Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: January 25, 2002
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 354 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
313
Mixed:
14
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
AndrewP.Jan 13, 2008
It is very very simple. You should NOT base a score on the comments of professional critics! - they long-word using snobs are almost be default going to hate the stupid, silly, fun of a movie like Kung Pow. The humour is awesome and It is very very simple. You should NOT base a score on the comments of professional critics! - they long-word using snobs are almost be default going to hate the stupid, silly, fun of a movie like Kung Pow. The humour is awesome and ridiculous. The lack of a plot hardly even matters. Ignore anyone who has a 'movie-blog' site, and listen to someone who enjoys a silly bit of naked gun humour. Watch this movie it is absolutely awesome! Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful
10
DonimoMay 15, 2008
As per usual, the critics don't understand the oh so complicated concept of comedy (hyperbole). The person that calls this film "uninspired" would have to be dead on the inside - which by the way is no coincidence because to not to As per usual, the critics don't understand the oh so complicated concept of comedy (hyperbole). The person that calls this film "uninspired" would have to be dead on the inside - which by the way is no coincidence because to not to literally laugh out loud throughout this movie, you must indeed be dead. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful
10
ErikPoopDec 11, 2007
Great movie, really depends on your sense of humor. You either like it or love it.
6 of 6 users found this helpful
10
BettyP.Dec 14, 2007
There is no movie out there like Kung Pow. Where the heck is the sequel?
6 of 6 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Apr 18, 2008
One of THE funniest movies I've ever seen. And don't get this movies just because the critics gave it a low score; THE CRITICS DON'T KNOW WHAT'S FUNNY ANYMORE.
6 of 6 users found this helpful
10
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
Hilariously funny and a priceless comedy that will keep you laughing till the end. I really enjoyed it and I am sure a lot of others would enjoy it too.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
imthenoobFeb 20, 2012
This movie is hilarious from start to finish. Its the parody of parody films imo. I am super pissed off that they didnt make a sequel (as hinted in the film). A must see comedy imo.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
JohnMarkF.Mar 3, 2008
Hysterical. Critics should not rate comedies, this is one of the greatest. It got me through middle school and still makes me laugh.
4 of 4 users found this helpful
10
KatieJJun 30, 2008
This is a great movie. I'm still waiting for that sequel. This movie is so quote-able! Definitely one of my favorite comedies.
4 of 4 users found this helpful
9
RonB.Apr 18, 2006
I loved this movie. it is childish and stupid, but I can't help but love it. Like scary movie with some occasional kung foo jokes. It is pretty origional. not much violence, so if u are lookin for that look at kung fu hustle, another I loved this movie. it is childish and stupid, but I can't help but love it. Like scary movie with some occasional kung foo jokes. It is pretty origional. not much violence, so if u are lookin for that look at kung fu hustle, another childish movie that i loved. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful
10
ZachH.Apr 26, 2008
This movie is awesome on a grand scale. Give me a freakin sequel already
4 of 4 users found this helpful
10
AlexT.Apr 25, 2008
The funniest dub of a movie I have EVER seen. The critics are uptight snobs. I loved this. It made me crack up so many times.
4 of 4 users found this helpful
9
iniduApr 14, 2012
For some reason it won't allow me to adjust my rating to a ten. Consider that a bug. This is one of the funniest movies I've ever seen, and I don't know what the hell the critics were smoking when they rated it.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
FrederikP.Mar 23, 2007
Come on reviewers!! I can see that you could loose some of your sense of humour when your sitting in a dark cinema all day, but I can't belive that you can't see the brilliance of this film. It's just pure silly fun and that Come on reviewers!! I can see that you could loose some of your sense of humour when your sitting in a dark cinema all day, but I can't belive that you can't see the brilliance of this film. It's just pure silly fun and that is all it is trying to be! It accomplishes this perfectly... "Tigers... Tigers.... Birdie Birdie". Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
WillN.Jun 23, 2008
Hilarious. The funniest stupid movie I have had the good pleasure of seeing.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
MikeHAug 29, 2009
Absolutely hilarious!!!! but only if you watch the whole thing and realize how much effort steve oedekirk actually put into making it. a couple of my idiot friends watched parts of it and then assumed it was crap. IT'S NOT!!!!! funny Absolutely hilarious!!!! but only if you watch the whole thing and realize how much effort steve oedekirk actually put into making it. a couple of my idiot friends watched parts of it and then assumed it was crap. IT'S NOT!!!!! funny funny funny. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
PatR.May 18, 2008
This is by far one of the funniest movies I have ever seen.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
9
tomh.Dec 12, 2006
A hilarious movie with great voicing by oederkerk.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
9
SamBDec 21, 2006
As if this is on the 200 worst rated movies! I thought it was hilarious and judging the the user reviews so did others. Why can't the critics just take a movie for a light hearted comedic escape.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
BeylieNov 22, 2013
How can this movie not be loved? It never takes itself seriously and has some great laughs!! That's a LOTTA NUTS! My favourite comedy of all time. I see the critics gave it extremely low scores. Their dreams must have died with them growingHow can this movie not be loved? It never takes itself seriously and has some great laughs!! That's a LOTTA NUTS! My favourite comedy of all time. I see the critics gave it extremely low scores. Their dreams must have died with them growing to morbid. This never pretends to a good movie, but a fun one it sure it! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
ZerocydeApr 26, 2012
This Metacritic page is a prime example of why 90 year olds and kids who like Jersey Shore shouldn't be allowed to act as professional critics. They both have the same taste in slapstick: None.

Kung Pow is a flat out classic of slapstick,
This Metacritic page is a prime example of why 90 year olds and kids who like Jersey Shore shouldn't be allowed to act as professional critics. They both have the same taste in slapstick: None.

Kung Pow is a flat out classic of slapstick, and if I find out any of Critics who reviewed this poorly ever gave a better review to ANY Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer movie, I will personally track them down and spend the rest of my life defecating on their porch every morning.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
RubenN.Jul 1, 2007
0? Really? Perfect for a good laugh and maiming your love for kung-fu movies, in a good way, that is.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BillV.Oct 20, 2005
The people who review this harshly lack imagination and are frustrated by things they dont understand. Lighten up Francis.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
SidWMar 22, 2010
It's almost unbelievable how hilarious this film truly is. If you love Monty Python, you'll certainly love this. The absurdity is something to cherish. It takes masterful skill to create such comedic bliss with this spoofing style. It's almost unbelievable how hilarious this film truly is. If you love Monty Python, you'll certainly love this. The absurdity is something to cherish. It takes masterful skill to create such comedic bliss with this spoofing style. I will admit though, sometimes it can be a bit childish, but most of the time, I'm laughing harder than I ever have at film(other than The Holy Grail). I can confidently say this was the funniest movie of the decade. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
ChrisK.Jan 19, 2006
Lets be serious. It is a spoof. It is dubbed. Some people will absolutely hate this movie. Much the same as a lot of my friends hated Airplain, Fletch, and History of the World. But lets be honest, it makes you laugh. Honestly, I thought I Lets be serious. It is a spoof. It is dubbed. Some people will absolutely hate this movie. Much the same as a lot of my friends hated Airplain, Fletch, and History of the World. But lets be honest, it makes you laugh. Honestly, I thought I might have to be drunk to enjoy this movie. Bad Idea. I forgot half the stuff, and had to watch it sober. I still laughed like hell. It is soooooo very simple. But I like that kind of humor. How simple could a line be. "I'm a man too you know, I go pee pee standing up." Think about that, if anyone of your friends came up to you and said that, you might just crap your pants laughing. I have found a movie like this sometimes will get a bad review, because people or critics will look into the plot too much, or complain about the lack of a story. Please people give it a rest. The movie was made to make us laugh, and it very simply does that. I hope they really do make a sequal to it. The hint at a sequal at the end of the movie. The did that with Spaceballs too. Oh yeah a nother movie which I am sure got bad reviews, but made me laugh. Enjoy this movie, don't watch it with your girlfriend though. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
WallyF.Aug 17, 2006
Wow. Never expected to see such a low score for this movie. I never saw it in theaters, a friend brought it over a couple years ago. I bought my own copy the very next day. This movie is destined to be a classic, though it obviously does not Wow. Never expected to see such a low score for this movie. I never saw it in theaters, a friend brought it over a couple years ago. I bought my own copy the very next day. This movie is destined to be a classic, though it obviously does not bridge generational gaps very well. A follow up would be very much appreciated. The only thing that kept me from giving this movie a 10 was the heavily-touted cow fight scene, which is very out of place and falls flat. Outside of that 3-4 minute bit, this film leaves you in stiches. If you enjoy this kinda stuff, I guarantee you'll watch it more than once. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KenjiCMay 18, 2008
One of the funniest parody movies ever imagined. Although there is little to no plot, that flaw hardly matters, because you shouldn't go to a comedy movie for the plot. But all in all, you either love this movie or you hate it.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AdamSSep 10, 2009
I never get tired of watching this movie. I also never get tired of people who just don't get it. I have a pretty warped sense of humour, and even that isn't enough sometimes to get enjoyment out of this film for some people, but I I never get tired of watching this movie. I also never get tired of people who just don't get it. I have a pretty warped sense of humour, and even that isn't enough sometimes to get enjoyment out of this film for some people, but I most certainly do. The ending is absolutely stupid, but that goes without saying in an entirely stupid movie. But that is its charm. Please Steve, I want a sequel that's just as stupid and funny and rediculously mental as soon as possible. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
TylerLMar 29, 2010
Very entertaining and silly. It wasn't made to make sense, thats why critics don't like it. It was entertaining nonetheless.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
PhilipF.Jul 16, 2007
One of the funniest films I have ever seen. It helps if you have some familiarity with Hong Kong martial arts films. You will either love it or hate it, and I loved it.
2 of 2 users found this helpful