Picturehouse Entertainment | Release Date: June 8, 2007
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 100 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
79
Mixed:
14
Negative:
7
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
diego9901Oct 20, 2013
is regular until Marion Cotillard appears she alone can carry the whole movie because his acting sweet and dramatic and also have a harrowing scenes...
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
KellyS.Jun 8, 2007
Brilliant acting, dark and painful to watch, however the movie , the music, her life all amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WillH.Jun 13, 2007
This movie is an extaordinary experience and Ms.Cotillard gives a tour de force performance! Just as some U.S. critics never 'got' Piaf, some present day critics didn't get this film. Even if you are not familiar with Piaf, This movie is an extaordinary experience and Ms.Cotillard gives a tour de force performance! Just as some U.S. critics never 'got' Piaf, some present day critics didn't get this film. Even if you are not familiar with Piaf, you will be astounded by the voice and the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottP.Jun 9, 2007
The critics missed this one, raw and powerful, with a climactic sequence that manages to be bleak and despairing, and uplifting and deeply moving at the same time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SamuelJul 23, 2007
I thought this film was a very good biopic of one of France's greatest exports. Edith Piaf's music and voice continue to touch new fans and this movie really gives a nice overview into her life. Acting was superb. The only knock I I thought this film was a very good biopic of one of France's greatest exports. Edith Piaf's music and voice continue to touch new fans and this movie really gives a nice overview into her life. Acting was superb. The only knock I have on this film is that it could have gone deeper into the psyche of Piaf. A towering voice deserves a towering tale, and heart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesL.Jul 29, 2007
I thought this was a beautiful and mesmerizing film in which the weak point was me; the viewer. It is the best film I have seen this year. I went into the film knowing nothing about Edith Piaf and rushed home to search her on the web. A I thought this was a beautiful and mesmerizing film in which the weak point was me; the viewer. It is the best film I have seen this year. I went into the film knowing nothing about Edith Piaf and rushed home to search her on the web. A brilliant piece of work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FScottS.Jul 8, 2007
An amazing engaging film of a conflicted tormented talented individual. A first rate experience in the movie theatre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VeraCJan 7, 2008
Mesmerizing. Marion Cotillard 10, rest of ensemble 9, movie 8. Watched it on the plane and later rented the DVD and on rewatching admired the feel and the flow of movie even more. Think the non-linear telling makes it a better movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BarryJ.Nov 25, 2007
Totally engrossing. The audience stood and applauded at the end. Marion Cotillard was excellent. One of the finest film experiences I have ever had. And the directing and editing were very effective. You came to understand the pitiful, Totally engrossing. The audience stood and applauded at the end. Marion Cotillard was excellent. One of the finest film experiences I have ever had. And the directing and editing were very effective. You came to understand the pitiful, wasted life of this artist who rode so high but could not shake her drug and alcohol problems or her roots. Like Janis Joplin, her body only lasted into her early forties. The movie tells the story so faithfully, sadly, unfortunately. But so elegantly. Certainly worthy of nomination. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonADec 10, 2007
fitting an entire life into a film is impossible. and so with that i say the editing and storyline was bold and courageous. at the expense of having the viewer keep up with the timeline, the movie gave life to the deep tragedies her voice fitting an entire life into a film is impossible. and so with that i say the editing and storyline was bold and courageous. at the expense of having the viewer keep up with the timeline, the movie gave life to the deep tragedies her voice carried in her songs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanaJun 15, 2007
C'etait magnifique!!!! The story was incredible and Marion Cotillard even more so. Bravo!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RitBJun 18, 2007
If you see this film you will remember it for a long, long time not only for the superb acting by Marion Cotillard but for the songs of Edit Piaf. It
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinJun 23, 2007
A great movie! Its dream like sequence presumes that the audience is either familiar with Edith's life or will be motivated to find out more after the movie. The random sequence is untidy but quite original and works well in this case. A great movie! Its dream like sequence presumes that the audience is either familiar with Edith's life or will be motivated to find out more after the movie. The random sequence is untidy but quite original and works well in this case. Biopics that start at the end like "Evita" are no longer that original. Marion Cotillard makes you believe that she is Edith. My only complaint is that the movies does overdramatize an already difficult life when it did not need to. I for one would not call Edith's life a tragic one, but one filled with tremendous highs and loves, in addititon to shattering and tragic lows. Of note, Edith was surrounded by people who truly cared about her and she died in the arms of a much younger second husband who catered to her every need. Unlike many tragic figures, she did not die alone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdaMJun 25, 2007
I highly recommend this movie, but it is long and because the storyline kind of flash forward and backward a bit too much, it can get confusing at times (a lot of the time leaping took place between her late 20s and early 30s, therefore her I highly recommend this movie, but it is long and because the storyline kind of flash forward and backward a bit too much, it can get confusing at times (a lot of the time leaping took place between her late 20s and early 30s, therefore her looks didn't change very much so it gets hard to get the sequence right, the fact that I had to read the caption doesn't help but it's my fault for not understanding French!! Because of the length bring a cushion with you if you can (I was in a cinema with well worn seats that resemble recliners, I had to crane my neck throughout that 140 minutes in order to watch the movie and not the cinema's ceiling). I am going to watch it again this week with a seat at the back (so that it is easier to read the caption while watching the rest of the screen) and a cushion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyS.Jun 30, 2007
Nicle Kidman played Virginia Woolf, Charlize Theron played Aileen Wournos, Reese Witherspoon played June Carter Cash, Helen Mirren played Queen Elizabeth and they won 4 of the last 5 Best Actress Oscars for playing famous women,with that in Nicle Kidman played Virginia Woolf, Charlize Theron played Aileen Wournos, Reese Witherspoon played June Carter Cash, Helen Mirren played Queen Elizabeth and they won 4 of the last 5 Best Actress Oscars for playing famous women,with that in mind, go ahead and engrave Marion Cotillard's name on the 2007 Best Actress Oscar because she not only plays Edith Piaf in Le Vie En Rose, she actually becomes Edith Piaf! It just may be the first case of a true channeling ever captured on film. It is, without a doubt, without a flaw and without an asterick, one of the five greatest female performances ever put on film! Bravo, little sparrow, Bravo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyJul 11, 2007
Tremendous movie worthy of OSCAR consideration for Marion Cotillard who is simply superb as the late Edith Piaf. I am at a loss to understand why this film is not in wider release. It is a work of art and should not be missed. A perfect 10!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexandraJul 14, 2007
I thought this film was fantastic, and am perplexed by the reviews. Marrion Cotillard's performance as Edith Piaf was astonishing, harrowing, and the film was constructed in a way as to symbolize the various complexities that made Edith I thought this film was fantastic, and am perplexed by the reviews. Marrion Cotillard's performance as Edith Piaf was astonishing, harrowing, and the film was constructed in a way as to symbolize the various complexities that made Edith the truly unique star that she was. This film is great for anyone who appreciates the triumph of spirit over inconceivable odds. Extraordinary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
bobG.Mar 29, 2008
i'm not sure if the construction of the history was the best, but for me it was good enough; but what mezemerize me the most is the exceptional performance of Cotillard.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidJun 13, 2007
Marion Cotillard's performance is one of the most electrifying, totally committed tours de force I've ever seen; astonishing, riveting, and utterly haunting. The film that contains it is harrowing to watch, bleak and dark (as well Marion Cotillard's performance is one of the most electrifying, totally committed tours de force I've ever seen; astonishing, riveting, and utterly haunting. The film that contains it is harrowing to watch, bleak and dark (as well as quite beautiful), relentless and perhaps over-long...but it is also a fever-dream and a work of art, that makes no judgment on, and draws no easy conclusions about, an extraordinary, and extraordinarily brief and tragic, life. I dare you to look away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SylviaE.Jun 14, 2007
I saw this film a few days ago and am still riveted by it. Marion Cotillard's performance is extraordinary, I have never seen an actress encompass a role so completely. Although harrowing at times; the combination of story, I saw this film a few days ago and am still riveted by it. Marion Cotillard's performance is extraordinary, I have never seen an actress encompass a role so completely. Although harrowing at times; the combination of story, cinematography, music and performance makes the experience well worth while. This one is a keeper for the ages. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkG.Jun 18, 2007
Marion Cotillard's sensitive portrayal of Edith Piaf is truly one of the most affecting and devastating performances in cinema history, as powerful and moving as any I have ever seen. I have a BA in drama, have seen countless thousands Marion Cotillard's sensitive portrayal of Edith Piaf is truly one of the most affecting and devastating performances in cinema history, as powerful and moving as any I have ever seen. I have a BA in drama, have seen countless thousands of films and this movie shook me to my core. Anyone who wants to be an actor should watch this film and see what it is all about. This is the top of Mt. Everest, the pinnacle of what is possible, what goes beyond acting to the realm of truly being, to channeling the soul of another and letting it possess you completely. Few portraits have ever been so utterly true. Marion Cotillard is the greatest actress of her generation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
bobbJul 22, 2007
Academy award performance! Giulietta Massina revisited. Outstanding production. 10 minutes too long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
XavierP.Sep 22, 2007
Beautiful, compelling, perfect acting (Oscar caliber), capturing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeP.Feb 17, 2008
I don't typically attack other postings in my review, but the fact that 'advance scout team' guy Mark B. spent such a great deal of effort degrading Cotilllard's brilliant performance is baffling to me. This movie was I don't typically attack other postings in my review, but the fact that 'advance scout team' guy Mark B. spent such a great deal of effort degrading Cotilllard's brilliant performance is baffling to me. This movie was extraordinarily well made, and Cotillard's performance is impeccable. This is the stuff of legends. Great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ERG1008Sep 13, 2010
A wonderful performance from Marion Cotillard as Edith Piaf.
With a strong supporting cast, the film keeps your attention for the whole 2 & a half hours.
The incidental music is superb, so much that I bought the soundtrack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
scrieciuAug 13, 2011
Since I saw Marion Cotillard in the movie '' Inception '', I became a fan, because she's such a beautiful and talented actress. After I found out she won an Oscar for this movie, I had to see it. '' La vie en rose '' (original title is '' LaSince I saw Marion Cotillard in the movie '' Inception '', I became a fan, because she's such a beautiful and talented actress. After I found out she won an Oscar for this movie, I had to see it. '' La vie en rose '' (original title is '' La môme '' ) is a captivating, entertaining and melancholic movie. It's the first time that I really felt sad for a character. Marion delivered such an amazing performance, that I couldn't even recognized her. She totally deserved that Oscar. It's the kind of movie that a teacher will make the students watch in class for an educational purpose. Well, it would have been the best. I enjoyed it and I had no problem understanding (okay okay, I speck french, sorry for putting it in your face). What I mean is, it's better to see it in the original language. Because if you see it with english subtitles, or if it's translated in english, it won't be necessarily the same thing (emotions, effect, plus it doesn't always translate expressions correctly). Anyway, french or not, you can still be amazed by this film. The cinematography is wonderful. The filmmakers did a good job for creating the ambiance from approximately 1920 to 1963. Of course, it also has some great classic songs. I wish I knew Marion Cotillard earlier, but I'm glad that I had the chance to see it. If you're a fan of dramas or melancholy, this movie is for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HalfwelshmanSep 23, 2011
Just as a biopic should be, it's all about one person. If the actress playing Edith Piaf wasn't up to scratch, the film wouldn't work at all. Thankfully, Marion Cotillard is absolutely captivating. The inhabits the role to such an extent thatJust as a biopic should be, it's all about one person. If the actress playing Edith Piaf wasn't up to scratch, the film wouldn't work at all. Thankfully, Marion Cotillard is absolutely captivating. The inhabits the role to such an extent that you can forget that you're watching an actress. The film itself, through the way the story is told, is able to manipulate your emotions so effectively that you may find yourself laughing one moment and sobbing fat tears the very next. Piaf's iconic songs also perfectly compliment the story of her remarkable, if tragic life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Iky009Sep 16, 2015
The life of Edith Piaf is told in a way so that cohabitant can not help but applaud the fantastic performance of Marion Cotillard, who embodies the surreal way the character. The film is wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AriayiApr 22, 2015
everytime i find out that a movie is about a celeb or it's a biopic, i would hesitate to watch it or not,but this movie,absolutely is marvelous and i've been watched it three time.
magnificant role play by dear Marion Cotillard and make up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
David05Sep 9, 2016
This movie is really captivating and deeply sentimental, there were aspects in the plot that were not pretty clear, they didn't show certain things of Edith Piaf's life that I consider are important for the development of the story, someThis movie is really captivating and deeply sentimental, there were aspects in the plot that were not pretty clear, they didn't show certain things of Edith Piaf's life that I consider are important for the development of the story, some things were not well exposed to make the movie clear enough but generally the movie could transmit Piaf's heart and soul, there were many beautiful scenes and Marion Cotillard's performance was excellent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews