Lockout

Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 32
  2. Negative: 6 out of 32
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: James Rocchi
    Apr 11, 2012
    80
    Lockout isn't high art, but it's ridiculous fun.
  2. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Apr 10, 2012
    80
    Lockout is the kind of manly nonsense no one wants to make anymore.
  3. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Apr 13, 2012
    75
    Lockout is derivative and ridiculous and a good time, provided you can turn off higher brain functions along with any other part of you that might want to lodge a complaint about liberal borrowing from better movies.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Apr 12, 2012
    75
    If you're an "Escape From New York" fan, you might have wondered about those rumors about a possible remake...Well, wonder no more. Producer Luc Besson's action factory has beaten everyone to it, stylishly. They're just calling the thing Lockout, and setting it in outer space.
  5. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Apr 11, 2012
    75
    More than any masculine heroics, Pearce's primary job is maintaining the tone: smug, irreverent, and giddily punch-drunk.
  6. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Apr 14, 2012
    70
    It's clichéd, ridiculous, and very entertaining.
  7. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Apr 18, 2012
    67
    The space prison set-pieces get the job done; only in the film's terrestrial bookends does this nuts-and-bolts action film show its rust.
  8. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Apr 12, 2012
    63
    Lockout is genre all the way. The film wears its colors proudly, but it also, alas, wears out its welcome.
  9. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Apr 11, 2012
    63
    The idea of the president's daughter being held captive isn't blindingly original (it's an alarmingly dangerous occupation), but placing the story on a space station is a masterstroke, since we're about filled up to here with prison movies set on Earth.
  10. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Apr 9, 2012
    63
    Luc Besson's producing career has been so geared toward lean, tough genre films that it's somewhat apt that he'd ape--or, if we're being kind, pay homage to--John Carpenter's preeminent sci-fi actioner Escape from New York with his latest, Lockout.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 231 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 46
  2. Negative: 7 out of 46
  1. Apr 13, 2012
    2
    the hunger games was better... ok but seriously my score equals the amount of time it took for the main character to get to the space stationthe hunger games was better... ok but seriously my score equals the amount of time it took for the main character to get to the space station and meet the president's daughter. It was one of the fastest paced movies I've ever seen. Overall was terrible. No character development. No back story. Plot holes (why would the US spend trillions and trillions of dollars on a space station for prisoners when they could kill them at the cost of one bullet?). Would only recommend if it was on netflix and you had nothing else to do. Full Review »
  2. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    This is no Fight Club or Braveheart but a VERY GOOD film all the same, if you have been getting sick of all the BADLY made movies lately youThis is no Fight Club or Braveheart but a VERY GOOD film all the same, if you have been getting sick of all the BADLY made movies lately you should see this movie. I don't understand where this bad rating or coming from......maybe people started liking bad movies like Transformers,Battleship or the like. Full Review »
  3. Oct 29, 2012
    4
    All I can say is this movie was entertaining enough to keep me watching until the end. Other than that, there is nothing special about it.All I can say is this movie was entertaining enough to keep me watching until the end. Other than that, there is nothing special about it. It's one of those movies that you will probably watch on cable TV some Saturday afternoon when nothing else is on and you don't have anything else to do.

    The story is interesting enough, but the pure cheesy rots through towards the end. I don't want to spoil anything so I will not go into that but let's just say the "love" interest part is totally predictable. The action is good and the special effects are on par with today's movies.

    My gripe would be the acting, mainly from the support characters. The 2 leads are okay, and that is about it. The rest of the cast pretty much mulls their way through their lines and shows no real character while doing so. The main villain is not at all convincing as a psycho.

    In all, I thought this movie was exactly what I thought it was going to be: a movie I would watch, be satisfied that I didn't waste 2 hours and then forget about until I see it on TV some time later.
    Full Review »