Legion

Legion Image
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 180 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: When God loses faith in Mankind, he sends his legion of angels to bring on the Apocalypse. Humanity's only hope lies in a group of strangers trapped in a desert diner and the Archangel Michael. (Sony Pictures)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Negative: 6 out of 14
  1. Often resembles a prime John Carpenter thriller--call it "Assault on Manger 13"--until an overcaffeinated angel-fu climax significantly lowers the intelligence quotient.
  2. The film has enough entertaining action and sly humor to please its target audience.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    60
    Even when the blood-and-thunder hokiness of the over-the-top plot tilts perilously close to absurdity, the admirably straight-faced performances by well-cast lead players provide just enough counterbalance to sustain audience curiosity and sympathy.
  4. 40
    This wan rebooting of the Christ tale has decent acting, serviceable if familiar visual effects, a few jump-in-your-seat moments, and the always crowd-pleasing gimmick of a senior citizen cussing up a storm. But the down time between action scenes is deadly dull and the film's hoary cinematic shorthand (i.e., a young Black man enters the film to the sound of hip-hop and fights with his baby mama) is more terrifying than anything else served up.
  5. 33
    A cartoonishly grim supernatural thriller that could stand a lot less talk and a lot more thrills.
  6. Legion may traffic in signposts of the apocalypse, but the whole affair mostly indicates that we're in the movie wasteland that is January.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    20
    Could have been T2 with seraphs, or Assault On Precinct 13 crossed with Revelations. Instead, it’s a lazy genre bore. Doesn’t bode well for Priest, the next Stewart/Bettany film in the pipeline.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 79
  2. Negative: 49 out of 79
  1. JoeS.
    Jan 25, 2010
    8
    I thought it had a strong cast I thought Dennis Quaid was great in it, I didn't think I would like Paul Bettany as the leading star as I thought it had a strong cast I thought Dennis Quaid was great in it, I didn't think I would like Paul Bettany as the leading star as the angel but I was wrong and liked him to. I didn't think this movie was to slow at all like most people do for some reason. It has a lot of action and a lot of horror all and all the only thing is I think the director could've found a better leading angel but all and all I enjoyed it as well he comes in and saves the baby while the other angel wanted it dead pretty easy to follow. It had the right amount of action and horror and I'm saying I liked it. Expand
  2. MichaelH.
    Jan 22, 2010
    3
    Not a good movie. It is a weak mash-up of apocalyptic prophecy and a cost-cutting slow moving zombie movie. There is an insult to a greater Not a good movie. It is a weak mash-up of apocalyptic prophecy and a cost-cutting slow moving zombie movie. There is an insult to a greater intelligence existing here, and that is not the Bible - but the audience itself. Expand
  3. JoshuaL
    Jan 26, 2010
    2
    I give Legion, Legion's director, writer, film crew and especially the review committee, a huge WTF!! The Actor for Michael wasn't I give Legion, Legion's director, writer, film crew and especially the review committee, a huge WTF!! The Actor for Michael wasn't too terrible, but the rest were pretty bad. The concept (Angels) is the only reason this film gets anything more than 0. (*Warning Spoilers*) If you were a guy with only enough time to see one movie this year, DON'T see Legion. If you were a super rich guy with money and time to waste, DON'T see Legion. In my opinion, Legion was HORRIBLE. The Storyboard was somewhat confusing. The plot was driven by an ridiculously bad decision. The FIrst Question that comes into your head when you watch this is "WHY?!?!?" Why does god want to kill of Humanity? Why does god try to wipe them out by mutating humans into pointy tooted zombies? (as opposed to a flood, or a meteorite, or lightning, or a plague, etc.) Why and how does the unborn child save humanity? WHY WOULD YOU CUT OFF YOUR WINGS?!?!? I can see what the writers wanted to do, but I totally disapprove of what came out. It's like they made a cake (good concept) and then blended it with some action figures, then threw it out the window. The Result was TERRIBLE and USELESS. The Entire Movie was WAY too predictable. This is the Movie's storyboard: *Begin*Pointless Emo Scene*Random Problem*Random Attack*Good guy comes*First Wave*Story*Horrible Deaths*Second Wave* More Deaths*Flashback*Fight Scene*Death*Car Chase*Mountain Climb*Cliffhanger*Un-Death*Cheesy Lines*Spare your Life*Look out to the Horizon*End* Whoever wrote the script for Legion should hang their head in shame. Every single line was cheesy. The only good line was the last one that the good guy says at the end-ish. The ONLY ONE that somewhat surprised me. The Writer clearly thought "Oh yeah, let's have this great idea, right? Hmm... There's only like 5 minutes of story here... Let's add some pointless violence and explosions! People like pointless violence, right? There we go! Now its somewhat longer. Let's make them say stuff that sound like it came from Shakespeare, except really bad! Still not long enough... Let's make the fight scene pointless and totally unfair, then let's add an Explosion! It's long enough! That's good! Let's Film!" However, I'm not giving the film credit for what it did okay. The pointless violence and explosions were good, although pointless. Tons of Gore (good/bad?). Tons of Pointless Swearing (good/bad?). The Angel fight was cool. Gabriel had bulletproof wings and a transforming-pointy-mace-super-weapon. That was cool. In the end, this is the kind of film that is SO BAD, you can only watch it if you are with friends, commenting on every single bad part of the Movie. Even then you might want to just walk away. When and if it comes out on DVD, don't get it. Don't even get it for your worst enemy, that would be way too cruel. Expand
  4. BrianN.
    Jan 25, 2010
    1
    Horribly abysmal and very stupid. If you're stuck going, pray for an angel to carry you away or at least shoot you and put you out of Horribly abysmal and very stupid. If you're stuck going, pray for an angel to carry you away or at least shoot you and put you out of your misery. Definite Razzie fare. Expand
  5. DanW
    Jan 22, 2010
    0
    Honestly, how does a script this bad even get green-lit? Even if this movie somehow manages to make some money, someone should lose their job Honestly, how does a script this bad even get green-lit? Even if this movie somehow manages to make some money, someone should lose their job for subjecting the world to this film-making atrocity. I want my 10 bucks back. Aaaagggh!!! Expand

See all 79 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Most Anticipated Video Games of 2016, Part 1: Sequels, Remakes and Adaptations

    Most Anticipated Video Games of 2016, Part 1: Sequels, Remakes and Adaptations Image
    Published: January 19, 2016
    Preview 25 notable videogame franchises returning with new titles in 2016, including Uncharted, Mass Effect, Dark Souls, Legend of Zelda, and more.
  2. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  3. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.