Paramount Vantage | Release Date: October 28, 2011
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 105 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
73
Mixed:
24
Negative:
8
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
SpangleNov 22, 2016
Like Crazy is a very difficult film for me to pin down in my mind. Entering the film, I had heard terrific things and it appears that I may be one of the few to enjoy director Drake Doremus' latest work, Equals. Thus, my hopes were quite highLike Crazy is a very difficult film for me to pin down in my mind. Entering the film, I had heard terrific things and it appears that I may be one of the few to enjoy director Drake Doremus' latest work, Equals. Thus, my hopes were quite high for Like Crazy, a film cited by many to be a good romantic film. Starring Felicity Jones as Anna and Anton Yelchin as Jacob, Like Crazy tells the story of two people who fall in love, but are separated after Anna overstays her visa and is banned from the United States. The film shows the ensuing turmoil the relationship is placed under as the duo struggle to come with their newly created long-distance relationship. Emotionally distant, awkwardly edited, yet greatly authentic and often quite romantic. Yet, it my struggles with the film may be traced back to misplaced expectations.

On the positive end of the spectrum, the relationship between Anna and Jacob is terrifically crafted. At first wholly romantic and filled with open adoration and infatuation, this quickly dies when Anna is sent back to Britain. The transformation from star crossed lovers to the equivalent of distant relatives is dramatic, heartbreaking, and terrifically well covered. Their personal anguish at the loss of their other half is well-defined, especially when Jacob is in a bar with another girl, Sam (Jennifer Lawrence). Though he feels a connection to Sam, a call from Anna brings him right back into the fold, as she explains that she cannot replace what she had with Jacob with any other guy. She has tried, but she has failed, and she wants him back full-time. A truly emotional scene, the moment highlights the terrific chemistry between Jones and Yelchin, while also underscoring their top-class performances. Though often exploring their relationship from an arms distance, Like Crazy is certainly blessed with great performances.

Additionally, in analyzing long-distance relationships, Like Crazy does a great job at showing the duo grow apart. At a certain point, it is clear through solemn resignation that they are no longer meant to be together, as they have spent far too much time apart for the chemistry to still remain as it once did. This realization, highlighted in the final moments in the shower, are somber, but subtly noted by the film itself. Through their long-distance relationship and flings with other people, they have grown into completely new people, unable to rekindle what once made them click so well together. By the end of the film, the chemistry between Jones and Yelchin is non-existent, highlighting the distance that now separates the couple.

Yet, the subtle nature of the film is also a curse. Though the second half benefits from it, the beginning suffers greatly. The beginning of the relationship - the most passionate portion - is completely non-climactic. It has no emotional impact, as Doremus speeds through it at the speed of light, never allowing the audience to feel the true impact of the character's love. As a result, by the end, their dissolution falls on deaf ears as the audience was never able to truly build up a great rapport with the couple by following the early stages of their relationship.

In conjunction with this, much of the film feels oddly edited. This ties in directly with the quick pace in regards to the relationship, as they both combine to leave the film feeling too emotionally distant. To a degree, the distance is acceptable and benefits the film, turning it into a smart, subtle, and somewhat unique romance. However, the quick pace, quick cuts, and incredibly short scenes leave each scene feeling as if it were building to something, only for it to then skip ahead to the next sequence. The film never truly let's the audience stay in the moment and really soak it in. Instead, it is too quick to pull away the camera and move along to its next moment. This could certainly be the fault of the writing, rather than the editing, as one could make the argument that it is simply underwritten, but for me, the writing never stuck out as the issue. Rather, the editing left the film feeling as though scenes merely smashed into one another, instead of flowing between one another. For me, it left the whole film feeling incredibly stunted and wholly unsatisfactory. It also had the impact of turning the film into merely a collection of scenes with only small threads to tie them together. With connecting moments, Like Crazy would feel less like a highlight reel and more akin to a romantic drama.

Like Crazy is a film where is it easy to see the appeal. Authentic, often stirring, and lovingly crafted, the film hits home for those who are or have experienced a long-distance relationship. Anna and Jacob's struggles are their own, as well as the manifestation of the distance in how the couple treat one another. Yet, the film is plagued by this very same distance, keeping the audience too far away and uninformed to truly feel the impact of the relationship.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
slayde11Jun 25, 2016
Rarely have I ever been so uplifted and devastated by a single film over the course of 90 minutes. In my opinion, this movie is a masterwork of improvisation and calculated understatement. It illustrates the way young love can be absolutelyRarely have I ever been so uplifted and devastated by a single film over the course of 90 minutes. In my opinion, this movie is a masterwork of improvisation and calculated understatement. It illustrates the way young love can be absolutely overpowering; and how we can become intoxicated by the idea and memory of those early head-over-heels feelings, until we're no longer sure whether they're leading us forward or pulling us down. I think the way you ultimately feel about this story -- the ending in particular -- has much to do with what you project onto it, based upon your own experiences. I will say "Like Crazy" is an extremely apt title. It describes the swoon-worthy early stages of love ... yet also the painful, even damaging later stages where the urge to hold on and the desperate yearning to recapture can feel like (and possibly represent) a form of insanity. Extremely thoughtful, honest, well-calibrated performances by both leads and every supporting player. Just don't let the first act fool you -- this is NOT a feel-good movie throughout. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
choomtabi31Jan 25, 2016
A realistic, deeply romantic film fueled by the power of young love. The chemistry between the characters are real and powerful.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-2729833-Like-Crazy-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
buffnfaithMay 9, 2015
A masterpiece when it comes to romance films. Incredible breakout performances from the three leads. Very realistic till the end. Although a long time has passed since I've watched it (twice), the final scene in the shower is one of the bestA masterpiece when it comes to romance films. Incredible breakout performances from the three leads. Very realistic till the end. Although a long time has passed since I've watched it (twice), the final scene in the shower is one of the best (and saddest in terms of romance) endings. This pretty much kicked off Jen's and Felicity's careers both of whom went on to get nominated for / win Oscars. Anton Yelchin starred in 20+ films and still one of the most sought actors in indies. Definite must watch! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
QuelhasFeb 18, 2015
This movie had everything to be a perfect one, but then... not. Great actors with great performances, great scenes and light, and when it comes to give passion to the story it failed horribly. It is with regret that I think this movie isThis movie had everything to be a perfect one, but then... not. Great actors with great performances, great scenes and light, and when it comes to give passion to the story it failed horribly. It is with regret that I think this movie is flat, from the beginning to the end. I'm not going to even comment the end... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
A charming and touching story through and through. Unfortunately, the latter half of the film lost its spark. Felicity Jones is a new young actress to watch following this role.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
juank87Aug 15, 2014
I was impressed by this movie, the way how doremus illustrate the young love and how the distance can destroy something beautiful and the good performances of felicity jones and anton yelchin.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
StaticSpineJul 29, 2014
A pretty nice emotionally engaging story, good filming. The actors are decent too, so if you are in the right mood to watch a melodramatic movie, check this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
LynJun 1, 2014
One of the critics compared this to "Blue Valentine," which is ridiculous. In the latter film, Michelle William and Ryan Gosling make you care about what happens to the couple. (Admittedly, it's sad.) In this one, you figure out how theirOne of the critics compared this to "Blue Valentine," which is ridiculous. In the latter film, Michelle William and Ryan Gosling make you care about what happens to the couple. (Admittedly, it's sad.) In this one, you figure out how their little melodrama should end way before the lead characters do. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
nicholasbertJan 23, 2014
Felicity Jones is the bright star of the film, she manages to enlighten what would otherwise be a pretty dull film. I understand the cinematic references here and there, and the realistic dialogue, and the attempt at a realistic love storyFelicity Jones is the bright star of the film, she manages to enlighten what would otherwise be a pretty dull film. I understand the cinematic references here and there, and the realistic dialogue, and the attempt at a realistic love story (which is not so much after thirty minutes of it) and the whole feeling of authenticity to it.
Still, it feels like it could have been made better by adding more spark and vitality, especially to the Jacob character, who basically does nothing.

I didn't like the fast forwards and the general idea of skipping entire months like it's nobody's business. I liked the open ending (even if a bit trite as a storytelling device at this point) and I liked Felicity Jones. Oh, yes, her acting too.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
jppl1999Dec 7, 2013
It is a cute movie. Felicity Jones and Anton Yelchin create an interesting couple in a lovely movie that starts to get slow and predictable some times, but the complementation with Jennifer Lawrence as Samantha reborn the film to a moreIt is a cute movie. Felicity Jones and Anton Yelchin create an interesting couple in a lovely movie that starts to get slow and predictable some times, but the complementation with Jennifer Lawrence as Samantha reborn the film to a more accurate and neat one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SeriosityDec 13, 2012
The performances by its two leads are wonderful, Felicity Jones is absolutely luminous. A love story with a dose of melancholy that is uniquely and beautifully shot. I adored every aspect of this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
pinattarJul 20, 2012
I was really surprised by how great this movie was. Anton Yelchin and Felicity Jones both give terrific performances. They had chemistry from the first minute they were together. And their dialogue is some of the most organic dialogue I'veI was really surprised by how great this movie was. Anton Yelchin and Felicity Jones both give terrific performances. They had chemistry from the first minute they were together. And their dialogue is some of the most organic dialogue I've ever heard, which makes sense since most of it was improvised between the two of them. This made their relationship seem more real, it gave it a feel of authenticity. Great direction and story. Jennifer Lawrence was also really great. The only problem was the movie didn't really have any sense of time. I didn't know if 2 months or 1 year had passed, which made it a little hard to follow at what point in their relationship I was watching. But I think that might have been a deliberate choice by the director, I thought that he was trying to show that no matter how much time passes they will always be in love. But apart from that this was a beautiful movie of young romance. 9.8/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
eliteco3Jul 3, 2012
A breath of fresh air that strays away from the cliche romance film we are so used to. Post college love is tested to the brink as the intensity and passion expands. The on screen chemistry between Yelchin and Jones is superb. The realisticA breath of fresh air that strays away from the cliche romance film we are so used to. Post college love is tested to the brink as the intensity and passion expands. The on screen chemistry between Yelchin and Jones is superb. The realistic scenes and emotions are felt from start to finish. The climatic ending only adds to the awe of this inspiring movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
wishmasterApr 18, 2012
I do not know, but I love stories like this, where love is on a tube and back out the window, very good script, I liked the music, and especially the natural actions of all! Praise of Felicity Jones and Jennifer Lawrence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyMar 28, 2012
OMG! I love this pretty movie is really emotive, have interesting things. The trama can be a cliche, and we can think: other terrible romantic movie But oh sorprise Like Crazy is really pretty. The story is really amazing, my boyfriend hateOMG! I love this pretty movie is really emotive, have interesting things. The trama can be a cliche, and we can think: other terrible romantic movie But oh sorprise Like Crazy is really pretty. The story is really amazing, my boyfriend hate all this type of movies, but when we watch Like Crazy, he think that the movie is a epic movie of the romantic films. Is incredible watching that some romantic films do a great job, because this genre be same, since Twilight saga started, but Like Crazy is fresh, and amazing. The cast, is wow, awesome, Anton Yelchin, Jennifer Lawrence, and this other girl that I don't remember her name, the performances are incredible. The screenplay is interesting, have much intelligent situation and do an interesting job. Like Crazy is interesting, emotive and pretty I love this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RobinsNestMar 28, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Never felt any passion, I didn't root for them and what's up with the ending? They both realized they lost what they had? they will live in misery for the rest of their lives? Any remorse for screwing up others, more than once? If it smoldered, if I cried with them, if I felt anything, I would forgive them. But alas....just a mostly arid, depiction of love built, love tested, love teetering, love lost.
Some nice editing, a flash here and there,not quite poor, but close (C-).
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ofthewildeMar 26, 2012
Are the characters underdeveloped? Yes.

Is the plot a bit diffracted? Definitely. Does it really matter? No. This film is not meant to be an experienced drama with strong leads and a concrete story line. It's a modern take of an issue which
Are the characters underdeveloped? Yes.

Is the plot a bit diffracted? Definitely. Does it really matter? No. This film is not meant to be an experienced drama with strong leads and a concrete story line. It's a modern take of an issue which reveals uncertain emotions and the ambiguity which follows the decisions based on those emotions. It's not a film meant to be cathartic. It's a film that is, at its core, realistic and, therefore, a bit drab and dreary. The ending is worth a mention as it compresses the whole film into one expression.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wendy0Mar 23, 2012
Agreed that Anton Yelchin was excellent in Like Crazy but if you want to see a really breakout performance by him you should watch The Beaver in which he plays Mel Gibson's son. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9lBGKKhx2Lo
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
nutterjrMar 10, 2012
A brilliant depiction of the emotional rollercoaster of falling in love and dealing with the exogenous factors that try to kill it. The actors although they keep their clothes on, bare it all and leave us all warmed up inside. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MorriBeyFeb 23, 2012
They have the same phone. And that's what my unconscious mind was thinking whilst my conscious mind was being bored to death. She's hot thouugh so that's what the one point is for.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
phintlyDec 22, 2011
This film made me feel as if I was falling in love, and then getting to experience the ups and downs of a relationship with the characters. I've read reviews saying how people didn't like the montage feel of the film, but I felt like itThis film made me feel as if I was falling in love, and then getting to experience the ups and downs of a relationship with the characters. I've read reviews saying how people didn't like the montage feel of the film, but I felt like it helped it. Who wants to sit and watch all the little boring moments when you can just highlight the moments that impact the couple the most. I felt it was very realistic, the acting was wonderful, and I left the theater undecided if I felt heartache or hope for the couple. I would definitely recommend this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ShotgunDec 14, 2011
I expected more. The movie is slow and acting is not too good. Despite these issues, Like Crazy is worth seeing. I'd recommend for anyone who can relate to the idea of life getting in the way of love.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
anguyen21Dec 11, 2011
I'm getting to the gist of it. It was a horrible movie that just wouldn't end and when it did it was like a big giant middle finger. The first 30 minutes was beautiful and then it became a repetitive cycle of awkward, stupid, and mindI'm getting to the gist of it. It was a horrible movie that just wouldn't end and when it did it was like a big giant middle finger. The first 30 minutes was beautiful and then it became a repetitive cycle of awkward, stupid, and mind numbing. This movie was anything but awe-inspiring. If you decide to watch it despite warnings at least buy a big bucket of popcorn... you'll need it. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
4
lahaineDec 10, 2011
As a fan of indie-films I tried liking Like Crazy, I even thought the last 30 minutes of it was okay. However, the entire two-thirds of this movie just wasn't doing it for me. The story itself just wasn't that spectacular, and the directorAs a fan of indie-films I tried liking Like Crazy, I even thought the last 30 minutes of it was okay. However, the entire two-thirds of this movie just wasn't doing it for me. The story itself just wasn't that spectacular, and the director didn't do much to make the movie itself spectacular. It showcased some free-flowing editing that added a stylistic touch, but ultimately it did the characters little justice as we weren't given the time to empathize with them. The film was basically a slideshow, that hinted at events, but never fully realizes it. Despite the film being emotionally void, I did appreciate the performances which were naturalistic and true, but wasn't enough to save this movie from mediocrity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BHBarryDec 9, 2011
â
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JoaoRodarteDec 3, 2011
That's not a dumb love comedy movie. If you are expecting this kind of joy, you should get something else to watch.

Good romance, hope you lovers to enjoy it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
bebe33Nov 25, 2011
This experience isn't enough to make a movie about. I know people who've had experiences something like that -- some years of love, difficulty, breaking up, getting back together. It happens, but it's not enough. also, there was too muchThis experience isn't enough to make a movie about. I know people who've had experiences something like that -- some years of love, difficulty, breaking up, getting back together. It happens, but it's not enough. also, there was too much of beautiful faces, drinking, laughing people. Didn't anything ever happen to these people, when they didn't have a glass in their hands? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
brettjm18Nov 25, 2011
Early word from Sundance last January pegged Like Crazy as this years Blue Valentine largely due to its non-conventional and realistic approach at depicting on screen romance. While it's become refreshing to see film work against convention,Early word from Sundance last January pegged Like Crazy as this years Blue Valentine largely due to its non-conventional and realistic approach at depicting on screen romance. While it's become refreshing to see film work against convention, Like Crazy struggles to maintain a convincing narrative which makes it hard to empathize with these characters. The film isn't without its charm. Felicity Jones shines throughout and is strong enough to recommend on that basis alone. I can't help but feel if the film was at the helm of a different director that it would of translated better on screen and created a stronger emotional impact by its "open-ending" conclusion. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryNov 24, 2011
Anton Yelchin plays an American college student who falls for British Felicity Jones. When she violates here visa, they're forced into a strained long-distance relationship. Most of the time is spent with the duo and they do manage to createAnton Yelchin plays an American college student who falls for British Felicity Jones. When she violates here visa, they're forced into a strained long-distance relationship. Most of the time is spent with the duo and they do manage to create a compelling couple. The movie is not particularly original and the dialogue, which is mostly adlibbed, feels talky and unfocused. If you're looking for a sweet and sour love story, you might enjoy this quickly-forgettable film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MarcDoyleNov 2, 2011
The film does a really good job of illustrating the pain and raw nerves that can be exposed with young love - especially when complicated by distance. My primary problem with the film is Jacob (Anton Yelchin) - he looks like he's loaded forThe film does a really good job of illustrating the pain and raw nerves that can be exposed with young love - especially when complicated by distance. My primary problem with the film is Jacob (Anton Yelchin) - he looks like he's loaded for about 80% of the film, and it's difficult for me to believe Anna (Felicity Jones), who seems to have her stuff together, would go for him in the first place. But again, they're young, and we don't always get to pick that person. I really like how the writer/director artfully skip huge chunks of cliche'd story that other movies have dealt with ad nauseum. The type of ending employed seems to be in fashion these days. I don't have an issue with it, but I'm sure many probably do. It seems Felicity Jones will be in the biz for the long haul - recently caught her in Chalet girl. Seems like a good choice for future films of this ilk. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LSUduckOct 31, 2011
Many of us dream of that one true love. That perfect match out there in the world. The love that will engulf our soul from the moment we find it and never let go.

In 'Like Crazy,' we experience that love in the relationship shared by the
Many of us dream of that one true love. That perfect match out there in the world. The love that will engulf our soul from the moment we find it and never let go.

In 'Like Crazy,' we experience that love in the relationship shared by the handsome Jacob (Anton Yelchin) and bright eyed Anna (Felicity Jones). A love that develops in such an intoxicating fashion that the viewer feels as if they were falling head over heels in love themself.

The young couple meets as college classmates in Los Angeles, living the best years of their lives in the bright California sun. The beautiful couple's journey begins through one of the most romantic forms of courtship, a poem from Anna left on Jacob's windshield, and spins into a whirlwind of unadulterated love. A whirlwind of love that fails to cease until the UK born Anna overstays her student visa, creating an immigration hurdle that becomes difficult to overcome.

From this moment on, 'Like Crazy' separates itself from the relationship dramas of recent years. This separation comes from director and writer Drake Doremus' choice to draw from personal experiences with love, instead of creating the predictable and expected "fairy tale" love story.

In the real world, love experiences many hardships like the distance between the couple, the maturity of the couple, and every person's need for affection. Doremus hits on each of these hardships and more, creating a sense of realism unmatched by any relationship drama today. This sense of realism helps create an engrossing attachment to the couple, their story, and the ability for the viewer to relate to the couple's plight.

A largely ad-libbed script aides that realism. The improvisation allows the couple's dialogue and physical interactions, as well as those with their other lovers while away from each other, to appear as authentic as possible. Through these authentic interactions, Jones and Yelchin develop undeniable chemistry that just further establishes the genuineness of the relationship.

Through impeccable acting, brilliant directing and an unequaled authenticity, 'Like Crazy' becomes a love story that will live on for generations to come.

Alex White
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
SpfinoOct 30, 2011
Emotional, sweet and well-acted, Like Crazy was unexpectedly good. Anton yelchin is one to watch, he played his role perfectly and honest in every scene.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
rkellytexOct 29, 2011
I thought this was a little gem of a movie. Well acted and realistic; Felicity Jones is especially good. My 16-year relationship had immigration problems within the first two years and this movie gets to the heart of that pain. WorthI thought this was a little gem of a movie. Well acted and realistic; Felicity Jones is especially good. My 16-year relationship had immigration problems within the first two years and this movie gets to the heart of that pain. Worth seeing, if you don't mind your love stories with a dose of melancholy. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews