Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: May 16, 2003
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 33 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
29
Mixed:
2
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DanielH.Aug 11, 2003
My new favorite movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JennyC.Oct 28, 2003
I was living in Barcelona for an entire year myself as a student, and I have to say that this movie captures exactly what that experience was like - absolutely amazing!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ShaneM.Jun 2, 2003
This was a very funny but realistic movie about living in a foreign culture when young. The rag-tag collection of roommates were great, Romain Duris as Xavier played the part beautifully, it reminded me of a time when you learned about life This was a very funny but realistic movie about living in a foreign culture when young. The rag-tag collection of roommates were great, Romain Duris as Xavier played the part beautifully, it reminded me of a time when you learned about life by going out for drinks with friends.... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AidaZ.Jul 1, 2003
Sensational. Everyone concerned -specially students - must see a film like this one. Young university student movies in the US seem like pure garbage compared to l'auberge espagnole. And an excellent view of Ciutat Vella in Barcelona!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
J.RyanG.Jun 17, 2005
A pro-European Union political essay that was adapted to the big screen. Energetic and constantly thinking, the film would work brilliantly if the main character weren't a complete loser, if certain romantic subplots weren't A pro-European Union political essay that was adapted to the big screen. Energetic and constantly thinking, the film would work brilliantly if the main character weren't a complete loser, if certain romantic subplots weren't completely illegitimate, and if the ending's revelation wasn't completely uncalled for. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CarlosC.Jan 13, 2004
A great film that depicts the crazy life of a study abroad experience. From the music to the beautiful sights of Barcelona, I rate this movie a ten!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LBMar 7, 2004
Wonderfully upbeat, realistic, comical movie. A must see foreign flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TerencePFeb 7, 2005
This is a very enjoyable movie, like mentioned already, it reminded me of my time living in Europe. The characters are well written and the dialog is lively. I highly recommend this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AmurabiM.Aug 7, 2006
Without the annoying visual effects, the lead character in his depressive period (and loser attitude) and the use of bad accents in spanish (looks like the actors learn just the lines who performed, but they are not believable like students Without the annoying visual effects, the lead character in his depressive period (and loser attitude) and the use of bad accents in spanish (looks like the actors learn just the lines who performed, but they are not believable like students in Barcelona in an entire year of learning language), "L´Auberge Espagnole" could be a great french comedy without corny approaches. Klapisch´s film looks radiant, vibrant, funny, full of life, splendorous and optimistic. Someone coul be understand the propaganda in it, but the whole sense of the movie prevails over that. This film is not hilarious but has some joie de vivre that is more important and vital. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleInFranceOct 24, 2003
Excellent film. Better in French.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JorgeA.Apr 22, 2005
Très comique! A mi me gusta porque usa las tres idiomas que más me gustan. I especially love the fact that there is much to be loved about different cultures and how Xavier learns many of life's greatest lessons from the Très comique! A mi me gusta porque usa las tres idiomas que más me gustan. I especially love the fact that there is much to be loved about different cultures and how Xavier learns many of life's greatest lessons from the most unlikely of places. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkNov 12, 2003
Loved this movie. Reminded me of my study abroad experience... See it, love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HassanB.Oct 22, 2003
Absolutely entertaining. Shows the heart and minds of Europeans and takes into the life of Xavier, as he tries to find himself, much like all of us teens and young adults do! Excellent!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeyG.May 29, 2003
This was an excellent movie! The characters were great, the location was beautiful, and the message was inspiring. Very funny at times and very heart-warming at others, this movie is one of very few movies that are very truthful in what they This was an excellent movie! The characters were great, the location was beautiful, and the message was inspiring. Very funny at times and very heart-warming at others, this movie is one of very few movies that are very truthful in what they says and what their characters say. They act like real people and at the same time are highly likable. Everyone should definitely go see this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RachelB.Jun 16, 2003
Excellent film. A must see. It has vision. The characters are real. A pleasure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidJun 29, 2003
Aside from a couple of loose ends that should have been dealt with or excluded from the plot entirely, I loved this film. The actors did an excellent job portraying their characters. This one broght back a ton of memories from my year in Spain!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuniorN.Mar 24, 2004
This is better than a lotta things that they show us on the box office...this is an intelligent movie , funny, a must see!!!! C'est Plus intelligent que beaucoup de navet qui passe au box-office et meilleur!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
mapizarroNov 27, 2013
Cédric Klapisch starts his trilogy "Spanish Apartment" is good. Romain Duris reminds me to Adèle Exarchopoulos in "Blue Is the Warmest Colour". Duris hesitates about his life, his future. I think that Klapisch has made very good with SpanishCédric Klapisch starts his trilogy "Spanish Apartment" is good. Romain Duris reminds me to Adèle Exarchopoulos in "Blue Is the Warmest Colour". Duris hesitates about his life, his future. I think that Klapisch has made very good with Spanish reality in Barcelona (Catalan struggles for example). It's true too lives of Erasmus students. French film is fresh and good beginning (next "Russian Dolls" and coming soon "Chinese Puzzle". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews