Knocked Up

Knocked Up Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 549 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In this film about a one-night stand with unexpected consequences. Judd Apatow takes comic look at the best thing that will ever ruin your best-laid plans: parenthood. (Universal)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. 100
    Ultimately, what makes Knocked Up a terrific film--one of the year's best, easily--is its relaxed, shaggy vibe; if it feels improvised in places, that's because Apatow trusts his actors enough to let them make it up as they go, like the people they're playing.
  2. 100
    Ridiculous comedies can be fine, but the ones that matter creep up close to the truth. This one lives in it.
  3. 90
    Turns out to be not just rude, crude and outrageously funny but a deceptively sophisticated meditation on moral agency -- with pot jokes!
  4. Sweep aside the gross-outs and you've got the family values comedy of the year.
  5. 80
    On the surface, Apatow's films are about sex--obsessively, exclusively, and exhaustively. (This one lasts more than two hours.) But that is a clever feint, for their true subject is age.
  6. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    80
    Knocked Up touches places most comedies wouldn't dare, some of them scarily biological, some of them scarily accurate. It's the sleeper hit of the summer, but don't worry: it's much better than that.
  7. Like most of Apatow's work, Knocked Up walks a perilous line between sarcasm and sentimentality, and though it's extremely funny in bursts, the movie flirts once too often with schmaltz before toppling into melodrama in its third act. The fault lies as much with Apatow's casting as his writing.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 269
  1. KatieD.
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    Excellent in every way.
  2. NathanL.
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    This was freakin' hilarious, who cares if the f word was said a lot, i actually couldn't breathe through half of the movie it was This was freakin' hilarious, who cares if the f word was said a lot, i actually couldn't breathe through half of the movie it was so funny. if you care that much about profanity maybe next time you should go to a G movie, save yourself from having to leave your comfort shell, go watch shrek 3 or something. It has the whole theater cracking up, brilliant movie Collapse
  3. MichelleS
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    I have read a few very bad reviews, and apparently they were watching a different movie because this one is freaking hilarious! I have seen I have read a few very bad reviews, and apparently they were watching a different movie because this one is freaking hilarious! I have seen it over and over again, and still laugh just as hard every time. Seth and Katherine are so funny together and I think they make a cute couple. Yes, there were some gross funny parts and stupid funny parts, but I personally think that makes a comedy really funny, a variety of types of jokes. If you haven't seen it, give it a chance. And to those of you who gave it a zero or one, you must not have a sense of humor at all...I understand if you didn't love it, but it deserves more than that. Expand
  4. AnonymousMC
    Jun 6, 2007
    8
    If this movie isn't appreciated by some, it's because they have confused, silly notions about "morals" that prove they have notIf this movie isn't appreciated by some, it's because they have confused, silly notions about "morals" that prove they have not actually seen "Knocked Up" or have been spoiled enough by all the dumb, cheap trick comedies to come out of Hollywood ("Click," "Wild Hogs") that they can't appreciate something that truly is HUMOROUS. I won't say "Knocked Up" is a masterpeice, but it is one of the better comedies this year, and deserves to be seen. In fact, f*** what anyone says about it and just go see it! Expand
  5. MitchMcNeil
    Jun 21, 2007
    5
    Five stars is faint praise, I realize, but this film gradually put me off its trail with an overdose of middle-of-the-road sentimentality,Five stars is faint praise, I realize, but this film gradually put me off its trail with an overdose of middle-of-the-road sentimentality, banal melodrama, and overwrought situational conflict. The process was gradual, but inexorable. The set up had me hooked - - the collision of two worlds, climaxing in a drunken coupling. The characters, for the most part, were nuanced and real. But as the parents-to-be got more serious and clear-headed about their situation, I begin to experience some form of disconnect. The whole birth thing had me squirming in my seat. Too real. Expand
  6. VeronicaM.
    Jun 19, 2008
    2
    I can't even fathom why this movie is getting such critical acclaim. Seriously, I feel like I'm in Bizarro world. What an overrated I can't even fathom why this movie is getting such critical acclaim. Seriously, I feel like I'm in Bizarro world. What an overrated piece of crap. Expand
  7. Isaac
    Jun 2, 2007
    0
    Honestly, this was one of the most awful movies that I've bothered to sit all the way through. The maybe 10 minutes of funny jokes Honestly, this was one of the most awful movies that I've bothered to sit all the way through. The maybe 10 minutes of funny jokes didn't in any way make up for the remaining 119 minutes of the movie, which was full of sentimental crap and completely pointless plot diversions. Expand

See all 269 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far)

    The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far) Image
    Published: February 11, 2016
    Check out our lists of the best (and worst) movies of the century so far, ranked by Metascore overall and in a variety of genres.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.
  5. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.