Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: April 8, 2005
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 236 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
218
Mixed:
5
Negative:
13
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
BroyaxNov 16, 2017
La comédie de kung fu est un genre qui fait recette et depuis longtemps déjà... Jackie Chan en est l'un de ses plus actifs représentants évidemment mais d'autres acteurs chinois s'y sont illustrés.

Stephen Chow exploite le filon à la fois
La comédie de kung fu est un genre qui fait recette et depuis longtemps déjà... Jackie Chan en est l'un de ses plus actifs représentants évidemment mais d'autres acteurs chinois s'y sont illustrés.

Stephen Chow exploite le filon à la fois comme acteur et réalisateur : il sait bien présenter les choses, utiliser les effets spéciaux et les câbles... mais son "humour" est des plus douteux et son film se repose beaucoup trop sur le prétexte du "délire" et du n'importe quoi pour espérer faire rire ou même faire simplement sourire son audience.

Ainsi, Crazy Kung-Fu se gaufre dans les affres de la super débilité et réussit de surcroît à nous ennuyer énormément : à la fois bête et ramolli, le film ne décolle jamais et se permet en plus quelques passages bien niais. Voilà donc un ratage complet qu'on ne saurait trop recommander... d'éviter.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
ThreeboxIndoorsDec 23, 2016
Beautifully directed, lots of charm, and has some really stupid but hilarious moments. Kung Fu Hustle is a very unique action comedy that even has a bit of emotion to it too. It has the perfect mix of style, action, humour and parody. Most ifBeautifully directed, lots of charm, and has some really stupid but hilarious moments. Kung Fu Hustle is a very unique action comedy that even has a bit of emotion to it too. It has the perfect mix of style, action, humour and parody. Most if not all of the acting is top-notch, however i did wish the characters had more development. The fight scenes are fantastic - amazing choreography, beautifully directed and are so entertaining, humorous and even suspenseful at times, although a lot of the CGI did bother me. My biggest flaw with Kung Fu Hustle however would be that some of the jokes fall flat, or are ruined by CGI. There is also a scene where you suddenly realize who a certain character is, and it's a powerful moment - until it then ruins itself by using an unnecessary flashback to explain who that character is. Apart from those few flaws i really enjoyed Kung Fu Hustle with its beautiful direction, amazing choreography and its style, its charm, the humour and the action, and i'm going to give it a 7/10. I highly recommend checking this one out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BiasSep 10, 2016
This is simply an excellent comedy. Tons of wacky twists, great action and lots of other movie references for you to force trivia down your friends throats while they watch it with you. Almost as pure in hilarity 'God of Cookery'.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OfficialNov 16, 2013
Another great film from Stephen Chow. "Kung Fu Hustle", as the title suggests, is a well choreographed combination of martial arts and humor. The plot is silly, but when there are so many hilarious scenes, you really just don't care anymore.Another great film from Stephen Chow. "Kung Fu Hustle", as the title suggests, is a well choreographed combination of martial arts and humor. The plot is silly, but when there are so many hilarious scenes, you really just don't care anymore. Oh, and don't expect any character development, there's no time for that. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
AK7Jul 30, 2013
There aren't many good comedy movies, everybody knows that. Buy sometimes you find a gem, guess what this is a GEM. Kung Fu Hustle is such an unique comedy movie, you won't find this anywhere else. Form the beginning of the movie till the endThere aren't many good comedy movies, everybody knows that. Buy sometimes you find a gem, guess what this is a GEM. Kung Fu Hustle is such an unique comedy movie, you won't find this anywhere else. Form the beginning of the movie till the end of the movie I genuinely laughed my @ss off. A comedy with good acting, really funny scenes, a ridiculous plot and martial arts? That is a 10/10 ALL DAY LONG! Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
deserthazeDec 23, 2010
Kung Fu Hustle was an excellent movie. Set out exactly what it meant to do and in a very aesthetic manner. It was absolutely hilarious and one of my favorites.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
jenniferDec 26, 2008
I actually watched this film by accident and i must say it was one of the best accidents i have ever made. it was so original, funny, sweet, emotional, and unlike any movie i have ever seen. it may seem a bit silly at first but the story is I actually watched this film by accident and i must say it was one of the best accidents i have ever made. it was so original, funny, sweet, emotional, and unlike any movie i have ever seen. it may seem a bit silly at first but the story is so well done and i went from dieing of laughter to wanting to cry to being in utter shock. i LOVE this movie and if you havent seen it, then watch it....right now, the whole thing. its great! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbdoA.Dec 7, 2008
Absolutely wonderful film. The action was brilliant, the comedy was hilarious, and it had a great story to boot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AzarA.Nov 24, 2008
I gave this movie 10 because it's the best combination of style, humor, action and parody I've EVER seen in a single movie. This is the best of them all.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RodgerC.Aug 21, 2008
This is a fantasticly fanciful action comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinR.Aug 8, 2008
This movie was the BOMB!!!!! only move that even came close to this was kung pow but this wins hands down!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SophieMDec 24, 2007
I have to be honest, I REALLY enjoyed this movie! What a great comedy. I don't let reviews sway my opinions on stuff but glad it got a good reception.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomD.Dec 18, 2007
Great beauty. comedy, and action. What more could you want? Really pretty to watch on blu-ray. Movie has emotion to which is rare.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EricR.Sep 17, 2007
Hilarious absurdity and comedic timing. Like the Monty Python of Asian films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkA.Apr 27, 2007
What a breath of fresh air! An amazing movie; very well done. Those who voted 2 or so must have a boring sense of humour. Good funny films are not easy to make (and I'm a filmmaker myself!). Chow manages to pull this one off with sheer What a breath of fresh air! An amazing movie; very well done. Those who voted 2 or so must have a boring sense of humour. Good funny films are not easy to make (and I'm a filmmaker myself!). Chow manages to pull this one off with sheer brilliance. Those who moan want miracles from movies. There's nothing wrong with this one; it's perfect. I enjoyed this one much more than the Matrix trilogy. The cigar lighting scene/catching fire was the funniest movie moment ever. What a gem. Thanks Stephen! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EmilFeb 13, 2007
A great comedy if taken lightly. However, I saw this once in theaters and once on DVD. I give a 9 for the theater version. I give a 2 for the DVD version. It seems the subtitles were completely off from what I saw at the theaters, and took a A great comedy if taken lightly. However, I saw this once in theaters and once on DVD. I give a 9 for the theater version. I give a 2 for the DVD version. It seems the subtitles were completely off from what I saw at the theaters, and took a lot away from the humor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RirenFeb 2, 2007
Disjointed and bizarre, this sets itself apart even from kung fu cinema. If you're used to American or European action movies, this is something completely new. Kung Fu Hustle survives on a comical strand, drawing inspiration from Disjointed and bizarre, this sets itself apart even from kung fu cinema. If you're used to American or European action movies, this is something completely new. Kung Fu Hustle survives on a comical strand, drawing inspiration from martial arts humor as well as old Looney Toons. Its insistence on empowering the weak, often making superhuman characters out of stereotypes like housewives or browbeaten husbands, is probably its best strength. Its sense of style, of constantly mingling cool (magical guitars, dropkicking mafia badguys through walls, classical or compelling music, etc.) with the deliberately uncool (old lady in hair curlers, assassin in his underwear, etc.) is something to behold. It's at least a half an hour too long, but it's such an over-the-top and oddball film that if you can let yourself go, this is a great way to kill an evening. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkS.Jul 5, 2006
Great movie. I particularly don't know what in the world the NYT is talking about in their review.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WalterApr 26, 2006
It's fun and if taken lightly, it will grab you and let you in. It's a parody, so just let the ride take you and don't worry too much about deep meanings in this romp. Just enjoy the ride.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatherineJan 16, 2006
This movie is wonderful. Absolutely adorable and funny; I loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeT.Jan 13, 2006
An amazingly funny movie, a total break from the American-type comedies (most of which are fairly dark and sarcastic nowadays). This is the "Family Guy" of movies, and if it doesn't have you in stitches you really need to check your An amazingly funny movie, a total break from the American-type comedies (most of which are fairly dark and sarcastic nowadays). This is the "Family Guy" of movies, and if it doesn't have you in stitches you really need to check your pulse: you may be dead! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BhuddhaPalmNov 19, 2005
Low and negative votes due to moral righteousness is a total non sequitur for a film that does not expect itself to be taken seriously. This film had everything, including one of the funniest scenes I have ever seen in my life. We had to Low and negative votes due to moral righteousness is a total non sequitur for a film that does not expect itself to be taken seriously. This film had everything, including one of the funniest scenes I have ever seen in my life. We had to stop the movie so that we could have a moment to die laughing....The action, physical acting, special effects, crazy characters and its fable-like approach to story telling makes this one of the funnest, and kick-a$$ experience you could ever hope for from a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DennisM.Sep 28, 2005
I thought the movie would really stink after watching the 1st 10 minutes. After that, I was laughing to hard to care. I think it was a great movie along the lines of Monty Python and Mel Brooks. Seriousness can be overstated. Sometimes I thought the movie would really stink after watching the 1st 10 minutes. After that, I was laughing to hard to care. I think it was a great movie along the lines of Monty Python and Mel Brooks. Seriousness can be overstated. Sometimes silliness is just what the doctor ordered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AverageGuySep 18, 2005
Really funny movie, If you did not like it than you did not understand it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NormfromgaSep 15, 2005
Most people who I have heard say they hated it (1) saw it in the movies, where it had not been dubbed, so they had to use subtitles, and/or (2) said they had walked out "half way thru," whereas it is towards the end the action really picks Most people who I have heard say they hated it (1) saw it in the movies, where it had not been dubbed, so they had to use subtitles, and/or (2) said they had walked out "half way thru," whereas it is towards the end the action really picks up, and the dialogue becomes almost irrelevant. BTW, if you watch the DVD, listen to the English track AND watch the close captioning. The two apparently were translated separately, and sometimes one is better, and funnier, than the other. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Sep 10, 2005
It's potent overall as a whole, but the comedy sometimies comes off as a hit or miss affair. The Looney Tunes impressions weren't all that humorous. THe back story is actually somewhat good, but actually begs for a serious approach It's potent overall as a whole, but the comedy sometimies comes off as a hit or miss affair. The Looney Tunes impressions weren't all that humorous. THe back story is actually somewhat good, but actually begs for a serious approach instead of zaniness. A Great action movie, and OK comedy that begs for a more serious undertaking. No complaints aboutt he last fight scene, where the parody of old kung fu movies actually works well w ith yuen Mo Ping's choreography. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MrTSep 9, 2005
I have seen thousands of movies in my lifetime, this one is in the top 3. Very fun to watch and never wanted it to end. Thank-you Mr Chow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RyanM.Sep 6, 2005
Worst movie ever!! I was excited to finally see it after so much hype. I couldn't even get half way through it. Completely cliche and over the top. The writing is also horrible. I'd feel differently if it was at least clever abd Worst movie ever!! I was excited to finally see it after so much hype. I couldn't even get half way through it. Completely cliche and over the top. The writing is also horrible. I'd feel differently if it was at least clever abd humorous. But I feel the director tried to use too many stylish scenes with redundant special effects. This movie made me ill. I couldn't believe it was this bad. The director needs to stop watching American cartoons. What's funny and absurd to him may have been funny back in the 40's or 50's. Audiences are smarter than this. Hopefully. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful
8
RickSep 1, 2005
While this movie did have many funny parts the overall movie didnt make me laugh that much. I rented it in hopes of a constant laugh fest more like kung pow and what i got was a good movie with interesting characters but not at all like what While this movie did have many funny parts the overall movie didnt make me laugh that much. I rented it in hopes of a constant laugh fest more like kung pow and what i got was a good movie with interesting characters but not at all like what i expected. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
tonyAug 28, 2005
The movie looked cartoony, but the action was so badass, like wow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoAnnS.Aug 26, 2005
One of the best movies I've seen in a long time. Very original!
0 of 0 users found this helpful