Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 1, 2007
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 553 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
359
Mixed:
76
Negative:
118
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
S.B.Jun 18, 2007
Even with the worst possible seats, sitting in the most uncomfortable position at the theater this film had me loving every minute of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MitchMcNeilJun 21, 2007
Five stars is faint praise, I realize, but this film gradually put me off its trail with an overdose of middle-of-the-road sentimentality, banal melodrama, and overwrought situational conflict. The process was gradual, but inexorable. The setFive stars is faint praise, I realize, but this film gradually put me off its trail with an overdose of middle-of-the-road sentimentality, banal melodrama, and overwrought situational conflict. The process was gradual, but inexorable. The set up had me hooked - - the collision of two worlds, climaxing in a drunken coupling. The characters, for the most part, were nuanced and real. But as the parents-to-be got more serious and clear-headed about their situation, I begin to experience some form of disconnect. The whole birth thing had me squirming in my seat. Too real. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilipJ.Jun 2, 2007
One of the best movies I've ever seen, and not just because I look like an arian version of Seth Rogen. I haven't been this impressed by a movie since the 40 Year Old Virgin. Me and my brother saw this movie with two girls who also One of the best movies I've ever seen, and not just because I look like an arian version of Seth Rogen. I haven't been this impressed by a movie since the 40 Year Old Virgin. Me and my brother saw this movie with two girls who also loved it. Easily the best movie of the year so far. Hell, by far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonKJun 2, 2007
Absolutely hilarious, yet with a lot of emotion and unexpected depth. The critics aren't wrong with this movie. It was truly enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
IsaacJun 2, 2007
Honestly, this was one of the most awful movies that I've bothered to sit all the way through. The maybe 10 minutes of funny jokes didn't in any way make up for the remaining 119 minutes of the movie, which was full of sentimental Honestly, this was one of the most awful movies that I've bothered to sit all the way through. The maybe 10 minutes of funny jokes didn't in any way make up for the remaining 119 minutes of the movie, which was full of sentimental crap and completely pointless plot diversions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulieS.Jun 2, 2007
I loved it! I loved everyone in it! I loved the story! The bunch of guys reminded me of guys I knew in college! What fun! Go see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RexJun 22, 2007
3/4 of the movie I cried because I was laughing so hard. The other 1/4 was useless toilet humor for the 15-20 year old boys in the audience to see Katherine Heigl get dry humped by Seth Rogen. Still, one of the funniest movies I have seen in 3/4 of the movie I cried because I was laughing so hard. The other 1/4 was useless toilet humor for the 15-20 year old boys in the audience to see Katherine Heigl get dry humped by Seth Rogen. Still, one of the funniest movies I have seen in a long time. I would see it again and even buy the DVD. Cheers! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ImogeneJun 23, 2007
Better than 40-Year Old Virgin. Hilarious. Our theatre did not stop laughing the whole way through. I fucking loved it. Enough to make me want to go home and smoke a bowl. And, by the way, this is how real people talk. I find it so strange Better than 40-Year Old Virgin. Hilarious. Our theatre did not stop laughing the whole way through. I fucking loved it. Enough to make me want to go home and smoke a bowl. And, by the way, this is how real people talk. I find it so strange what people in this country are offended by... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesseG.Jun 26, 2007
Knocked Up is the best movie of 2007 so far and by the end of the year may prove to be the best movie of 2007 period. I know that there have been some really good films this year so if you want to argue against me, I hope you can at least Knocked Up is the best movie of 2007 so far and by the end of the year may prove to be the best movie of 2007 period. I know that there have been some really good films this year so if you want to argue against me, I hope you can at least concede that it has been the best movie so far of a summer filled with big budget low quality sequels. I love Steve Carell but he really should have chosen the smaller paycheck and worked with Judd Apatow and family instead of doing Evan Almighty. Getting back to Knocked Up the film is labeled as a comedy, which it is. The film is practically non stop laugh out loud funny and to label it solely as crude gross out humor is to label oneself as an idiot. Whether you're a college student or parent the film has something for everyone.The film definitely has crude moments, the three money shots at the end may offend some, but they are all hilarious and none of them ever feel cheap. It is also packed with smart witty banter amongst friends that anyone can connect with. The banter may overall be funnier to younger audience members but with reference to John Lennon and Cat Stevens parents and older viewers can easily find things to laugh at. What makes this film better than just a summer comedy is that it has a heart. Looking back to past summer comedies that really made an impact you can look at Little Miss Sunshine and Apatow's own 40 Year Old Virgin. These films are great because the whole ride of the film is that the audience feels comfortable to laugh with and at each character because the laughs never seem to be truly mean spirited. When the guys are raging on Martin they are raging on him but it is instantly clear that the friends are real friends and really like each other. Knocked Up also has very strong female characters which are often missing from comedy. Both Heigel and Mann easily match wits with both Rogen and Rudd, and they in fact may have the funniest scene in the whole film when they are denied VIP access to the night club. Challenged by the Rudd Rogen scene in Vegas with the chairs and Rogen yelling at Cheaper by the Dozen. My only complaint with the film is that opinions amongst the friends aren't very diverse. I missed the Romany Malco character from Virgin. It would have been nice to see someone rip on Martin in a different vein then the rest of the guys. That fact may deduct a 1/2 of a point from Knocked Up. I loved this film and find it hard to believe that someone could hate the film so much to give it a zero. The film is smart, funny, and touching and it is always a real joy to watch. I hope in the near future someone can come up with cool brat pack type name to describe Apatow and his cast of regulars which includes his real family as well as people we have seen on beloved and short lived shows like Freaks and Geeks, Undeclared and The Ben Stiller Show. I can't think of anything other than The Apatow Family, it kind of sounds like Addams Family, but it isn't that good and probably not original to me. But if it is I from here on claim all right to that name. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaimeJun 26, 2007
How would continuing with the pregnancy be an unlikely choice for a women. i really don't think anyone has the right to judge a movie on the choices that they personally wouldn't agree with. i thought this movie was hilarious and i How would continuing with the pregnancy be an unlikely choice for a women. i really don't think anyone has the right to judge a movie on the choices that they personally wouldn't agree with. i thought this movie was hilarious and i find it funny that people are surprised by the crude nature of it all. what did you expect? a heartfelt romantic comedy? if you get so offended by a movie, just remember you made the choice to watch it. rated r and all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonF.Jun 29, 2007
Hilarious. not only are the leads great, but this is one of the best supporting casts I've seen in a long time in a comedy. great fun. but there's a point where it stops being playfully hilarious and gets a bit more serious for the Hilarious. not only are the leads great, but this is one of the best supporting casts I've seen in a long time in a comedy. great fun. but there's a point where it stops being playfully hilarious and gets a bit more serious for the rest of the movie. still funny just not as much fun. most of it was hilarious though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TateW.Jun 3, 2007
This was a great movie and I will be buying it the first day it comes on video. The friends reminded me of my roommates in college. I laughed through the movie and the end was sweet enough to make my pregnant wife cry. We both had a great time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillyS.Jun 3, 2007
O.K. It's original, it's cotemporary, it's very funny, and it's not the third installment in a franchise, which is why everybody's saying classic, hilarious and hysterical to descibe it, but it's just a good O.K. It's original, it's cotemporary, it's very funny, and it's not the third installment in a franchise, which is why everybody's saying classic, hilarious and hysterical to descibe it, but it's just a good comedy with capable actors and a smart screenplay a little similar to She's Having A Baby but it is not a classic - it's just, thankfully, not a sequel! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisA.Jun 3, 2007
Completely enjoyed this movie and laughed hysterically throughout. Typically I don't enjoy this genre on first viewing and have to watch them several times before warming up to them (e.g. Anchorman, Old School, 40 year old Virgin, etc). Completely enjoyed this movie and laughed hysterically throughout. Typically I don't enjoy this genre on first viewing and have to watch them several times before warming up to them (e.g. Anchorman, Old School, 40 year old Virgin, etc). Usually it's due to the way they are a bunch of skits tied together. But, this one had me rolling right away. Smart writing, excellent delivery, spot-on timing. Good stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DanaM.Jun 3, 2007
I don't walk out of movies too often but this one was a stinker. Absolutely stupid story of this gorgeous woman getting pregnant by a big-time loser, and the rest of the story just adds to how much of a loser this guy really is. I don't walk out of movies too often but this one was a stinker. Absolutely stupid story of this gorgeous woman getting pregnant by a big-time loser, and the rest of the story just adds to how much of a loser this guy really is. Immature drug and sex jokes were just oo much. If you're not a senior in high school don't bother seeing this movie. Save yourself your ten bucks and see Waitress or something more entertaining. Shame on these reviewers for giving this movie a 10. So much for trusting the reviews from Metacritic. [Ed: Metacritic reviews movies?? huh...] Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DylanE.Jun 3, 2007
I was on the floor with laughter. It isn't for everyone, but I'm sure you'll be laughing through out most of the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandiJ.Jun 3, 2007
I loved the movie! It was an excellent comedy but also had very real issues that everyone can relate to in some way. I saw it with my sister and am going to see it again with my husband because I think he will love it. Definitely was not too I loved the movie! It was an excellent comedy but also had very real issues that everyone can relate to in some way. I saw it with my sister and am going to see it again with my husband because I think he will love it. Definitely was not too much of a chick flick like I originally thought it may be for him. I recommend this film greatly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeJun 4, 2007
I usually don't like movies that are in this genre, the pseudo-silly humor film. Knocked Up, however, was hilarious the whole way through, had some really insightful moments about relationships and what it means to be happy, and was in I usually don't like movies that are in this genre, the pseudo-silly humor film. Knocked Up, however, was hilarious the whole way through, had some really insightful moments about relationships and what it means to be happy, and was in general just a fun film to watch. Anyone who didn't enjoy this moving must not have been watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LarryN.Jun 4, 2007
This was not on my movies to see list, then I read the rave reviews and decided to go. To say the least I was disappointed, what a waste of time. It did have some redeeming value in showing parenthood in a positive light, and the overall This was not on my movies to see list, then I read the rave reviews and decided to go. To say the least I was disappointed, what a waste of time. It did have some redeeming value in showing parenthood in a positive light, and the overall story was good, but at the cost of sitting through the gratuitous fowl language, being subjected to some of the worst of Hollywood's stereotypical view of the world, and some of the scenes, what sick mind comes up with this stuff? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanJun 4, 2007
not only funny as all hell, but also tied in is a deep story with real life situations and realistic characters. there is only 1 type of people who will not like this movie. out of touch basement dwelling prudes hiding from the outside world not only funny as all hell, but also tied in is a deep story with real life situations and realistic characters. there is only 1 type of people who will not like this movie. out of touch basement dwelling prudes hiding from the outside world while hating everything they know just for the sake of hating it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MikeMJun 4, 2007
The main difference between this film and Apatow's other sex farce, 40 Year Old Virgin, is that here all the dirty jokes and reference humor and shock value are at the service of the implausible and spineless story. A sex farce can The main difference between this film and Apatow's other sex farce, 40 Year Old Virgin, is that here all the dirty jokes and reference humor and shock value are at the service of the implausible and spineless story. A sex farce can still be implausible by farce standards, and Knocked Up has a flat, unsympathetic male lead character in a plot that would be better served with a more sympathetic one. The female lead character may be more sympathetic but is so flat as to be little more than a name, a career hopeful and a uterus. As a point of contrast, the leads in Virgin had a more functional 'opposites attract' kind of dynamic. When they did finally fall in love, we knew that it was at least in part because of their ability to accept and support each other. Andy overcomes his fear of intimacy. In Knocked Up, they mostly say 'fuck you' a lot. If they are supposed to be actually in love, as they say they are when they're two months into their non-relationship and she's two months pregnant, we should at least see how they got there. If not, we should see the wishful lie they've told each other. As it was, I was jarred out of the movie, wondering if they're in love because she's pregnant and we're 30 minutes into the story. In a movie that has more than a few very funny moments, the real lynch pin is the fact that they seem to work it out simply because he keeps showing up, no matter how much of a lazy, hurtful unloving slob he is. That the character isn't used to being liked by women should be all the more reason that he actually do and say something that shows character change and decision, rather than a cheap-fix sort of montage with 20 minutes to go. The solution in Virgin is hard-earned to the point that even a sex farce can ring true in its way. In Knocked Up we have a situation that should end with anything but a father sticking around- a single mother, adoption, abortion, any of these are more credible than a quick 5 minute fix-up segment after an hour of complete incompatibility. Doubtlessly, the movie will do well because of the very funny moments and the track record of all involved. Hopefully it won't have the staying power that Apatow's Virgin earned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesD.Jun 6, 2007
no doubt one of the worst I've ever seen too many f words and nasty talk if this show appeals to you your at the bottom of morals.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillCJun 6, 2007
Not bad for what it is-- A comedy for teens and young adults. It's rating (R)didn't seem to keep teens out of the theater seats! Yes , the "F" word is used a lot, and it needn't be-The film could have stood up well enough Not bad for what it is-- A comedy for teens and young adults. It's rating (R)didn't seem to keep teens out of the theater seats! Yes , the "F" word is used a lot, and it needn't be-The film could have stood up well enough without them. Bill C. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SpongeeeJun 6, 2007
Friggin Funny! Great one liners...not for the faint at heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PeggyRJun 6, 2007
We found the characters and the dialog crude and uninteresting. The movie was a walkout for us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BJun 6, 2007
Made me laugh my ass off and has a great cast to go with it. Also for the most part the actors intertwine perfectly with one another.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KevinNJun 7, 2007
This movie was funny, but not that funny. If this is the funniest movie of the year, then American movies have surely deteriorated. It was a warm, heartening story about how babies make everything better and bring people together. The humor This movie was funny, but not that funny. If this is the funniest movie of the year, then American movies have surely deteriorated. It was a warm, heartening story about how babies make everything better and bring people together. The humor and performances were real and up-to-date. That didn't make it raunchy in my eyes, just contemporary and believable. After reading all of the rave reviews, I thought I was going to laugh more, but I didn't. I thought the 40-Year-Old Virgin was funnier and a little more shocking. The movie's not bad, it's just not a blockbuster comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BenJ.Jun 7, 2007
A couple of laughs for me and my friend, but overall, we just wanted it to end. Much of the conversations were unnatural and 'preachy' which made the story itself unbelievable, wasn't like a window on anyones world. A couple of laughs for me and my friend, but overall, we just wanted it to end. Much of the conversations were unnatural and 'preachy' which made the story itself unbelievable, wasn't like a window on anyones world. Might've just been us though, as plenty others in the audience were laughing enthusiastically throughout. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NoelJun 8, 2007
Funny and touching. If you've been following Apatow since Freaks and Geeks then you will have absolutely no problem loving this film as much as I did.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RandyLJun 9, 2007
Absolutely dreadful. I counted 2 minor laughs from the audience the whole miserable way through. A four hour walk around your living room. James Berardinelli, somebody paid you off for giving this movie an 88. I will never trust you again. Absolutely dreadful. I counted 2 minor laughs from the audience the whole miserable way through. A four hour walk around your living room. James Berardinelli, somebody paid you off for giving this movie an 88. I will never trust you again. So if the movie doesn't have a big name actor that can read a script I will not donate my time and loot to the Hollywood Jewish motion picture industry again. Dreadful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful