Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 5, 2009
4.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 153 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
60
Mixed:
28
Negative:
65
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
CRLAug 30, 2011
There were several disappointing things about Land of the Lost. One was it's lost potential with a cast that included Will Ferrel, Anna Friel, and Danny McBride. Another was the lackluster special effects; whether intentional orThere were several disappointing things about Land of the Lost. One was it's lost potential with a cast that included Will Ferrel, Anna Friel, and Danny McBride. Another was the lackluster special effects; whether intentional or unintentional the people in what looked like Halloween costumes. Maybe the worst, it actually shows a flash of humor every once in a while... only to bury it once again under the aforementioned horrible special effects, awful acting, and nonexistent plot. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
ArthurC.Jun 5, 2009
Will farrel is talentless he acts like an immature idiot in all his movies ...none of which are funny . it people like him that are responsable for the raging wave of stupidity that has swept across this country , which is why this garbageWill farrel is talentless he acts like an immature idiot in all his movies ...none of which are funny . it people like him that are responsable for the raging wave of stupidity that has swept across this country , which is why this garbage will probably make money. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
RogerSmith97Apr 24, 2011
Cast SUCKS!!! I Hate The Stupid Plot.. Acting Was So Bad..
All I can Say Is 0!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
cd1Mar 20, 2011
I didn't have high hopes for the movie to begin with, just to be entertained. I was not prepared for the inappropriateness, senseless crude language, the sexual innuendo, and gay sexual references. The worst part was the anti-ChristianI didn't have high hopes for the movie to begin with, just to be entertained. I was not prepared for the inappropriateness, senseless crude language, the sexual innuendo, and gay sexual references. The worst part was the anti-Christian message when Will Ferrell was tripping on a narcotic plant and said something to the effect of "I love you more than Jesus loved humanity as he hung on the cross." If you are interested in anti-Christian, gay supporting, drug defaulting, crude movies, this one is for you. Shame on you Will Ferrell! You can do better than that! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
MovieMachineSep 7, 2011
First off all, the cacophony produced by the clash of not-so-talented actors with a not-so-interesting story and a not-so-organized script closely resembles that of a band of musically uncultured, tone-deaf octogenarians. Second of all, theFirst off all, the cacophony produced by the clash of not-so-talented actors with a not-so-interesting story and a not-so-organized script closely resembles that of a band of musically uncultured, tone-deaf octogenarians. Second of all, the jokes found in this movie are not only extremely contrived, but also not even funny. The jokes fall as flat as the rest of the movie. I might understand if you're in the mood for a nonsensical, satirical, farce, but even then, this movie might not satisfy your craving. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
1
watithink123Aug 6, 2012
To put this its stupid, bad acting, g*y actors, awful story, really your better of falling asleep. Land of the Lost 1.1/10
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
xahkdlys119Apr 10, 2012
Illogical, unfunny and stupid. Watching this movie is simply a waste of time. I should have donated the money used for buying the ticket. This movie is so disappointing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
RayzorMooseNov 16, 2013
Land of the Lost is truly that.
The movie's concept is just a random unexplained adventure traveling threw multiple bizarre dimensions, and for that is to be absolutely hilarious. Land of the Lost has laughs few and far between going entire
Land of the Lost is truly that.
The movie's concept is just a random unexplained adventure traveling threw multiple bizarre dimensions, and for that is to be absolutely hilarious. Land of the Lost has laughs few and far between going entire half hours without giggling. Will Ferrel displays his worst work to date with this terrible adventure "comedy".
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
RickyReviewsJun 24, 2016
This movie was so stupid and dumb, it wasn't enjoyable. It's like a ripoff of Jurassic Park and Star Wars mashed together. A complete and utter waste of time watching Will Ferrell act like an idiot (more so than he already does). Skip this one.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
phyllisvJun 20, 2009
I agree with Tracy M. Worst movie I have seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DHFosterJun 5, 2009
Giving 1 for the title. WTH !!!! You think Hollywood has ran out of comedian actors??? Try not to lose too many brain cells while watching Ferrell. Give us real comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TestTestyJun 5, 2009
We walked out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SteveB.Jun 5, 2009
I've tried to suffer through this show several times and just have to turn it off. One big fat zero!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MattWOct 16, 2009
A real snooze fest. Nothing worse than a comedy movie that just isn't funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChrisOJun 12, 2009
Awfull, another disappointment from Will Ferrell. He was funny the first time around, but he's always the exact same in every single movie since. Yawn. If you watch the preview, you will have seen everything this movie has to offer that Awfull, another disappointment from Will Ferrell. He was funny the first time around, but he's always the exact same in every single movie since. Yawn. If you watch the preview, you will have seen everything this movie has to offer that may remotly be considered funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
dragonpenchantJun 20, 2009
Despite a great cast and a decent concept, this movie is just not funny. unfortunate dud.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlbertJ.Jun 5, 2009
The only reason I went to the movie was a friend had some free passes to share. I wish I hadn't gone. One of the worst and stupid movies I have ever seen. After seeing Stranger than Fiction I thought there was hope for Will Ferrell. The only reason I went to the movie was a friend had some free passes to share. I wish I hadn't gone. One of the worst and stupid movies I have ever seen. After seeing Stranger than Fiction I thought there was hope for Will Ferrell. Land of the Lost killed that assumption. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
WaltA.Jun 5, 2009
Ugh. That should be it. Really, a one word review: Ugh. Maybe, instead, just to make sure you get the message: UGH. But I will elaborate. OK. So, Land of the Lost is the new Will Ferrell "vehicle." This was not a trip down memory lane (like Ugh. That should be it. Really, a one word review: Ugh. Maybe, instead, just to make sure you get the message: UGH. But I will elaborate. OK. So, Land of the Lost is the new Will Ferrell "vehicle." This was not a trip down memory lane (like it might be for so many other people around my age), as I did not really enjoy the TV show. Something about the Sleestacks and not having nice dreams for weeks after I saw them on a TV screen made me decide to skip Land of the Lost on TV at the time, or something like that. Anyhow, I went because of Will Ferrell. He is one funny motherfashutyermouth. And, ok, in this movie there were a couple funny moments. One that wasn't even on the commercials for this, too! I knew it going in. No reviews before the movie opened whatsoever anywhere that I looked. That means the producers knew this was going to get horrid reviews, and decided to see if they could recoup their investments in the first weekend, before word got out. (OK, I just looked at Metacritic.com, that's a great site and... really, I want to stress this, I went 'cause Will Farrell is so funny, even in bad things.) Will Ferrell being funny, even in bad things should NOT be your reason for going. Somehow Land of the Lost disproves this. Seriously. The thing had a few solid sight gags. Maybe three or four. And a couple good lines. And, the T Rex was believable. I hope to see him in other roles soon. Anyhow... this time around the Sleestacks threaten WORLD DOMINATION (somehow in the poor storyline), if they can only get some thingiemabob machine thing through the, oh what's the use. The stupid slimy walking alligator type Sleestack things were NOT frightful or scary or anything. They were a bit of a dull green, if anything, and my sleep is not at risk. At all. Maybe the TV show was like this whole movie. I don't know. Will and Holly seemed so much older in this go around, and the Will Ferrell character just some stupid scientist. (Maybe if Ferrell played it as he plays Bush it would be funnier.) Worst of all time for me? Nope. But pretty damn close. Perhaps the new Sigmund and the Seamonsters movie starring Carrot Top, Drew Carey and Christian Bale will outsuck this one. (I'll let you know after I go see it.) Land of the Lost. Ugh. If you have to see it, wait and go rent it. If you must. I think I heard it will be out on DVD in about a month after it closes in the theaters. So look for it at your local RedBox, Netflix or DVD movie store in about 5 weeks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MitchS.Jun 6, 2009
Oh Universal. Whoever green-lit this film should really be on the hot seat. See that Morgenstern review above? It's on the money. So much potential in the title, and 3 great actors, and you produce this steaming pile? And from a major Oh Universal. Whoever green-lit this film should really be on the hot seat. See that Morgenstern review above? It's on the money. So much potential in the title, and 3 great actors, and you produce this steaming pile? And from a major studio? Ouch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TimHJul 13, 2009
Rarely do I walk out of a movie that I pay for, but sometimes you just have to cut your losses. That's good advice for movie-goers and doubly so for waning comedians. Not even your fratboy roommate will enjoy this catastrophe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GinaVJun 12, 2010
Surprised this movie ever made it into movie theaters. The acting is terrible (having a person with an English accent in a movie really doesn't raise the acting profile of your movie). I thought that the Love Guru was bad. I think I Surprised this movie ever made it into movie theaters. The acting is terrible (having a person with an English accent in a movie really doesn't raise the acting profile of your movie). I thought that the Love Guru was bad. I think I just found my Worst Movie Ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BobHJun 7, 2010
This movie did not know what it wanted to be. Is it for kids? No. There's plenty of cusing and sexual innuendos. Is it for adults? No. It's too silly and juvenile. And if it's a comedy, I laughed about 3 times. For an entire This movie did not know what it wanted to be. Is it for kids? No. There's plenty of cusing and sexual innuendos. Is it for adults? No. It's too silly and juvenile. And if it's a comedy, I laughed about 3 times. For an entire hour and a half, that's not a good thing. This one just didn't do it for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TonyFNov 8, 2009
One of the worst movies I've seen in a long time. Supposed to be a comedy, but I didn't even break into a smile the whole time. If not for presence of the lovely Anna Friel, NOTHING in this film is worth watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JanTOct 23, 2009
This movie stinks in all aspects...what a waist of time to make.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JackFDec 9, 2009
Nothing to it just plain not funny and bad very long too
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoyJun 10, 2009
This was undoubtedly the stupidest movie that I have ever seen. Do not waste your money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JoseLJun 10, 2009
It's sadly silly, stupid I wanted to for my money back. I wasted two houRs & TEN DOLLERS.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TracyMJun 12, 2009
This was the worst movie I have seen in quite sometime. Typical "Will Ferrel" movie, I should have known better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
HyperSJun 13, 2009
Reading critics reviews of this movie I was fully expecting a Battlefield Earth like experience, but the first two-thirds of this movie actually weren't all that bad in my opinion. Sure I never laughed out loud at any of the "jokes" and Reading critics reviews of this movie I was fully expecting a Battlefield Earth like experience, but the first two-thirds of this movie actually weren't all that bad in my opinion. Sure I never laughed out loud at any of the "jokes" and there were a few potty jokes (not as bad as some are decrying), but it did have some moderate entertainment value on par with Brendan Fraser's "Journey To The Center of the Earth." Sure nothing great, but nothing horribly bad either. But then...? The last thirty minutes of the movie descended into one horribly defective skit... the plot (what little plot there was to begin with) took a back seat to a series of lame, out-of-place jokes that just destroyed the movie for me. In retrospect, was there ever an ending? It went from a bad guy trying to conquer the universe to a rushed mess of an finish where nothing really happened. So instead of getting a 6 or so rating I'm hopping on the flop bandwagon. 3 and deservedly so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AritarkK.Jun 27, 2009
This movie insults my intellect and my unconditional love for will ferell. i suffered through his last movies thinking of finding something decent. i did not find something like this. the female lead is nice to look at, but as soon as she This movie insults my intellect and my unconditional love for will ferell. i suffered through his last movies thinking of finding something decent. i did not find something like this. the female lead is nice to look at, but as soon as she starts to talk you want to put claws in your ears. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PhilW.Jun 5, 2009
The only good reviews for this mess seem to have come from those who never saw the TV show. Assuming that any remake should at least be appealing to those fans who made the original successful enough to warrant the attention in the first The only good reviews for this mess seem to have come from those who never saw the TV show. Assuming that any remake should at least be appealing to those fans who made the original successful enough to warrant the attention in the first place (such as the infinitely superior new Star Trek or Galactica), this movie appears conversely to go out of its way to be as offensive and debasing to that fan base as possible. The show was famous for intriguing sci-fi concepts that could have been further developed and made into a smart and thrilling action-adventure with a proper script and direction. A shame that such potential was wasted instead for shlock humor and unclever parody. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RyanZJul 19, 2009
The (2) is for Danny mcBride and Jorna Taccone. Will Farrell has fallen so far off the map with his last (seemingly huge group) of stinkers and this one is a nail in the coffin. Could this be it for Will Farrells career as a lead?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NatalieMAug 19, 2009
I can't believe how bad this was, what a waste of 2hrs of my life that I'll never get back. If they took out the adolescent 'joke', then it would have a U rating for its lameness, it was dire.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
brycesJun 12, 2010
It tried but i could count maybe only 3 real funny scenes. special effect wee not good. It seemed like a bad play on stage put into a movie with costumes and props to try and be funny but with so much it failed to do so.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FantasyJun 14, 2009
Just awful as there are no words to describe this poor excuse for a movie. Avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
simona.Jul 26, 2009
Rarely do I feel inclined to comment in this way on a movie, yet rarely have I seen a film this awful. A waste of nearly two hours of my life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MarkD.Aug 24, 2009
Muddled, confused, half-funny. A waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AlexcNov 22, 2009
This and Miss March fight for the worst movie I have watched all month. It wasn't funny and it was ridiculously over the top. May have succeeded as being funny if I was in an altered state of mind. Probably the worst Will Farell movies ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SuperemeMar 5, 2017
Oh My God! Land of the Lost is the Worst Dinosaur movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I was so shocked that I Finally Learned the Truth..................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews