Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    May 25, 2011
    91
    Part two is even more gorgeous to behold, and deeper in substance.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    May 23, 2011
    90
    It all moves along briskly, with a degree of visual grace and a solid feel for 3D.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    May 23, 2011
    90
    Once again, the DreamWorks team demonstrates that humor is the primary weapon in its arsenal.
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    May 25, 2011
    88
    The animation is elegant, the story is much more involving than in the original, and there's boundless energy.
  5. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 25, 2011
    83
    At times, Kung Fu Panda 2 suggests "Bambi" redone as an episode of Oprah. Yet it's a more-than-worthy sequel.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 324 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 83
  2. Negative: 2 out of 83
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    7
    Eh...There really isn't much to say about "Kung Fu Panda 2" compared to its prequel. I mean the action and comedies are great as well as the story, but everything sorta lacks of focus and consistency. Regardless of the cons, however, its still a great summer movie to watch with your kids. Full Review »
  2. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    This is one of the few sequels that are better then the original. '' Kung Fu Panda 2 '' delivered a touching, brilliant and good story. I like the fact that it gets serious about Po's origins (without spoiling anything). There was a lot of fighting (even a little bit to violent) and the kung fu was bad-ass. The way the Furious five and our Dragon warrior fought was spectacular. I was looking forward to see if the villan (Shen) would be as much as evil and hardcore, since Tai Lung (in the first movie) was the perfect bad guy. Again, he was a bad-ass villan, even better than Tai Lung. Also, this movie delivers a great message. Not only the kids will love this movie, the adults to. It's the perfect family movie. Full Review »
  3. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    ITs definitely not the best kids movie ever made, but its somewhere up there. I mean even for an adult its quite funny to watch with kids. It's debatable if first one is better, but i say they are both good.
    quite worth the time
    Full Review »