Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: June 21, 2002
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 206 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
181
Mixed:
19
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
EpicLadySpongeDec 29, 2015
It's perfectly hard to describe this movie in one or more words without getting affected by the 150 character limit so I'll just say this as a phrase. Enjoyable and decent and will consume some time to know the goodness of this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysJan 26, 2014
A wonderful kids movie and film, Lilo and Stitch combines familiar elements and adds a Hawaiian theme to create a heartfelt motion picture that even the adults will enjoy.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Trev29Nov 30, 2013
One of the best movies Disney movies.The artful animation is just one of the many great qualities this film has to offer. Take an alien in Hawaii and throw in some Elvis, and it is makes for an amazing movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RikiegeJan 12, 2013
One of the best animated films ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FreedomFightersOct 31, 2016
As rough as the 2000's were for Disney, 2002 graced us with "Lilo & Stitch," a truly fantastic film in the Disney canon. In a time where Disney was struggling to show its creative side, "Lilo & Stitch" graced us with beautiful animation,As rough as the 2000's were for Disney, 2002 graced us with "Lilo & Stitch," a truly fantastic film in the Disney canon. In a time where Disney was struggling to show its creative side, "Lilo & Stitch" graced us with beautiful animation, classic characters (Stitch might be one of Disney's best characters), a heartwarming message, a ton of charm, and plenty of fun. "Lilo & Stitch" is truly a classic animated film that everyone should watch at some point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DanBurritoSep 27, 2015
It's hard to describe this. A girl adopts an alien experiment thinking it's a dog while two bumbling aliens try to recapture the experiment? Sounds weird right? But it's also a fantastic, heart-warming adventure. Stitch is a complexIt's hard to describe this. A girl adopts an alien experiment thinking it's a dog while two bumbling aliens try to recapture the experiment? Sounds weird right? But it's also a fantastic, heart-warming adventure. Stitch is a complex character-his reason for being is to destroy things but he also has a softer side. There are a lot of laughs to be had from the film that should entertain kids and adults. I haven't seen "Spirited Away" but I think this deserved the best animated feature Oscar. It's a fun movie, another Disney Classic! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Feb 23, 2011
One of the few Disney animated movies from the 2000s that I actually loved. Chris Sanders sure does know how to direct a movie (he directed "How to Train Your Dragon" as well). And Stitch is one of my favorite Disney characters (tied withOne of the few Disney animated movies from the 2000s that I actually loved. Chris Sanders sure does know how to direct a movie (he directed "How to Train Your Dragon" as well). And Stitch is one of my favorite Disney characters (tied with Captain Jack Sparrow for first place). Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
SimpsonFansAug 4, 2016
~ALOHA~This is my favorite disney movie! It might be because I am Hawaiian but I love Lilo and Stitch, they are adorable characters. I also like it because it teaches people a little more about Hawaiian culture which is cool because not many~ALOHA~This is my favorite disney movie! It might be because I am Hawaiian but I love Lilo and Stitch, they are adorable characters. I also like it because it teaches people a little more about Hawaiian culture which is cool because not many people know a whole lot if anything about Hawaiian culture. Recommend this to people how good and beloved this is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jeff_reviewsJul 4, 2013
Quirky, you might call Disney's "Lilo & Stitch", but in most cases, "Quirky" is what makes this film stand out. "Lilo & Stitch" is funny and has heart; a quality that good films have, but what stands in its way. "Lilo & Stitch" focuses onQuirky, you might call Disney's "Lilo & Stitch", but in most cases, "Quirky" is what makes this film stand out. "Lilo & Stitch" is funny and has heart; a quality that good films have, but what stands in its way. "Lilo & Stitch" focuses on bringing families together, and with that, involves kid-themes. Lots of parts of the movie is chasing, which can get a bit hectic at times, after seeing Stitch running and getting chased by, but this overall theme is okay. While the movie's characters are weird and funky, they are fun, but not well played out. Alot of cheap humor spreads in this film, and that's okay to most, but annoying to others. "Lilo & Stitch" stands out when the relationship between Lilo, Nani, and Stitch, and their quote on family is touching. Nani, who is an older sister does appeal to older children, while Lilo appeals to younger children. The connection bringing them together somehow works. Overall, "Lilo & Stitch" may be troubling when they focus to deliver to young children, but their themes on family is touching in the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PAMAJan 15, 2017
Stitch rules because he can kick Captain Gantu's butt and is always there when Lilo needs him. Stitch makes me laugh everytime. MEEGA NALA KWEESTA! ROCK ON STITCH!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Creepers200Jan 15, 2017
Stitch rules because he can kick Captain Gantu's butt and is always there when Lilo needs him. Stitch makes me laugh everytime. MEEGA NALA KWEESTA! ROCK ON STITCH!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
heathermMay 13, 2015
This is a really wonderful movie and a great addition to the Disney canon. It's always nice to see Disney movies taking place in our world, rather than a far away fairy tale place, instead bringing in the far-away from outer space. It'sThis is a really wonderful movie and a great addition to the Disney canon. It's always nice to see Disney movies taking place in our world, rather than a far away fairy tale place, instead bringing in the far-away from outer space. It's also great to see an alternative family structure represented, and the very real struggle of keeping a family together when it doesn't fit the story book mold of a nuclear family with two parents.

Stitch is a wonderfully compelling character, as he has all kinds of powers but also can't understand certain really basic concepts. I think that it's easy to identify with Stitch's frustration with so many aspects of the world, and his inability to deal with his feelings. It's also trait he shares with Lilo in a way, since she too has so many feelings that she doesn't know how to deal with.

The movie is of course beautifully drawn and animated, with the Hawaiian backdrop providing gorgeous source material. The score and the original songs are also lovely, adding to the movie's richness. This is just such a fantastic film in so many ways. I don't even know how many times I've watched it, but I know I'll watch it again in another year or two. A wonderful, charming, beautiful movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LandFMay 28, 2012
At first glance, Lilo and Stitch seems a lot like E.T. An alien is found and cared for by a small child from a broken home, while the alien learns to adjust to the world. But rather than dismiss Lilo and Stitch as a rip off of the famedAt first glance, Lilo and Stitch seems a lot like E.T. An alien is found and cared for by a small child from a broken home, while the alien learns to adjust to the world. But rather than dismiss Lilo and Stitch as a rip off of the famed film, I suggest seeing the film for yourself (if you haven't already). It's worth seeing.

There are several differences in the story that are enough to make Lilo and Stitch feel like it's own. For one, the location is in Hawaii, which adds a nice atmosphere to Lilo and Stitch. The situation with the family is even more dire; Lilo, a little girl, may be taken away from her older sister who is parenting her due to death of their father.

Stitch, the furry and vicious beast from outer space has escaped execution by crash-landing on Earth. But after being hit by a semi-truck, Stitch is put into a dog pound (though no one's sure quite what he is), and is eventually adopted by Lilo, much to her sister's dismay.

The animation is some of the best I've seen in a 2D animated film. This is most evident in the water scenes, and during a spaceship chase/fight towards the end. A rainbow of colors decorate the animation giving the film a vibrant and upbeat feel, even during some of the more emotionally intense scenes.

Lilo and Stitch manages to be rather funny, though not as much as other Disney efforts. The best lines come from the disgustingly underused alien, Pleakley. Other characters get less amusing jokes (with Stitch carrying most of the extra bulk).

Also, Lilo and Stitch incorporates many lyrical songs in the background (many of them being Elvis oriented). Usually, lyrical songs in the background can be extremely irritating or distracting, but it works for the film's advantage here.

Unfortunately, the title characters can be extremely un-likeable at times, which makes it hard to root for them. Also, as fun as Lilo and Stitch can be, it's also a bit exhausting. Lilo and Stitch is certainly not at the top of my favorite Disney films, but it's funny enough, beautifully animated, and unique, if a little odd.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lordjrsFeb 18, 2012
This movie is a little piece of heaven. Then, Disney started making pointless sequels and a totally stupid animated series, and **** up the name of Lilo & Stitch.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
EnnaNov 24, 2014
This movie is just so, so lovely. It effortlessly melds space opera, contemporary family drama, and the beautiful culture of Hawaii into one film. It isn't afraid to get edgy - there is a rawness to the drama and the characters are allThis movie is just so, so lovely. It effortlessly melds space opera, contemporary family drama, and the beautiful culture of Hawaii into one film. It isn't afraid to get edgy - there is a rawness to the drama and the characters are all flawed individuals, yet they remain very likeable, and because of their distinct personalities some of the most relatable characters in the entire Disney canon. The gorgeous watercolor backgrounds and the idealized beauty of the settings are a perfect contrast to the sometimes messy story. Beautiful animation, great story - Lilo & Stitch has it all! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
y.s.Sep 10, 2005
i cant stop watching the movie!, i loved it so much!!!
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
lumamotoAug 31, 2011
Disney, notoriously known for making the best childrenâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews