User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 94
  2. Negative: 9 out of 94
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    The absolute pinnacle of Monty Python's career is represented in this zany romp through ancient Judea that runs parallel to the story of Jesus. Holy Grail has nearly all of the classic one-liners, it's still not as funny and certainly much rougher than this polished cousin. While definitely not for those who are unable to laugh at a lampooning of the roots of their Abrahamic faith or whoThe absolute pinnacle of Monty Python's career is represented in this zany romp through ancient Judea that runs parallel to the story of Jesus. Holy Grail has nearly all of the classic one-liners, it's still not as funny and certainly much rougher than this polished cousin. While definitely not for those who are unable to laugh at a lampooning of the roots of their Abrahamic faith or who squirm at the sight of full frontal nudity, Life of Brian is still one of my highest-recommended films of all time. Brilliant! Expand
  2. RickG.
    May 15, 2004
    10
    The scene that cracks me up the most in this very funny movie has to be the Coliseum scene where Brian first meets up with the Judean People's Liberation Front, or whatever they call themselves. Brian is vending food for the handful of spectators in the mostly empty Coliseum. Meanwhile, they boo as they watch a skinny prisoner in loin cloth running around the pit of the Coliseum The scene that cracks me up the most in this very funny movie has to be the Coliseum scene where Brian first meets up with the Judean People's Liberation Front, or whatever they call themselves. Brian is vending food for the handful of spectators in the mostly empty Coliseum. Meanwhile, they boo as they watch a skinny prisoner in loin cloth running around the pit of the Coliseum while being chased by a gladiator, who has a heart attack and dies. Of course, the verbal antics of Pilate and his friend Biggus Dickus is laugh riot as well. One of the funniest films of all time. Catch it on the big screen if and when you can in your town. Expand
  3. KentC.
    Apr 6, 2008
    9
    You don't need to understand British humor to laugh here. Although some of the lines are hard to understand because of the heavy accents, This is one of the funniest movies I've seen. I'm not religious at all, so this movie didn't offend me one bit, I'm sure most of the people who gave it bad scores were offended by the religious jokes. I especially loved the You don't need to understand British humor to laugh here. Although some of the lines are hard to understand because of the heavy accents, This is one of the funniest movies I've seen. I'm not religious at all, so this movie didn't offend me one bit, I'm sure most of the people who gave it bad scores were offended by the religious jokes. I especially loved the "Spartacus" reference near the end. The only thing that bogged it down was that lame alien scene. It was pointless and stupid. Collapse
  4. DanC.
    Apr 27, 2004
    10
    Monty Python proves that they are the Beatles of Comedy with this one. They go on to prove it with Meaning of Life which also deserves a re-release. The movie isn't about Jesus (Brian lives down the street from him). The controversy wasn't deserved. All and all, this movie is one of the funniest of all time.
  5. ColinN.
    Jul 19, 2004
    10
    Wonderful.
  6. ChrisP.
    Mar 26, 2005
    10
    Great movie.
  7. May 15, 2011
    10
    Classic piece of British cinema, only an idiot could not find this funny... There's not an unfunny moment, it's filled with wit and of course classic Python, and definitely worth a watch
  8. May 7, 2011
    10
    My Favorite Python movie, besides Holy Grail and the rest. You'd have to be a total retard not to love this stuff. That's all there is to it. Um, still need more letters.... Trying to post review.... There we go.
  9. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    Widely considered to be one of the most controversial movies of all time, but also considered to be one of the funniest movies of all time. Life of Brian is my second favorite comedy ever. After the earlier Monty Python movie, Monty Python and the Holy Grail. It may not have top class acting or stunning special effects, but it's a masterpiece in it's own way.
  10. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I find this to be one of the funniest movies ever created. It doesn't necessarily attack religion but more it mocks the followers of religion. How something as simple as losing a sandal can be interpreted in a countless number of ways. It takes an original and satirical view on religion that has ever been replicated. And how can anyone forget the most hilarious imagery of a crucifixion ending with "Always Look on the Bright Side of Life" performed by Eric Idle. It is witty, creative, surreal, and of course hilarious. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. 30
    Sluggish, repetitive, and strangely timorous, with little of the zap and imagination of the Pythons' television work.
  2. 70
    For all its scruffiness, the lurching strike-rate of its gags, and the unmistakable smell of amateur dramatics given off by its repertory of rotating players with their stick-on Ted Nugent beards, Life of Brian jitters with good will. [3 May 2004, p. 110]
  3. 100
    It has been said that a Monty Python movie is only successful if it offends everyone in the audience at least once. By that measuring stick as well as nearly any other, The Life of Brian is an unqualified triumph. It makes us confront our foibles and laugh at them.