Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Aug 15, 2014
    91
    Katz, who has been saddled with the deadly label "mumblecore" in the past, and Stephens ("Pilgrim Song") combine sensibilities of dry wit and warm earnestness in precise proportions. It's also further proof, if it were needed, that smart, funny, entertaining films are always around, even in the dog days of summer. You just have to know where to look.
  2. Reviewed by: Diane Garrett
    Jul 16, 2014
    90
    A balm for the harried soul, Land Ho! is part travelogue, part therapy session. Watching it could inspire you to call an old friend or book a trip to an exotic locale. Maybe both.
  3. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Aug 14, 2014
    88
    Land Ho! is a hot spring of a movie: It fizzes a lot, and you come out feeling better than you went in.
  4. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    Jul 11, 2014
    88
    In movies, there’s “character driven,” and then there’s “CHARACTER driven.” Earl Lynn Nelson, who plays one of the two lead roles in Land Ho! a truly disarming and beguiling movie, seems from all indications to be an all-caps character.
  5. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Apr 22, 2014
    88
    That the filmmakers consistently catch the nuances of character that bind the two men to each other, rather than simply tracing the pros and cons of their dispositions, is what gives the film its melancholic yet vibrant resonance.
  6. Reviewed by: Daniel Fienberg
    May 22, 2014
    83
    It's a funny and moving film about aging, but it's also a wacky journey across Iceland with two characters who are instantly likable and ultimately quite lovable.
  7. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jan 27, 2014
    83
    Treasuring small victories and mood above all else, Land Ho! makes it possible to engage with its subjects' pathos and experience their sense of renewal along with them.
  8. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jul 10, 2014
    80
    Land Ho! is full of surprises, rich in the way it noses around the rocky terrain of aging in an indifferent world through the engaging performances of its two stars.
  9. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jul 10, 2014
    80
    At times, Colin and Mitch’s trip to Iceland feels like a lark, for them and for the filmmakers. Yet there’s no denying the deepening effect of a movie in which two older men, with their creases and sags, white and thinning hair, inhabit so much screen time.
  10. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jul 9, 2014
    80
    Land Ho! avoids schmaltz to get at that rarest of male timber: rekindled hearts.
  11. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jul 10, 2014
    75
    The film, written and directed by Martha Stephens and Aaron Katz, is slow as Christmas, but the two protagonists grow on you, like a Virginia creeper vine climbing a garden wall.
  12. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jul 10, 2014
    70
    A series of picaresque adventures in a notably picturesque land. Is it enough to sustain anything resembling dramatic momentum? For a while it isn't, but then, unexpectedly, it is.
  13. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Jan 27, 2014
    70
    Land Ho! is appealing for not going the route of easy gags and dumbed-down humor.
  14. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jan 27, 2014
    70
    What gives the story its moment-to-moment buoyancy is the pleasure of watching two actors working brilliantly in tandem.
  15. Reviewed by: Eric D. Snider
    Jan 27, 2014
    65
    Though its uncluttered simplicity and refreshing lack of cliches render it sublimely enjoyable, the film never digs deep enough to give itself much weight.
  16. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Aug 15, 2014
    63
    Iceland is beautiful. Really, really, really - really - beautiful. That pretty much sums up the new feature film Land Ho! That message is the film's alpha and omega. Its raison d'être. Its soul and its being.
  17. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Aug 14, 2014
    63
    Like most stars of road movies, they’re an odd couple; unlike most, both the friction between them and their underlying loyalty feel real, not contrived to supply a movie’s dramatic arc.
  18. 63
    Land Ho! is both loose (shot over 18 days, with an improv quality to the acting) and overcalculated in its series of encounters, small revelations and life-affirming beats. The movie is pleasant and mostly forgettable, except for the character of Mitch.
  19. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Jul 9, 2014
    63
    A refreshingly naturalistic depiction of the dynamic of traveling companionship — at any age.
  20. 63
    It adds bubbles to the show, but doesn’t change the essentially deadpan, amusingly banal nature of this journey and the two charming old men who take it.
  21. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Aug 22, 2014
    60
    The result is a hoot, as Nelson breathes comic life into the proceedings with an effortless, unselfconscious joie de vivre.
  22. Reviewed by: Henry Molski
    Jul 24, 2014
    60
    The road-trip comedy is well-traveled territory, especially in indie films. But there's something unexpectedly refreshing about Land Ho!
  23. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Jul 10, 2014
    60
    The lack of narrative fireworks is, oddly, the movie’s big gimmick.
  24. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Jul 8, 2014
    60
    Land Ho! feints toward pathos and perversity, only to decide that it's better off giving us abridged, postcard emotions.
  25. Reviewed by: Ben Kenigsberg
    Jul 9, 2014
    58
    While it’s heartening in one sense to see this youthful, offbeat take on two men’s determination to stay eternally fresh, there’s something about the ease with which the characters reorder their lives that makes Land Ho! seem both a little slight and a little precious.
  26. Reviewed by: Rodrigo Perez
    Jan 27, 2014
    58
    Gently involving, but never quite engrossing, there’s a first draft shape to the picture that feels slight and makes for a minor work.
  27. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Aug 14, 2014
    50
    Land Ho! is a tepid little movie that goes almost nowhere, and if I had to sit in that rental car for one more boob joke, I’d rather jump into a volcano.
  28. Reviewed by: Tomas Lee
    Jul 24, 2014
    50
    You realize fairly early in the film that there will be no emotional payoff. Just an hour and a half of vacation photos in motion.
  29. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jul 10, 2014
    50
    More than anything, the movie makes the viewer want to hop on a plane and visit Iceland.
  30. Reviewed by: David Ehrlich
    Jul 10, 2014
    50
    While Land Ho! feels like a direct extension of its characters, with sedate compositions that are a far cry from the youthful opportunism steering the camera in Katz’s previous films, the uncharacteristic transparency of its agenda clashes with the joy of discovery its story craves.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jul 26, 2014
    4
    It's a comedy, at least it is supposed to be.
    Two 60+ ex-brothers-in-law who used to be married to two sisters go to see Iceland.
    Good
    cinematography.
    Some delicate scenes, done masterfully. But many more dull dialogs. A few laughs. When I left the theater I felt disappointed.
    Full Review »