TriStar Pictures | Release Date: January 13, 1995
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 56 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
39
Mixed:
13
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
JayPOct 21, 2007
One of the best movies of all time!!!! must see the critics are idiots.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
0
DavidSAug 8, 2009
This movie does one amazing thing: it sets a new record for cheesy cliches maybe 20 minutes from the end, then doubles the record again. Impressive!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
6
JamesH.Jan 25, 2010
The production is certainly outstanding, wonderfully photographed, good art direction and costumes. The acting is fine. It does however have a few too many cliche's and is unnecessarily over long. It is still an entertaining film, the The production is certainly outstanding, wonderfully photographed, good art direction and costumes. The acting is fine. It does however have a few too many cliche's and is unnecessarily over long. It is still an entertaining film, the grandness of it makes it worthwhile. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RandallSFeb 3, 2009
The battle scenes were awesome. The rest was mediocre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeannieC.Dec 31, 2009
This is one of my all time favorite movies. The actors were incredible and should have received Oscars. I agree with the other review: "the critics are idiots". I don't know how they could give this picture a poor rating. I loved This is one of my all time favorite movies. The actors were incredible and should have received Oscars. I agree with the other review: "the critics are idiots". I don't know how they could give this picture a poor rating. I loved everything about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RONGIUNov 19, 2010
Sorry, mechanical translation.

"Kill them all and make the scalp. These idiots have lice. "This phrase was shouted by Colonel Chigington the Indians before the attack, in November 1864. It was a real massacre, many Cheyenne, women,
Sorry, mechanical translation.

"Kill them all and make the scalp. These idiots have lice. "This phrase was shouted by Colonel Chigington the Indians before the attack, in November 1864. It was a real massacre, many Cheyenne, women, children and elderly, died in agony. I speak of the massacre at Sand Creek. We should not await the advent of Nazism or fascism to hear and see things like that. Unfortunately and too easily forget the man. Just as the mind gives birth to strange ideas sometimes, even the belly of a woman can give birth to these characters mostruosità.I that caught my attention are: the mother, "Christina Pickles", as Isabel Ludlow. First made them, the children and then forget them. Responds to the husband gently on charges of leaving him alone in the education of children with a ... "Dear William, as always, too much responsibility on you, our children are finding their way, they are stubborn, but, after all, who ... are we to criticize their stubbornness. " Mrs. Isabel has invented a new type of maternal education, distance learning, made of letters and written advice. The omelette is done! Tristan, it all has understood. "He refused even to name it" A son, dear lady Isabel, in seeking their own way can also go astray. I ask - where was she when it happened? "Anthony Hopkins" Colonel William Ludlow, after helplessly witnessing the massacre of the Indians, made his life choice, taking on, among other things, by itself, the difficult task of raising three boys by nature not easy . He knows the human soul, "always deceived in her hopes, and always deceiving ... (Leopardi), tries to make that clear to his son Alfred, candidate for U.S. Congress and who became live with a group of supporters, asking for his blessing "And these gentlemen what they hope to obtain in exchange .- What did you say Colonel? - "I speak your language sir. What would you change in the election of my child? "You asked this question Alfred? The Congress is the Government-sir. "I worked for the Government too. At that time the Indians were concerned, I assure you gentlemen that there is nothing more terrible encounter between a boy and a bullet, entire villages razed, families massacred in their sleep. It 's so that the Government resolved that issue in particular and nothing that has done since has convinced me that has acquired wisdom, common sense or umanità.Brad Pitt, "Tristan L. Grande and chameleon in all sequences, is In this film, with its manifestations in nature. Can be as violent as a volcano in eruption and gentle as a zephyr, harbinger of spring. His attitudes are never false or treacherous, and he loves when he does, he gives himself without pretense. I would like to make two small combinations, "The sages say that when a man and an animal mix their blood become one" this scene reminded me so much in "Avatar" the empathy that has been created between the flier and Jake Sully by way of biochemical. The second refers to a shot from the top of the ship on which Tristan. Here, there appeared to me immediately to mind Gary Sinise, Lt. Dan Tylor - in Forrest Gump. Julia Ormond is Susannah Finncannon I loved it. His pain is too strong and I do not want to talk about.

Thanks.

Good Ciak.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AliveguyDec 28, 2010
This is a great, heart felt tale about a family overcoming obstacles, coming together and proving that family comes first. The actors give great performances and this is in my top 5 movies of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jp992751Jan 26, 2011
Beautifully acted and amazing direction, but the movie just seemed a bit...average (albeit on the high end of average). The stars are numerous and at the top of their game and the story is riveting, but Legends of the Fall never establishesBeautifully acted and amazing direction, but the movie just seemed a bit...average (albeit on the high end of average). The stars are numerous and at the top of their game and the story is riveting, but Legends of the Fall never establishes the most important part of a movie...a likable character. Where Legends of the Fall fails is the simple act that there is not a single character that the viewer can look at and share sympathy with as each of them are so self righteous or self loathing. Pitt is the only person (along with the minor role of Gordon Tootoosis) that any one can feel for, but even he makes situation so difficult that the viewer can't relate to him or anyone. Legends of the Fall is a good movie but with a likable character it could have been great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AliceofXJul 17, 2016
Not knowing anything about the movie I could immediately tell it was based on a novel just after a few minutes of watching, and it manages to use that perfectly what otherwise could have been clumsy exposition. This film has everything. It'sNot knowing anything about the movie I could immediately tell it was based on a novel just after a few minutes of watching, and it manages to use that perfectly what otherwise could have been clumsy exposition. This film has everything. It's a great character drama, which is created from a great story and great actors, all on the background of rough, beautiful landscapes. In a few words, this is a film about family, with all the tragedies and heartbreak that come with it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
DarylZer0Dec 22, 2015
I was in this movie as an extra with 2 friends of mine. I remember still feeling the moist war clothes on my body after 14 hours of shooting and still hearing the fake bombs go off in my head. It was an amazing experience. But as a movie, itI was in this movie as an extra with 2 friends of mine. I remember still feeling the moist war clothes on my body after 14 hours of shooting and still hearing the fake bombs go off in my head. It was an amazing experience. But as a movie, it is awful, pretentious, and at times unintentionally hilarious. Also this is James Horner's worst score. But every woman I talk to about it seems to love this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AndresGudinoJan 1, 2016
Amazing storyline... I did felt inspired, brave, angry and hopeful until the end!!!
Critics are idiots..
none of them have a valid argument to mark it low but they do it anyway.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews