show their straight, white teeth a lot. She screams and giggles a lot, he kicks ass and says a bunch of smart ass lines. They both annoy and charm in equal degree, mainly because I am annoyed I am so charmed by these marginally talented, overpaid actors. That being said, they are what makes the film barely work, along with some beautiful scenery and a few mildly thrilling scenes. Its lazy film making at its best, just coasting along and just coherent enough that it will probably become one of my defaults for when I want something on the TV to look at, but not necessarily be invested in. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
dev92Aug 24, 2012
This film has a lot of action and is clearly meant to be 'popcorn flick'. However, even for a 'popcorn flick' it is quite poor. I am a sucker for Cameron Diaz's charming ways and I have to say I enjoyed her character but there were too manyThis film has a lot of action and is clearly meant to be 'popcorn flick'. However, even for a 'popcorn flick' it is quite poor. I am a sucker for Cameron Diaz's charming ways and I have to say I enjoyed her character but there were too many ridiculously stupid moments that stopped me from giving any higher than the generous four out of ten. Still, if you have nothing to do, this film won't ruin your evening, it just won't add anything to it either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews