Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 178 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jan 18, 2013
    91
    It's a crackerjack B movie worthy of comparison to such stylishly low-down, smart-meets-dumb, hyper-violent entertainments as the 1997 Kurt Russell thriller "Breakdown," Clint Eastwood's infamous police bloodbath "The Gauntlet," John Carpenter's original "Assault on Precinct 13," and Arnold's own overlooked 1986 outing "Raw Deal."
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jan 17, 2013
    75
    Dig just a shade beneath the surface, trade in the text for the subtext, and a more interesting picture emerges – a little richer, sadder, almost poignant. Arnie is back again, yet now, as a storied immigrant nearing the end of his tale, he's become an odd sight to behold.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jan 17, 2013
    70
    The movie comes up with a couple of tender moments that could pass for human, and a mano-a-mano climax in which the superhero of yore, the glint in his eye dulled but not extinguished, functions as a weirdly touching tyrannosaurus.
  4. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jan 18, 2013
    60
    The director does pull off a pretty magnificent cornfield car chase - two sleek vehicles cut through a thick, shaggy carpet of maize like souped-up harvesters, the movie's way of saying that the simple country life needn't be devoid of thrills. But Jee-woon takes too long to wrap things up, fumbling repeatedly on his way to an ending.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Jan 21, 2013
    50
    Kim doesn't sweat interweaving his story threads in any tightly controlled way. Just when the need-for-speed stuff really starts to gain traction, he'll shift for a surprisingly lengthy stretch to comic relief with the deputies and local wacko Johnny Knoxville.
  6. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jan 15, 2013
    50
    [The Director] is especially good at integrating his New Mexico locations into the action, from a key combat scene on a bridge to a car chase that unfolds, with limited visibility, in a cornfield...Kim's handling of his first English-speaking cast isn't quite as assured, although everyone more or less gets by
  7. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Jan 17, 2013
    25
    That's the thing about this corpse pileup of an action movie. It persistently tries to drag the audience down to its mindless level.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 47
  2. Negative: 7 out of 47
  1. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    My official review of "The Last Stand" can be summed up into a single word: America! Now I know you're asking "Stamp, what does America haveMy official review of "The Last Stand" can be summed up into a single word: America! Now I know you're asking "Stamp, what does America have to do with The Last Stand?", and I'm glad you asked, Jeeves. My thesis is as follows. "The Last Stand", Arnold Schwarzenegger's newest theatrical release, and The Great United States of America go hand in hand because of the ridiculously good-looking and super fast Corvette( America's sports car); Arnold, himself, is an American dream come true; and because of U.S. citizens taking up arms to make a last stand against evil. Pun intended, although I'm not sure if it counts because that's what the title is talking about. Moving on, I left the theater entertained, motivated, and grateful to live in a great country. Last but importantly, they mention Jesus. Let's take a moment for a standing ovation for Jesus. Our lives are better for it. In conclusion, I officially award "The Last Stand" with my first ever Stamp Of Approval. Expand
  2. Jan 21, 2013
    8
    This was a good action movie. Only slightly more than the trailer, but still entertaining. If you are in the mood for a good drama, go seeThis was a good action movie. Only slightly more than the trailer, but still entertaining. If you are in the mood for a good drama, go see Zero Dark Thirty. If you want a good action, see this. Expand
  3. Jan 21, 2013
    7
    Critics, man. What a bunch of bummers...same with some of the users, too. What do you expect from an Arnold flick? Do you think he's goingCritics, man. What a bunch of bummers...same with some of the users, too. What do you expect from an Arnold flick? Do you think he's going to be remaking The Magnificent Ambersons or The Man Who Would Be King? Much like both Expendables films I went for the nostalgia of the days when I couldn't wait for the next Arnie flick or Stallone, etc. Sure, this is the last gasp, but I'm there for it. Just for fun. If you are going to see The Last Stand may I recommend low expectations and look forward for a fun, if cliche' d, ride. You've been on the Matterhorn at Disneyland a hundred times as a kid, but something about that rickety old thing makes you want to go one more time. Expand
  4. Jan 22, 2013
    6
    "The Last Stand" is just what it sounds like. If you were thinking of a western, you're absolutely correct. This is a completely mindless"The Last Stand" is just what it sounds like. If you were thinking of a western, you're absolutely correct. This is a completely mindless action movie with very mediocre acting. Arnold is being Arnold and Knoxville being Knoxville. Being a fan of the "Jackass" series and movies, it was fun to see him do a couple stunts but, overall, his character was simply there for comic relief (in a movie which is already an action comedy). I love the director, Kim Jee-woon, for his past Korean work on "The Good, The Bad, The Weird" and "I Saw The Devil" but I think he should stick to Korean casts. It's just no actors really shine in this one. I went with my friend and I found it comical that, for one, very few people were in the theater (on opening night) and, secondly, they were all middle-aged. You could see in the way they laughed at Arnie's one-liners that they wanted this to be Schwarzenegger's comeback. However, I'm sorry to say that it's not (plus, nothing will ever top Terminator). It's a good Netflix or On Demand rental but that's all. Expand
  5. Feb 12, 2014
    6
    I felt a little lost in this movie. Don't get me wrong I thought it was actually pretty good but it bounced back from humor and seriousnessI felt a little lost in this movie. Don't get me wrong I thought it was actually pretty good but it bounced back from humor and seriousness that made it hard to know when to take it seriously. Other than that is just a good old fashion action movie with Arnold, how could that go wrong? Collapse
  6. Jan 28, 2013
    5
    Some parts of the movie were really painful to watch, but if you're looking for an action flick devoid of any plausible storytelling, go seeSome parts of the movie were really painful to watch, but if you're looking for an action flick devoid of any plausible storytelling, go see this movie. Expand
  7. Apr 30, 2013
    2
    A small time sheriff is called up to the plate when an escaped fugitive tries to drive through his town......and of course he steps up to theA small time sheriff is called up to the plate when an escaped fugitive tries to drive through his town......and of course he steps up to the plate with his rag-tag bunch of deputies and puts on a great "Last Stand". The story line is as painfully dull as the characters and the dialogs and the acting. There are a few good action scenes and car chases, but other than that, Arnold's great comeback is nothing more than big giant muscular cliche. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews

Trailers