Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: November 9, 2012
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 694 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
528
Mixed:
105
Negative:
61
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
TrailesqueJan 23, 2017
This does not relate the myth of young Abe Lincoln. There are no stories of long walks thru the snow to get to the courthouse, or him splitting wood for a living, or whatever the heck. No this jumps right into the politics of the LincolnThis does not relate the myth of young Abe Lincoln. There are no stories of long walks thru the snow to get to the courthouse, or him splitting wood for a living, or whatever the heck. No this jumps right into the politics of the Lincoln presidency, and focuses especially on the issue of the repeal of slavery, which was apparently a difficult political struggle despite the fact that the Civil War was raging all around. This shows us Lincoln the master politician and negotiator. Lewis is brilliant as usual and some of the other actors are fine too, like Strathairn as Seward. The look is gloomy, sombre, and astonishingly believable. I felt like this is the closest to sitting down at a table with Abraham Lincoln as anyone could ever experience. No doubt some fidgety viewers will have a hard time taking in the whole thing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AliceofXFeb 21, 2016
In a film like this the last thing you would want is for the film makers to be historically illiterate. Usually it takes a sharp eye to catch that but this film takes no time and right at the very start destroys your confidence in the film'sIn a film like this the last thing you would want is for the film makers to be historically illiterate. Usually it takes a sharp eye to catch that but this film takes no time and right at the very start destroys your confidence in the film's accuracy by calling the north free. That put me on the edge and I couldn't just relax and enjoy the rest of the film.

And yet despite that early blunder Lincoln did turn out to be a great film that was superbly acted. It was a film where the main character gave many speeches and told strange tales that went nowhere. Usually saying that would mean criticising the film but here it's made to work. You want to keep watching Daniel Day-Lewis. The movie pulls you in and doesn't let you go until the end.

It also looks spectacular. It has the type of gorgeous visuals that you'd want in a grand historical epic. If only it was one, because while the story is good it is somewhat lacking. Generally politics doesn't make for the most interesting story subject and that maybe the films problem.

But overall Lincoln is the type of film you would expect from Steven Spielberg in terms of quality and I highly recommend it to fans of historical drama.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
audreythomas25Jan 19, 2016
This is a wonderful film, full of detail and behavior, and one that lifts broadened historical details into a poetic marriage of humanity and triumph.

Watch here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-78234-Lincoln-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RobertBroganOct 3, 2015
Lincoln is best viewed with modest expectations. The performance of Daniel Day Lewis lives up to the hype. It is a great performance in a great career. Unfortunately, the other elements of the film do not rise to that standard and it shows.Lincoln is best viewed with modest expectations. The performance of Daniel Day Lewis lives up to the hype. It is a great performance in a great career. Unfortunately, the other elements of the film do not rise to that standard and it shows. I'd compare Lincoln to Raging Bull. In that film we have also have a great performance by the lead but also great supporting cast, script, directing and it makes for great film. If DDL had those elements around him I could see a classic film being made, but instead it is a good movie, a high three. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Aug 30, 2015
"Lincoln" might get a little boring from some people with its long running time, but the film is a marvelous movie that benefits from a strong script by Tony Kushner and a oscar-deserved performance from Daniel Day Lewis.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Will_EarwoodJul 18, 2015
I hate to think that Lincoln is going to belong in the good but not quite great basket, but that's the best way of classifying it. Daniel-Day Lewis is excellent and Tommy Lee Jones exceeds expectations, as well. Overall, the good is reallyI hate to think that Lincoln is going to belong in the good but not quite great basket, but that's the best way of classifying it. Daniel-Day Lewis is excellent and Tommy Lee Jones exceeds expectations, as well. Overall, the good is really good and the bad really isn't all that bad. That said, I was fairly conscious of how long it was leaving me wishing for a little tighter editing. This develops from a few stalling points, but Lincoln never feels too long. I remember noticing how well it was shot as it looked and felt like 1865 at times. Lincoln is a nice experience due to its attention to detail and individual performances. This isn't a movie I anticipate watching over and over but there isn't much not to like. Lincoln won't change your life but it needs to be seen. Interesting and compelling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MrMovieBuffMar 13, 2015
'Lincoln' is Steven Spielberg's best historical movie since 'Schindler's List' (1993) and 'Saving Private Ryan' (1998). What he has made here is a great, important and poignant drama with Daniel Day-Lewis in one of his best performances to'Lincoln' is Steven Spielberg's best historical movie since 'Schindler's List' (1993) and 'Saving Private Ryan' (1998). What he has made here is a great, important and poignant drama with Daniel Day-Lewis in one of his best performances to date, he gives us an in-depth look at a man who had to make difficult decisions to change America.

'Lincoln' may not go down as the most entertaining movie there is, but I was completely immersed and it led me to having one of the best movie-going experiences I've ever had, you forget that it's Daniel Day-Lewis and you think that's Abraham Lincoln right there. Almost as if Spielberg invented a time machine and took us back in time to see Lincoln and how he managed to abolish slavery.

Definitely worth the Oscars that it won and Sally Field and Tommy Lee Jones were also wonderful in their roles as Mary Todd Lincoln and Thaddeus Stevens.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BradySmithOct 4, 2014
A very solid movie all the way through. It's well acted by an ensemble cast, involving, and directed with assurance. I've heard people say that it drags, but in actuality it moves by very quickly for such a long movie. In other words, it'sA very solid movie all the way through. It's well acted by an ensemble cast, involving, and directed with assurance. I've heard people say that it drags, but in actuality it moves by very quickly for such a long movie. In other words, it's very well paced in its storytelling. Day Lewis makes a great Lincoln, and there's plenty of political intrigue. Abe Lincoln might not have been as honest as his reputation has made him out to be, but he may have actually been a better person. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
Through the direction of Steven Spielberg, Daniel Day-Lewis brings us on an incredible journey through the mind and intimacy of Abraham Lincoln. Lincoln is a focus on the person as well as the accomplishments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PvtJacksonJun 16, 2014
As usual, Daniel Day-Lewis shined as he played the character of U.S most prominent president of all time, Abraham Lincoln; and Steven Spielberg, with his passion for making a movie to commemorate his favorite Head of State and powerful,As usual, Daniel Day-Lewis shined as he played the character of U.S most prominent president of all time, Abraham Lincoln; and Steven Spielberg, with his passion for making a movie to commemorate his favorite Head of State and powerful, brilliant direction, successfully delivered a classic biography about president Lincoln's struggle with both unflinching dissent from Democratic Party and disagreement inside his own cabinet during his quest for liberation of black people from slavery for good, while still having to deal with the Civil War reaching its' final moments with escalating casualties for Union army Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
axelkochFeb 17, 2014
Having Steven Spielberg, the mastermind behind many of the films with the highest budget and the biggest scale in the last 40 years, direct an entirely dialogue-centred portrayal of Abraham Lincoln doesn’t seem like your first choice.Having Steven Spielberg, the mastermind behind many of the films with the highest budget and the biggest scale in the last 40 years, direct an entirely dialogue-centred portrayal of Abraham Lincoln doesn’t seem like your first choice. However, it proved to be an excellent one, as Spielberg’s vogue attracted some of the most talented people currently in the business to his project, both in the acting and general filmmaking cast, and thereby obtained twelve much deserved Academy Award nominations. Lincoln is an excellent biographical film, informative due to the information it brings up about the real-life figures working as supporting characters in the film and entertaining with an immensely talented acting ensemble and an enthralling way of storytelling, even though we’re all familiar to the story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
poewilsonFeb 6, 2014
Steven Spielberg loves to tell a story and that is what makes his movies so engrossing even when the subject matter appears a bit daunting, however Lincoln's pacing is an issue that only the die hard fans could possibly ignore. In terms ofSteven Spielberg loves to tell a story and that is what makes his movies so engrossing even when the subject matter appears a bit daunting, however Lincoln's pacing is an issue that only the die hard fans could possibly ignore. In terms of entertainment one must have a love of history, a love acting and love of politics if you do not have these then this film will score low on your entertainment measure. From a cinematic stand point it is something one could study and learn a lot from.
Entertainment value a crushing 6.5
On the Poe Scale an impressive 8.5

Acting: 1.5/2
Cinematography: 1.5/2
Editing: 2/2
Effects and Design 2/2
Writing: 1.5/2
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TerenceYiboFeb 3, 2014
和这位伟人一样,本片很沉闷,当然也是一部拍得很美的电影,刘易斯的演技如火纯青,菲尔德和琼斯的演技也很不错,John Williams继续发挥其大神水准。
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RedfordstoFeb 1, 2014
Movie making at its finest. Daniel Day-Lewis' performance will be how a generation pictures the character of President Lincoln. What is compelling about this story is that it takes place in a moment in time rather than attempting to cover theMovie making at its finest. Daniel Day-Lewis' performance will be how a generation pictures the character of President Lincoln. What is compelling about this story is that it takes place in a moment in time rather than attempting to cover the entirety of the President's life. Instead, Spielberg captures the spirit of the President in his attempts to having a new constitutional amendment ratified. The script is well written, the acting is inspired, and the cinematography is near perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
alpoJan 29, 2014
Great performances, especially Daniel Day Lewis and Tommy Lee Jones, and fascinating subject matter. Unfortunately, at two and a half hours, the film is simply hard to get through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FordFanatic19Jan 25, 2014
This movie truly amazed me. I had mixed feelings about how it was going to be. However, after watching it, I felt it was a true masterpiece. Daniel Day-Lewis once again exceeds my expectations of acting. Stephen Spielberg did an outstandingThis movie truly amazed me. I had mixed feelings about how it was going to be. However, after watching it, I felt it was a true masterpiece. Daniel Day-Lewis once again exceeds my expectations of acting. Stephen Spielberg did an outstanding job making this film. It is such an important part of our history, and shows the struggle that Lincoln would have went through trying to free the slaves. History buffs will love this movie as I did. Very highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Iky009Dec 31, 2013
Certamente foi um filme bem interessante, graças a genialidade de Steven Spielberg e a atuação hipnótica de Daniel Day-Lewis e de todo seu elenco que foi magnífico.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cag11Nov 30, 2013
I do admit, it was okay, but it just wasn't what I was expecting. It was disappointing, fairly. It didn't seem to fit in with the whole History thing. But that's just me. It was slow, and some parts I did not understand. It had boring momentsI do admit, it was okay, but it just wasn't what I was expecting. It was disappointing, fairly. It didn't seem to fit in with the whole History thing. But that's just me. It was slow, and some parts I did not understand. It had boring moments that I also fell asleep to. But other than that, it was an okay film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuOct 14, 2013
Lincoln is a great historical political film from Spielberg. Day-Lewis is absolutely perfect as Lincoln (when is he not perfect?) and the acting throughout is excellent. That said, there are a few niggles. The prime one being that Lincoln'sLincoln is a great historical political film from Spielberg. Day-Lewis is absolutely perfect as Lincoln (when is he not perfect?) and the acting throughout is excellent. That said, there are a few niggles. The prime one being that Lincoln's death is not really gone into. I understand the artistic reasons for going in that direction, but it's still disappointing to be deprived of such a famous and dramatic moment in history. Otherwise, it's a great slice of film-making. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFSep 29, 2013
It's clear throughout 'Lincoln' that the man himself was not a man of means, he didn't come from money nor did he have much of an educational background, he learned about life through living it, rising the ranks with popularity amongst theIt's clear throughout 'Lincoln' that the man himself was not a man of means, he didn't come from money nor did he have much of an educational background, he learned about life through living it, rising the ranks with popularity amongst the people he served, Daniel Day-Lewis delivers a dazzling and powerful performance as the 16th President of the United States, a man with countless stories and a calm and collective attitude that resonates throughout the film, a film that breathes a sombre breath, yet it accomplishes an impressive feat of pivotal speeches, interesting characters and a story intertwined with the politics that surrounds Lincoln and his family. We pick up out story in the closing month of Lincoln's fruitful life and as he attempts to push through 13th Amendment with the aid of Thaddeus Stevens (Tommy Lee Jones) and William Seward (David Strathairn) amongst others. The detail and careful consideration put into each political moment of this historic amendment is quite astonishing, an ensemble cast full the shoes of various figures in the life of Lincoln as he attempts to be the driving force in the abolishment of slavery in the United States, but the opportunity to break away the financial roots of the Confederacy also played a major factor in an attempt to end civil war. The film doesn't have the typical blockbuster and big-budget effect that director Steven Spielberg creates, but instead we have gatherings of important people in dark, candlelit rooms as they argue for themselves but also what truly matters, peace, there isn't epic portions of flying flags, but instead there are intensely flawed characters, never really sure of loyalty or allegiance, equality plays a major factor in the film, not just amongst the people, but for the President himself, who is often held accountable for his past as a man not coming from a privileged life, but it also fits well with a film that wants to show the real side, as Lincoln himself uses tactics, as any politician does, to sway voters, using negotiators (James Spader, John Hawkes and Blake Nelson) to change the minds of a few Democrats. The performances are the true heart and brilliance of the film, Daniel Day-Lewis captures the mannerisms of what we perceive to be the man in the top hat, a soft spoken individual but one who seems tired and endlessly in thought, often brought back down by his passionate and forthright wife, Mary Todd Lincoln (Sally Field), and his stubborn son Robert (Joseph Gordon-Levitt).
Writer Tony Kushner has managed to make the politics enthralling by working pivotal moments into passing parables, no fireworks or streamers necessary, it feels more real and candid when it is played out in this way, which Spielberg perfectly portrays onscreen.
The film really should have ended five minutes earlier than it did, although we all know how the end of the sorry goes, many people probably still want to see, but a much better close happened a little earlier. Even so, this is quite an engrossing and dramatic piece, expert direction, writing and performances, sheer brilliance throughout.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Thorshammer7Sep 24, 2013
Even though I am more of a Confederate guy... I gotta say that the film Lincoln is a great film with great acting and a great inside look at Lincolns time as president.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysSep 16, 2013
Oh, what a movie. Spielberg is back to his old tricks to making good movies. Lincoln is a character study, as well as featuring an authentic, true performance by Daniel Day-Lewis hat seals us away and shows off his acting talents. He getsOh, what a movie. Spielberg is back to his old tricks to making good movies. Lincoln is a character study, as well as featuring an authentic, true performance by Daniel Day-Lewis hat seals us away and shows off his acting talents. He gets everything about Lincoln's disposition down to a tee, beard and all. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticAug 22, 2013
The real masterpiece comes from Daniel Day-Lewis' climactic performance, as well as his dead on portrayal of our greatest president. Tommy Lee Jones as the cynical Thaddeus Stevens gives us a laugh with his sardonic humor. And Sally FieldThe real masterpiece comes from Daniel Day-Lewis' climactic performance, as well as his dead on portrayal of our greatest president. Tommy Lee Jones as the cynical Thaddeus Stevens gives us a laugh with his sardonic humor. And Sally Field scores again as the emotionally traumatized Mary Todd. The story-line is brief considering their history altogether, but "Lincoln" is a gut-wrenching memoir of the 13th Amendment. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
DMWillJul 14, 2013
I really don't think anyone really needs any kind of lengthy review of this movie at this point. You know what it's about, or at least you should.

Exceptional acting from the entire cast; a very well written script and great directing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
shpreaJun 28, 2013
I'm not really into biographies or historical films, however Lincoln just fascinated me. The movie was set at the apex of his career and the film really never got boring. The acting was amazing, the narrative was well told, and it was anI'm not really into biographies or historical films, however Lincoln just fascinated me. The movie was set at the apex of his career and the film really never got boring. The acting was amazing, the narrative was well told, and it was an extremely memorable movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bsykes91Jun 20, 2013
With excellent acting by the entire cast, deep characters, and great dialogue, Spielberg and Kushner create a beautiful film that immerses the audience into the time period and reanimate these historical characters. Through my personalWith excellent acting by the entire cast, deep characters, and great dialogue, Spielberg and Kushner create a beautiful film that immerses the audience into the time period and reanimate these historical characters. Through my personal passion for history and politics, I was able to recognize and appreciate the amount of detail they put into their work. Daniel Day-Lewis once again immerses himself into a role and the result is breathtaking. My favorite film of 2012, this movie is destined to be a classic. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
PuciferJun 9, 2013
A great movie that makes American history come alive, with wit, humor, and pathos. Excellent acting overall and especially from Daniel Day-Lewis, Sally Field, and Tommy Lee Jones. I am usually not a big fan of John Williams but his music hereA great movie that makes American history come alive, with wit, humor, and pathos. Excellent acting overall and especially from Daniel Day-Lewis, Sally Field, and Tommy Lee Jones. I am usually not a big fan of John Williams but his music here was superb. I also admired the art and production design and especially the cinematography by Janusz Kaminski, who is an artist. I've read other reviews that complain about the movie's pacing etc. but I think the editing and Spielberg's direction are perfect I was enthralled from beginning to end. My only quibble with the film is that it depicts Connecticut congressmen voting against the 13th Amendment, which is simply not true. But in today's dysfunctional, even pathological political climate, this movie brings to life the most troubled period in U.S. history and manages to miraculously restore our faith in the U.S. political process. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lismis7000Jun 7, 2013
Lincoln is flat out the best picture of 2012/ Daniel day Lewis is spectacular in capturing the essence of Lincoln, as he fights for passage of the amendment that will abolish slavery. Sally field give her best performance since Forest GumpLincoln is flat out the best picture of 2012/ Daniel day Lewis is spectacular in capturing the essence of Lincoln, as he fights for passage of the amendment that will abolish slavery. Sally field give her best performance since Forest Gump as the Volatile Mary Lincoln. Steven Spielberg does a remarkable job in captivating the viewer, as he shows how hard it us the get something past a divided congress, A lesson for today's government. I went to see this movie with high school students in attendance and the were captivated. The didn't make sound throughout the showing of the movie. Yes the movie slow at times, but so is democracy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Movie1997Jun 4, 2013
I think it's safe to say that if "Argo" hadn't come out this year, this biopic of the beloved president Abraham Lincoln would for sure have won best picture. It's an american masterpiece filled with a great and powerful story along withI think it's safe to say that if "Argo" hadn't come out this year, this biopic of the beloved president Abraham Lincoln would for sure have won best picture. It's an american masterpiece filled with a great and powerful story along with fantastic actors that bring the characters back to life. The way this movie was shot took my breath away. I don't think I've seen such beautiful cinematography since "Saving Private Ryan". The fill of the movie is vibrate and alive. No matter if was from the war scenes or the tremendous acting, it keeps you on your toes. I've surprisingly heard people say that this movie tends to overact. Well let me just say that it does, but in the best way possible. This is the second best movie of 2012! I know that when I say it like that it makes it sound like I'm saying that the movies not good, but "Argo" (in my opinion) was still my favorite. But no matter what, you'll completely love this movie. Overall, it's a true american classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ScorpionMay 19, 2013
It's confusing and a little tiring, but satisfying and therefore the performance of its cast saves the film from any negative review, apart from a policy, the film runs smoothly and its soundtrack brings an air of sweetness, which helps inIt's confusing and a little tiring, but satisfying and therefore the performance of its cast saves the film from any negative review, apart from a policy, the film runs smoothly and its soundtrack brings an air of sweetness, which helps in the important parts of the movie and this establishes the film as one of Spielberg's best, even if he goes out of style movie director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews