Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: November 9, 2007
5.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 95 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
41
Mixed:
16
Negative:
38
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
PaulJun 11, 2009
A truly intelligent film, will have you thinking long after the film has finished.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
O'DowdNov 30, 2007
The variation in the scores here say it all. Just about the most polarising movie of the last 5 years. Did I enjoy it? Not particularly. Is it well made ? Not especially. But it is certainly something different, and that alone makes it The variation in the scores here say it all. Just about the most polarising movie of the last 5 years. Did I enjoy it? Not particularly. Is it well made ? Not especially. But it is certainly something different, and that alone makes it worthwhile. And it is damn well acted, especially by the big names. Refreshing and thought provoking. And guess what? It is not actually about the war, even if it is the only movie I have come across so far that actually deigns to mention the fact that there is a real war on in Afghanistan, right now. So what is the film actually about? See it for yourself. Just do not expect to sit back and be "entertained". It is designed to prick your conscience, not to make you feel good. And that is no bad thing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChrisR.Jun 1, 2008
I'm surprised by how many people think that this movie is bad. You have to realize that except for the flashback all of the events were supposed to be happening in the time of the actual movie length, jumping between storylines. These I'm surprised by how many people think that this movie is bad. You have to realize that except for the flashback all of the events were supposed to be happening in the time of the actual movie length, jumping between storylines. These stories are supposed to be happening at the same time. The "politically savvy" like to say this movie is contrived and the politically apathetic like to say this movie was a lecture. I think it was a good bit of politics movie put together in a fairly captivating dramatic fashion. Not the best political movie I've ever seen but worth at least a single viewing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
astina.Nov 7, 2007
Sooo.. damn smart dialogues between Senator Jasper Irving and TV journalist Janine Roth!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
movieprophetApr 17, 2008
Interesting thought provoking flick. not absolutely Tom Cruise's best....awaiting valkyrie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrewP.Apr 24, 2008
Although the message of this movie, to take action, isn't original, it is important enough that hearing it more than once is just fine in my opinion. So many of us still aren't doing enough to help fix things that we all realize Although the message of this movie, to take action, isn't original, it is important enough that hearing it more than once is just fine in my opinion. So many of us still aren't doing enough to help fix things that we all realize are wrong, so it's clear to me that this type of film still has its place. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LindaW.Apr 26, 2008
This is an analysis of life's decisions and how they affect you forever. And in a political format, makes you realize what apathy = just not caring one way or another - can do to our society. Well played, directed and written. I thought This is an analysis of life's decisions and how they affect you forever. And in a political format, makes you realize what apathy = just not caring one way or another - can do to our society. Well played, directed and written. I thought it was a breath of fresh air in the movie industry, without trying to put mud on either political party. Truly thought-provoking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AbubradMay 10, 2008
This movie accomplished just what it set out to accomplish despite all the criticism from mindless critics who just want to be entertained. I showed it to my 18-year old who is as apathetic as they come and like his peers look to be This movie accomplished just what it set out to accomplish despite all the criticism from mindless critics who just want to be entertained. I showed it to my 18-year old who is as apathetic as they come and like his peers look to be entertained by movies. He was riveted to it and his response at the end? - "It was thought-provoking". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillH.Sep 7, 2008
Much better than the reviews I had seen, I don't think it's for everyone, though, which is particularly funny in an ironic way after having seen the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ConstanceC.Nov 10, 2007
I thought it was thought provoking and an excellent message to most Americans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ToosinB.Nov 10, 2007
The screenplay needed an editor but if you can keep up with the pace of the arguments, there's some good stuff. Unfortunately, it's a little too conventional.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonathanI.Nov 15, 2007
Provocative in the fact that the meaning of the film is up to the interpretation of the viewer. Clear oratories ensure that sublte facts and rhetoric are present for those wishing to extend their minds and challenge their beliefs. A classic Provocative in the fact that the meaning of the film is up to the interpretation of the viewer. Clear oratories ensure that sublte facts and rhetoric are present for those wishing to extend their minds and challenge their beliefs. A classic piece of erudite entertainment, yet captivating in its messages. (History repeating itself perhaps,but how hard is it to understand the lessons to be learnt, and yet not be able to succeed in motivating others and nations despite marked natural talent and ability, towards the reconciliation of modern life and the barbarism of centuries past). I enjoyed this film immensely for those facts. An inspiring film, yet not in the overdone American tradition of heroic war movies or political expose where over ambitious or coorupt politicians receive their come-uppance! Elegance in the final moments.Well done Mr Redford. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SebastianBNov 8, 2007
Great dialoge flows effortlessly through the first 2/3, spoiled only by a bad scene or two in the last 15 minutes. The best movie i have seen in years, no exaggeration.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlesH.Nov 12, 2007
Certainly by far the best movie of the year. Spot on with mood and mindset of the country toward the war in Iraq, our broken political process and the indeifferent general public at large. Streep is breathtaking as is Cruise, Redford and the Certainly by far the best movie of the year. Spot on with mood and mindset of the country toward the war in Iraq, our broken political process and the indeifferent general public at large. Streep is breathtaking as is Cruise, Redford and the two guys that play Arian and Ernest. Dialogue was outstanding. Message calls for dramatic change in our actions and those of peple in government. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnANov 10, 2007
I wouldn't have thought so beforehand, but I was in need of a good lecture. It sortof said everything I mostly knew, but it felt good to get it out there with a big name cast for posterity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BenB.Nov 15, 2007
Look, in no way is this a perfect film. Way too often does Robert Redford descend into his now-infamous political preach-i-ness, and as a result, the film suffers. HOWEVER, I do think that the film has enough wit and bite to go along with Look, in no way is this a perfect film. Way too often does Robert Redford descend into his now-infamous political preach-i-ness, and as a result, the film suffers. HOWEVER, I do think that the film has enough wit and bite to go along with the endless talking, especially in the scenes between Cruise and Streep, who vehemently attack one another with words and arguments that far outdo any Presidential Debate in history. The story involving soldiers isn't half bad either, generating genuine suspense for whether or not these characters will ever get off of the mountaintop that has become their prison. But if there is a genuinely yawn inducing plot thread in Lions for Lambs, it's the (mercifully short) one-on-one between professor Redford and a flaky student. For one thing, it has very little to do with the rest of the film, and forgive me if you disagree, but I just don't find a 30 minute inspirational speech on why you should attend class all that interesting. But as mentioned, these scenes do go quick, as if Redford himself knew that they were little more than an excuse to get him in front of the camera, and it's not long before we're back with Cruise and Streep or Luke and Pena. All in all, it's a good film- I just wish it was a great one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichardLNov 28, 2007
This intelligent, passionate film eloquently lays out elements of the political conversation that the United States desperately needs to have with itself, and continually refuses. I think its long-term role will be more to provoke thought This intelligent, passionate film eloquently lays out elements of the political conversation that the United States desperately needs to have with itself, and continually refuses. I think its long-term role will be more to provoke thought and debate among young people than to change any already-fixed minds. Everyone involved in this project has taken a brave risk, and the style of film-making (low budget, expertly crafted and passionately felt) feels like one of the many 'new waves' that reinvigorated the medium over the last fifty years. Gets a nine for relevance and importance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RobertRNov 8, 2007
Not certain what critics would prefer, as Lions for Lambs is soberly intelligent. There's credence to the perpetual argument that Lions for Lambs doesn't feel like a movie. It does feel like a series of solemn lectures closely Not certain what critics would prefer, as Lions for Lambs is soberly intelligent. There's credence to the perpetual argument that Lions for Lambs doesn't feel like a movie. It does feel like a series of solemn lectures closely attached by rigor and drama. This is political drama at its zenith, as the dialogue and action absorbs your attention. Tom Cruise is overtly effective as a politician. One critic wrote why need Thomson when you have Cruise. Well stated. That must signify that there's irony in this movie too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
FinbarrNov 12, 2007
Perhaps it doesn't have enough escapist content for a lot of viewers. But it should be seen - and heard - especially by the reality-averse.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleW.Nov 13, 2007
Excellent movie! I'm glad I ignored all the negative reviews or else I would have missed out on a movie as engaging as listening to music like Fugazi and Bob Dylan. Art and politics go great together --this is America after all!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EnriqueNov 14, 2007
Certainly not for everybody. An important, intelligent movie about a political subject that average people don't want to hear: alienation is more comfortable. Some of the comments I have read here are excellent examples of what the Certainly not for everybody. An important, intelligent movie about a political subject that average people don't want to hear: alienation is more comfortable. Some of the comments I have read here are excellent examples of what the movie is exposing. Excellent acting, even by Tom Cruise. If you want cheap thrills, mall theatres or plenty of trash movies that you can enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DennisHollowayNov 14, 2007
Redford gives us a film that shows what has gone wrong with this Nation. He is one of our bravest film makers. The film may have flaws, but it is a new genre of films which deserves to be seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful