User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 316 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 316

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    One of the most refreshing vampire films you'll see this decade. The story is poetic yet disturbing and the leads are well cast. Watching it with good friends will only improve the experience.
  2. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    I can't say enough good things about this film, so I guess I'll just say one. The main reason this movie worked so well for me is quite simple: I have never (and likely will never) have a stronger emotional connection with the characters. Too many films rely on things like SFX, creative camera-work, bright colors and flashy visuals to draw audiences into the film's world. Here, there'sI can't say enough good things about this film, so I guess I'll just say one. The main reason this movie worked so well for me is quite simple: I have never (and likely will never) have a stronger emotional connection with the characters. Too many films rely on things like SFX, creative camera-work, bright colors and flashy visuals to draw audiences into the film's world. Here, there's almost none of that. All you have is the writing and the characters. And, shockingly, those two things alone amount to, literally, the best film than I have ever seen. No joke. Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2010
    7
    Boy gets bullied at school, meets strange girl, becomes friends, people get murdered in the town, learns Morse code, hits back at bullies, strange girl isn't what she seems.
    Swedish film which is a sort of dark fairytale about adolescence in a small town.The two main actors are excellent & has some beautiful cinematography & atmospheric music to get the feel of the place.
    It is quite slow
    Boy gets bullied at school, meets strange girl, becomes friends, people get murdered in the town, learns Morse code, hits back at bullies, strange girl isn't what she seems.
    Swedish film which is a sort of dark fairytale about adolescence in a small town.The two main actors are excellent & has some beautiful cinematography & atmospheric music to get the feel of the place.
    It is quite slow in parts but overall a lot better than some of the other vampire films that have been made recently.
    Collapse
  4. Aug 26, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Definitely one of the most original vampire stories I've seen in a long time, with an odd mixture of childlike innocence and gore. In the end, though, it's not completely compelling and some of the situations require a herculean suspension of disbelief, such as when victims are being killed in what is practically broad daylight... out in the open... with lots of witnesses... and those witness barely register any emotional response or even call the police. On top of that, it's a bit slow. The two young leads act their parts brilliantly, however there rest of the characters are mere caricature. Expand
  5. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Captures the quiet eeriness and beauty of the Swedish landscape just as well as it confidently maps the contours of human sociality. The combination of the two geographies sears itself more deeply into memory than the pomp and circumstance of more ambitious (but less effective) films. Redeems chocolate as a symbol for love.
  6. Sep 29, 2010
    0
    I watched an English dubbed version of 'Let the Right One In' and was extremely disappointed. The critics had led me to believe that this was the greatest vampire movie of all time, but whether it was due to the terrible dubbing or not, i did not see any entertainment value whatsoever in this boring mess of a movie which, i can honestly say, was slightly worse than the atrocious twilight movies.
  7. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    Overall, this was truly a story for the intellect, after watching I sat for days unable to watch another movie, or even think about anything else really. The movie was a haunting, original take on vampires, which is refreshing in light of the new "Teen Vampire" fad. It was a beautiful movie about companionship and the true nature of evil. Could not have been a better cast selected forOverall, this was truly a story for the intellect, after watching I sat for days unable to watch another movie, or even think about anything else really. The movie was a haunting, original take on vampires, which is refreshing in light of the new "Teen Vampire" fad. It was a beautiful movie about companionship and the true nature of evil. Could not have been a better cast selected for these children. Everyone should see this movie, because it's difficult to describe what it makes you feel. Definitely a unique experience. Expand
  8. Nov 1, 2010
    8
    *No spoiler review* An atypical vampire story done right...finally! If you are sick and tired of the sexy and sleak vampire stories of recent times like Twilight or True Blood (and I certainly am) give this movie a watch; I can't see how you could possibly be disappointed. For the story/plot I give the movie 8 out of 10. The story has the best of both worlds when it comes to American vs*No spoiler review* An atypical vampire story done right...finally! If you are sick and tired of the sexy and sleak vampire stories of recent times like Twilight or True Blood (and I certainly am) give this movie a watch; I can't see how you could possibly be disappointed. For the story/plot I give the movie 8 out of 10. The story has the best of both worlds when it comes to American vs Foreign cinema. While it progresses at a pace that doesn't allow for drowsiness it still unfolds calmly and with a good amount of mystery; and things are not always explicitly explained, which I love. Aesthically/visually I give the movie 8/10. The cinematography is beautiful and there are sometimes some really interesting and creative shots. This movie definitely utilizes the power of visual storytelling. I would also like to point out in this section that the music is awesome! It's a really ambient orchestral score that fits totally well in the context of the movie and also stands on its own at times. Overall this film was top notch and one of the best movies in general I've seen in a while. I was completely engrossed from start to finish and I plan on watching it a second and third time very soon (if that's not a positive review of a movie I don't know what is). I took away 2 points out of 10 from my score because of a certain very silly scene involving some cats (you'll know when you see it) and because while it is freakin' awesome (seriously, see it) it is not so big a revelation as to warrant a 9 or 10 score reserved for the truly best pictures out there. There's no reason to be hesitant or timid about seeing this. It has such a high user AND critical score for a reason. Stop reading reviews and rent or stream this on a night when you can be engaged in a good movie. Don't sacrifice this beauty to that "I'm pretty tired so I'll just throw on this movie until I fall asleep and finish it tomorrow" kind of night. Expand
  9. Nov 22, 2010
    8
    Given that the film is originally from Sweden gives the film edge before even viewing it, but this film is mainly a series of events tied together. It's mainly centered on Oskar, who is being bullied by his classmates but never has the courage to strike back. Then he meets Eli, a girl who is about his age and they slowly start to fall for each other. But Eli is leaving out one littleGiven that the film is originally from Sweden gives the film edge before even viewing it, but this film is mainly a series of events tied together. It's mainly centered on Oskar, who is being bullied by his classmates but never has the courage to strike back. Then he meets Eli, a girl who is about his age and they slowly start to fall for each other. But Eli is leaving out one little detail, she is a blood sucking vampire! With an implication that Oskar is lonely, he soons accepts the fact that she is one because he loves her. Eli is tied to bloody deaths around the town, but the director focuses more on Eli's and Oskar's relationship and there sides of the family rather than criminal investigations and the creature feature aspect. He does it simply by positioning the camera's in a wide shot where the action is happening. Unlike American horror, "Let the Right one In" excludes any crescendos and develops a nice storyline that keeps you interested, but everything appears blan. Expand
  10. Gus
    Jan 3, 2011
    2
    This movie was just not interesting. It bored me half to death. It barely had any good scares. The little boy was annoying. A lot of the scenes could have been brilliant if they were just quicker and more intense, but they weren't. The scenes that should've been intense just plodded along endlessly. This is one of those instances where music could have done wonders for a movie.
  11. Jan 17, 2011
    9
    The first time I saw this film I was all alone in an art cinema in Copenhagen. And I was completely baffled. The main characters took me in in a way that I hadn't thought possible whilst putting the word horror and vampire flick together in my head. The settings for the film are so bleak in that 70'ies building complex, in the dead of winter and so completely devout of colors that it can'tThe first time I saw this film I was all alone in an art cinema in Copenhagen. And I was completely baffled. The main characters took me in in a way that I hadn't thought possible whilst putting the word horror and vampire flick together in my head. The settings for the film are so bleak in that 70'ies building complex, in the dead of winter and so completely devout of colors that it can't but make an impression. The feeling of impending doom is everywhere from the start - first in Oskar being followed and bullied, then in a young vampire's struggle for survival and even in her helper's struggle to help her. And this feeling of doom that stuck with me throughout the film stayed with me afterwords. I keep reading that the Swedish director knows exactly what childhood is all about and that his way of portraying this is without comparison - I'm happy to say that my childhood was nothing like what is portrayed in this film and keeping the feeling this film installed in me in mind, I'm very grateful for this. I quite simply love this film. Expand
  12. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    It achieves not only the implementation of vampires without roaming superfluously -- unlike the frivolous notion of aggregating werewolves, vampires, and a teenage girl with the oh so excruciating dilemma of a fetish pertaining to either necrophilia or bestiality -- but also artistically and masterfully elicits the subjects of loneliness, romance, and horror. From the vista that is theIt achieves not only the implementation of vampires without roaming superfluously -- unlike the frivolous notion of aggregating werewolves, vampires, and a teenage girl with the oh so excruciating dilemma of a fetish pertaining to either necrophilia or bestiality -- but also artistically and masterfully elicits the subjects of loneliness, romance, and horror. From the vista that is the cinematography ubiquitous in black nights and white snow, to the authentic performances displayed therein, Let The Right One In, again, is a masterful film. Expand
  13. Feb 1, 2011
    9
    This is perhaps the best movie I've seen in the past two years.. It is sober and powerful, beautifully acted and directed, everything is just right. Absolutely not to be missed.
  14. Apr 13, 2011
    10
    Creepy, ethereal and peculiarly moving tale of pre-adolescent revenge, a blood-sucking superannuated 12 year old (brilliantly played by a real 12 year old), extreme cold (debuting as an additional character here) and first love. Free of the the burden of superstylisation and the glossy pretensions which have spoiled vampire films since time began, this is, refreshingly, a story as muchCreepy, ethereal and peculiarly moving tale of pre-adolescent revenge, a blood-sucking superannuated 12 year old (brilliantly played by a real 12 year old), extreme cold (debuting as an additional character here) and first love. Free of the the burden of superstylisation and the glossy pretensions which have spoiled vampire films since time began, this is, refreshingly, a story as much about love and loneliness as it is about vampires. Expand
  15. May 31, 2011
    10
    I'll not dare try to do this film justice with words. It is only one of two movies I will rate a 10. Spooky, tasteful, alarming, wonderful. Let the Right One In is all of those things. It has the soul that Hollywood seems to have lost in its attempt for bigger, better action and special effects. All the actors and actresses in this work of art (yes, it is literally that and much more)I'll not dare try to do this film justice with words. It is only one of two movies I will rate a 10. Spooky, tasteful, alarming, wonderful. Let the Right One In is all of those things. It has the soul that Hollywood seems to have lost in its attempt for bigger, better action and special effects. All the actors and actresses in this work of art (yes, it is literally that and much more) are superb, but the best? Lina Leandersson. The girl can project more emotion with her eyes than most can using speech and every other tool. Expand
  16. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    I can't say enough great things about this film. I've never been big on vampire films, but I must say, this one blew my expectations out of the water. I watched "Låt Den Rätte Komma In" after viewing the American version ("Let Me In"), and hearing great things about the original Swedish version. I thought I'd give it a go considering I'd been studying the SwedishI can't say enough great things about this film. I've never been big on vampire films, but I must say, this one blew my expectations out of the water. I watched "Låt Den Rätte Komma In" after viewing the American version ("Let Me In"), and hearing great things about the original Swedish version. I thought I'd give it a go considering I'd been studying the Swedish language anyway. So I took up the task of watching the film without English subtitles. I do NOT regret it. Never in any film I had witnessed prior to viewing "Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' had I seen two polar opposites such as death and love combined in such a magnificent way that it almost brought me to tears. I've watched the film three times since my original viewing and it only gets better each time. The performance(s) of Kåre Hedebrant and Lina Leandersson were simply stunning. All in all, ''Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' takes the classic vampire story and turns it into a beautifully woven modern tale of love, death, and adolescent challenges faced by people everyday. I would say that ''Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' is one of (if not the) greatest film(s) I have seen in the past twenty years. I wholeheartedly recommend it to everyone, and I truly say that ''Låt Den Rätte Komma In'' (Or ''Let the Right One In,'' as Americans have come to know it as) is a film you need to see before you die. Expand
  17. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    As a fan of the book this has to be the best adaptation of a horror novel since The Exorcist. The child actors act like real kids instead of 20 somethings pretending to be teenagers. It has marvelous cinematography and sticks closer to the vampire mythology and this puts Stephanie Meyer's Twilight to shame since both the book and film were released after Let The Right One In. It provesAs a fan of the book this has to be the best adaptation of a horror novel since The Exorcist. The child actors act like real kids instead of 20 somethings pretending to be teenagers. It has marvelous cinematography and sticks closer to the vampire mythology and this puts Stephanie Meyer's Twilight to shame since both the book and film were released after Let The Right One In. It proves that international features are fresh. Expand
  18. Aug 8, 2011
    7
    Although Let The Right One In is a struggle to sit through if you have the patience you will be pleasantly surprised to find a deeply moving love story of two kids who find refuge in there relationship when the only thing their lives know is chaos.
  19. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    http://mikesharkey.blogspot.com/2009/04/lat-den-ratte-komma-in-let-right-one-in.html
    Hoyte van Hoytema
  20. Oct 12, 2011
    7
    Having just read the original book by John Ajvide Lindqvist, I was really looking forward to finally seeing this. I wasn't disappointed, but couldn't help but feel a little underwhelmed due to the amount of plot that didn't make the transition from page to screen.

    A good film, but not on a par with the book.
  21. Nov 3, 2011
    7
    Original and well acted with strong character development. The fact that the storyline didn't fantasise and made you feel that the story was set in a real situation with real people meant that this movie made a mockery of most of the vampire movies released in the past few years.
  22. Zal
    Jan 11, 2012
    10
    I adored this movie. It's not quite as dark as the book, but it's dark enough. The acting is pretty good. The two leads are very likable and relatable and their romance feels legitimate. This is something I rarely say about movies but I was really able to connect with both these characters. Is it the most original story ever told? No. But it takes a premise that has been beaten to deathI adored this movie. It's not quite as dark as the book, but it's dark enough. The acting is pretty good. The two leads are very likable and relatable and their romance feels legitimate. This is something I rarely say about movies but I was really able to connect with both these characters. Is it the most original story ever told? No. But it takes a premise that has been beaten to death and turns it into something simple yet effective. Expand
  23. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    I have a question for you all. What other vampire movie has a better ending than this one? Think long and hard, because I haven't been able to think of any other since I watched this beautifully cold Swedish film! It captures the rawness the book had, and layers a thick blue and white coating over it while it gets sprinkled with a little blood. Its characters are painfully realistic, andI have a question for you all. What other vampire movie has a better ending than this one? Think long and hard, because I haven't been able to think of any other since I watched this beautifully cold Swedish film! It captures the rawness the book had, and layers a thick blue and white coating over it while it gets sprinkled with a little blood. Its characters are painfully realistic, and you can't help but cheer for the vampire girl, even though she's a "monster" inside, as well as the ever bullied Oskar, whom you cheer for when he's bullied and hope the bastards get what's coming. And the payoff, is well over any expectation. Expand
  24. Feb 29, 2012
    8
    Let the Right One In not only re-invents and updates the vampire genre, but uses it as a tool to tackle some really quite complex and heady themes. Though his film is heavy in symbolism and subtext, director Tomas Alfredson never loses sight of what really matters - his characters and their relationship. The lonely, bullied 12 year-old boy Oskar and the mysterious "more or less" 12Let the Right One In not only re-invents and updates the vampire genre, but uses it as a tool to tackle some really quite complex and heady themes. Though his film is heavy in symbolism and subtext, director Tomas Alfredson never loses sight of what really matters - his characters and their relationship. The lonely, bullied 12 year-old boy Oskar and the mysterious "more or less" 12 year-old vampire Eli, both roles exceptionally performed by the young actors Kare Hedebrant and Lina Leandersson. Hedebrant makes young Oskar an undeniably odd but likeable protagonist, and Leandersson (with the help of the more androgynous-sounding Elif Ceylan's dubbing) brilliantly embodies Eli with ambiguity - she's equal parts vulnerable and threatening, caring and manipulative, animalistic and human. Per Ragnar is also good as Hakan, Eli's guardian, though I personally prefer Richard Jenkins' far more empathetic portrayal of the character in Matt Reeves' remake of the film. The film is effective as a horror, with the constant feeling of tension and unease it maintains throughout, as a social drama with its story of Oskar finding the courage to stand up to his tormentors and escape his unhappy life at home, and as a love story (though a highly unconventional one). I praise Alfredson and writer John Ajvide Lindqvist (the same writer of the novel on which the film is based) for keeping the vast majority of the film's events, and character motivations up to viewer interpretation - we never quite know the extent of Hakan's relationship with Eli, other than bringing her food, nor do we know what Eli's real intentions for Oskar are, as he clearly loves her, but it's difficult to tell whether she has any real affection for him or whether she is simply grooming him to become her new guardian in case of Hakan's demise. Where the ambiguity works less well is in terms of plot-holes - it's not really clearly explained how the vengeful Lacke (Peter Carlberg) manages to piece together where Eli lives, nor why Hakan would take such a big risk by attacking a boy in a school gym changing room (the fact that it was during a night-time class and he might have been a little bit desperate don't quite seem to cover it). In the grand scheme of things, though, these are extremely minor annoyances. When a film looks this good, is so thematically rich and well performed, and keeps you engaged throughout, you'll come away thoroughly satisfied. Let the Right One In is not only a great vampire film, but an involving drama and an equal parts sinister and sweet love story - a true rarity! Expand
  25. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    Calling Let The Right One In a vampire movie is insulting really because not only is it so much more than that, it also implies that Eli (Lina Leandersson) is a vampire, something the film tries very hard to avoid saying. At its heart, Let The Right One In is a dark, twisted story of a budding relationship between lonely, bullied Oskar (Kare Hedebrant) and blood feeding 12 year old Eli.Calling Let The Right One In a vampire movie is insulting really because not only is it so much more than that, it also implies that Eli (Lina Leandersson) is a vampire, something the film tries very hard to avoid saying. At its heart, Let The Right One In is a dark, twisted story of a budding relationship between lonely, bullied Oskar (Kare Hedebrant) and blood feeding 12 year old Eli. While not as ground-breaking as people suggest, Let the Right One In is no less emotionally fulfilling. The film is mainly shown by Oskarâ Expand
  26. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    My favorite movie of all time. I saw it on my birthday the year it came out and it has stuck with me since. Never have I been so connected to characters.
  27. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    A perfect movie. Went in expecting a decent vampire flick. Was totally blown away. It wasn't just a great vampire movie, it was a great movie in general. I highly recommend this to any cinema lovers out there.
  28. Nov 16, 2012
    7
    A good film. Not a brilliant one, but a good one. It has a strange sort of pace to it, it seems to drag at times but it makes sense, in a way it adds to the tense atmosphere of it all but it can get slightly boring.
  29. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    Expertly shot and acted, "Let The Right One In" breathes new life into the vampire genre; adding a compassionately human story of love and friendship.
  30. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    this movie is brilliant. it is unique, and good at it, and those factors totally sold it to me. the best thing about it is the dynamic between the 2 main characters. the movie is also deeply disturbing like no movie i have seen in a long time, truly befitting of the title of horror. the fact alone that this was all happening to children adds an extra layer of the deep disturbance but it isthis movie is brilliant. it is unique, and good at it, and those factors totally sold it to me. the best thing about it is the dynamic between the 2 main characters. the movie is also deeply disturbing like no movie i have seen in a long time, truly befitting of the title of horror. the fact alone that this was all happening to children adds an extra layer of the deep disturbance but it is not only a horror movie! the movie works great in general, and the drama was so real. lovers of drama will love this movie the most. Expand
  31. May 9, 2013
    10
    What can I say except that I was happy to see him. One of the most beautiful films I've ever seen. Made in a simple way, it came out a masterpiece (and this shows that we should not spend many millions to make a great movie). No exaggeration with special effects or other gestures that make the characters say much more than words (the best scenes are the scene of the glass and that of theWhat can I say except that I was happy to see him. One of the most beautiful films I've ever seen. Made in a simple way, it came out a masterpiece (and this shows that we should not spend many millions to make a great movie). No exaggeration with special effects or other gestures that make the characters say much more than words (the best scenes are the scene of the glass and that of the pool) and an innocent love and tender that is able to kneel horror. This movie should have been paid a lot and we should not consider it as twilight because this film is much, much better than the "story" of love. This movie makes you feel wonderful emotions and recommend it to everyone, absolutely everyone to watch it because it's worth it. Expand
  32. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    Hands down for the best film of 2008. I really liked this movie, and it is a big comeback to the vampire movies. Today we have "The Vampire Diaries", "True Blood" and "Twilight". But forget them, because "Let The Right One In" is a movie that shows that just because a vampire and a human can become friends and later on lovers, dosen´t mean that it must be a boring and stupid romantic movieHands down for the best film of 2008. I really liked this movie, and it is a big comeback to the vampire movies. Today we have "The Vampire Diaries", "True Blood" and "Twilight". But forget them, because "Let The Right One In" is a movie that shows that just because a vampire and a human can become friends and later on lovers, dosen´t mean that it must be a boring and stupid romantic movie (like Twilight). "Let The Right One In" does feature a little romance, but its also a disturbing and a scary movie. Expand
  33. Nov 2, 2013
    3
    Gory thrillers are basically all that Scandinavian movies are famous for worldwide and Tomas Alfredson doesn’t want to share away from this with his vampire flick Let the Right One In (Låt den rätte komma in). But the Swedish production that has been showed at pretty much any film festival imaginable still isn’t what you’d call mainstream. The main characters are a twelve-year-old bullyingGory thrillers are basically all that Scandinavian movies are famous for worldwide and Tomas Alfredson doesn’t want to share away from this with his vampire flick Let the Right One In (Låt den rätte komma in). But the Swedish production that has been showed at pretty much any film festival imaginable still isn’t what you’d call mainstream. The main characters are a twelve-year-old bullying victim and a vampiress of the same age just that she’s been twelve for a longer time. Now does that sound odd to you? Well, it is. Damn right it is.
    To spice up the somberly snowed landscape of the northernmost part of Europe with some blood is a great idea stylistically and the Dutch cinematographer Hoyte Van Hoytema knows exactly how can he make the murder scenes rememberable. However, he’s quite a singularity with this in the cast of Let the Right One In. One could pick on the fact that the child actors don’t feel genuine, the director has a way too austere approach to an unbelievable story, or that there isn’t any suspense at all, but eventually, all boils down to the mixture of horror, drama, romance, and coming-of-age story that just doesn’t work. For example, one scene shows a man brutally slaughtering another man, and the next shows the flirtation of two kids. But that alone wouldn’t have ruined the movie for me it’s a handful of plainly ridiculous scenes that made it impossible for me to take Let the Right One In seriously. In one, a woman gets attacked by a dozen cats in a Scary Movie manner, in another one, the same woman ignites herself in a hospital bed, and what we also get to see are the bare nether regions of a twelve-year-old girl a scene that confirms her previous comment, she isn’t a girl. Oh, and the best is yet to come: a close-up shot of a man who’s burned his face with acid! Think of it like The Dar Knight’s Two-Face with worse prosthetics.
    If there aren’t any of such idiotic moments, time is bypassed with boring dialogs, which accumulate to a sheerly unendurable sum over the course of almost two hours running time. All of this is disappointing, considering the potential some rare scenes show as in the one, in which protagonist Oskar visits his divorced father and the lovely father-son-ambiance suddenly leaves as a buddy of his father stops by and leads him away from the offspring and to alcohol. This particular scene is short and mostly silent, but still probably the best of the film because it for once manages to emotionally affect the audience.
    The overall product though, is really disappointing. You can’t accuse Let the Right One In of using clichés, but that alone doesn’t make a film original in this case, it only makes it to an unfrightening horror film, an unmoving romance, and a drama too ridiculous to take seriously.
    Expand
  34. Mar 22, 2014
    4
    A fan of this movie I was not. Eww, Let the right one in , more like no. I was just done with this movie right from the beginning. Save *you're money, betch!
  35. Apr 9, 2014
    9
    A crisp, tasteful adaptation of a vastly layered story. Simply told and smoothly acted, Let The Right One In is the perfect companion piece to the original book.
  36. Jun 8, 2014
    6
    Good movie, but overrated in my opinion. Ensure you get the theatrical subtitles as well, as the DVD release has awful subtitles (google the controversy to find out more info). If you don't listen to the hype surrounding this movie, I think you'll enjoy in. But don't expect the masterpiece everyone keeps banging on about!
  37. Jul 24, 2014
    10
    When i imagine vampires, this is exactly the type I picture. Tormented, lonely, in conflict with the nature of its own existence. The subtle use of special effects brings to mind the phrase; when you do something right, people wont be sure you did anything at all. Not to mention a beautiful depiction of young love between two lost souls so well done it makes my heart ache. By far myWhen i imagine vampires, this is exactly the type I picture. Tormented, lonely, in conflict with the nature of its own existence. The subtle use of special effects brings to mind the phrase; when you do something right, people wont be sure you did anything at all. Not to mention a beautiful depiction of young love between two lost souls so well done it makes my heart ache. By far my favorite vampire flick to date. Expand
  38. Oct 6, 2014
    8
    Had doubts considering this was a Swedish film. I started off by watching it dubbed over in english...I made a huge mistake. I saw about 15 minutes in that these characters were actually very well versed and perfectly cast and not listening to their real voices only made the full experience suffer. It's a rare occasion when you are so intrigued by a movie that you don't even mind readingHad doubts considering this was a Swedish film. I started off by watching it dubbed over in english...I made a huge mistake. I saw about 15 minutes in that these characters were actually very well versed and perfectly cast and not listening to their real voices only made the full experience suffer. It's a rare occasion when you are so intrigued by a movie that you don't even mind reading subtitles the whole time. It was beautiful. I was so relived to watch this movie utterly dispel the Twilight perimeters of a vampire romance movie. Feels good. It creates a feeling of something dark and mysterious and brooding taking slow step after step into the shadows. The scary aspect was more in the disturbing reality of being a vampire than anything else. The development of the love between Eli and Oskar is bloody and odd but convincing. I really like how Oskar is not exactly a geek or nerd in appearance, just on the weird side, who when pushed in the right direction, becomes strong and assertive. I like how Eli is not particularly a give away as a vampire. She appears initially to be a normal innocent girl with a few weird tendencies, but even in her real element as a vampire, who needs to drink blood to live, doesn't carry the demeanor of a killer or maniac. She just does what she has to, while not really enjoying it. And linking them together with genuine love for each other, without conditions or anterior motives is just...awesome. These characters are just so well defined and seeing their love unfold was definitely a treat. Instant favorite. Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Elena Oumano
    80
    A coolly balanced and utterly compelling examination of alienation and love.
  2. If random arty blood thrills are your cup of fear, perhaps you'll enjoy Let the Right One In, a Swedish head-scratcher that has a few creepy images but very little holding them together.
  3. Reviewed by: Alissa Simon
    70
    Calling to mind the work of Anne Rice and Stephen King, atmospheric adaptation of Swedish author John Ajvide Lindqvist's bestseller is well directed by his countryman Tomas Alfredson ("Four Shades of Brown") and should click with cult and arthouse auds.