User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 129 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 129
  2. Negative: 19 out of 129

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 13, 2012
    2
    the hunger games was better... ok but seriously my score equals the amount of time it took for the main character to get to the space station and meet the president's daughter. It was one of the fastest paced movies I've ever seen. Overall was terrible. No character development. No back story. Plot holes (why would the US spend trillions and trillions of dollars on a space station for prisoners when they could kill them at the cost of one bullet?). Would only recommend if it was on netflix and you had nothing else to do. Expand
  2. Oct 29, 2012
    4
    All I can say is this movie was entertaining enough to keep me watching until the end. Other than that, there is nothing special about it. It's one of those movies that you will probably watch on cable TV some Saturday afternoon when nothing else is on and you don't have anything else to do.

    The story is interesting enough, but the pure cheesy rots through towards the end. I don't
    want to spoil anything so I will not go into that but let's just say the "love" interest part is totally predictable. The action is good and the special effects are on par with today's movies.

    My gripe would be the acting, mainly from the support characters. The 2 leads are okay, and that is about it. The rest of the cast pretty much mulls their way through their lines and shows no real character while doing so. The main villain is not at all convincing as a psycho.

    In all, I thought this movie was exactly what I thought it was going to be: a movie I would watch, be satisfied that I didn't waste 2 hours and then forget about until I see it on TV some time later.
    Expand
  3. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    This is no Fight Club or Braveheart but a VERY GOOD film all the same, if you have been getting sick of all the BADLY made movies lately you should see this movie. I don't understand where this bad rating or coming from......maybe people started liking bad movies like Transformers,Battleship or the like.
  4. Apr 17, 2012
    3
    Lockout is a product of outright laziness. There is nothing new here, nothing unique, and nothing to recommend. Aside from a few good jokes from our hero, Snow (Guy Pearce), the film has nothing going for it. The plot is stock beyond belief, the dialogue is groan-inducing, and the action editing is some of the worst in years. What is technically a good idea on paper, a prison break in space, is spoiled with extremely lousy and inept filmmaking.

    Snow has been set up. He is convicted of a crime he did not commit and is on the way himself to the maximum security space prison known as MS-1. Coincidentally, the Presidentâ
    Expand
  5. Apr 18, 2012
    6
    this is the kind of movie you can't say is a masterpiece, but at the same time you can't stop enjoying. Sure, some special effects are cheap, sure some lines you've heard over and over again. But these days, this one is as good a b movie as it gets. This isn't Guy Pierce's best performance, but he gets the job done as an off the map cop that only does things his own way, tells jokes, gets punched (and punches) a lot and kick a lot of ass. This is like Escape from New York meet the Transporter. Generic ? Kinda. Easy ? in a way. But enjoyable ? Sure is too. Expand
  6. Apr 13, 2012
    5
    The biggest problem with this movie is that it's just simply generic. It's basically Die Hard set in space. Nothing new. The film does have its cool moments which can take the focus away from the flaws, and there is a sense that serious effort was put into making it, but in the end, Lockout is just another generic action flick. If you just want an entertaining action movie and you couldn't care less if it has been done before, I'd recommend this movie, as it DOES have moments that are very cool and entertaining. However, if you're looking for something fresh, new, and original, look somewhere else. Expand
  7. Sep 10, 2012
    1
    Cheesy as balls, Guy Richie's annoying as hell, smarmy and unlikable. The only thing which could have saved the film for me would be to see him get gang ra!ed by the prisoners at the end. An awful, soulless waste of money and talent.
  8. Mar 8, 2013
    4
    Lockout is a forgettable sci-fi action flick. Guy Pierce plays against type, which is kind of fun, but some dodgy effects, neutered violence and a general lack of identity ultimately overpower the good things on offer here. Lockout makes for a nice one-time viewing but it doesn't have the legs for repeats.
  9. Apr 25, 2012
    1
    Had potential then jettisoned it self into DEEP SPACE. Went to this movie not expecting much but was looking forward to just kicking back and watching an action flick. The only positive thing about this movie is Guy Pearce's peformance. The (lack) of action, "quality" special effects, and peformances by the supporting cast make The Expendables look like it should have one best picture at the Oscars. I constantly found myself along with my buddies laugh at the movie at all of the cheesy moments it had. The pace was ridiculous and the villian's were laughable and half retarded. Two monkey's covered in sh!t could have provided more meanigful performances. The graphics.....lol video games in the mid 90's had better graphics then this. I would have to be borderline blackout drunk to watch this movie again and I would definitely try and pass out immediately after Pearce's interrogation becasue that was the only funny part in the entire movie. Good Talk Expand
  10. Apr 29, 2012
    2
    This movie overall was just bad. The only thing good about it was the sarcasm by Guy Pearce. Everything else was dreadful. The plot itself is cliche and just plain dumb. It has everything from your corny 80's films blended into a 90 minute duration thats so rushed it feels like it was 5 minutes long. The cgi in this film was awful. It was so fake i felt like i was watching someone play a video game, but not even playstation graphics. It was like the wii. It didn't seem like they finished the work on it. They just halfassed the job. The acting was atoricious besides GuyPearce, and another thing, apparently in lockout their is gravity in space, if you see it, you know what dumb scene im talking about. Anyways, everything was just horrible about this film. The only reason im giving it a 2 and not a 0 is because of Guy Pearce, he was hilarious, but that was the only positive i saw. Don't see this film, its a waste! 2/10.....but really a 0/10â Expand
  11. May 20, 2012
    7
    It's great to see Guy Pearce on screen in action again. And he's great at delivering the cheesy lines that are so typical of this sort of gung-ho action film...and make you laugh anyway. Lockout is loads of fun.
  12. Jun 3, 2012
    3
    Absolutly hated this movie. Were do i begin... Well to start, about as cliche as i can get, it also focuses on nothing but action. Explosions, and all that random unnecasary crap. And i predicted the ending from the begining. And if you like realism, dont watch.. He should have died in the first five minutes. And he also does abunch of other imposible crap. Bad movie.
  13. Apr 26, 2012
    5
    It's close to the definition of an average film. Pearce is terrific in his highly original and refreshing role - for him - but the "bad guys" weren't nearly interesting or threatening enough to make it work. It could have been more like a Die Hard film with better-drawn characters. And was one of the early car chases supposed to look like a videogame cut-scene? Did they just not have the budget to film that one? Very interesting. It's great seeing Maggie Grace again, but she doesn't bring enough to rescue the film into the green (recommended) territory. Expand
  14. Mar 29, 2013
    5
    Whilst watching this I had a nagging feeling I had seen it all before… and I had! It’s ‘Escape From New York’ set is space! The trouble is, it’s not as good as ‘Escape From New York’ despite being set in space. It’s well put together with the exception of the CGI, which looked pretty ropy particularly at the beginning of the film. Performance-wise, well everyone was ok with nobody particularly standing out. I did think Guy Pearce does need to have a word with his agent though, he’s much better than this. Sadly I found it all a little too predictable and although it did have some exciting moments, it didn’t really satisfy.

    SteelMonster’s verdict: NOT RECOMMENDED

    My score: 5.2/10
    Expand
  15. Apr 19, 2012
    5
    It wasn't terrible and it wasn't really good. Lockout provides some spectacle that will make you enjoy and feel a little thrill as it all unfolds. But the biggest problem with the movie is the multiple plot setup that never goes beyond skin depth. It's a shame, because this could have been a dark horse for best "summer flick" of 2012 had most everything not felt so rushed and cut off, but instead we get more of a missed opportunity. See it if you want, but I have a feeling there might be more big-screen entertainment value out of the soon-to-be released Battleship. Expand
  16. Apr 23, 2012
    5
    There are some cool special effects, and overall the acting is good, but the story is stale and the believability factor crosses the line. Example - at one point Guy Pearce jumps off a high rise during a chase. He ends up uninjured without a scratch, maybe just a little winded. He endures so much physical abuse throughout the film but is like a cartoon character, he just keeps going. The other thing about the film that is annoying is Joseph Gilgun, who plays the bad guy. His acting is great, BUT I couldn't understand more than 5 words he said throughout the film. He has a very thick Aussie accent. He needed to clean up the accent a little for American audiences. His brother in the film is also a bad guy and has an Aussie accent but you can easily understand him. This wasn't a bad film but it had too many implausibilities to recommend. Expand
  17. Jun 15, 2012
    5
    Lockout is never meant to be a serious, Guy Pearce can do what the best he can with steroid and junk jokes from Luc Besson but well, somehow it's work.
  18. Apr 14, 2012
    8
    Lockout really reminds me of a good late 80's/early 90's action movie. The ones that actually had the balls to come up with a story that is creative / ridiculous and doesn't have to make a lot of sense. Guy pierce was a great role. He really pulled off the new snake pliskin style character in his own way and I would love to see him do another role. The things I didn't like about the movie; was how a lot of scenes were to fast paced.. They never really give the viewer a chance to understand whats going on or just to have a break. They also jumped around to often from scene to scene. Overall the movie was fun to watch and I support it because I love to see this type of stuff coming out again! Expand
  19. Apr 13, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In the later part of the 21st-century the worst criminals the planet has to offer are kept safely away from public in stasis aboard an orbiting prison known as MS: One. Although it is never explained in the film, it does not take a rocket scientist to guess that â Expand
  20. Dec 11, 2012
    5
    Entertaining but easily forgotten. If you are looking for a realistic Sci Fi, you are out of luck with this one. The movie expects you to believe that we have built a huge space prison hundreds of times bigger than the International space station using nothing but rocket technology and that orbital flights are commonplace using nothing but rockets. That being said, Guy Pierce does a good job playing a like-ably unlikable character--- and the rest of the cast is pretty decent as well. This would have been a good movie in a different setting, but the story and premise had more holes than the prison did after Snow (Guy Pierce) was done with it. Still a good bet late night on Netflix. Expand
  21. Apr 16, 2012
    5
    Uhhh, it's that type of movie when someone escapes space and parachutes down onto a freeway in the middle of NYC/DC? Humor was funny at some points but way too forced. I can just picture the writer laughing at his own jokes behind a computer screen. Entertaining? Yes. Good movie? No.
  22. May 2, 2012
    6
    If you want a chilled out, easy to watch sci-fi action movie then I'd definitely recommend this. There're some pretty funny one liners delivered throughout the film, and the story isn't so bad.

    More of a film to rent than buy.
  23. Nov 29, 2012
    6
    This movie had potential to be a really good movie. The concept is great, the acting is solid, the characters aren't all so one-dimensional, and it's really entertaining. Guy Pearce did a great job. He kind of reminded me of a "poor man's" Mark Wahlberg. The problem came in with the lazy writing that created unbelievable plot development. Add to that the fact that the effects were terrible pretty much throughout the film and the movie goes from really good to just OK. So I guess if you want to see a halfway decent futuristic action movie, check it out. Expand
  24. Apr 27, 2014
    5
    Luc Besson is the Writer/Director of The Fifth Element and Taken. Usually when you sit down to watch one of his films, you're in for a treat. When he said he was making a new film that combined elements of both popular movies, I was excited, and then sorely disappointed. Lockout introduces us to a new kind of a prison, one that is in outer space, and holds it's prisoners in cryogenic stasis. The daughter of the U.S. President (Maggie Grace) was set to tour the facility, to make sure the prisoners are being treated fairly, when all hell breaks loose. Wanting to restore order with a minimal amount of casualties, the President sends in one man, his best C.I.A. operative, Snow (Guy Pearce), whose job it is to save the hostages. For starters this film is so full of cliques and references to other things that it almost becomes a farce of itself. Guy Pearce is the star and he was very good, however his character plays like John McClain in Outer Space. Snow is full of jokes and is this huge tough guy, who was almost a mirror image of Bruce Willis in Die Hard. The only thing missing was a catch phrase and lets all be thankful for that. Pearce is paired with Maggie Grace, who as in Taken, finds herself as a hostage once again. To her credit, she was a lot less whiny than in Taken and even fights back a little bit, but she basically played the same character that she always does. I don't know about you, but I have a hard time feeling sorry for a beautiful spoiled blonde girl who gets into trouble because she traveled to Europe or had to take on the cause of prisoners rights. Overall, there was a lot of action, but not much of a story to play on. Guy Pearce does a pretty good job, but Lockout is honestly a predictable, paper thin story, with special effects that aren't anything to write home about. It's another big budget film that tries to wow audiences with a unique setting and lots of explosions in the previews, but the only surprise here is that the usually reliable Luc Besson fails to deliver a worthwhile film. Expand
  25. Apr 14, 2012
    6
    A big, noisy mess, but rocketing with excitement, this movie never lets up the pace for a second. The lighting is murky throughout, as you may expect from a space station film. The acting by Guy Pearce and company is good. If you like explosions, bad guys and a few plot twists thrown in, you may enjoy this. They didn't quite explore the potential of the space setting as much as I thought they could- there's more to science fiction than crawling through tunnels. Still, it's a brisk adventure and will keep you from getting bored. Expand
  26. Dec 29, 2012
    6
    bradaviel explained this movie perfectly. It's not a masterpiece but you can't stop enjoying it. It was a pretty solid movie that I did enjoy watching, It's definently worth checking out.
  27. Apr 13, 2012
    6
    Lockout, is a good movie, I remember when I watch the trailer, I think "a sorprise of the year?", but no, I watch Lockout, and the movie have much mistakes, the trama sounds excellent, but have some terrible problems in the development, the cast is excellent, Guy Pearce (OMG), but other have some regular performances, I think that the movie can be better.
  28. Apr 13, 2012
    5
    Guy Pearce play's a sarcastic falsely convicted agent that has to go to space to save the President's daughter. And though it looks like it doesn't work, it kind of does, barely. Any normal person would enjoy this movie, and since I consider myself normal, I enjoyed it. It was a popcorn popping action movie that really worked it's hardest to fit itself together. It's nothing that new, and though it really only goes surface level, what else was there to expect? The CGI is kind of shady at times but it maneuvers around on the space visual effects quite well for it's low budget. Lower your expectations and imagine watching you're going to watch a movie like Transformers and you'll have a good time. Expand
  29. May 9, 2012
    8
    First off, I would give lockout a 9 out of 10. It's just a great action film for all people wanting a good adventure. Story all right. Acting is also descent as well. Nice sound, and action throughout the move. You really should see this. Overall, this is a fun action film. It's not amazing but, still fun film.
  30. Apr 17, 2013
    7
    For me, Lockout is one of those odd guilty pleasures. It was probably far from the best film released during it's week of release, never mind the month or year. It's a straightforward, short, fast paced, guns blazing, one man action vehicle that doesn't make any attempts to be cleverer than it needs to be. Guy Pearce stands in for the likes of Russell, Seagal, Willis, Arnie or Sly as the likeable rogue protagonist.

    It's unusual to see Pearce play a genuine all action-hero but he seems to be enjoying himself delivering some of the most sarcastic one-liners in film history, courtesy of co-writer Luc Besson and directors Saint & Mather. In fact, Snow literally barely says anything at all other than acerbic barbs directed at either villains or his damsel in distress. The relationship between Snow and Emilie, and the situation they find themselves in, reminded me of that of Steven Seagal and Erika Eleniak in Under Siege.

    With a budget of $20M, Lockout is relatively low budget and almost B-movie like but if you can get past the occasionally ropey CGI, place tongue firmly in cheek and accept it for the guilty pleasure it is it's capable of satisfying that action movie itch you get from time to time. Just imagine the most average parts of Die Hard, Under Siege and Escape from New York all rolled into one!
    Expand
  31. Apr 22, 2012
    5
    I certainly enjoyed this movie well enough, but, that's because I showed up expecting it to be ridiculous. How can you not with a premise like this? It is a bit generic, and some of the special effects, especially during the early police chase are.... unimpressive. However, for a mindless action movie, it does have a little charm. Can't say I'd recommend it to everyone, but for a bad action movie, you could do worse. Expand
  32. Apr 26, 2012
    6
    Likely to end up as a cult classic. The high point of the film is Guy Pearce's acting. The low point of the film is probably the CG, which looks too much like CG. Everything else is just about mediocre.
  33. May 2, 2012
    6
    The action sticks to the usual air ducts and fistfights.Nothing new.They have a whiff of sleaze that many films made domestically avoid. By the very nature of it being in space â
  34. May 31, 2014
    6
    Not a terrible movie. It could have been better, but it is definitely worth your time. At least it is worth recording, mor renting. It has great action, and a really fast pace.
  35. Aug 18, 2012
    6
    Made very economically for 20m$ by Europacorp but allas you can tell coz some VFX sequences are looking incredibly fake (bike chase & parachute drop). Pearce apparently choose this film for the story, but it's rather simple and not very original. It has to be said that the best thing about this movie is the somewhat Snake Plissken-like 'f*ck the world' attitude with which Pearce plays the part. Grace isn't on the same level but does a nice enough job. A nice quicky for scifi fans I guess. Expand
  36. Jul 2, 2012
    8
    It's corny, it's old-school, it's funny, and it knows it. This was not made to be taken as a serious drama, it was made to provide the world of cinema with a good old fashion shot in the ass of 80's action and over-the-top bravado. I loved it, and I especially loved Guy Pearce who played his part of the one-man-army-super-suave-badass beautifully. What's really terrible here are the reviewers that are overthinking this movie to a degree that is as preposterous as the plot. Space station full of convicts? President's daughter held captive? And there's only one man for the job? With the world the way it is today, we need something this fun. Collapse
  37. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    When the protagonist's first response to being asked "What happened in that hotel room" by a government interrogator is "I was trampolining your wife", you know you're in for a treat. Snow feels similar to Drake from Uncharted, but **** and a tad bit more badass. Watching him in action is a thrill, as he takes on hundreds of convicts by himself. The mystery of the case and the events that open the film are slowly dealt out, ending in a huge reveal that makes you really think. The two main villains are well-acted, with one being a sane man who wants to negotiate with the government, the other a psychopath who is really the worst humanity has to offer. You really need to see this movie. Expand
  38. Aug 7, 2012
    8
    so obviously this wasn't a once in a lifetime, destroy all preconceptions of cultural standards, but you should judge this movie by what its intended purpose was, ie: to have fun while watching it. good wise cracks, kudos guy pierce and the writers. cool sci fy. don't get caught up on why there was a space prison (this is science fiction after all). you might have been able to see the plot twist coming, but at least they threw one in there. on the whole, its a movie if you want some fun. and why does that deserve a bad score?

    PS: the intro was really funny
    Expand
  39. Sep 3, 2012
    9
    The movie was actually not that bad! It had some funny moments!! Which that was surprising! It had great action and great actors that were in it! And the ending is a HUGE shock!!!!!! If you like action, suspense, and some sorta funny parts then this is your type of movie!!
  40. Nov 12, 2012
    5
    Almost enjoyable in its absurdity. Almost.
  41. Jul 20, 2013
    5
    Snort some drugs, and watch Lockout- and you will think its the best movie ever made.
    Guy Pearce does the best he can with what he's given, but Lockout is ultimately too derivative and shallow to build on the many sci-fi thrillers it borrows from.
  42. Apr 30, 2013
    3
    I like Guy Pierce, but he can't even save this film. Good concept, but poor execution led by a poor script Lockout has its moments but not enough for this bad movie.
  43. Sep 15, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I saw the trailer for Lockout back in 2012, I thought, "oh, here we go again. Another CGI, messy, violent action movie with one liners and bad acting." Lockout proved a little bit of that to be true, but still exceeded my expectations.

    Lockout is a fun movie for a party night or a couple of bros hanging out, but its not one to take your girlfriend to---- unless she can take that kind of stuff!--- and is not for your grandma either. It mixes a smart, but somewhat sluggish script, with a surprisingly well-thought out story line, and gets a solid B Actioner; but this movie thinks too highly of itself for what it is. Sometimes, it caves into itself, overstepping its boundaries, and the product is an adrenaline rush: the bad kind. More like a kid running around after having too much candy. Again, this is only at parts of it. Most of the movie is decent.

    As awesome as ever, this movie has Guy Pierce, who has proved his talents as a character actor over and over again. From playing a geeky, by-the-books cop in L.A. Confidential, to an Irish evil-doer who wants to destroy the world in Iron Man 3. Now, he plays a bad-ass, flirty, lets-get-this-over-with man who was wrongfully convicted of Espionage against the U.S. He also needs a shave He's offered his freedom by rescuing the president's daughter from a prison she was visiting that got taken over by the prisoners. Trouble arises when he gets there, obviously, since this is a MOVIE, and nothing is simple and/or seems to go right.

    I did, in fact, very much like one of the final scenes where they explained what happened to the whereabouts of the "package" that contained valuable information; the thing that got him arrested in the first place. I'm not gonna spoil it too much, but the way the writers played up the scene and its symbols was very creative. To find out what the hell I'm talking about, you'll have to see the movie (if you haven't already)! Overall, this movie is definitely worth a watch. Oh, and did I mention it takes place in 2079?

    HandHStudios Rating: 6.3/10

    Oblivion (2013/I)
    Visually Stunning,But With Some Flaws, 6 May 2013
    5/10

    *** This review may contain spoilers ***

    I debated whether seeing oblivion or Iron Man 3 the weekend I saw it. I regret my decision.

    Even though Oblivion isn't that bad with its beautiful cinematography and visually stunning images Iron Man would beat it any day, and it just seems kind of mainstream.

    Story was decent enough I guess, but there were some flaws in it and logic had to be suspended. In fact, at some scenes, i thought i was sitting in Inception! So, some of the flaws include: Morgan Freeman's character. This is the first (and hopefully last) time i will say this... Morgan Freeman was not right for this role, even though he did a good job.

    Plot holes.

    Too many silence scenes; no enough action scenes.

    and finally, illogical scenes and bad editing.

    Overall, this was a slightly too long movie that tried to be more than it was, with a mainstream story line, but very visually stunning cinematography.
    Expand
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 32
  2. Negative: 6 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Apr 23, 2012
    50
    If you were to watch Lockout a few months from now, at home alone, it wouldn't produce more than a shrug. Movies this bad need to be revered in public places. Go see it in a mall, and try to sneak a beer or two in with you.
  2. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Apr 22, 2012
    40
    It's just not quite as much fun as it should be, despite Pearce's best efforts and some good chemistry with Grace. Unusually for an action thriller, this could have benefited from being just a little longer.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Apr 19, 2012
    40
    Luc Besson's clunky, space-bound actioner apes '80s B-flick excess but skimps on all the good parts. Fans of really bad science and pixelated CGI won't be disappointed, though.