Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 166 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jan 18, 2013
    91
    It's a crackerjack B movie worthy of comparison to such stylishly low-down, smart-meets-dumb, hyper-violent entertainments as the 1997 Kurt Russell thriller "Breakdown," Clint Eastwood's infamous police bloodbath "The Gauntlet," John Carpenter's original "Assault on Precinct 13," and Arnold's own overlooked 1986 outing "Raw Deal."
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jan 17, 2013
    75
    Dig just a shade beneath the surface, trade in the text for the subtext, and a more interesting picture emerges – a little richer, sadder, almost poignant. Arnie is back again, yet now, as a storied immigrant nearing the end of his tale, he's become an odd sight to behold.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jan 17, 2013
    70
    The movie comes up with a couple of tender moments that could pass for human, and a mano-a-mano climax in which the superhero of yore, the glint in his eye dulled but not extinguished, functions as a weirdly touching tyrannosaurus.
  4. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jan 18, 2013
    60
    The director does pull off a pretty magnificent cornfield car chase - two sleek vehicles cut through a thick, shaggy carpet of maize like souped-up harvesters, the movie's way of saying that the simple country life needn't be devoid of thrills. But Jee-woon takes too long to wrap things up, fumbling repeatedly on his way to an ending.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Jan 21, 2013
    50
    Kim doesn't sweat interweaving his story threads in any tightly controlled way. Just when the need-for-speed stuff really starts to gain traction, he'll shift for a surprisingly lengthy stretch to comic relief with the deputies and local wacko Johnny Knoxville.
  6. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jan 15, 2013
    50
    [The Director] is especially good at integrating his New Mexico locations into the action, from a key combat scene on a bridge to a car chase that unfolds, with limited visibility, in a cornfield...Kim's handling of his first English-speaking cast isn't quite as assured, although everyone more or less gets by
  7. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Jan 17, 2013
    25
    That's the thing about this corpse pileup of an action movie. It persistently tries to drag the audience down to its mindless level.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 46
  2. Negative: 6 out of 46
  1. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    My official review of "The Last Stand" can be summed up into a single word: America! Now I know you're asking "Stamp, what does America have to do with The Last Stand?", and I'm glad you asked, Jeeves. My thesis is as follows. "The Last Stand", Arnold Schwarzenegger's newest theatrical release, and The Great United States of America go hand in hand because of the ridiculously good-looking and super fast Corvette( America's sports car); Arnold, himself, is an American dream come true; and because of U.S. citizens taking up arms to make a last stand against evil. Pun intended, although I'm not sure if it counts because that's what the title is talking about. Moving on, I left the theater entertained, motivated, and grateful to live in a great country. Last but importantly, they mention Jesus. Let's take a moment for a standing ovation for Jesus. Our lives are better for it. In conclusion, I officially award "The Last Stand" with my first ever Stamp Of Approval. Expand
  2. Jan 21, 2013
    8
    This was a good action movie. Only slightly more than the trailer, but still entertaining. If you are in the mood for a good drama, go see Zero Dark Thirty. If you want a good action, see this. Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    7
    "Well to say The Last Stand is a comeback vehicle? i hope not, but the odds have it. Arnold is back in full swing as a gun toting sheriff ready to kill. With a few exceptions. "The Last Stand" proved to be quite, the exciting and intense action film." B Expand
  4. May 22, 2013
    6
    Anyone remember The Hunter? It turned out to be Steve McQueen's final screen appearance, playing a bounty hunter, in a rather generic action thriller, with some pretty good action sequences inserted. I thought of that film while watching this I think they share a cornfield car chase, I may be wrong), because, it too, is a generic thriller, with a few good action sequences. Arnold does his Arnold thing, squinting and creaking out his dialogue, with nods to his age. Knoxville plays the village idiot (typecasting?), with a thing for heavy artiliary. The major dissappointment is that I was expecting something a bit wilder from Kim Ji-woon, along the lines of John Woo's American debut, Hard Target. But hey, cranked up, with a few beers on a warm spring evening...? It'll do just fine. Expand
  5. Feb 12, 2014
    6
    I felt a little lost in this movie. Don't get me wrong I thought it was actually pretty good but it bounced back from humor and seriousness that made it hard to know when to take it seriously. Other than that is just a good old fashion action movie with Arnold, how could that go wrong? Expand
  6. Jun 3, 2013
    5
    “The Last Stand” presents a decent supporting cast (yes, Johnny Knoxville is part of that group), the film’s pace moves along quickly, and features the new Corvette ZR1. Its major drawback however, is its star protagonist that simply isn’t up to playing the part, which surprisingly, demands some emotional range. Although Director Kim Jee-Woon has carved a distinguished career out of hyper-violent silliness, his first American film is a throwback to the low CGI, focusing on stunt action with the revered themes of justice and honor, prevalent in classic Hollywood westerns. A mix of established actors with a handful of unknowns, a hearty dose of violence mixed with questionable humor, lots of guns accompanied by bland dialogue and cheesy one-liners. All in All, “The Last Stand” fully embraces exactly what it is, never taking itself seriously, and it works for the most part because of it.

    Sheriff Owens (Schwarzenegger) is a man who has resigned himself to a life of fighting what little crime takes place in sleepy border town of Sommerton, Arizona after leaving the LAPD because of a botched operation. The story begins with a ridiculous, elaborate escape scenario that is planned and successfully executed to free a notorious, ruthless drug kingpin named Gabriel Cortez (Eduardo Noriega). Sheriff Owens receives a call from the inept Agent John Bannister (Forest Whitaker, who simply recites the lines in his role) of the FBI, which states a dangerous inmate has escaped from their custody, and is currently heading towards Sommerton to cross into Mexico. Arnold and his hapless deputies are their last opportunity to make a stand. Cortez is darting for the border at 200 mph in a specially outfitted car with a hostage and, a fierce army of gang members. At first reluctant to become involved, and then counted out because of the perceived ineptitude of his small town force, Owens ultimately accepts responsibility for the face off.

    Once the crew of villain’s roll into Arnold’s town, the guns start firing and continue to fire, and copious amounts of blood is shed, all while ‘humor’ is injected between the bullet shells hitting the ground. We are exactly where we want to be engaged in an affectionately knowing B-grade showdown of stupidity versus even greater stupidity. Jee-Woon eventually narrows the field down to two, with Owens and Cortez facing off in a car chase through overgrown cornfields, before a final fisticuffs set against a super-stylized backdrop. The result may not seem meritorious at first glance, but for those with minimal expectations and a bloodlust for a certain strain of nostalgia, “The Last Stand” qualifies as pleasure that you just might feel guilty about.
    Expand
  7. Apr 30, 2013
    2
    A small time sheriff is called up to the plate when an escaped fugitive tries to drive through his town......and of course he steps up to the plate with his rag-tag bunch of deputies and puts on a great "Last Stand". The story line is as painfully dull as the characters and the dialogs and the acting. There are a few good action scenes and car chases, but other than that, Arnold's great comeback is nothing more than big giant muscular cliche. Expand

See all 46 User Reviews

Trailers