User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 384 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoshC.
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    Great movie--but you have to watch it as a fable. Not a horror film, not a "M. Night-twist" film, but as a fable. Enjoyed the characterizations. A rare summer movie that actual made me feel something while watching it, and think a lot afterwards.
  2. NicoleV.
    Jul 22, 2006
    10
    I didn't know what to expect and given the reviews, I wasn't expecting too much thinking the story might be confusing or, as one critic said "with too many holes in it". It is not confusing at all!! And the story was great- inspiring, humorous, suspenseful, symbolic, heartfelt... It definitely surpassed my expectation! I liked MNS other movies, but this is my favorie now by far I didn't know what to expect and given the reviews, I wasn't expecting too much thinking the story might be confusing or, as one critic said "with too many holes in it". It is not confusing at all!! And the story was great- inspiring, humorous, suspenseful, symbolic, heartfelt... It definitely surpassed my expectation! I liked MNS other movies, but this is my favorie now by far and I have greater respect for his art now. I can see where some critic gave bad reviews because MNS basically makes fun of them by incorporating a critic character into the film as someone who doesn't know good films. The critics definitiely don't know a good film when they see it! This maybe a fairytale, but many people missed that it is still a representation of life now. Expand
  3. David
    Aug 4, 2006
    8
    critics have been much to severe on this flick, its not "signs" or "sixth sense", but, it is a great fairy tale telling, with the odd characters we have to expect from this screenwriter. that a character playing a film/book critic is the only victim of a grizzly (off screen) death, likely motivated most of the red ink. well worth matinee money!
  4. RandyM>
    Aug 5, 2006
    9
    I was a bit skeptical when first hearing about Lady in the Water. I admit I do love Shyamalan's movies, but this one looked a little strange. And after seeing it, I admit it, it still is strange. But Lady in the Water is one of the most captivating fables I have ever witnessed. The movie also gets bonus points for having some pretty frightening sequences. The Scrunts are terrifying.
  5. Keli
    Aug 6, 2006
    9
    I absolutely adored this movie. It's been a while since I read any theatre theory, but I thought the "sloppy filmaking" felt more like an intentional alienation effect, used to make the audience ponder why Shyamalan would transport an epic fantasy into a thoroughly modern setting. I am so glad I went to see it in spite of the negative reviews.
  6. D.C.
    Aug 9, 2006
    4
    I find it very interesting that Shyamalan has such a cult following by some and can be dismissed by others (especially critics at times). I think this film desrves all the comments here... it is good in some respects (atmosphere, cinematography, some of the acting) and pretty formulaic in many others. I think Shyamalan tries hard to establish himself as another Hitchcock and I think this I find it very interesting that Shyamalan has such a cult following by some and can be dismissed by others (especially critics at times). I think this film desrves all the comments here... it is good in some respects (atmosphere, cinematography, some of the acting) and pretty formulaic in many others. I think Shyamalan tries hard to establish himself as another Hitchcock and I think this is part of the problem. Every new generation of filmgoers wants an auteur to call their own (especially one with such a cool name) and that perhaps explains all the 9's and 10's people are giving it here. At the same time, the 1's are not fair either. But I do understand the low scores as Shyamalan is beginning to feel like another Tarantino as his films have a hard time living up to the high expectations and hype. The film is fairly decent but I would say rent it. Shyamalan stands out from the mostly crap that is coming out of Hollywood these days, but there are much more compeling and interesting films (independent and international) to see out there. Expand
  7. RandallP.
    Sep 1, 2006
    9
    M. Night Shymalan, achieves old world mythic reverence for the unknown... in the most mundane of urban settings. The film contrasts what we know with what we feel... or at least used to feel .. towards the shadows and noises that disturb us at night. This isn't meant to be shlock horror.. it is meant to be dark fantasy.. the way the old world feared fairy ringy and dopplegangers... M. Night Shymalan, achieves old world mythic reverence for the unknown... in the most mundane of urban settings. The film contrasts what we know with what we feel... or at least used to feel .. towards the shadows and noises that disturb us at night. This isn't meant to be shlock horror.. it is meant to be dark fantasy.. the way the old world feared fairy ringy and dopplegangers... Has our sense of wonder been so eroded that we trash even the exploration of this theme? Expand
  8. ShereefE.
    May 8, 2007
    10
    I believe the people reviewing this movie are too sick to understand the truthness of Night's movies. You all seem to judge Night's movies on the basis of them being Horror movies. BUT THEY ARE NOT HORROR MOVIES!! As some, who may sometimes be able to open their minds to new ideas, may have noticed, all of his films relate to a certain important topic on life: such as religion, I believe the people reviewing this movie are too sick to understand the truthness of Night's movies. You all seem to judge Night's movies on the basis of them being Horror movies. BUT THEY ARE NOT HORROR MOVIES!! As some, who may sometimes be able to open their minds to new ideas, may have noticed, all of his films relate to a certain important topic on life: such as religion, self-hate, self-ignorance, society and it's corruption on people, and even politics. If one just looks at the trailer, thinking that Night takes on the Horror genre at full, and runs to watch a movie they hope will present headless ghouls, bloody beasts, gruesome monsters and all the like (IMO this type of horror film is disgusting, and it has evolved in the last 10 years devastatingly, perhaps to keep the people's minds off what is truly horrible in this world), it is only normal that they will be dissapointed. However, if one goes into the Theatre with a clear conscience on his mind, he will soon realise the pureness of the film. This review is not only for The VIllage, but also for all the other Night movies that I feel were undoubtedly underrated, such as The VIllage or Signs. Some people are unable to understand that Night does not undertake the Horror genre as his dominating genre, he simply uses it to spice up his film and make it slightly more enticing and eye-grabbing for the people. And again, one must always remember that the horror genre has moved to heights that were before unimaginable. So to compre Night's horror with these new horrors would be to compare something non-comparable. That is all I have to say. I hope you will take this review seriously, and remember that I am not writing this review in hate towards the mainstream reviews, but simply in anger towards how they rate such movies that do not comply to one genre alone. Peace to you all. Expand
  9. HarvG.
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    Weird, all the negative reviews. I had a knot in my throat several times in the movie. I can totally understand why someone wouldn't like this movie, but to say M.N.S. can't tell a story is wrong.
  10. K.Shanmuga
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    Simply and truly superb. Shyamalan has once again proved his superior movie making abilities. I am sure that "Lady..." will once again prove all those critics wrong and be a runaway hit.
  11. SusanH.
    Jul 21, 2006
    9
    beautiful and suprising. Disagree with most of the reviews, again.
  12. GregoryB.
    Jul 22, 2006
    8
    I can't believe this got such low reviews from critics, but I can see why. M. Night, isn't really liked by them in the first place, cast himself a small part in his own movie, and even had a critic character in this that was made fun and says in the movie, "there is nothing original anymore." Well if that critic would have stepped out of the screen, he would have seen something I can't believe this got such low reviews from critics, but I can see why. M. Night, isn't really liked by them in the first place, cast himself a small part in his own movie, and even had a critic character in this that was made fun and says in the movie, "there is nothing original anymore." Well if that critic would have stepped out of the screen, he would have seen something that was. If you liked the village, you will like this. It is a beautiful story that is intriguing as it is hypnotic. It is "slow" as there isn't anything blowing up every 5 seconds, but who wants that 24/7. The acting is superb and as I don't think he should have necessarily cast himself in this, he does a good job. GO SEE IT. My fiancee and I love his movies and were talking for an hour after this one. Critics should drop their biases and grudges and see this movie for what it really is, a compelling and thought provoking tale. Expand
  13. JeffreyA.
    Jul 22, 2006
    10
    I never expect much from critics, but reading the reviews before seeing the movie my expectations were a lot lower. However, I was completely blown away after watching the movie. M is brilliant in creating a fairytale that shadows paradigm shifts that are occuring in our present time. I love the characters, the way they evolve over time and the emotions they create on film. If you can I never expect much from critics, but reading the reviews before seeing the movie my expectations were a lot lower. However, I was completely blown away after watching the movie. M is brilliant in creating a fairytale that shadows paradigm shifts that are occuring in our present time. I love the characters, the way they evolve over time and the emotions they create on film. If you can connect with this movie through it's layers and symbolism you will be in for a beautiful movie experience. As for holes in the story line, uhm, there are none! Expand
  14. CynthiaL.
    Jul 27, 2006
    8
    I found the movie entertaining. A story, that kept my attention to the very end. I think the critics wanted this movie to fail. They were panning it before people got a chance to see it for themselves.
  15. PopR.
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    If this movie was made by Sofia coppola or Spielberg without changing anything Critics would give an excelent review to Lady, but their critics are about Night Shyamalan not about the movie, therefore his movies are not made for they, are made for us, the common public who without prejudices only go to the theaters to enjoy a fantastic and original tale. Remember he ( Night ) gave us the If this movie was made by Sofia coppola or Spielberg without changing anything Critics would give an excelent review to Lady, but their critics are about Night Shyamalan not about the movie, therefore his movies are not made for they, are made for us, the common public who without prejudices only go to the theaters to enjoy a fantastic and original tale. Remember he ( Night ) gave us the best performances of Bruce willis, Mel gibson, Holey joel osment and Bryce dallas...etc. Expand
  16. SarahB.
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    Being a fan of Shyamalan I couldn't wait for this movie to come out. I believe he did not disappoint. One thing with M. Night that I love is that you have to get past the "horror" in his movies and look for the deaper meaning and intricate story. I thought "Ladyin the Water" was his most spectacular attempt in story telling, as beautiful stories go. I loved the symbolism, the humor, Being a fan of Shyamalan I couldn't wait for this movie to come out. I believe he did not disappoint. One thing with M. Night that I love is that you have to get past the "horror" in his movies and look for the deaper meaning and intricate story. I thought "Ladyin the Water" was his most spectacular attempt in story telling, as beautiful stories go. I loved the symbolism, the humor, the suprise. It was Shyamalan and I loved it! Perhaps I'm biased, but I think everyone should give this one a try. Expand
  17. BitBurn
    Jul 30, 2006
    8
    This was, yet, another strong picture by M.Night and yes its right up there with Sixth Sense, Signs and The Village. A matter of fact, the movie was exactly what I come to expect from M.Night and I mean this in a good way. Yes, he uses the same twists and spookiness as usual and this is possibly why he was booed by Hollywood critics but, come on, the guy has nothing to prove here. His This was, yet, another strong picture by M.Night and yes its right up there with Sixth Sense, Signs and The Village. A matter of fact, the movie was exactly what I come to expect from M.Night and I mean this in a good way. Yes, he uses the same twists and spookiness as usual and this is possibly why he was booed by Hollywood critics but, come on, the guy has nothing to prove here. His recipe works, just like a Big Mac, and that's why we like it so much! Expand
  18. MichaelK.
    Jul 24, 2006
    1
    Erin D.- given that your response is the most rational of all, there should be no reason for you to question it. this movie just made me cringe more and more as it became hopelessly derailed. the dialogue was clumsy and entirely unrealistic, characterization was rote and forced, cinematography was nonexistent or at least very plain (except for the one shot at the very end which removed Erin D.- given that your response is the most rational of all, there should be no reason for you to question it. this movie just made me cringe more and more as it became hopelessly derailed. the dialogue was clumsy and entirely unrealistic, characterization was rote and forced, cinematography was nonexistent or at least very plain (except for the one shot at the very end which removed from context was pretty cool) and the story was overburdened to the point where it might as well have not been there. Best part of the film, the minute-long stick figure animated piece at the beginning which was the ONLY part free of pretension. The only salvation that night was following it up with Kevin Smith's Clerks II to wash out the horrendous aftertaste. Now I would actually look forward to one of Shamylan's contrived twists. Expand
  19. MattF.
    Jul 20, 2006
    1
    absolutely ghastly. A twisted, uninteresting pile of steaming dung.
  20. A.Blankenship
    Aug 1, 2006
    1
    This movie is on par with "Manos: The Hands of Fate." I was too offended to watch the scenes with Shyamalan's acting in them, preferring to watch the drapes on the walls of the theater instead. Alas, I could not escape the condescension in the tone of his voice, and I have not been more bitterly disappointed by a film in my entire life.
  21. JacksonE.
    Jul 21, 2006
    0
    It appears from other votes that you will either love this film or hate it. To quote Blaine and Antoine . . . Hated it!
  22. RathM.
    Jul 21, 2006
    1
    Someone please stop him before he makes another truly pathetic attempt at storytelling. "M" really needs to stuff his ego where the sun doesn't shine, fire the yes men around him and truly work on something that isn't utter tripe. First year film school students produce better films than this garbage. I saw this as a free pre-screening promotion and still want a refund and my time back!
  23. jaimeharrington
    Jul 22, 2006
    2
    Horrible film. What was he thinking? I liked his earlier films but hits is embarrassing bad. Giamatti did a good job in his role (thus the 2 rating).
  24. DavidB.
    Jul 23, 2006
    1
    Disaster. What an absolute mess. Would be a 0 if not for some unintended comedy from the narfs, tartutics, scrunts, and the great eatlon. Can't help but get a laugh when the tartutics jump out of the trees to attack the scrunt, which is a evil grass hyena. ;)
  25. DavidL.
    Jul 26, 2006
    2
    My friends and i were unable reach a consensus...was it embarrassingly bad, laughably bad, or tragically bad? however, we did all agree on contrived, pretentious, and stupefying. All of which is especially disappointing for me personally, as i thought, and still think, that "The Sixth Sense" is a masterpiece, and a far better picture than that year's Oscar winner "American Beauty" i My friends and i were unable reach a consensus...was it embarrassingly bad, laughably bad, or tragically bad? however, we did all agree on contrived, pretentious, and stupefying. All of which is especially disappointing for me personally, as i thought, and still think, that "The Sixth Sense" is a masterpiece, and a far better picture than that year's Oscar winner "American Beauty" i rate "Lady In The Water" a '2' rather than a' zero' for two reasons: a beautifully evocative and sometimes truly haunting atmosphere (the cinematography and score, both excellent); and an against-all-odds beautiful and haunting lead performance by Bryce Dallas Howard, who is compellingy otherworldly and somehow entirely convincing (in a critical, but very difficult-to-carry-off part), despite the inconsistent and idiotic (and shockingly predictable) script. Without her presence the film would have been all but unwatchable, but probably even a whole lot funnier...unintentionally, of course. So, ultimately, i guess, it's really tragically bad, given the director's obvious and previously established talent, and also his apparent lack of humilty and self-awareness as an artist; he needs to spend less time and energy manufacturing and proclaiming his own cultural significance, and more time doing what he has so effectively done in the past: just create entertainment. In the end it's about the AUDIENCE, Mr Shyamalan, not about YOU. Expand
  26. TeresaW.
    Aug 1, 2006
    3
    The film was weak throughout, cluttered beyond understanding and, most notably, uninteresting as a whole. Lady in the Water leaves its audience aching as the forced plot strains their attention span.
  27. MaryS.
    Aug 1, 2006
    10
    It was what I expected. A very sensational movie that I want to see again.
  28. SriHarshaK
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    WOW and Awesome were the two words tht came to my mouth after watching the film. Almost perfect.....one of his best. And critics should just shut up and limit themselves to the normal crap that they like. Worth watching twice and i am dying to watch it again.
  29. [Anonymous]
    Jul 26, 2006
    8
    Good movie.
  30. DianaG.
    Aug 11, 2006
    10
    One of best this year, but not a movie for all kind of people ( critics for example ). A wonder tale, film made of heart.
  31. PabloE
    Jan 10, 2008
    8
    Maybe I am stupid, but I was touched by this movie. It is just a fairy tale after all and in my humble opinion much better than all that predictable Harry Potter cultural non-sense.
  32. EddieS.
    Jul 22, 2006
    9
    Definitely better than what the critics would have you believe. maybe they were offended by the movie critic character in the movie...
  33. LouV.
    Jul 22, 2006
    10
    Something different and memorable good acting.
  34. OliverC.
    Jul 23, 2006
    8
    This movie is very different than what the commercials suggested, it isn't really a scary movie though it has scary parts. Its fun, a lot of fun, and the problem people have with this movie is that they take the plot too seriously. Of course it doesn't make perfect sense because it's a fairy tale. It means more than that, to me it tried to show how important all of the This movie is very different than what the commercials suggested, it isn't really a scary movie though it has scary parts. Its fun, a lot of fun, and the problem people have with this movie is that they take the plot too seriously. Of course it doesn't make perfect sense because it's a fairy tale. It means more than that, to me it tried to show how important all of the people you meet in life are even if they have small roles and how people can accomplish things if they work together. It also has cool monsters. Expand
  35. MatthewX.
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    Tina B. has proven to me in her review that she simply did not understand the point, message, or purpose of this excellent fairytale. The fact that she refers to is as not plausible shows that she was not willing to accept any sort of fantastical child's story that personally made me feel like I was five again. One of the reason's Shyamalan is a genius is the subtle lines ans Tina B. has proven to me in her review that she simply did not understand the point, message, or purpose of this excellent fairytale. The fact that she refers to is as not plausible shows that she was not willing to accept any sort of fantastical child's story that personally made me feel like I was five again. One of the reason's Shyamalan is a genius is the subtle lines ans scenes he carefully puts in to remind the audience that they should forget about all the serious crap that plagues us today and remember what it was like to be a child when you would truly believe a story like this could be real. It was a very affecting and inspiring movie that I recommend everyone see. Critics needs to stop being so old and take the sticks out of their you know wheres. Collapse
  36. SilusG.
    Jul 23, 2006
    8
    Not MNS's best, but certainly a solid showing... and his larger budget is nicely reflected in better creature work. The difficulty is that this movie is a fairy tale
  37. DesireeD.
    Jul 24, 2006
    10
    My favorite of M.N.S. , some critics hate his movies, why?, I love his style.
  38. CathyS.
    Aug 1, 2006
    10
    I can enjoy a lot this kind of suspense, stories and actings. Giamatti excelent as usual, ( Oscar must pay attention ).
  39. DerekG.
    Aug 1, 2006
    8
    Perhaps a bit too literal of a "fairy tale," but I truly don't understand why the critics are trashing it so badly. Perhaps it's because of the critic character in the film. Did Shyamalan hit a bit too close to home?
  40. [Anonymous]
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    Good movie.
  41. KenG.
    Aug 15, 2006
    2
    [***SPOILERS***] It can be taken as an ego trip that Shyamalan cast himself as the character whose words will change the world, and it also might have helped if he was a better actor, but I won't bash him too much for that because I think he might be a better actor then he is a film-maker. It's time to admit that "The 6th sense" was some kind of freak accident, and that M. Night [***SPOILERS***] It can be taken as an ego trip that Shyamalan cast himself as the character whose words will change the world, and it also might have helped if he was a better actor, but I won't bash him too much for that because I think he might be a better actor then he is a film-maker. It's time to admit that "The 6th sense" was some kind of freak accident, and that M. Night Shyamalan has little talent as a film-maker. In fact, forget about just admitting it, it's time to shout it from the heavens, get the word out, warn people. His latest turkey (Lady in the water) is a muddled, at times incoherent mess which is so sloppy that at times he either forgets or ignores things he established ealier in film. The whole thing has an underdeveoped feel, as It feels like he is just haphazardly throwing together the various pieces of the story, before the story ever crystalized as a whole in his mind. And he really got carried away (big time) with the whole question of what role each character will play thing in the rescue, until it reaches the point where you just want to shout "Just make up your mind, and get on with the story! " Also if Shyamalan wants to bash movie critics in his movies, fine. As a group movie critics might be ripe for bashing. But it can't come off as if he's given a lot more though to how he will bash them, then he gave to the movie that he's bashing them in. Expand
  42. ShawnO.
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    This is not a movie for people who don't like to think about what they're seeing (most movie critics). The film is full of symbolism that must be understood to appreciate the story. If you're not willing to do that, don't bother going. It's really not a horror movie as some of the previews suggest. This is one of the best films of the year and well worth seeing a This is not a movie for people who don't like to think about what they're seeing (most movie critics). The film is full of symbolism that must be understood to appreciate the story. If you're not willing to do that, don't bother going. It's really not a horror movie as some of the previews suggest. This is one of the best films of the year and well worth seeing a second time. Expand
  43. Mannyto
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    Be happy and enjoy this great movie, is it for kids?, yes and for all ages, don't feel so old like many critics!!.
  44. Angelito
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    Of course it is not like Citizen Cane, there is no comparisons, but this is another time and genre, genre dominated by Night S., an excelent movie, like always taking risks, I like the result.
  45. Brendan
    Aug 2, 2006
    8
    Lady In the Water definantly does not deserve the low ratings these critics are giving. Shyamalan wrote this whole story for goodness sake! You must be pretty darn talented to come up with a story such as Lady in the Water. I definitely reccomend this movie to anyone. Great job Shyamalan!
  46. FreddyF.
    Aug 3, 2006
    10
    Well I think its a good movie, among the best 3 of this first mid of year, there are no perfect movie but this special film deserves more than 8.
  47. ChrisI.
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    Simply one of the best movies I've ever seen. I'll see it again, too, which is a rare thing for me to do. If I'd listened to the "professional critics" I would have missed out on something wonderful. The movie takes the mundane and elevates it to the unique. It takes the common and lifts it to the special. I left the movie feeling better about the world and the people in Simply one of the best movies I've ever seen. I'll see it again, too, which is a rare thing for me to do. If I'd listened to the "professional critics" I would have missed out on something wonderful. The movie takes the mundane and elevates it to the unique. It takes the common and lifts it to the special. I left the movie feeling better about the world and the people in it, and strangely moved to want to be a better person. Expand
  48. Randallturner
    Aug 5, 2006
    10
    Loved it. This is exactly what it is advertised, a bedtime story. I'm going to be a father soon, and I can't wait to share it with my boy.
  49. BrianM.
    Aug 5, 2006
    5
    Shyamalan underwhelms me once again with, 'Lady in the Water'. Granted, I wasn't expecting anything even decent when I went into the theatre, so I was not let down, merely met with an adequate film that does not disappoint, but does not excite in any way either. Although some things are "not as they seem" here, the movie is still very predictable. Shyamalan tries to throw Shyamalan underwhelms me once again with, 'Lady in the Water'. Granted, I wasn't expecting anything even decent when I went into the theatre, so I was not let down, merely met with an adequate film that does not disappoint, but does not excite in any way either. Although some things are "not as they seem" here, the movie is still very predictable. Shyamalan tries to throw some twists into the mix, but is quite unsuccessful with this. Overall, this is a pass in my opinion until it hits shelves on DVD. Then, I'd recommend renting it, because it is still not a BAD film. Certainly a step-up from the dreadful, 'The Village' I'm hoping this is the first film in re-establishing Shyamalan's touch with filmmaking that we haven't seen since 'The Sixth Sense' or 'Signs'...I sure hope so. Until then, here is an average film that we are left with. It is amazing that Shyamalan is continuously given so much creative control over his films, that many better filmmakers have not, and will never see in their careers. I do not mean to come off as a "Shyamalan hater", I did love 'Sixth Sense' and liked 'Signs' quite a bit. I suppose that's what happens when the bar is placed at such a high level to begin with. Expand
  50. Signer
    Aug 6, 2006
    10
    Mikel G. is completely right!, many of us ( the critic public ) are not fools, we know and recognize when a movie has all we want to see, an excellent bedtime story, for me its director is one of the best top 3 of this early century, The L. In the Water is for all those adults who still knows how to be happy in this hard life with wars and Tsunamies, please dont forget you were children!, Mikel G. is completely right!, many of us ( the critic public ) are not fools, we know and recognize when a movie has all we want to see, an excellent bedtime story, for me its director is one of the best top 3 of this early century, The L. In the Water is for all those adults who still knows how to be happy in this hard life with wars and Tsunamies, please dont forget you were children!, keep the faith and hope like a child does!. Expand
  51. HowardC.
    Aug 7, 2006
    9
    A warm tale told lovingly and beautifully. Critics have a baffling vendetta against Night, but his movies will outlast them.
  52. A.
    Aug 8, 2006
    10
    Like always another movie full of surprises, thanks Mr. Night. Good!.
  53. TimR.
    Jan 22, 2007
    0
    Crap. . . The Sixth Sense was ridiculous and predictable, but at least I watched the whole thing. Unfortunately, Shyamalan has turned to vinegar with age, and I fear his ego has gotten in the way of his talent and ability to judge when something of his creation is crap. Oh well, hopefully this fiasco of a film will wake the brat up a bit.
  54. AscenV.
    Feb 1, 2007
    10
    I love this film. Nothing important can be achieved without the participation of everybody. Everyone has something to say, especially children. They are nearer to the truth than adults. The voice of the heart is more powerful than the voice of reason (critics). The simpler the person is the most important his task may be. We dont need to go very far to find our purpose. Everything we need I love this film. Nothing important can be achieved without the participation of everybody. Everyone has something to say, especially children. They are nearer to the truth than adults. The voice of the heart is more powerful than the voice of reason (critics). The simpler the person is the most important his task may be. We dont need to go very far to find our purpose. Everything we need is just so close to us that we are not usually aware of it. The boy as the interpreter reading cereal boxes was so good!! This is one of my favourite films!! Expand
  55. JoeyC.
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    Poignant. Original. A terrific story told without swearing, blood, graphic violence, or sex. It's got fantasy, mystery, comedy, and suspense. Maybe the critics don't like the film because Shyamalan mocks them so directly. One of the better films I've seen in a while.
  56. Frickinmedia
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    This movie is simply Brilliant!!! Very original, full of fantasy, but in a very real,
  57. KalakaN.
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    This is the first time I have ever seen a movie like this. The opening act, where Mr. Heap is in a cupboard under a sink killing an insect, is absolutely unique; all the way through to where the Asian girl translates that her mother wished she could be more like her sister that married a dentist is so true to life, even though this is a first rate fantasy film. I loved it. I look at it This is the first time I have ever seen a movie like this. The opening act, where Mr. Heap is in a cupboard under a sink killing an insect, is absolutely unique; all the way through to where the Asian girl translates that her mother wished she could be more like her sister that married a dentist is so true to life, even though this is a first rate fantasy film. I loved it. I look at it often because there is always something I didn't get or see from a previous viewing. Expand
  58. StephenP
    Apr 2, 2009
    10
    This is my favorite movie. People who review these films should not be taken so seriously. This film is not a horror movie, but an incredible story of love, redemption, and sacrifice. Those words could be used to describe many films, but as a teenage boy who is quite a film enthusiast, never have I seen a film that has impressed me more in the acting department (let alone cinematography, This is my favorite movie. People who review these films should not be taken so seriously. This film is not a horror movie, but an incredible story of love, redemption, and sacrifice. Those words could be used to describe many films, but as a teenage boy who is quite a film enthusiast, never have I seen a film that has impressed me more in the acting department (let alone cinematography, music, or direction) than Lady in the Water. I am not a fan of Shyamalan at all, as I didn't like Sixth Sense, Signs, or the Happening. But this movie, this is something different. This movie made me want to make films when I grow up. This movie actually changed my life, and M Night's character in the movie wasn't him blowing his own horn... he was simply filling the part of a character who was in the BEDTIME STORY he thought up for his kids. I love this movie, and I only wish that people could have another chance to see this. I was fourteen when I saw this film, and I cried. I was a fourteen year old teenage boy... and I cried. Paul Giamatti, Bryce Dallas Howard, (heck, even Bob Baraban) do a fantastic job. This movie will one day (hopefully) be seen for what it really is: a cinematic masterpiece. Obviously, my views are shared with a few other folk around, the high ratings for this movie are aplenty on this website. Thank you, M Night Shyamalan for changing my life with your beautiful film, and thank you Metacritic for allowing my voice to be heard. Peace. Expand
  59. Trevor
    Dec 27, 2006
    3
    In short this is truly clunky. A fairy tale with such a ridiculously convoluted storyline, it spends almost all of its time giving an exposition. The character with most of the relevant information spends a great deal of the movie saying 'oh wait, here's something else my mother didn't tell you before'. The director's attitude to both himself (messiah) and film In short this is truly clunky. A fairy tale with such a ridiculously convoluted storyline, it spends almost all of its time giving an exposition. The character with most of the relevant information spends a great deal of the movie saying 'oh wait, here's something else my mother didn't tell you before'. The director's attitude to both himself (messiah) and film critics (killable) is self-indulgent and distasteful. Nearly everything in this film seems leaden and forced. Many of the actors give good efforts, but the dialogue they're saddled with is just so bad (and embarrasingly earnest), this was never going to work. Expand
  60. DerekP.
    Dec 29, 2006
    9
    This is a movie that requires an imagination, which, obviously, there is a lack of in the world today, and a child-like open mind towards the story.... granted, it drags on in some parts and it is somewhat korny, it is a movie that goes to many levels untouched in film today... if you really admire the splendor of this film, you'll realize the originality and fantasy that is seen in This is a movie that requires an imagination, which, obviously, there is a lack of in the world today, and a child-like open mind towards the story.... granted, it drags on in some parts and it is somewhat korny, it is a movie that goes to many levels untouched in film today... if you really admire the splendor of this film, you'll realize the originality and fantasy that is seen in few other films. Expand
  61. PeterC.
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    This movie, so under-rated and so misunderstood, rises to such beautifulness that it made me cry and if you really give it a chance it might touch you deep as well. The whole idea of oneness; deployed into such grandeur, making so much sense especially considering how our world is so very much screwed up nowadays (war in the middle east, poverty, aids, etc). No other movie has taken my This movie, so under-rated and so misunderstood, rises to such beautifulness that it made me cry and if you really give it a chance it might touch you deep as well. The whole idea of oneness; deployed into such grandeur, making so much sense especially considering how our world is so very much screwed up nowadays (war in the middle east, poverty, aids, etc). No other movie has taken my breath away as much as this one did in years. Expand
  62. DaveK.
    Jul 21, 2006
    1
    Misguidedly earnest, numbingly arbitrary. Even the long shots and layered framing is tired by now.
  63. BobS.
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    very original which is more than you can say about other films around. And funnier than I expected. I will see it again to catch more details.
  64. Xcritic
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    A very good thriller-fantasy movie to see this summer,,,well if u want something different!.
  65. MelecioR.
    Jul 22, 2006
    8
    I enjoyed it a lot, forget the critics. Its definitely very original.
  66. GregM.
    Jul 22, 2006
    2
    The fact that this is a FAIRY TALE does not excuse it from being bad. Sorry to all of those who seem to think so. It is still bad, very bad, so pretentious (which does not make it smart or brilliant, just pretentious) in its earnestness that I cringed. The best fairy tales tell us something about ourselves, this fairy tale tells us about MSN, his ego, and his lack of coherence. For theThe fact that this is a FAIRY TALE does not excuse it from being bad. Sorry to all of those who seem to think so. It is still bad, very bad, so pretentious (which does not make it smart or brilliant, just pretentious) in its earnestness that I cringed. The best fairy tales tell us something about ourselves, this fairy tale tells us about MSN, his ego, and his lack of coherence. For the love of god and everything that is good in the world, could someone inform him that as a director he makes a pretty but pretty bad movie, but as an actor he is absolutely HORRID? Not to mention it shatters our suspension of disbelief, which, last I looked, is why I go to movies. Instead I sit there thinking: ah, hey, here's the director, making his dumb cameo for which there is no reason, and isn't he a windowlicker for it? Expand
  67. DentonM.
    Jul 22, 2006
    9
    The movie was excellent. It checked the box on another genre for M. Night: fairy tale. For some reason the system decided to not like M. Night, and they've taken it out in ad homonym attacks on him. It's too bad, because they are guilty of what they accuse him of doing, using their craft to promote their own selfish agenda. This movie is an excellent movie and will stand the The movie was excellent. It checked the box on another genre for M. Night: fairy tale. For some reason the system decided to not like M. Night, and they've taken it out in ad homonym attacks on him. It's too bad, because they are guilty of what they accuse him of doing, using their craft to promote their own selfish agenda. This movie is an excellent movie and will stand the test of time. Expand
  68. HeatherC.
    Jul 23, 2006
    7
    I go to movies to be entertained. I've been told a good movie is one that makes you forget you're wearing a watch so you never look to see how long it's been going. This movie did that for me. True it's contrived and not very believable but isn't that what a fairy tale is. While there's not much entertainment in the world right now it was a fun 2 hours to go I go to movies to be entertained. I've been told a good movie is one that makes you forget you're wearing a watch so you never look to see how long it's been going. This movie did that for me. True it's contrived and not very believable but isn't that what a fairy tale is. While there's not much entertainment in the world right now it was a fun 2 hours to go to the theater and be swept away by this story and the incredible acting of Bryce Dallas Howard. I've enjoyed all of Shyamalan's movies and I think I'm one of a few so I feel this was money well spent and a good way to spend the day in rainy New England. Expand
  69. NannyR.
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    I´m not in agreement with critics, they only want to see mistakes in movies, I just want to see a good movie and enjoy it, and this film has everything to make me feel like a child again. These kind of stories must see them twice to appreciate each detail, they only see once and looking for mistakes, I can not imagine them eating pop corn ! je, je !.
  70. LuckyLux
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    I wonder with this picture, Shyamalan is a great director and actor, many have envy of him?, maybe, others , want names?, are too but too overrated, but this Lady is into the water of my imagination.
  71. Laurito
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    Hey, some critics are crazy!!, You must go and see it...If you enjoyed Signs ang the sixth sense, maybe the village, this could be your favorite movie of M. Night, yes!, the misunderstood director of our times, but a real filmaker, director, producer, writer and also a good actor, The lady is so original, that others Hollywood commercial options will be forgettables as soon as you leave Hey, some critics are crazy!!, You must go and see it...If you enjoyed Signs ang the sixth sense, maybe the village, this could be your favorite movie of M. Night, yes!, the misunderstood director of our times, but a real filmaker, director, producer, writer and also a good actor, The lady is so original, that others Hollywood commercial options will be forgettables as soon as you leave the theaters!, I discover that Mr. Night can laugh about critics who are so bad to call themself critics, because they write on a diary , magazine o appears on T.V. are better? than a Complete Director as Night, no!, If they were filmmakers dont could be this movie better, it dont need it. Expand
  72. RobertM.
    Jul 23, 2006
    1
    BORING. Lame. weak plot line, wasted talet. Convenient story line (again). Ego-driven director needs a reality check. Yeah right he's next Steven Spielberg. Ha!
  73. BlakeK.
    Jul 23, 2006
    8
    This movie might not be scary, but it's definately good. The whole movie is basically a bedtime story come true. Not big on twists, but I think it has a nice pace, and has some thought provoking ideas. This isn't the best movie M. has made, but it's not horrible. Don't listen to the critics, it's worth seeing.
  74. TinaB.
    Jul 23, 2006
    0
    The most magical thing about this movie is the spell that Shyamalan's fans seem to be under. Somehow it suspends not only their disbelief, but their intelligence, discernment, good taste, and need for logic, coherence and plausability.
  75. J.K.
    Jul 23, 2006
    1
    Wow! Embarrasingly bad. What was MSN thinking?
  76. LuisG.
    Jul 23, 2006
    2
    Well then DISNEY execs were actually correct in trying to convince the writer and director to go somewhere else because this is by far the worst film ive seen so far ....the village was playing it safe i enjoyed the thrill of the creature but here we dont even ge to see anything or experience anything but questions " wheres the twist, wheres the story,wheres the monster" the monster wasWell then DISNEY execs were actually correct in trying to convince the writer and director to go somewhere else because this is by far the worst film ive seen so far ....the village was playing it safe i enjoyed the thrill of the creature but here we dont even ge to see anything or experience anything but questions " wheres the twist, wheres the story,wheres the monster" the monster was actaully the director himself really what an awful film....it wouldnt even play well when i was reading those goosebumps books in elemetary school....what a waste of talent ..dallas was perhaps the only particular character and thats a stretch. Expand
  77. BillyB.
    Jul 23, 2006
    4
    M. Night Shyamalan has based Lady in the Water on a bedtime story he read told his children and that is the biggest flaw (of many) of the movie- It plays as if someone is making up the story as it unfolds "There was a lady who lived in the drain of the pool and when she came out there were terrible grass monsters that wanted to eat her but ther were also some good tree monkeys that wanted M. Night Shyamalan has based Lady in the Water on a bedtime story he read told his children and that is the biggest flaw (of many) of the movie- It plays as if someone is making up the story as it unfolds "There was a lady who lived in the drain of the pool and when she came out there were terrible grass monsters that wanted to eat her but ther were also some good tree monkeys that wanted to help her......" that is how the whole movie plays out, no suspense, no twists just lots of "come on's" and "are you kidding's". There is not one credible acting performance from any of the residents living in the Condos where the story takes place and it will probably knock Giamatti down a few notches on the get list while Bryce Howard's best scene is when she says "narf" and proceeds through the rest of the movie looking like a deaf-mute Carrie. "I see wet people" and nothing much more in this absolute waste of time! Expand
  78. LindaS.
    Jul 23, 2006
    8
    The crowning compliment came from my daughter as we were discussing the film on the way home from the movies today ... "Shyamalan's movies may not always be knock-down excellent, but I love going to them because they are different -- 'always something you don't expect." And I agree. M. Night is original. That's what keeps me going to his movies. And I suspect that LITW The crowning compliment came from my daughter as we were discussing the film on the way home from the movies today ... "Shyamalan's movies may not always be knock-down excellent, but I love going to them because they are different -- 'always something you don't expect." And I agree. M. Night is original. That's what keeps me going to his movies. And I suspect that LITW grows on you with multiple viewings much like The Village did. It bothers me that both TheVillage and LITW were marketed as horror movies. Neither one of them fit that bill. The Village was a haunting romance and LITW was a story of rebirth and new beginnings. 'Loved it. (I voted it an 8 instead of a 10 because SIGNS is my #10 MNS movie.) :) Expand
  79. LiddyaS.
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    Mizzle D. is completely insane...and dont know appreciate the real art of movies, because no one like this great movie deserves less than 6, and there are a lot of art here, hey wake up...and you poor anonymous!!. Dont go to the movies if you hate 'em.
  80. TheWatcher
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    The critic in me wants to boo and hiss and cry in disappointment. The 5-year-old in me wants to stand up and applaud." I just copy this great review !!. The most adecuate to this film. Thank you MR. Alex Sandell of JUICY CEREBELLUM
  81. Phil
    Jul 23, 2006
    1
    Easily his worst movie. What made it so bad was that it had the potential to be interesting, immersive, and unique. Lady actually ended up exasperatingly stupid, with 'narfs' and 'scrunts' and 'tootie-fruities' or whatever those grass ape things were. The monologues with more and more incoherent combinations of all the made-up words served as the greatest Easily his worst movie. What made it so bad was that it had the potential to be interesting, immersive, and unique. Lady actually ended up exasperatingly stupid, with 'narfs' and 'scrunts' and 'tootie-fruities' or whatever those grass ape things were. The monologues with more and more incoherent combinations of all the made-up words served as the greatest unintentional comedy I've seen at a movie theater. Aside from that, it was a boring slog featuring a slew of forgettable performances and as a whole fell far short of what the trailers would lead you to believe. I wish I could sue Shyamalan for the $9.50 that I spent seeing this movie. Had I flushed my money down the toilet instead, at least I could have spent two more enjoyable hours with a plunger trying to get it back. Expand
  82. BirdL.
    Jul 23, 2006
    4
    Is it just me or did anybody else see that stupid microphone hanging from the top of the screen almost all the way through the movie. i mean what a distraction for 8.00 dollars.
  83. TylerW.
    Jul 23, 2006
    7
    An interesting peice of work. Giamatti and Howard are excellent;Shyamalan's role in the cast of this film was not at all bad.As for some of the nay-sayers out there who hated this movie I have this to say;Shyamalan does not glorify himself by acting in a key role.That's like saying Mel Gibson's role as William Wallace in Braveheart [which he directed] was an egotistical, An interesting peice of work. Giamatti and Howard are excellent;Shyamalan's role in the cast of this film was not at all bad.As for some of the nay-sayers out there who hated this movie I have this to say;Shyamalan does not glorify himself by acting in a key role.That's like saying Mel Gibson's role as William Wallace in Braveheart [which he directed] was an egotistical, selfrightous decision. And Shyamalan's choice to kill off the film cridict wasn't meant to give a big fuck you to the critics who misjudge him, but it was supposed to show what happened to the non-believer,cynic of The Cove appartment complex. Sadly though, most film criticts are very cynical, narrow-minded people.This film wasn't what I expected, but it was still a fine vessal of a story.It's a lot more entertaining than the sundance Indie. sh.. that has been popular lately. Expand
  84. MikeA
    Jul 23, 2006
    3
    This wasn't as strong a strory as "The Village". It didn't have a story that really drew us in. Plus the kid reading spiritual things off of the cereal boxes. Come on this movie "jumped the shark" from that point on.
  85. MichaelR.
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    It's interesting to me that people either strongly like or strongly dislike this movie. There is much more to LITW than meets the eye. This "Story" is clearly a very personal offering about MNS himself and the inspired muses who he feels (rightly) are sent to him from God. Would that we all felt such a sense of responsibility for those things we are blessed with, temporal and spiritual.
  86. EricH.
    Jul 23, 2006
    8
    Fun summer movie, definitely better than how the critics are portraying it. Although some parts did seem a bit self-indulgent, the overall effect of the movie imparted that same magical feel that the best of MNS' works possess. Great escapist experience.
  87. A.Bryan
    Jul 23, 2006
    9
    Very charming story, however M's choice to play the role he did came across as very pretentious. Overwise enjoyable, Paul Giamanti as always did a wonderful job!
  88. Juliette
    Jul 24, 2006
    10
    Simply a very good movie!!. you must see it.
  89. MattH.
    Jul 24, 2006
    3
    A very self-serving movie -- really a vehicle for Mr. Shylaman to attack the critics he so reviles. Who casts themself in a high profile part in their own movie anyway? And for someone who strives so intently to bring together a diverse cast, his depictions of some groups -- for instance, the Korean characters in the movie -- are extremely stereotypical. This movie is a really poor effort A very self-serving movie -- really a vehicle for Mr. Shylaman to attack the critics he so reviles. Who casts themself in a high profile part in their own movie anyway? And for someone who strives so intently to bring together a diverse cast, his depictions of some groups -- for instance, the Korean characters in the movie -- are extremely stereotypical. This movie is a really poor effort all the way round. The final effect is dull and boring. I do still have a huge crush on Sarita Choudoury though...she's gorgeous!! Expand
  90. JimP.
    Jul 24, 2006
    4
    There's a great story about Groucho Marx who attended a party and as he was leaving said to the hostess "I've had an unforgettable evening." Then, before she could gush out a reply, added "unfortunately, this wasn't it." That roughly sums up my response to LITW, which I wanted to like much more than I did. There were people in the cast I enjoy seeing in anything, including There's a great story about Groucho Marx who attended a party and as he was leaving said to the hostess "I've had an unforgettable evening." Then, before she could gush out a reply, added "unfortunately, this wasn't it." That roughly sums up my response to LITW, which I wanted to like much more than I did. There were people in the cast I enjoy seeing in anything, including the very underused Mary Beth Hurt. But when trying to sum up a film you find yourself saying "well, it wasn't the worst movie I've seen all year" you know in your heart it has to be a contender. Expand
  91. KevinF.
    Jul 24, 2006
    4
    Fails to establish it
  92. Spongeee
    Jul 25, 2006
    1
    I guess it's pretty easy to write a script as you go along...I mean what's something like logic have to do with anything. This director sucks, he's way overated, and needs to stop trying to be "deep." Only thing deep was the freakin pool. But Giamatti's stuttering was good acting, so I had something to laugh at...M Night Shamamamama sucks ding dong!
  93. ElginB.
    Jul 25, 2006
    8
    Frankly, I think this movie was just a big F.U. to Shyamalan's critics, and not just with the film critic character. In fact, the movie breaks lots of "rules" filmmakers and other storytellers are supposed to follow. The characters are thinly drawn and often stereotypical; the plot twists in the movie seem almost ad hoc and are often advanced by exposition instead of through action. Frankly, I think this movie was just a big F.U. to Shyamalan's critics, and not just with the film critic character. In fact, the movie breaks lots of "rules" filmmakers and other storytellers are supposed to follow. The characters are thinly drawn and often stereotypical; the plot twists in the movie seem almost ad hoc and are often advanced by exposition instead of through action. Beyond that, Shyamalan has a lot of fun with his reputation by casting himself as a Messianic writer who's opus is entitled "The Cookbook"-- sounds like a reference to the Twilight Zone, to me. And, of course, there's the character of Farber himself who is made fun of in a much more overt fashion. Anyway, I think this movie was Shyamalan's attempt at showing that he can do everything the wrong way and STILL make an entertaining movie. The fact that he succeeds only shows how much of a true talent he is. Expand
  94. ZamF.
    Jul 25, 2006
    10
    Better than lost in traslation?, so far!!, that critics favorite boring movie in wich nothing happens, copy from a Japanese movie and they decided to give an oscar for being original?? ja, ja, Original script is Ladiy in the water, ( and not boring ).
  95. JayE.
    Jul 25, 2006
    8
    M. Night Shyamalan's movies from this point out will all have a crippling flaw--they are not Sixth Sense. Any person who walks into a theater will expect a haunting thriller with a Big Twist at the end. When they see a heart-warming though dark fairy tale with eccentric and interesting characters... they will be grossly dissapointed. What we have is a children's fairy tale that M. Night Shyamalan's movies from this point out will all have a crippling flaw--they are not Sixth Sense. Any person who walks into a theater will expect a haunting thriller with a Big Twist at the end. When they see a heart-warming though dark fairy tale with eccentric and interesting characters... they will be grossly dissapointed. What we have is a children's fairy tale that is told for the grownups, with dark visuals and off-beat characters with some very funny moments. We need to approach it as we approached the fairy tales of our youth. We know how to do that. What we have is a Tim Burton movie as told by M. Night Shyamalan. Expand
  96. KirinH.
    Jul 25, 2006
    8
    Heard the bad reviews and went to see it anyways. I liked it a lot. Of course, I loved Unbreakable and many hated that one too. I think he is a genios...who else can be that imaginative? At least it is not a rehash of everything else!
  97. RichardD.
    Jul 25, 2006
    10
    [***SPOILER***] As an experienced movie viewer, and self-esteemed critic, compared to the other movies I've seen this year, (Pirates of the Carribean 2, The Omen, among others...) this movie was a breath of fresh air. Here's where it is different from those others...it was hilarious, it was of appropriate length, the acting was great (except for the girl who played story...she[***SPOILER***] As an experienced movie viewer, and self-esteemed critic, compared to the other movies I've seen this year, (Pirates of the Carribean 2, The Omen, among others...) this movie was a breath of fresh air. Here's where it is different from those others...it was hilarious, it was of appropriate length, the acting was great (except for the girl who played story...she didn't really impress), the plot was involved and actually went somewhere. I hated this movie for it's lack of the trademark Shyamalan twist, and yet I loved every minute of it. This movie is not "The Sixth Sense 5" as many expected. This movie stands alone as a great work, and Paul Giamatti stands as one of my favorite actors of the day. For all the critics who say "Shyamalan just wanted to justify his own work by casting himself as a writer whose work will eventually influence a great leader of the future (forecasted by the narf)." Now, OK, I would have agree with those critics about that prior to seeing the movie, but now after watching it, I really think he's just giving a giant middle finger to those critics. And if directors are not allowed to make a movie of their own...not allowed to involve creative spirit in the process of making the movie, then we will be left with a myriad of movies just like The Omen...plastic, pre-packaged copies of the same movies over and over again. Justification? One of the characters of the Lady in the Water, Mr. Ferber, is a fervent, realistic movie critic. One of the finest lines of the movie comes directly from his mouth: "Originality doesn't exist in Hollywood anymore." Shyamalan just said in six words what I have rambled about for an eternity in this post - that he made an original movie. Show me a movie you think is related to this one, and I'll tell you how you are wrong. I stand by Shyamalan as one of the premier directors of today, picking up where Spielberg, Lucas, and other great directors of the past four decades have left off. (Honestly, what was the last good Spielberg flick you saw?) I am a creative mind, and I respect others with creative purpose. See any movie by Darren Aronofsky and you will agree (I can't wait to see the Fountain). Expand
  98. JeremyW.
    Jul 26, 2006
    7
    For the record: I loved "6th Sense" & "Signs", but hated "Unbreakable" & "The Village"--especially "The Village. So, that said, I was very skeptical when I paid my $10 to go see this movie. As it turned out, I was pleasantly surprised. This movie is not great, but it is entertaining. Most importantly, M.Night does not try to tack on some lame, completely implausible twist ending as in For the record: I loved "6th Sense" & "Signs", but hated "Unbreakable" & "The Village"--especially "The Village. So, that said, I was very skeptical when I paid my $10 to go see this movie. As it turned out, I was pleasantly surprised. This movie is not great, but it is entertaining. Most importantly, M.Night does not try to tack on some lame, completely implausible twist ending as in "The Village". He basically just made a bedtime story full of colorful characters and evil beasties. Compared to a lot of the other crap Hollywood has tried to force on us this Summer, this movie holds it's own around 7.0 Expand
  99. LarryH.
    Jul 26, 2006
    9
    A beautiful fairy tale that forces it's way into The Cove's reality. I don't understand why the critics are bashing this film. It's superb storytelling and great acting. Give me a film like this over the overly praised Spiderman movies any day! Shyamalan is one of the best (if not the best) storytellers around.
  100. AngelM.
    Jul 26, 2006
    10
    A powerful metaphor with a lot of heart -- which probably isn't what people expected or wanted from it.
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 36
  2. Negative: 14 out of 36
  1. Shyamalan does project genuine menace and suspense into this mundane location, especially in nighttime scenes. But the magic that would transport you from reality into fantasy is missing.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    40
    A ponderous, self-indulgent bedtime tale. Awkwardly positioned, this gloomy gothic fantasy falls well short of horror.
  3. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    50
    What's odd about Lady in the Water is that for all Shyamalan's histrionics, he's overcontrolled.