Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The film follows the Major League’s only knuckleballers in 2011, Tim Wakefield and R.A. Dickey, as they pursue a mercurial art form in a world that values speed, accuracy, and numerical accountability. (FilmBuff)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Sep 20, 2012
    90
    Maybe that's romanticizing things, but baseball wouldn't be half as beautiful without its mythology.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Sep 19, 2012
    88
    The movie's a must for baseball fans in general and Red Sox fans in particular - if nothing else, it will help remove the battery-acid taste of the season now stumbling to a close.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Sep 20, 2012
    80
    A wild and unexpected film.
  4. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Sep 19, 2012
    75
    Some of Knuckleball!'s best scenes show Dickey and Wakefield hanging out with Hough and Phil Niekro (the latter the rare knuckleballer who threw the pitch his whole career rather than turning to it out of desperation), talking about the mechanics and the mojo of the knuckler.
  5. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Sep 20, 2012
    70
    Knuckleball! looks and feels like a standard ESPN documentary, slickly packaged and a little bloodless, and Stern and Sundberg lean a little heavily on music to goose up the excitement.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Weber
    Sep 18, 2012
    63
    This chronicle of two athletes throwing baseball's funkiest, least respected pitch is given depth by their stranger-than-fiction underdog status and camaraderie with mentors who've had the same struggles.
  7. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Sep 18, 2012
    40
    Viewers who can't get enough of ESPN's "30 for 30" docs will lap up this dual portrait.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Apr 6, 2013
    8
    As a Brit, look forward to my holidays in America so can watch baseball either live or on TV. Its my favourite of the big 4 sports although I have no affiliation to a team or know more than a handful of players I still enjoy it as a sport. I loved Moneyball and I have to say that I would recommend Knuckleball! as much to any sports fan. It covers all the areas it needed to for a someone like me, the technicalities of the pitch, the myths, the legends and has a really nice stories running through the whole film. Collapse

Trailers