Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 1, 2007
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 561 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
366
Mixed:
77
Negative:
118
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
NickK.Mar 28, 2008
Utterly, utterly unbelievable. Why does this woman decide to have a baby with a guy who she clearly despises? And why does her decision to keep the child mean she has to start dating the father, who she previously (and accurately) wrote off Utterly, utterly unbelievable. Why does this woman decide to have a baby with a guy who she clearly despises? And why does her decision to keep the child mean she has to start dating the father, who she previously (and accurately) wrote off as an ambition-less stoner with no social graces? We are given no basis for their relationship - they have nothing in common and she clearly finds even his speech repulsive - they're just suddenly in love. It's absolute rubbish and the critics are falling over each other to praise it's modernity, presumably because it's not a traditional hollywood romcom. Just because they mention google doesn't make this the f**king 'zeitgeist'! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DanOAug 13, 2008
A perfect example why you should never trust critics' reviews of 'comedies'. After painstakingly reaching the end of this film, I had to double-check the category to confirm that it was, in fact listed as a comedy. I A perfect example why you should never trust critics' reviews of 'comedies'. After painstakingly reaching the end of this film, I had to double-check the category to confirm that it was, in fact listed as a comedy. I don't recall a single moment that I came close to laughing. It was that dull. It has a mildly amusing premise and a whole lot of annoying and unfunny banter. That's it. It has been a long time since I've seen a 'comedy' this bad. Avoid at all cost. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MaryNov 2, 2007
Critics were way off on this stupid movie. Not worth the money - not funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
YvetteOct 12, 2007
I am so glad to see that other ppl that did not see the humor of this movie. Both my husband and I sat through over 2 hours of couples screaming at each other at the top of their lungs, super loser weedheads, lines that make you smile not I am so glad to see that other ppl that did not see the humor of this movie. Both my husband and I sat through over 2 hours of couples screaming at each other at the top of their lungs, super loser weedheads, lines that make you smile not laugh and overall unrealistic scenarios ie wife throws husband out because he was caught playing 'fantasy baseball'.. r u kidding? Also how realistic is an on screen TV personality giving an unemployed, quasi-porn site producer, who, during an earthquake, grabbed a bong and ran out ahead of her, a true chance to be with her? Anyway, all the raving reviews this movie is getting makes no sense, unless you like to watch a fanciful movie about ppl who argue alot. King of Queens arguing is clever, this movie is an overwhelming bore. p.s. the editor needs to be fired! Perhaps the movie could have been saved had some of the scenes been slimmed down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
carinbairdNov 23, 2007
wow. this is among the worst movies i have ever seen. hey new york times, the onion, and other people giving apatow a ratings blowjob....did we even watch the same thing? it's depressing that people find this funny. truly makes me sad towow. this is among the worst movies i have ever seen. hey new york times, the onion, and other people giving apatow a ratings blowjob....did we even watch the same thing? it's depressing that people find this funny. truly makes me sad to be a human being. beyond that, i am choking on the gooey family values messages shoved down my throat. it's really nice that young impressionable girls can see this film and discover that if they do accidentally not use mr. jimmy hat, then no worries! odd couple will fall in love and everyone will support each other. baby and mother will be fine! abortion? who needs it!
oh and congratulations apatow-you're a brilliant person. it takes a lot to fill a movie with weak and time-sensitive pop culture references that EVERYONE will get (well, right now.) at least you know your audience. unfortunately, i decided to be part of that for nearly two hours that i want back, NOW!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
mikegOct 17, 2007
I'm pro-life and this movie was not funded by pro-lifers John R. First of all, we all know that E news reporters are liberal and abortion is their birthright. Pro-lifers don't endorse one night stands, lack of condom use, and I'm pro-life and this movie was not funded by pro-lifers John R. First of all, we all know that E news reporters are liberal and abortion is their birthright. Pro-lifers don't endorse one night stands, lack of condom use, and irresponsibility. A father that doesn't own anything, smokes pot and doesn't have a job will end up in jail or on child support. John R, I think that the 'Drug Warriors' funded this movie. and if anyone laughs at this review, that's more than I got out of the whole movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MaryJ.Oct 19, 2007
The only laughs we got from this movie were reading the critic's rave reviews after we saw it. It was a dreadful movie. None of the characters were likable, believable, or anything but painful to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BjJ.Jun 11, 2007
Disgusting movie. A few funny lines, but a total waste of time and money. Why would someone as talented and beautiful as Katherine Heigl want to be associated with something so low-class??? That, I could not understand. Can Hollywood not be Disgusting movie. A few funny lines, but a total waste of time and money. Why would someone as talented and beautiful as Katherine Heigl want to be associated with something so low-class??? That, I could not understand. Can Hollywood not be any more creative with language than to have to use the F-word for practically every other word in the script. Must be scraping writers from the bottom of the barrel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChrisS.Jun 12, 2007
Waste of time, makes me want to stop watching movies for awhile. I will be more cautious about trusting the metacritic rating system in the future!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CarterC.Jun 16, 2007
The scum of all movies...PLEASE DON'T WASTE YOUR MIND, YOUR EMOTIONS, YOUR SOUL, YOUR TIME OR YOUR MONEY....UTTERLY DEPLORABLE!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LaurenceM.Jun 18, 2007
Repulsive and mindless. If you want to watch unbathed male lower primates wallow in shit this is the movie for you! I can only describe the first half. Went home and took a shower.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MitchM.Jun 18, 2007
When you consider the rating given to this movie, you realize how low this country values have fallen. The story is not believable for a moment, the characters shallow, the language appalling, there is no redeeming value in this production.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CathyL.Jun 24, 2007
A very crude movie at times bordering on pornographic. Bad character development - the major players have personality changes from one scene to the next. I am shocked that critics seemed to think this was a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PatF.Jul 14, 2007
It's rare that I leave a movie before it's over, but this "pro life baby movie" was one of the worst. The many ultra sounds starting with the 6 week fetus's heartbeat which clinches the decision for the ill-mated couple to go It's rare that I leave a movie before it's over, but this "pro life baby movie" was one of the worst. The many ultra sounds starting with the 6 week fetus's heartbeat which clinches the decision for the ill-mated couple to go through with this pregnancy and the silliness of the whole dialogue was too much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AjJ.Aug 18, 2007
Any other reviewers that compare this movie to pornography need to go out and get some new porn, because that's an insult to hardworking pornographers everywhere. The acting in porn movies is much better than the acting in this godawful Any other reviewers that compare this movie to pornography need to go out and get some new porn, because that's an insult to hardworking pornographers everywhere. The acting in porn movies is much better than the acting in this godawful clunker, and the plots in porn are usually a lot more believable too. Best of all, porno movies don't usually drag on for over 2 hours with no point at all. Which is to say, I really didn't like this film much at all. Sorry I forgot to warn you all sooner. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SharonM.Aug 26, 2007
One of the worst movies I've ever seen. Certainly the most disgusting. Katherine degrades herself beyond belief...why does she need to go so low? One would think that the beautiful successful woman she plays would use some discretion One of the worst movies I've ever seen. Certainly the most disgusting. Katherine degrades herself beyond belief...why does she need to go so low? One would think that the beautiful successful woman she plays would use some discretion before even talking to, much less copulating with a slovenly, jobless, drinking drug addict. But the characters in this film use as much brain power and moral judgment as the alley cats they emulate. I give it a 1 for acting, although there wasn't much dialog to remember as most sentences started and ended with F... . I guess the movie critics see it as a morality film because the slob 'supported" her through the pregnancy as he continued drinking and drugging in his Animal House life. So this is an "A" movie ; the film critics must be stoned out of their minds ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
jedcSep 26, 2007
Two HOURS AND TEN MINUTES????? Are they kidding? Where are all these "laughs" I kept reading about? I love stupid comedy (Animal House, etc) but come on. Are stupidly snobby stoners really so fresh and funny anymore? It's a bore and Two HOURS AND TEN MINUTES????? Are they kidding? Where are all these "laughs" I kept reading about? I love stupid comedy (Animal House, etc) but come on. Are stupidly snobby stoners really so fresh and funny anymore? It's a bore and been done to DEATH! And the plot makes literally NO sense. Why is she having this baby? What would this girl EVER see in this loser other than possibly a casual frienship at best? What the hell are all thse critics talking about??????? This is "a realistic depiction of life today" as one critic said? Oh come on. And I could forgive everything if it were actually funny, but it isn't. AND TWO HOURS AND TEN MINUTES?!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RighteousBrotherJan 27, 2008
Right-wing pro-life propaganda crap, wrapped up as "comedy". So unfunny, fake, and boring! And it's an insult to reason and and taste.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GerhardL.Mar 28, 2008
The relationship between the two lead characters is simply not credible and the woman's inexplicable decision to not only have the baby, but to do so together with a man with whom she is completely incompatible, patronises the audience The relationship between the two lead characters is simply not credible and the woman's inexplicable decision to not only have the baby, but to do so together with a man with whom she is completely incompatible, patronises the audience in the worst possible way. The third act collapses into sentimentality, which can be seen a mile off and detracts from the few laughs this movie offers to begin with. At the end, the question that begs asking is: Why does an intelligent and successful woman choose to be with a moronic bum over say, abortion? Because she'd be lost and frightened without a man's help, of course. Great message for the girls - keep 'em coming, boys. In short, it's not big and it's not clever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
VeronicaM.Jun 19, 2008
I can't even fathom why this movie is getting such critical acclaim. Seriously, I feel like I'm in Bizarro world. What an overrated piece of crap.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MikeS.Jan 25, 2009
Most overrated movie in the past 10 years. Corny conservatism masquerading as corny pot head humor. People say they like it because they "identify" with the characters -- If that's true, the country, if not the world, is doomed. The Most overrated movie in the past 10 years. Corny conservatism masquerading as corny pot head humor. People say they like it because they "identify" with the characters -- If that's true, the country, if not the world, is doomed. The whole film was basically a pro life, family values, sexist piece of garbage. I would let that go if the jokes were funny, but they weren't. Every single one had long been exhausted since my middle school days. And while the slacked themes were supposed to seem rebellious, they weren't ( I only say "supposed," because so many critics have lauded them as such). Pot is not edgy, nor is a website that shows boobs. Why not make the main character a heroine addict, but still funny? Why not have him and his mates make a hardcore porno site, but still be funny? Lame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JaneJun 24, 2009
I'm shocked that this movie got such great reviews from the critics. How much were the critics paid off?! This is a disgusting tasteless movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChristieD.Nov 24, 2007
This is the worst movie I have ever seen. The jokes and story were very old.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
jp992751Jan 18, 2011
I guess you need to enjoy stoner humor to find any Apatow film funny. I just don't enjoy his work, it seems that all he really cares about is glorifying drugs (yes pot is a drug don't kid yourself). The truth is the only laughs he can conjureI guess you need to enjoy stoner humor to find any Apatow film funny. I just don't enjoy his work, it seems that all he really cares about is glorifying drugs (yes pot is a drug don't kid yourself). The truth is the only laughs he can conjure up are based off of some baked character who laughs at anything someone says. Rogen has some talent but he needs to separate himself from anything Apatow and focus in on some real comedy rather than his stoner roles. I am just not seeing peoples fascination with Apatow I have yet to see a movie of his that was quality and Knocked Up just continues the trend of unfunny writing that is just used to glorify pot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
CooterPatooterMar 3, 2012
Oh joy... Seth Rogen playing yet another unappealing, pot-headed loser. What a huge leap for him. The worst blow to the audiences' collective intelligence comes in the joke of the third act when beautiful, clean-cut Katherine Heigl ends upOh joy... Seth Rogen playing yet another unappealing, pot-headed loser. What a huge leap for him. The worst blow to the audiences' collective intelligence comes in the joke of the third act when beautiful, clean-cut Katherine Heigl ends up falling for this offensive monkey-turd of a human being because the writers were too scared to do something bold. Completely fake bullcrap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
I'm waiting for when Seth Rogen will grow out of the stoner comedy phase of his career... I think he might actually be talented. For now, I just don't quite get it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews