Kung Fu Panda 2

Kung Fu Panda 2 Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 397 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Po is now living his dream as The Dragon Warrior, protecting the Valley of Peace alongside his friends and fellow kung fu masters, The Furious Five - Tigress, Crane, Mantis, Viper and Monkey. But Po's new life of awesomeness is threatened by the emergence of a formidable villain, who plansPo is now living his dream as The Dragon Warrior, protecting the Valley of Peace alongside his friends and fellow kung fu masters, The Furious Five - Tigress, Crane, Mantis, Viper and Monkey. But Po's new life of awesomeness is threatened by the emergence of a formidable villain, who plans to use a secret, unstoppable weapon to conquer China and destroy kung fu. It is up to Po and The Furious Five to journey across China to face this threat and vanquish it. But how can Po stop a weapon that can stop kung fu? He must look to his past and uncover the secrets of his mysterious origins; only then will he be able to unlock the strength he needs to succeed. [DreamWorks Animation]
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    May 25, 2011
    91
    Part two is even more gorgeous to behold, and deeper in substance.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    May 25, 2011
    88
    The animation is elegant, the story is much more involving than in the original, and there's boundless energy.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 26, 2011
    80
    Kung Fu Panda 2 plunks down squarely in the spot marked for "chop-socky action with heart."
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    May 25, 2011
    75
    This well-executed sequel is sneaky. While it distracts us with Chinese backdrops and buffoonish humor, it sucker punches us with a message about belonging.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    May 27, 2011
    70
    Hardly a scene goes by that isn't visually striking or kinetically thrilling, and all of it enhanced by 3-D.
  6. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    May 26, 2011
    67
    Kids are bound to get a kick out of these kung fu creatures.
  7. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    May 26, 2011
    25
    A ghastly sequel to a charming animated film.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 98
  2. Negative: 3 out of 98
  1. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    This is one of the few sequels that are better then the original. '' Kung Fu Panda 2 '' delivered a touching, brilliant and good story. I likeThis is one of the few sequels that are better then the original. '' Kung Fu Panda 2 '' delivered a touching, brilliant and good story. I like the fact that it gets serious about Po's origins (without spoiling anything). There was a lot of fighting (even a little bit to violent) and the kung fu was bad-ass. The way the Furious five and our Dragon warrior fought was spectacular. I was looking forward to see if the villan (Shen) would be as much as evil and hardcore, since Tai Lung (in the first movie) was the perfect bad guy. Again, he was a bad-ass villan, even better than Tai Lung. Also, this movie delivers a great message. Not only the kids will love this movie, the adults to. It's the perfect family movie. Expand
  2. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    Deze film was zo goed! We konden erom lachen en tranen laten! Gewoon zo mooi! Nog beter dan deel 1, echt super!! We kunnen niet wachten enDeze film was zo goed! We konden erom lachen en tranen laten! Gewoon zo mooi! Nog beter dan deel 1, echt super!! We kunnen niet wachten en hopen echt op een deel 3! We zijn 3 keer naar de bios geweest, en in 3D wat geweldig zeg!! Echt heel goed gedaan zeg! Maar waarom is er bijna geen speelgoed van kung fu panda? IK hoor zoveel kinderen die speelgoed willen van kung fu panda en noem maar op. Hoop echt dat dat er komt. Expand
  3. Jan 27, 2016
    9
    Kung Fu Panda 2 shows that if you have very good writers and good ideas, can accomplish to make a double bright and fun sequel . They improvedKung Fu Panda 2 shows that if you have very good writers and good ideas, can accomplish to make a double bright and fun sequel . They improved the action, improved the characters improved the comedy and they put drama for scenes where you drop tears. They made even more emotional , and that's what makes Kung Fu Panda 2 awesome, make it better than the first one . For those who liked the first, surely they going to love this sequel. Expand
  4. Jun 28, 2011
    8
    To my surprise. I actually enjoyed watching the Jack Black Panda for the second time. The story could have been executed better but other thanTo my surprise. I actually enjoyed watching the Jack Black Panda for the second time. The story could have been executed better but other than that, the movie was enjoyable. Good story, lots of kungfu fighting and hilarious moments is what Kung fu panda is all about. I recommend watching it with or without kids. 9/10 Expand
  5. May 28, 2015
    8
    Not as good as the first in terms of humor and heart. But it's action, and improved animation make it a worthy sequel. The voice acting isNot as good as the first in terms of humor and heart. But it's action, and improved animation make it a worthy sequel. The voice acting is solid and it has likable characters as well as a solid storyline. The music is great and the new villain is cool and interesting( considering he is a peacock) Expand
  6. Feb 20, 2012
    7
    Kung Fu Panda 2 is big, hearty and incredibly funny animation sequel. There's more at stake this time round with Po (Jack Black) and theKung Fu Panda 2 is big, hearty and incredibly funny animation sequel. There's more at stake this time round with Po (Jack Black) and the Furious Five not only fighting to save China from the tyrannical Lord Shen (Gary Oldman), but we also delve into Po's mysterious past, and shed some light on why his father is a goose. The animation is still superb, and has clearly stepped up a level to deal with the more complex action set-pieces and a huge variety of beautifully rendered environments. Black seems to have found his ideal role in Po the panda, and the character remains endearing on his second outing. Angelina Jolie again impresses as the introverted Tigress, as does Hoffman's stoic Master Shifu (though his role is sadly reduced this time around). The all-star cast voicing the other members of the Furious Five (Jackie Chan, Lucy Liu, Seth Rogen and David Cross) thankfully have a little more to do than in the first film, Gary Oldman adds another great villain to his repertoire as resentful, power-hungry **** Lord Shen, and Michelle Yeoh has fun as an elderly goat soothsayer. James Hong is once again the best thing in the film as Po's dad Mr. Ping - his relationship with Po is tender and believable, and Hong manages to perfectly balance the elements of comedy and tragedy in his character. Though there's more scope for genuine drama in this film than in the first, it has lost a little of its charm in this second outing, and though it's only a couple of minutes longer than the first installment, it feels considerably more so as the plot does drag a little in places. While the exploration of Po's history is good for character development, it does at times cause the main story to lose momentum, a problem the first film, with it's much more linear plot, never suffered. I also feel the film's finale takes the whole "inner peace" message behind the story's martial arts elements a little too far, and the very final shot of the film is simply a narrative cop-out designed purely to set up a sequel. Even so. Kung Fu Panda 2 is a thoroughly respectable sequel that often equals and sometimes even surpasses the successes of its predecessor. It looks gorgeous, is fun and action-packed, with some good jokes and nice emotional kicks. Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2016
    2
    The problem with the film is that it isn't funny. Kung Fu Panda is meant to be funny, the first one had lose of jokes and great moments, whereThe problem with the film is that it isn't funny. Kung Fu Panda is meant to be funny, the first one had lose of jokes and great moments, where as in this one, there is a single good joke that made me laugh out loud, the story is serviceable and does its job to carry the film along. But it needed the funny jokes and good humor to hold the film up, but it just doesn't have them. Expand

See all 98 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants

    Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants Image
    Published: June 16, 2010
    This week's "Toy Story 3" is Pixar's 11th feature film, and the animation house has established a remarkable record with its 10 previous releases. How does Pixar's biggest competitor, DreamWorks Animation, stack up?
  2. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.