Lions Gate Films | Release Date: September 16, 2005
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 420 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
375
Mixed:
28
Negative:
17
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
Khunter4382Jun 6, 2011
Arguably one of Cage's best roles, and Hawke does pretty darn good to! This film begins with one of the most entertaining openings I've ever seen. The characters mean something to you backed by an ironclad story and top rate performances. WeArguably one of Cage's best roles, and Hawke does pretty darn good to! This film begins with one of the most entertaining openings I've ever seen. The characters mean something to you backed by an ironclad story and top rate performances. We are given another perspective of war.....the business side, and the result is shockingly entertaining! Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
oxanaSep 12, 2014
A movie that definitely makes you think.

The only pretty things you'll be seeing here are the lies spread to block the view to the truth. The only consolation may be that Yuri finds some of his conscience in the end - even if the cost is
A movie that definitely makes you think.

The only pretty things you'll be seeing here are the lies spread to block the view to the truth. The only consolation may be that Yuri finds some of his conscience in the end - even if the cost is incredibly high.

The story narrative is littered with irony, sarcasm and dry humor. The story begins from the end, then goes back to the beginning, and from there it unfolds with ruthlessness that cannot be compared with anything else but reality itself.
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
NedB.Sep 23, 2005
The best movie I've seen in years....see it now!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MovieGuysAug 11, 2014
Lord of War is a strong, potent film that (besides adding accurate commentary on gun trading), has many alternative themes about life. It reminds us that sometimes, having everything you want is a bad thing, and that being at war withLord of War is a strong, potent film that (besides adding accurate commentary on gun trading), has many alternative themes about life. It reminds us that sometimes, having everything you want is a bad thing, and that being at war with yourself is far worse than any global conflict. It is well-acted, well-scripted, and never boring. It is a rare 21st century Nick Cage movie that is actually good. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
8
L490Oct 7, 2011
I liked the opening of the movie, they used a very good soundtrack. Interesting movie, gives you an idea how illegal arms dealing goes. To sum up, good cast, storyline, characters. Especially I liked the characters. Worth watching.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Although its pacing can be a bit wonky, "Lord Of War" still features a very cleverly penned screenplay and an unquestionably magnetic performance from Nicolas Cage.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
JulienC.Oct 2, 2005
Good movie, not exceptional but offers good insight and an interesting perspective I think, you'll have a good time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanielB.Oct 7, 2005
I am truly bewildered by a couple of the extremely negative user comments here. I can only think that Susan M., who says this is the worst movie she has ever seen, is an ardent gun enthusiast and was offended by the movie's overall anti I am truly bewildered by a couple of the extremely negative user comments here. I can only think that Susan M., who says this is the worst movie she has ever seen, is an ardent gun enthusiast and was offended by the movie's overall anti gun message. But to say that this movie "doesn't have a single redeeming quality"? It's an absurd, puerile statement that has nothing to do with this movie. Same goes for Dusty L., who says this is "a slide show" and to look elsewhere for action. Again, I have to wonder if he saw a different movie. Actually, if you like action, you'll be glad to know Lord of War has some terrific (admittedly usually brief) action, including an extraordinary sequence involving a plane making an emergency landing on a highway crowded with people, a truly jawdropping and thrilling scene. Other "redeeming qualities" this movie has: biting wit -- it's very funny; terrific editing; wonderful widescreen lensing with fantastic color and production design; strong performances from Cage, Leto, Holm, and many others; and great music. I saw it last night, and only wish I had seen it earlier so I could have told more people earlier to go and see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffM.Jul 6, 2006
Stylish and fascinating. It deserved better during its theatrical run.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThomasMc--Oct 21, 2005
If you don't like weapons - guns, for those who don't know - I wouldn't recommend this. All that took was watching a preview or generally knowing what it is you are watching. If you do like weapons, war, and Nick Cage - If you don't like weapons - guns, for those who don't know - I wouldn't recommend this. All that took was watching a preview or generally knowing what it is you are watching. If you do like weapons, war, and Nick Cage - basically if you are a guy - then this movie will do it for you. Great stuff, I loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
xghalwDec 4, 2005
You have to be kidding me. this barely makes it through the green light. The movie is so fantastic, Cage is so cool that i bet some arms dealer is gonna shut this website down for good. And critics wake up, this movie is a slap in the face You have to be kidding me. this barely makes it through the green light. The movie is so fantastic, Cage is so cool that i bet some arms dealer is gonna shut this website down for good. And critics wake up, this movie is a slap in the face of pansy-journalistic morality which, as the movie tells, is a force without power. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JaneOct 7, 2005
Niccol dares to deal with how the international traffic in weapons affects us without most people even being aware of it. And he does it with savvy. I have not yet read a review that mentions the key distinction Lord of War makes between Niccol dares to deal with how the international traffic in weapons affects us without most people even being aware of it. And he does it with savvy. I have not yet read a review that mentions the key distinction Lord of War makes between Yuri Orlov and Simeon Weisz, the two primary arms dealers shown here. Weisz (Ian Holm), who works with the CIA, says his aim is to change governments; he deals for a political purpose. Orlov (Nicolas Cage) does it because "I'm good at it" and he goes where the money is, not caring who gets the weapons. He also sells for the U.S. Government but, in addition, he makes his own deals, willy-nilly. Weisz believes his motivation is superior to Orlov's. Orlov challenges Weisz, reminding him that he (for the CIA) sold weapons to both Iran and Iraq (to use against each other). Weisz fires back that he wanted both of them to lose. There is no moral difference between these two men but their remarks about their own motivations provoke thoughts that ricochet against what we see happening in the world today. It's a thrilling insight and there are many like it in this shockingly (because it's in the multiplexes) profound view. Unfortunately many people will probably not understand exactly what they are seeing, and Lord of War may not get the recognition that it deserves. Jane Franklin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertW.Sep 17, 2005
Timely and much needed portrayal of the world today. Cage and Leto's characters are well-drawn and captivatingly acted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BitBurnSep 20, 2005
This is possibly Nicolas Cage's best performance. The movie is disturbing but ironically funny and very informative. I liked it and hope you will too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TedM.Sep 30, 2005
An entertaining, witty, and disturbing take one of the most morally reprehensible professions a person can have. In many ways, it's better to tackle issues like gambling, drugs, gun running, and cigarettes from the perspective of the An entertaining, witty, and disturbing take one of the most morally reprehensible professions a person can have. In many ways, it's better to tackle issues like gambling, drugs, gun running, and cigarettes from the perspective of the people who make the sale of these vices their chosen career. I would've much preferred a version of "The Constant Gardener" told from the POV of the drug company scientist who arranges to do trials in impoverished regions of Africa. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
D.B.Feb 5, 2006
Absolutely terrific. For light entertainment, this one is actually incredibly powerful. It gets under your skin and makes you think. All the acting is really impressive, and the whole thing is just so bloody entertaining that it's Absolutely terrific. For light entertainment, this one is actually incredibly powerful. It gets under your skin and makes you think. All the acting is really impressive, and the whole thing is just so bloody entertaining that it's impossible to dislike, unless you're looking for a bad movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StephB.Feb 7, 2006
I enjoyed the movie from the beginning. I would say it's the best movie I've seen in a long time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobQ.Oct 27, 2005
This a film very well written, the dialogues are very smart.It's a clever action film.Cage is wonderfull.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
fobertoQ.Sep 17, 2005
Terrific.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanB.Sep 17, 2005
Like all of this director's films, all the parts are there, all the key scenes, all the cleverness and the drama, the emotion, the poignancy, etc -- but somehow it doesn't add up to being great. Something's always missing from Like all of this director's films, all the parts are there, all the key scenes, all the cleverness and the drama, the emotion, the poignancy, etc -- but somehow it doesn't add up to being great. Something's always missing from his movies. I have no idea what. At the same time, they're smarter than most movies, and they're still pretty good. And Lord of War is not an exception. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SuzanneS.Sep 24, 2005
Excellent!! Movie makes the viewer physically react. Also makes them think.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatB.Sep 29, 2005
Brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AramisG.Jan 18, 2006
Puts a human face on some of the worst acts against humanity in recent memory. Cage is fine in his dry deliverance. How else would an international arms dealer act. They know what they are contributing to.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LarryS.Jan 20, 2006
Superb film with a lot to say. Cage is brilliant. Direction and music are fabulous. RENT IT!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnM.Jan 27, 2006
i was expecting a movie that wasnt gonna be very good based on the boxoffice, but actually it was alright, Cage pulled off his role great and it had some good one liners, ill probably see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrystalFeb 12, 2006
I though this movie was great. Where everyone is getting boring from, I don't know. This movie is intriguing and interesting. Nicholas Cage does a great acting job in this film. This movie goes to show that there will never be peace in I though this movie was great. Where everyone is getting boring from, I don't know. This movie is intriguing and interesting. Nicholas Cage does a great acting job in this film. This movie goes to show that there will never be peace in this world we live in. I'd recommend this movie to everyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JerryFeb 17, 2006
Alas Ed completely missed the point. No twist in this film, because it is all about inevitabilities. The ending is predictable, but what is really the point is that the characters can not avoid their fate, or are unwilling to do so. Alas Ed completely missed the point. No twist in this film, because it is all about inevitabilities. The ending is predictable, but what is really the point is that the characters can not avoid their fate, or are unwilling to do so. Entertaining, yet thought-provoking without being too full of itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianD.Feb 2, 2006
This is probably the best movie I will see this year. Too bad there arnt more movies like this that avoid normal movie mistakes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobV.Mar 6, 2006
After watching this movie, my wife and I felt like crap! We felt betrayed by our government, both present and past for this kind of under the radar covert activity by using 3rd party gun dealers to incite battles through out the world. It After watching this movie, my wife and I felt like crap! We felt betrayed by our government, both present and past for this kind of under the radar covert activity by using 3rd party gun dealers to incite battles through out the world. It was very thought provoking and made us realize why so many people around the world hate America. I felt ashamed and never realized how true this story is and feel sorry that more people have not seen this movie which exposes what goes on behind the smiling political faces we see daily on the news. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeckatSep 7, 2006
Yes, I'm giving it a 10, simply because I found it different from the other so-called 'black comedy' in the box office these days. It actually has a moral, a theme. It's not just trying to make you 'not wanna Yes, I'm giving it a 10, simply because I found it different from the other so-called 'black comedy' in the box office these days. It actually has a moral, a theme. It's not just trying to make you 'not wanna laugh' with pointless sex and violence. I can understand why some people wouldn't like the movie, seeing that it's more like a documentary-gone-movie, but I guess that's just my thing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GuidoS.Jan 19, 2008
This is an excellent movie that deals with diverse aspects of an arms dealer life. Don't listen to the more commercial movie critics as they usually fail to relate an thus accept a main character that's amoral and is not your This is an excellent movie that deals with diverse aspects of an arms dealer life. Don't listen to the more commercial movie critics as they usually fail to relate an thus accept a main character that's amoral and is not your standard issue action hero or villain. Here Cage is just a human being with human ambitions and problems. You'll really enjoy this movie if you're open minded, but if you watch it expecting a Rambo or Die Hard type of movie you'll sure be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jayk.Aug 25, 2009
Gives you information, insight with entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThomasL.Sep 18, 2005
Believable characters (if occasionally woodenly acted)...touching overall. For once a movie where you care about what happens to the main character (even if he's reprehensible and vile). Got a sort of "Traffic" vibe but the plot was Believable characters (if occasionally woodenly acted)...touching overall. For once a movie where you care about what happens to the main character (even if he's reprehensible and vile). Got a sort of "Traffic" vibe but the plot was different enough to hold me interested. A million times better than your average "Anti-hero" flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NickH.Sep 18, 2005
I was suprised. I thought I was in for a more action driven film. It's not. Not in the least. This movie is a character study set inside a dark, dark, dark comedy with some dramatic elements. Go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BryanT.Jan 18, 2006
There is no reason you should not love this movie. I saw somebody put a 3 for a rating and then justified it by saying he left after 20 minutes. You cannot give a good rating or review if you see the first 20 minutes of this wonderful movie. There is no reason you should not love this movie. I saw somebody put a 3 for a rating and then justified it by saying he left after 20 minutes. You cannot give a good rating or review if you see the first 20 minutes of this wonderful movie. You know nothing about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KyleR.Jan 21, 2006
Good, deep movie. Definitely worth a rental at least. Great acting, wasn't bored throughout the entire movie. Don't know what's with the low reviews. Awesome in my book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KouroshA.Feb 15, 2006
nicholas cage's acting is marvelous.He gets the very unpleasant message through with a very terse and dry style unique of his own.The message of his character don't go to war specially with yourself which is the bitter but the true nicholas cage's acting is marvelous.He gets the very unpleasant message through with a very terse and dry style unique of his own.The message of his character don't go to war specially with yourself which is the bitter but the true rule of survival in our time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CrysaniaApr 11, 2006
Superbly directed and brilliantly portrayed by Nic Cage (this is another reason he
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HobagS.Jun 11, 2007
This movie was tight. It had tits in it and the action scenes were very well done with a compelling storyline filled with many interesting twists as well, but there were also nice titties.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
FadeBlackFeb 26, 2017
A movie with a very important, highly relevant message that needs to be told, and for sure it was told in a very engaging and entertaining way. What brought it down from the platform of greatness is that unfortunately it gets way too boggedA movie with a very important, highly relevant message that needs to be told, and for sure it was told in a very engaging and entertaining way. What brought it down from the platform of greatness is that unfortunately it gets way too bogged down on the pressures to make it "sellable" - too much of the runtime was unnecessary superficial nonsense that stuck out as a sore thumb as it was clearly meant to attract simpler-minded dolts. So quite the shame at the end, but overall still a film that's well worth a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BroyaxApr 5, 2017
Un Nicolas Cage en pleine forme dans le rôle du trafiquant d'armes cynique et blasé... et très sympathique ma foi puisqu'il n'est présenté que comme un VRP, un VRP comme tant d'autres (!)... qui font leurs petites "affaires". Et comme PonceUn Nicolas Cage en pleine forme dans le rôle du trafiquant d'armes cynique et blasé... et très sympathique ma foi puisqu'il n'est présenté que comme un VRP, un VRP comme tant d'autres (!)... qui font leurs petites "affaires". Et comme Ponce Pilate, il s'en lave les mains, lui et les autres.

Tout le film fait preuve du même genre de cynisme emballé dans une ironie de tous les instants (ou presque), un choix qui le rapproche sensiblement d'une comédie mordante et un choix fort judicieux à mon avis puisqu'il fait réfléchir le spectateur tout en le faisant ricaner et plus si affinités.

C'est d'ailleurs très souvent la bonne méthode que de manier l'ironie cinglante et la satire pour dénoncer les absurdités du monde, cela évite en effet un misérabilisme malvenu.

Lord of War est donc bien réalisé et mène sa braque exactement là où il veut en venir malgré hélas quelques faux pas. Le personnage du frérot est détestable de maladresse et fait pièce rapportée ; quant au rôle de sa femme, il s'avère assez mal développé et reste peu crédible. Enfin, toute la partie de cache-cache avec l'idéaliste d'Interpol est des plus téléphonées.

Néanmoins, le film demeure assurément efficace et drôle en plus de réussir son pari : il dénonce sans être lourd, il dénonce avec intelligence. C'est rare de nos jours.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews